URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=39747
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 10:09pm

Topic: Robbie Keane
Posted By: cm79
Subject: Robbie Keane
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 9:45am
I am far from his biggest fan but this is a nice gesture from Robbie.

http://joe.ie/football/videos/video-robbie-keane-pays-tribute-to-james-nolan-after-scoring-for-la-galaxy-0026214-1" rel="nofollow - http://joe.ie/football/videos/video-robbie-keane-pays-tribute-to-james-nolan-after-scoring-for-la-galaxy-0026214-1

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 9:53am
Actually a tear came into my eye there, well done Robbie

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 10:16am
Well done Robbie

Posted By: NewrycityonTour
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 10:21am
Superb from Robbie, shows what sort of man he really is.  

Oh angry nordies, we used to be British but were O'Irish now.

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 10:35am
Yeah excellent touch - great goal to dedicate too.

Posted By: BagOfArse
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 10:38am
cant help but feel a lump in your throat watching that,fair play Robbie.Lovely gesture.

Posted By: depechemode
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 10:42am
Indeed a nice gesture. Good lad Robbie

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 10:56am
Class act from a class act.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 11:00am

Brilliant post. if ya knew the amount of barstoolers i do that love putting robbie keane down at every opportunity. it ll be a sad day when he retires, and unlike his namesake shows how a captain should conduct himself

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 11:06am
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

I am far from his biggest fan but this is a nice gesture from Robbie.

http://joe.ie/football/videos/video-robbie-keane-pays-tribute-to-james-nolan-after-scoring-for-la-galaxy-0026214-1" rel="nofollow - http://joe.ie/football/videos/video-robbie-keane-pays-tribute-to-james-nolan-after-scoring-for-la-galaxy-0026214-1

Great stuff  Clap

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 11:21am
Absolute legend and gentleman

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 11:22am

Just about to write something similar.Clap

Posted By: garzer103
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 11:23am
Robbie Keane is a class act, only re-inforces my admiration for him.
RIP James. 

Fail to prepare, Prepare to throw a hissy fit.

Posted By: rainpaulo
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 11:42am

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:05pm
superb gesture

Posted By: Trap for Pope
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:15pm
True Irish hero,

Living for Away days

Posted By: CCCP
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:18pm

Actually a tear came into my eye there, well done Robbie

Me too. Tremendous gesture. Hopefully the shirt will be auctioned off and the proceeds given to James' family.

12 September 1984, Landsdowne Road, Dublin

IRELAND 1 (Walsh 64') v USSR 0

McDonagh, Devine, Hughton, Lawrenson, O'Leary, Whelan, Brady, Grealish, Walsh, Robinson, Galvin

Attendance: 28,000

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:22pm
Legend! Fantastic stuff from robbie, sending his jersey to the family apparently.
Great goal too

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:25pm
good on you robbie

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:39pm
Legend . Such a pity he didn't perform in the Euros to shut all the begrudgers up. They will be out in force again the w**kers

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:41pm

Great touch by him, well done robbie you legend

and a great goal he scored too Clap

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:57pm
The term 'Legend' gets bandied about all too often, but for Robbie, it couldn't be more appropriate.

It's gestures like these that may provide some comfort for the Nolan family at such a terrible time.

Posted By: Cornerstone
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 12:58pm
Keano shows his class again. Top Man

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 1:23pm
proud that robbie is an irish man when i saw this and proud he is captain of my country

Posted By: holidaysong
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 1:36pm
According to http://https://twitter.com/noriordan/status/216815503128276992" rel="nofollow - this tweet he also phoned James Nolan's father to express his condolences. 

https://twitter.com/noriordan" rel="nofollow - Neil O'Riordan https://twitter.com/noriordan" rel="nofollow - - ‏ - @More impressive than Keane having shirt saying James Nolan RIP is the fact he rang his father. Would have been easier not to https://twitter.com/search/%23roi" rel="nofollow - ‪ - roi  https://twitter.com/search/%23fai" rel="nofollow - ‪ - fai‬

Posted By: batman
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 1:38pm
Class Robbie.....RIP James Nolan

Posted By: Scamper
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 1:40pm
Well Done Robbie, a lovely Tribute!

====#Everywhere you play, We'll Follow====

Posted By: MintBerryCrunch
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 1:50pm
Well done Robbie lovely gesture, top bloke. Dont know about the new haircut though

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 1:54pm
Well Done Robbie. Gent

Posted By: eire28
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 1:57pm
Legend Robbie.. Fair play man

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 2:41pm
Well done Robbie RIP James Nolan

Posted By: HowLongShaneLong
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 2:44pm
Great touch by Robbie - a fitting tribute to James RIP

John Delaney Bag of cans

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 4:59pm
Well done Keano , what a lovely gesture

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 6:39pm
Top class. Lovely gesture

Posted By: Bigfishleo
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2012 at 1:44am
The mark of a genuine legend . I would say the Nolan family were touched good on u keano.

Posted By: St.Pauli
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2012 at 9:17am
Well done!! Legend! Great man!

R.I.P. James

Lend me ten pounds and I'll buy you a drink

Posted By: tmos
Date Posted: 26 Jun 2012 at 2:15am
Fair play to him. 

Posted By: bazkdy
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 12:48pm

Nice touch, means a lot to his family & friends

Posted By: Shebber
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 1:50pm
Class guy! A true servant of Ireland!

If you have 200 million priests, and 5% of them are paedophiles, that's still only 10 million paedophiles!

Posted By: Skripi91
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 5:48pm
Top gesture, well done Keano Clap

The Euros gonna hear the Irish ROAR

Posted By: Darren
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2012 at 11:01pm
Like Killer, Robbie shown real class and commitment to the cause over the years. Great to see. but would expect nothing less of him.

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 01 Jul 2012 at 10:53am
Wouldn't deny him legendary status.Clap

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 8:29pm
We should know soon enough whether he's staying on or not. 

Quote Given's decision has now prompted unease in Trapattoni's mind as to captain Keane and defender Dunne especially.

Trapattoni said: "Richard sent me a message recently saying he would not be ready for the game with Kazakhstan because he needs a few weeks to recover from his injury, that the game was too soon.

"I answered him and said after this friendly, after he has recovered from his injury, we would review the situation, but I've told him we need him, it's true. He will let us know.

"As for Robbie, I've also sent him a text, but he's not answered me. I've checked my mobile.

"I will speak with him before I announce my next squad (in around 10 days' time for the Kazakhstan game).

"He needs to tell me whether he wants to come back or what he wants to do.

"We can decide after this game because it's important for us to look at the other players. We have (Shane) Long, (Simon) Cox and (Jon) Walters.

"After this game, and before the one with Kazakhstan, we can think about this situation."

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 8:31pm
Why does Trap always text players? Is it too much to pick up the phone and talk to them? I'm sure he could claim it on expenses with the FAI if his worried about the bill. Too many issues have arisen over texts with Trap.

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 8:37pm
Irish legend, but it's time for him to retire from international football.

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 8:42pm
Originally posted by SteviesGranny SteviesGranny wrote:

Why does Trap always text players? Is it too much to pick up the phone and talk to them? I'm sure he could claim it on expenses with the FAI if his worried about the bill. Too many issues have arisen over texts with Trap.

In fairness; in this situation it's not exactly ideal to be ringing up a player putting them on the spot on a huge decision. Text him, let him know he needs an answer and follow it up in a few days if he hears nothing. 

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 9:20pm
I think he deserves more respect given what he has done for his country. Trap should be pencilling a meeting with him to discuss face to face in the US if needs be. He is our captain and record goalscorer and has given us 15 years ffs

No longer a certain starter for me but what a man to bring on for last 20. I still think he has plenty to offer if played in the role villa used him in last season, was made to look bad in euros because of our system and inability to keep the ball.

Posted By: MacMathuna
Date Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 9:23pm
keane should play against the weaker teams where hes finishing ability can be used but against beter teams like sweden germany fast or physical players shud be starting like long/walters

Sinne Fianna Fil at f gheall ag irinn.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:06pm
What's the story with keane? Missing in action I believe

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:11pm
What you mean Pullatron? He was given pardon for this one. Just hasnt wb to Traps oddball text.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:15pm

Playing for the Galaxy tonight on ESPN at midnight

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:28pm

What you mean Pullatron? He was given pardon for this one. Just hasnt wb to Traps oddball text.

Her granda was saying nobody had heard from keane and then I caught the end of something on setanta about him not replying to trap. What was the odd ball message.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:32pm
Trap apparently (what I read anyhow) texted Robbie recently when Robbie scored twice and Rob never replied or acknowledged it.  I can't see really why he'd have to reply if the message was something like "well done on scoring" or similar.  More likely to reply if Trap asked him something, which appears he didn't.  We all know Trap's lines of communication are seriously flawed.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:33pm
There'd be none of this sh*t on your watch FW

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:34pm
Remember Shay didnt reply to a text a few weeks ago from TrapShocked

I wouldn't bank on any of the trio staying on until the day they turn up in Malahide. Though Given's quotes on Dunne sounded promising enough.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:35pm

LOL, damn right TR!  

Posted By: EastTerracer
Date Posted: 15 Aug 2012 at 11:57pm
Robbie is 6/1 to score the first goal with Boylesports in the Columbus v LA game tonight.

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 7:01am
Scored last night in 1-1 draw

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 9:19am

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 10:35am
goal online here: http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2012/08/goal-keane-makes-it-1-1-columbus" rel="nofollow - http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2012/08/goal-keane-makes-it-1-1-columbus

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Posted By: darman28
Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 10:55am
See hes wearing the captains arm band, Is he first choice captain or a vice captain??

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 11:09am
Originally posted by darman28 darman28 wrote:

See hes wearing the captains arm band, Is he first choice captain or a vice captain??
vice captain, possible even third choice
Landon Donovan is the team captain. He and Beckham were both out of the team last night. I have seen him with the armband before, mind.

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 11:39am
Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

goal online here: http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2012/08/goal-keane-makes-it-1-1-columbus" rel="nofollow - http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2012/08/goal-keane-makes-it-1-1-columbus
Great movement.Clap

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2012 at 12:03pm
The people who have been calling for Keane's days to be numbered, be it self inflicted or from Trap or simply whenever father time has caught up with him, might do well to reflect on what we have to replace him with.

Based on all previous international form, we'll struggle for goals from any combination of Walters(10%) Doyle(20%) or Cox(20%).  Only Long (26%) who has had to live off scraps and mainly sub appearances has decent pedigree for us. 
Not to mention any combination of midfielders and wingers whose international scoring record is pretty dire too.

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 10:04am
two yellows last night in the CL against Metapan, second was for diving, looked incredibly harsh to me, still scored one though

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 10:37am
jayzus, some keeper Confused

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 10:58am
Robbie can't have too many complaints, looking for it again followed by the teddy bear hands

Posted By: farfar
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 11:08am

Robbie can't have too many complaints, looking for it again followed by the teddy bear hands
Eh ye he can watch Robbie's left foot your man is standing on it.

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 11:08am
Twas a harsh second yellow Imo.... The standard of football is embarrassing ,Embarrassed

Posted By: GreenDodger93
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 11:28am

are you blind?

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 12:17pm
Some haircut on aul Rob

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 12:20pm
I expected more than two bitesThumbs Down

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2012 at 12:32pm

followed by the teddy bear hands

classic LOL

Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 12:36pm
Just bought his book "A Strikers Story"    anyone read it?

Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 2:11pm
The chapter on who he followed growing up will be entertaining.

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 2:11pm

The chapter on who he followed growing up will be entertaining.

Date Posted: 03 Sep 2012 at 2:14pm
the betting fella  Derek McGovern a scouser has a column in the Daily Mirror (only reason i buy the rag).When Robbie signed for LA Galaxy he said how it was the team he followed as a boy LOL

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 11:53am
Robbie scored his twelfth goal of the season for LA Galaxy against Colorado Rapids last night: http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2012/09/goal-robbie-keane-gets-his-12th-season" rel="nofollow - http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2012/09/goal-robbie-keane-gets-his-12th-season

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 12:00pm

Got a free copy a few months ago, got 3 chapters in, very boring tbh

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 12:02pm

His other book is the worst sportsman book ive ever read, honestly.

Apparently he met Robbie Williams once and he was starstruck zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Date Posted: 15 Sep 2012 at 12:28pm

Robbie scored his twelfth goal of the season for LA Galaxy against Colorado Rapids last night: http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2012/09/goal-robbie-keane-gets-his-12th-season" rel="nofollow - http://www.lagalaxy.com/news/2012/09/goal-robbie-keane-gets-his-12th-season

Glad to hear Clap

Posted By: TheMightyQuinn
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 6:51am
robbie scored a nice one tonight...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUasa6cFjAY&feature=youtube_gdata_player

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Posted By: Only Little
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 8:21am
Originally posted by TheMightyQuinn TheMightyQuinn wrote:

Two good goals although the second one was class.  Galaxy will need Keane and Juninho to keep scoring at that rate because their defense is terrible. 

Brazil or Burst

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 9:22am
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

His other book is the worst sportsman book ive ever read, honestly.

Apparently he met Robbie Williams once and he was starstruck zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 9:50am
Some 2nd goal by Juninho. Some effort from the goalie for the 1stStern Smile

O Dea looked shaky to put it mildly.

Posted By: Humpy Gussy
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 10:55am

I know that Toronto are a very poor side but holy sh!t, from the highlights of that match their defence was absolutely shocking! LA's wasn't much better but they were bouyed by the good play of their front players.
O'Dea was very poor from what the highlights showed. No urgency at all and very much looks like he is lacking in confidence. On that showing, if he plays against Germany at CB we are dead.

Also, what's the story with what I presume are the away fans behind the LA goal in the second half? Toronto's second goal went in, bringing the difference back to one, and nobody celebrates! Confused

'Joxer Goes to Poznan' - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEjtiJ9udkM

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 11:01am
Originally posted by Il Trap Il Trap wrote:

I know that Toronto are a very poor side but holy sh!t, from the highlights of that match their defence was absolutely shocking! LA's wasn't much better but they were bouyed by the good play of their front players.
O'Dea was very poor from what the highlights showed. No urgency at all and very much looks like he is lacking in confidence. On that showing, if he plays against Germany at CB we are dead.

Also, what's the story with what I presume are the away fans behind the LA goal in the second half? Toronto's second goal went in, bringing the difference back to one, and nobody celebrates! Confused

It'll be a farce alright. With Dunne looking unlikely to be back it's a 99% certainty that he will start alongside Sledge. 

I recall people saying prior to the Spanish match if we can keep them scoreless for 10 minutes it'll be an achievement. I'd echo those sentiments for this. But let's all be positive because there's so much to be positive about our setup at the momentShocked

Posted By: Mick_G
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 7:19pm
Can anyone help me with stats for Robbie Keane's time at Liverpool all I can find is 19 app 5 goals. Could do with how many minutes sub appearances etc

I can't find them anywhere and a Liverpool fan is seriously pissing me off with the usual bollix he's sh*t etc etc

@mickgleeson82

Posted By: d13dave
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 8:27pm
the commentary is hilarious. nice finish by robbie

serious hit for 2nd goal

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 8:33pm
http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=11957&season_id=138" rel="nofollow - http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=11957&season_id=138

click on the score of each game and it brings up match details including subs and minutes.

Posted By: depechemode
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 10:34pm
nice one Robbie. Tallaght king.Tongue

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2012 at 11:05pm
you would see better goalkeeping at under 10 matches than ye would in this league

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2012 at 8:45am
Originally posted by Mick_G Mick_G wrote:

Can anyone help me with stats for Robbie Keane's time at Liverpool all I can find is 19 app 5 goals. Could do with how many minutes sub appearances etc

I can't find them anywhere and a Liverpool fan is seriously pissing me off with the usual bollix he's sh*t etc etc

All here: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=11957&seasonID=138" rel="nofollow - http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=11957&seasonID=138

Posted By: Mick_G
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2012 at 2:02pm

Originally posted by Mick_G Mick_G wrote:

All here: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=11957&seasonID=138" rel="nofollow - http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=11957&seasonID=138

Great stuff exactly what I was looking for thanks tets

@mickgleeson82

Posted By: wrestler313
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2012 at 11:49pm
great stats for him this year and he has been perhaps the biggest part of their turnaround. 2 mls cups in a row would do nicely i guess. his celebrations do get more and more excessive but long may his goalscoring run continue

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2012 at 12:38am
Originally posted by TheMightyQuinn TheMightyQuinn wrote:

what a joke league in fairness

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2012 at 10:45am
Galaxy are almost playing like every time they kick the ball it finds a Galaxy player...  LOL

Its called a fooking pass!!

Yer man Juninho can fairly strike it though

Posted By: TheMightyQuinn
Date Posted: 25 Sep 2012 at 2:38pm
it's easy to watch highlights against the worst team in the league and call it a joke.

in fairness it's probably as good as the championship, and is,more glamorous...with a national tv contact on the biggest sports network in the world, in a country where the sport is growing all the time.   

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2012 at 11:06am
will take a finish like this next friday night please Robbie Clap

Date Posted: 07 Oct 2012 at 11:34am

will take a finish like this next friday night please Robbie Clap