URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=39344
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 1:28am

Topic: Gary Lightbody - Snow Patrol
Posted By: filthymcnasty
Subject: Gary Lightbody - Snow Patrol
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 3:38pm
Nice tweets on Ireland. And this from a big fan of the North. So far removed from the nonsense we've come to expect from some of their fans over McClean etc. Nice one, Gary. Hope you have a cracking time in Poland!

https://twitter.com/#!/garysnowpatrol" rel="nofollow - - @Euro 2012 a few days away. Too excited! Come on Rep of Ireland! Get behind the lads good people. We're all brothers and sisters. One love!

https://twitter.com/#!/garysnowpatrol" rel="nofollow - - @I am a proud Northern Ireland fan but I love the Rep of Ireland too. I have no politics nor religion. Just love.  https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23irelandnorthsoutheastwest" rel="nofollow - - irelandnorthsoutheastwest

Going Green on November 14!!

Posted By: newrygreen
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 3:55pm
Bandwagon jumper

Twitter: @50SavesOfDeGea

Posted By: JJ2012
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 3:55pm
Super!!

its good he said that hes playing the same stadium Ireland play Spain the night before the match! 

love Snow Patrol! Big smile

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 4:00pm
OWC won't be happy about that LOL

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 4:02pm
Snow Patrol are worthless scum

Posted By: wrestler313
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 4:12pm
Originally posted by newrygreen newrygreen wrote:

Bandwagon jumper

agreed...sorry your team isnt in the top 100 gary !

Posted By: filthymcnasty
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 4:17pm
When I was telling a mate about this last night, he pointed me to a song of theirs called 'Lifen-ing' and there's a line in it:

"This is all I ever wanted from life.
Ireland in the World Cup.
Either North or South."

He's thinking on an all-Ireland basis by the sounds of it, and that's good enough for me. Still not a fan of their music mind.Confused

Going Green on November 14!!

Posted By: Emerald
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 4:37pm
Originally posted by filthymcnasty filthymcnasty wrote:

Nice tweets on Ireland. And this from a big fan of the North. So far removed from the nonsense we've come to expect from some of their fans over McClean etc. Nice one, Gary. Hope you have a cracking time in Poland!

https://twitter.com/#!/garysnowpatrol" rel="nofollow - - @Euro 2012 a few days away. Too excited! Come on Rep of Ireland! Get behind the lads good people. We're all brothers and sisters. One love!

https://twitter.com/#!/garysnowpatrol" rel="nofollow - - @I am a proud Northern Ireland fan but I love the Rep of Ireland too. I have no politics nor religion. Just love.  https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23irelandnorthsoutheastwest" rel="nofollow - - irelandnorthsoutheastwest

Absolutely spot on. Wish there were more like him.

Posted By: Peter
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 4:38pm
Originally posted by newrygreen newrygreen wrote:

Bandwagon jumper

I couldnt put it better meself. Wonder what national anthem he will recognise during the tournament.

Tea???? FECK!!!!!

Posted By: charco2006
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 4:40pm

Call me a cynic but this looks like a great marketing ploy for his upcoming concert for the Irish fans

"What ya doin down there ya shoneen man!"

Posted By: NewrycityonTour
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 5:01pm
Ive had a fair few messages of support and well wishes from Northern Ireland fans!!!  Whilst his thing above is a marketing ploy there are plenty in the North who support NI that want us to do well and enjoy ourselves!!

Oh angry nordies, we used to be British but were O'Irish now.

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 5:09pm
Anyone who follows a made up country in the first place isn't 100%.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 5:16pm
Originally posted by IrishPride IrishPride wrote:

Anyone who follows a made up country in the first place isn't 100%.

LOL Clap

Posted By: danny10tot
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 5:40pm
47.50 to see snow patrol.....will give it serious thought after these comments! go on gary lad

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

George Best

Posted By: walsheman
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 5:49pm
ticket sales must be low if he tweeting that

Going To The Euro's,Poland and Ukraine 2012 HO HO!!!!

twitter.......@walsheman

Posted By: Hale
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 6:00pm
Give the guy a break, as said earlier he has a song that mentions supporting "Ireland in the world cup either north or south" Obviously he is a Northern Ireland fan first- But he is supporting us for this tournament. I think he put the concert in Gdansk as he wanted to come anyway and watch the games.

Posted By: wrestler313
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 6:31pm
id be incredibly interested to hear his thoughts on james mcclean 

Posted By: GockaRocka
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 6:31pm
Boo to the curmudgeons

His band are atrocious, but he sounds like a good fella

Northmen Southmen Comrades all!

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 6:43pm
There was some poor comments over jedwards green cape song for charity (which my 6 and 8 year old nephews were singing last night) and now with snow patrol. snow patrol are millionaires and it wouldnt matter if none of us showed up at their gig. fair play to lightbody for his support. I feel sorry for any celebrity from the north as they ve to be careful what they come out with in the public eye. if i was a celebrity from the borth and i supported the republic and had no time for the pub team, i wouldnt be coming out publicly criticising it and getting peoples backs up.its not worth the hassle. snow patrol are probably sound lads anyway

Posted By: The Lurker
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 6:53pm
Fair play to him no need for him to say it...massive following already in the Republic
All support is welcomeThumbs Up

Posted By: Kingkeano16
Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 6:56pm
Fair play to him! Actually a fan of Snow Patrol since oxegen '07!

The more the merrier!

Mr Burns: Tonight Homer I want you to show Marge the time of her life.
Homer: Marge! We're getting a drive thru and doin' it twice!

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2012 at 7:13pm
from a few days ago in the 'Buzz up North' thread

Huns in work were raging when i told them about Snow Patrol playing a gig for the Ireland fans in Poland

''But , But , But theyre from here , from Bangor , why they playing for them !!! ''
'' They support Ireland too '' says i , the anger in the room was immense

Posted By: ripbomb
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2012 at 1:17am
in all fairness they have some wonderful anthems

Posted By: Kingkeano16
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2012 at 12:15pm
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

from a few days ago in the 'Buzz up North' thread

Huns in work were raging when i told them about Snow Patrol playing a gig for the Ireland fans in Poland

''But , But , But theyre from here , from Bangor , why they playing for them !!! ''
'' They support Ireland too '' says i , the anger in the room was immense

Clap Loving it Clap 

Mr Burns: Tonight Homer I want you to show Marge the time of her life.
Homer: Marge! We're getting a drive thru and doin' it twice!

Posted By: Crosby87
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2012 at 12:30pm
And no religion too?

Posted By: NiallQuinnDiscopants
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2012 at 3:06pm
Where and when are they playing in Poland?

They go from his arse to his chest

Posted By: Weser777
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2012 at 7:35pm
who gives a f**K if he's a 'bandwgoner'....sure the majoity of people who'v joined this forum in the past 6months are the same!

"I'm not the best manager in the world, but I'm definitely in the top one!" - Brian Clough

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2012 at 8:36pm
Fair play to him btw i know feck all about modern music but i read that one of the group is a republic supporter from derry