URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=38448
Printed Date: 02 May 2024 at 3:39pm

Topic: New Chants for the Euros
Posted By: Uncle Trap
Subject: New Chants for the Euros
Date Posted: 12 May 2012 at 4:27pm
Right lads, i think we need a few new chants for the euros.

As it stands we have;

Stand Up for the Boys in Green
Ole Ole Ole
IRELAND!!
Just cant get Enough
Oh Trappatoni, used to be Italian but he's Irish now.
Keano!
Oro se do bheatha bhaile, Trappatonis Army (if it takes off)
and of course "Come on you...BOYS IN GREEN!"

Other than that, there are a few less well known ones (like the johnny walters chant).

We want to be as colourful and loud as possible at games. Has anyone any ideas for new chants/songs?

I think we should pay homage to Richard Dunne and the other long serving players a bit more, so heres my attempt at a Richie Dunne chant. Following his display of bravery courage and steel in Moscow, we could liken him to a Na Fianna warrior from Irish History

Maybe one side of crowd chant across to the other "RICHARD DUNNE!" and the other side chant back "NA FIANNA WARRIOR!"...this is aided by claps and jumping. I make no bones of the fact the chant came to mind while watching Celtic fans chants on youtube, the Paddy McCourt's Fenian Army chant is the format i would see the "Richard Dunne Na Fianna Warrior" chant taking....

Anyone any other ideas??

It would be great if we could come up with original ones i agree but i dont see a problem with taking an air or format from another chant, especially a lot of the celtic ones.

The floor is open....!

Given, Dunne, Duff, Keane...The Generals.

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 12 May 2012 at 11:50pm
"Stand up if you hate Roy Keane"??? Wink

Posted By: Diego Duffy
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 12:04am
Awful hard to get the back and fouth chanting going, sounds unreal though..

Ireland 4 Poland and Ukraine 2012 :D

Posted By: forks89
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 12:32am
(to the tune of the Heartbeat theme song)

Aiden, Aiden McGeady goes down the wing for me
da da da da da,
da da da da da

Everywhere ya gooooo, always take St.Ledger with you!!!
@forks_89_

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 1:01am
Why Start a New ThreadUnhappy

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 1:15am
Simple

Because he is new.
and welcome.

and your here ages with over 6,000 posts.
 You have seen this before, and before and before and before

Ive only just seen it before, twice.

In the next few weeks Brianie, i think ya may get used to this .Thumbs Up

Loanesome boatman

Posted By: newrygreen
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 1:33am
12 paul mcgraths

Twitter: @50SavesOfDeGea

Posted By: RazorMac
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 9:01am
I think the fields of athenry will get a few airings too lads. When all the die hard republicans roar Sinn Fein during the chorus. We should all try and shout Robbie Keane at this point as mark of respect to our record goal scorer   

Ah heere leeeeeave it ouuuut

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 9:08am
Originally posted by RazorMac RazorMac wrote:

I think the fields of athenry will get a few airings too lads. When all the die hard republicans roar Sinn Fein during the chorus. We should all try and shout Robbie Keane at this point as mark of respect to our record goal scorer   

Good idea, but 'James McClean' rhymes better with 'Sinn Fein' Wink

Posted By: RazorMac
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 10:50am
Originally posted by RazorMac RazorMac wrote:

Good idea, but 'James McClean' rhymes better with 'Sinn Fein' Wink
http://www.ybig.ie/forum/new-chants-for-the-euros_topic38448.html#top" rel="nofollow">Back to Top
< id="dropDownTopicSearch" ="http://www.ybig.ie/forum/quick_topic_search.asp?TID=38448" ="dropDownTopicSearch" border="0" scrolling="no" rel="nofollow" style="border-width: initial; ">Good man. Would be good if it stuck. Think Robbie is better known though Wink

Ah heere leeeeeave it ouuuut

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 10:57am
To the tune of "whats that coming over the hill is it a monster"

Whats that running down the wing is it Gary Doherty, Gary Dorherty.

I Know Gary was a back or Striker, but be kinda funny

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 11:41am
"Our love was on the wing/
(James McClean)/
We had dreams, and songs to sing/
(Ole, Ole)"

Bit naff maybe :/

Posted By: coleman's
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 1:53pm
Our love was on the wing/
(James McClean)/
We had dreams, and songs to sing/
(Robbie keane)"

There everyone's happy

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 1:57pm
Originally posted by Uncle Trap Uncle Trap wrote:

Right lads, i think we need a few new chants for the euros.

As it stands we have;

Stand Up for the Boys in Green
Ole Ole Ole
IRELAND!!
Just cant get Enough
Oh Trappatoni, used to be Italian but he's Irish now.
Keano!
Oro se do bheatha bhaile, Trappatonis Army (if it takes off)
and of course "Come on you...BOYS IN GREEN!"

Other than that, there are a few less well known ones (like the johnny walters chant).

We want to be as colourful and loud as possible at games. Has anyone any ideas for new chants/songs?

I think we should pay homage to Richard Dunne and the other long serving players a bit more, so heres my attempt at a Richie Dunne chant. Following his display of bravery courage and steel in Moscow, we could liken him to a Na Fianna warrior from Irish History

Maybe one side of crowd chant across to the other "RICHARD DUNNE!" and the other side chant back "NA FIANNA WARRIOR!"...this is aided by claps and jumping. I make no bones of the fact the chant came to mind while watching Celtic fans chants on youtube, the Paddy McCourt's Fenian Army chant is the format i would see the "Richard Dunne Na Fianna Warrior" chant taking....

Anyone any other ideas??

It would be great if we could come up with original ones i agree but i dont see a problem with taking an air or format from another chant, especially a lot of the celtic ones.

The floor is open....!

Its sh*t if it the one I am thinking of

will never work and an international match and see below

I do

Posted By: hulkhogan
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 2:03pm
Duff-Duff will tear you apart again

McGeady-Aiden McGeady clap clap clap clap clap

Dunne-nanananananananana richie dunne richie dunne richie richie dunne

Given-Given Wonderland

Doyle-Super Kevin Doyle

O Shea-Oh Johno Johno Hohno Johno Johno Johno Shea

St Ledger- 1 st ledger, theres only 1 st ledger

Load of the above should be sung, simple and easy to catch on

Posted By: Eamonn68
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 2:14pm
Substitute Glasgow/Celtic for Ireland

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIIAHeKjNn4&feature=related" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIIAHeKjNn4&feature=related

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 2:58pm

We want Long,Cox

Say We want Long,Cox

Rock & roll kids

Posted By: Padraig
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 8:00pm
Originally posted by Eamonn68 Eamonn68 wrote:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIIAHeKjNn4&feature=related" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIIAHeKjNn4&feature=related

this would be qualityClap

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 8:07pm

We want Long,Cox

Say We want Long,Cox

Rock & roll kids

Posted By: dublin-hammer
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 8:09pm

We already use this song

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 8:09pm
What's the chances of getting the entire world holding their shoe up for their own team?

Kinda like doing 'The Poznan' but just a bit mentaller.

Posted By: max
Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 9:21pm
Originally posted by forks89 forks89 wrote:

(to the tune of the Heartbeat theme song)

Aiden, Aiden McGeady goes down the wing for me
da da da da da,
da da da da da

love it but i know well people going to give out because its sung in the PL

Date Posted: 13 May 2012 at 10:29pm
Love the lads that come on and criticise chants and offer nothing themselves.

Anyway, a James McClean one:

"Hey, I'm from Derry
and this is crazy
but heres my number
so call me maybe....
It wouldnt feel right, with them Nordies
so heres my number, so call me maybe...

Before he came into the squad we missed him so bad, we missed him so bad, we missed him so so bad!"

Bit of craic only, maybe it could be worked on...

Think the video shown above is quality. Cant understand lads who dont like using airs or formats of different songs, Celtic have no probs using Irish songs and airs for their chants, maybe we should take them back, like the 'Lonesome Boatman' as suggested above.

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 9:07am
Originally posted by dublin-hammer dublin-hammer wrote:

We already use this song

Ireland,s green&white?

If we can get it going like this it will be some atmosphere  

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 10:22am

Originally posted by dublin-hammer dublin-hammer wrote:

We already use this song

Ireland,s green&white?

If we can get it going like this it will be some atmosphere  

Ye we use landsdown is green and white and then use the tune for the lonesome boatman. It would be class if we could get it goin in landsdown but never will happen.

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Posted By: kezmanjacks
Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 12:27pm
One which i have made up on drunken nights out (to the tune of Pussycat dolls dont cha)

Dont cha wish your winger was James Mclean

What you think?

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 1:53pm

I love it when people with barely a dozen posts suggest crap songs/chants thinking they are the great and get all offended when it get shot down for being crap.

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 2:03pm

I love it when people with barely a dozen posts suggest crap songs/chants thinking they are the great and get all offended when it get shot down for being crap.

Clap Clap

Posted By: Shebber
Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 2:17pm
You're very welcome, Uncle Trap! Numbers of posts is not usually a very accurate gauge of how great an Ireland supporter you are.

Some people here with lots of posts should have their posts subjected to a quality control department check!!

They may only be left with a dozen posts then too!!

If you have 200 million priests, and 5% of them are paedophiles, that's still only 10 million paedophiles!

Posted By: Big_Red
Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 2:41pm

"Hey, I'm from Derry
and this is crazy
but heres my number
so call me maybe....

Before he came into the squad we missed him so bad, we missed him so bad, we missed him so so bad!"

LOLLOL  I'd love to see this one in action.  So ridiculous.

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 2:50pm

"Hey, I'm from Derry
and this is crazy
but heres my number
so call me maybe....

Think the video shown above is quality. Cant understand lads who dont like using airs or formats of different songs, Celtic have no probs using Irish songs and airs for their chants, maybe we should take them back, like the 'Lonesome Boatman' as suggested above.

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 3:13pm
Originally posted by Shebber Shebber wrote:

You're very welcome, Uncle Trap! Numbers of posts is not usually a very accurate gauge of how great an Ireland supporter you are.

Some people here with lots of posts should have their posts subjected to a quality control department check!!

Care to point out where this accusastion is ?

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 3:24pm

Well, i've been going to away games for over 20 years, and I've only 200 posts! My 3 brothers were at Euro 88, Italia 90, USA 94 and Japan/Korea 02 and are not even members of the site. So that's why it's not an accurate gauge. we don't know that Uncle Trap isn't a long standing supporter, who just doesn't do forums.

If you have 200 million priests, and 5% of them are paedophiles, that's still only 10 million paedophiles!

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 3:30pm

Well, i've been going to away games for over 20 years, and I've only 200 posts! My 3 brothers were at Euro 88, Italia 90, USA 94 and Japan/Korea 02 and are not even members of the site. So that's why it's not an accurate gauge. we don't know that Uncle Trap isn't a long standing supporter, who just doesn't do forums.

For the second time, Can you kindly point out where I defined how good of an Ireland supporter somebody is by the number of posts they have ?

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 3:39pm

Oh, I see what you're trying to ask me now. First time around it made no sense.

Well, if you read back through the thread you'll see that I was addressing Uncle Trap!

Can you kindly point out where I said that you defined how good of an Ireland supporter somebody is by the number of posts they have?? I don't recall addressing you at all. I've clearly touched a nerve with my post though, and for that I apologise....

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 3:44pm
Heard a crowd of lads saturday night singing a modified version of Caledonia about trap but can't for the life of me remember it. Was decent though! Just have to go out again this weekend again!

Posted By: max
Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 4:54pm
theres only onnnnnnnnnnnne trapatoni
cause come june and may
were off to poland and ukraine
walking in a trappa wonderland

theres only onnnnnnne trapatoni
theres only onnnnnnnnnnne traptoni
cause come july nd june
were staying in berlin and torun

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 5:22pm

Yeah I mean how can we compete such innovative chants as "keano" and "super keeper", who are the motzarts who come up with these? The mind boggles.

@forks_89_

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 5:23pm

Oh, I see what you're trying to ask me now. First time around it made no sense.

Well, if you read back through the thread you'll see that I was addressing Uncle Trap!

Can you kindly point out where I said that you defined how good of an Ireland supporter somebody is by the number of posts they have?? I don't recall addressing you at all. I've clearly touched a nerve with my post though, and for that I apologise....

Sorry.... thought you were accusing me of defining how good a supporter is by the number of posts.( I was in fact having a pop at being accused of not contributing anything by someone with barely a dozen posts) Thumbs Up 

Posted By: Jbyrne
Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 5:50pm

Yeah I mean how can we compete such innovative chants as "keano" and "super keeper", who are the motzarts who come up with these? The mind boggles.

at least with chants like "keano" the players know its our supporters in full voice. generic and bootlegged stuff that is nicked from other teams could be for either team.

i think some are more interested in entertaining themselves than actually giving the team support they will instantly recognise 

Posted By: aidz
Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 5:50pm
Keeping it Irish so....

to the tune of 'Home Boys Home'

And its the boys in green,
Where i want to be,
Following the boys of me ol' country,
Where McGrath, Gilsey,
Richard Dunne and Liam Brady
Proudly wore the green of me own country.

And repeat!!

You'll never beat the Irish

Posted By: onetouch
Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 5:54pm
To the tune of agadoo 

Robbie Keane Keane Keane
Hes Irelands goal machine
Robbie Keane keane keane
He makes the Irish dream,
Down the left down the right 
To the bodhran beat tonight,
He is class in the green and
HES CAPTAIN OF OUR TEAM 

(Repeat until you lose your voice!)

“I saw their players and manager go for a lap of honour after losing to us in their last home game. In Portugal if you do this, they throw bottles at you.” – Jose Mourinho on Manchester United

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 5:56pm
Originally posted by Jbyrne Jbyrne wrote:

at least with chants like "keano" the players know its our supporters in full voice. generic and bootlegged stuff that is nicked from other teams could be for either team.

i think some are more interested in entertaining themselves than actually giving the team support they will instantly recognise 

Yeah I hear the SS have copyright to the tune of the Keano chant, there's no way they "nicked" it off another team. And your other point about players not knowing who we are shouting for is nonsense. As long as the chant has their name in it, they know well.

@forks_89_

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 6:00pm
Newryrep:

How sad is that, wearing the amount of posts you have on an anonymous internet forum as a badge of honour??!! Clap ClapClap

Fcuk sake iv seen it all now. Maybe in 3 years time when i have a couple of hundred posts you might take me seriously then?!

Dont worry, im not too bothered what you think. If you have been to as many games as i have then you are a genuine fan. I dont question that. I read this forum for nearly two years before joining in December to make a genuine enquiry that i could not get an answer for anywhere else. There are loads of people that follow forums without signing up.

Whats more worrying is that you didnt like the "RICHARD DUNNE...NA FIANNA WARRIOR" chant....crazy stuff!! LOL

The fact you have a couple of thousand posts is admirable, but once upon a time you had 12 posts too. You just might have more time on your hands than some of us, a lot more time maybe....

Would you prefer if nobody else joined the forum? When did you jump on the bandwagon yourself? Day 1 i suppose.....Clap Clap

Anyway, im done with the 8 year old bickering. Yes you have more posts, and your Da is probably bigger than my Da too....Embarrassed

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 6:03pm

dont forget the mock Geordie accent  Thumbs Up

How about ..................and heres a radical thought.................... an Irish song/tune...........there I gone and said it (cue Kerrzy)

see below

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 6:12pm
Yeah clearly the "Keano" chant was not bootlegged or is'nt generic......  Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed

Some strange fish on these forums.

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 6:15pm
ooooh John Delaney, you used to be a w**ker and you still are now.

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 6:28pm

Yeah I hear the SS have copyright to the tune of the Keano chant, there's no way they "nicked" it off another team. And your other point about players not knowing who we are shouting for is nonsense. As long as the chant has their name in it, they know well.

maybe, just maybe, it was copied from us back when the keanes started playing for us??

i know if i was a player id want to hear the instantly recognisable stuff id always heard that was unique to us. but sure that wouldnt satisfy those who want to sing their foreign club songs / chants and support their foreign club through attending Ireland games. Thats where the mind really boggles.

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 7:22pm

maybe, just maybe, it was copied from us back when the keanes started playing for us??

i know if i was a player id want to hear the instantly recognisable stuff id always heard that was unique to us. but sure that wouldnt satisfy those who want to sing their foreign club songs / chants and support their foreign club through attending Ireland games. Thats where the mind really boggles.

Ach, you're going down the "Foreign" argument line. Ga luckThumbs Up

@forks_89_

Posted By: gaelic-red
Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 8:41pm
when Ireland are putting a string of passes together (i know ,i know ,bear with me ! ) instead of shouting "Ole"(which is cheer or yahoo! i think?)   shout:  "Sin e !" (Thats it!)

arctic monkeys :  I bet that  Dunne puts you on Gdansk floor
                           ah cop on , did you think that you'd  score?
                            why did you think you would score or ore !

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 10:53pm

Ach, you're going down the "Foreign" argument line. Ga luckThumbs Up

thanks!

Date Posted: 14 May 2012 at 10:55pm

"Keano" chant was first sung by Manchester Utd fans about Roy Keane. Arguing against that is a little bit silly.  Embarrassed

I absolutely agree we should try and use Irish songs and tunes. Which is why i like the Oro se do bheatha bhaile song. Celtic had no probs using the lonesome boatman air, its an Irish song, we should take it back. Theres tons of songs we should and could use but for some reason Irish fans are somewhat shy of using any song remotely connected to our rebel past.Fields of Athenry probably being the exception.

For example a 'Song for Ireland' sang in a slow air could sound class or the lively 'God Save Ireland' chorus sang over and over would sound class with jumping and clapping but it will never catch on for fear we might offend somebody or be branded members of the Ra, which is a load of bollixology.

Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 1:06am
Originally posted by max max wrote:

cause come june and may
wer're going all the way

Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 1:09am

Theres tons of songs we should and could use but for some reason Irish fans are somewhat shy of using any song remotely connected to our rebel past

Agreed! Patriotism, shows of nationalism, and singing folk songs that celebrate our heroes - old and new - should never be frowned upon.

Posted By: familyguy
Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 1:18am
Rock and roll kids sounded class in the bar in the square the afternoon of the match in Andorra - granted everyone was off their bloody chops which always helps LOL

Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 12:20pm

"Keano" chant was first sung by Manchester Utd fans about Roy Keane. Arguing against that is a little bit silly.  Embarrassed

I absolutely agree we should try and use Irish songs and tunes. Which is why i like the Oro se do bheatha bhaile song. Celtic had no probs using the lonesome boatman air, its an Irish song, we should take it back. Theres tons of songs we should and could use but for some reason Irish fans are somewhat shy of using any song remotely connected to our rebel past.Fields of Athenry probably being the exception.

For example a 'Song for Ireland' sang in a slow air could sound class or the lively 'God Save Ireland' chorus sang over and over would sound class with jumping and clapping but it will never catch on for fear we might offend somebody or be branded members of the Ra, which is a load of bollixology.

I suggested Oro se do bheatha bhaile last month and it got a lot of interest, might get a dry run at the Bosnia Match (The Irish version hopefully, not 'Trapattoni's Army'!). I also mentioned 'A song for Ireland' last month, but no uptake on that one!

Posted By: paulgeeeeee
Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 12:32pm
Its probably sh*t but heres mine;

Comin' to you from a wexford road
Kevin Doyle, he scores a sh*tload
And when he gets it, You got somethin'
So don't worry, cos Doyles comin’

He's a goal man

to the tune soul man by sam and dave: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ucp3FJZP2p8

Also agree with:
QUOTE=onetouch]To the tune of agadoo 

Robbie Keane Keane Keane
Robbie Keane keane keane
He is class in the green and
HES CAPTAIN OF OUR TEAM 

(Repeat until you lose your voice!)

Maybe change it to

Glenn Whelan Lan Lan
Robbie Keane keane keane
He is class on the grass
and he sh*ts on Fabregas

... seeing as we have one for keano, it'd be good for the spain game and it works for anderson,  seen it go for ages non-stop in the bishops blaize  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xA7yqbtfNe4&feature=related

Posted By: Diego Duffy
Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 1:23pm
Song for Ireland would be cool, but no chorus so its hard to have the whole song sung...

Ireland 4 Poland and Ukraine 2012 :D

Posted By: quinner77
Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 1:35pm

Give it a lash trap, give it a lash trap , never never ever say no, ireland ireland republic of ireland rev it up n here we go.

i havent felt this good since razor scored against england in 88

Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 2:21pm
For when we are beating Spain in Gdansk

"Del Bosque are you listening
Better keep the trophy glistening
We'll be back next day
To take it away.
Walking in a Trappa wonderland"

For when we are beating Spain in Kyiv

Better keep the World Cup glistening
We'll be back next day
To take it away
Walking in a Trappa Wonderland"

Posted By: Humpy Gussy
Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 2:29pm

For when we are beating Spain in Gdansk

Better keep the trophy glistening
We'll be back next day
To take it away.
Walking in a Trappa wonderland"

For when we are beating Spain in Kyiv

Better keep the World Cup glistening
We'll be back next day
To take it away
Walking in a Trappa Wonderland"
LOLThumbs Up

'Joxer Goes to Poznan' - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEjtiJ9udkM

Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 3:22pm

Newryrep:

How sad is that, wearing the amount of posts you have on an anonymous internet forum as a badge of honour??!! Clap ClapClap

Fcuk sake iv seen it all now. Maybe in 3 years time when i have a couple of hundred posts you might take me seriously then?!

Dont worry, im not too bothered what you think. If you have been to as many games as i have then you are a genuine fan. I dont question that. I read this forum for nearly two years before joining in December to make a genuine enquiry that i could not get an answer for anywhere else. There are loads of people that follow forums without signing up.

Whats more worrying is that you didnt like the "RICHARD DUNNE...NA FIANNA WARRIOR" chant....crazy stuff!! LOL

The fact you have a couple of thousand posts is admirable, but once upon a time you had 12 posts too. You just might have more time on your hands than some of us, a lot more time maybe....

Would you prefer if nobody else joined the forum? When did you jump on the bandwagon yourself? Day 1 i suppose.....Clap Clap

Anyway, im done with the 8 year old bickering. Yes you have more posts, and your Da is probably bigger than my Da too....Embarrassed

Uncle Trap, kindly read and understand my posts before constructing anymore strawman arguements on what you think I posted. In fact you may what to re-read what you wrote youself

Really ? you have scanned all the previous various songs chants thread have you ?

Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 4:01pm
Originally posted by Diego Duffy Diego Duffy wrote:

Song for Ireland would be cool, but no chorus so its hard to have the whole song sung...

Go something like this:

"God save Ireland, said the heroes
God save Ireland, said they all
Whether on the scaffold high
Or the battlefield we die
Oh, what matter when for Ireland dear we fall!"

Repeat about 7 times with jumping and clapping getting louder every time, it would sound class.

Catchy, everyone knows it, uniquely Irish, distinctive and a defiant fighting song, can be sang in a lively manner with clapping and jumping and would sound well. Nothing offensive in it.

Anyone else not kinda tired with the older stuff. yes we can still sing them but think we need to expand the options a small bit.

I think the 'God Save Ireland' chant could sound great. Better than the "we're all part of Trappa's army" version anyway...

Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 4:09pm

Newryrep:

Uncle Trap, kindly read and understand my posts before constructing anymore strawman arguements on what you think I posted. In fact you may what to re-read what you wrote youself

Really ? you have scanned all the previous various songs chants thread have you ?

Whatever. Im not that big into forums so you can understand if im going to decline using up any effort or energy in getting into a running argument with a person i dont know on an internet forum. I see it as pointless and have no interest in it. Im parking this here.

Only reason why im on here so much now is cos im absolutely fcukin buzzing about the Euros and cant wait to get goin! 

Posted By: Gar-Dublin
Date Posted: 15 May 2012 at 5:19pm
lads this is a song written about a few lads cycling over to Poland for charity!
its very catchy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NysQRxZ-tEU" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NysQRxZ-tEU  

Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 8:21am
"We've got more Poles than you"?

Posted By: da scientist
Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 9:08am
Ooooooooohhhhhhhh ooooooooohhhhh oh oh

Greenforever........

got 72 tickets

Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 11:51am
Love this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4vG0iCLqM0

Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 1:27pm
Originally posted by familyguy familyguy wrote:

Rock and roll kids sounded class in the bar in the square the afternoon of the match in Andorra - granted everyone was off their bloody chops which always helps LOL

With what words?? Can't imagine that at all ConfusedConfused

Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 1:35pm

Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 1:40pm
Originally posted by Fitz Fitz wrote:

The original words, as belted out in cities far from home last campaign WinkWink

Posted By: willmcc83
Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 4:38pm

A lot of chants and football songs are ripped off someone else so we may as well get over that.

The chorus from 'Put Em Under Pressure' was ripped of the Scotland 1978 song but no one complaints about that

Time To Get Behind Mick & The Team

Posted By: gaelic-red
Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 5:32pm

good one! LOL

His skill is frightnin
his accents norn iron
James McClean

Posted By: JuanNil
Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 6:16pm
Lads the more I hear it, the more I'm loving the "Ireland...Abu....we love....Ireland...Abu......etc from the official song.

Would be class to have each but sung by 2 sections of the crowd.

Shes got a head like Liam Brady

Posted By: GreenLilywhiteGold
Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 9:06pm

We want Long,Cox

Say We want Long,Cox

Rock & roll kids
This is mailto:f@~*in" rel="nofollow - f***in class!!

Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 10:28pm
Originally posted by newrygreen newrygreen wrote:

Love this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4vG0iCLqM0

That's class, but sure the SS can't be seen to be copying chants now can they?????Wink

@forks_89_

Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 10:47pm
Think it would be excellent with the whole SS rocking it

Date Posted: 16 May 2012 at 11:29pm

Indeed it would be. I'd love it, but some people on here only want original chants like "keano" to be heard. Confused They hate the thought of us using the tune of another chant from another country.

@forks_89_

Posted By: ceannaire
Date Posted: 17 May 2012 at 1:07am

Indeed it would be. I'd love it, but some people on here only want original chants like "keano" to be heard. Confused They hate the thought of us using the tune of another chant from another country.

I agree - but sure many a song/chant has been shared between countries.

Though I also have the feeling that a more traditional Irish slant to it would be great. Olé, Olé, Olé was great at the time and will never be forgotten - but maybe we should be more confident now about our own style and make something that is ours. The players would get used to it in time.

Date Posted: 17 May 2012 at 2:42am

The original words, as belted out in cities far from home last campaign WinkWink

Sweet Jesus! In aid of what??? Awful song Confused

Date Posted: 17 May 2012 at 10:14am

Stick it up your pud. We'll not hear owt against Charlie and Paul. Epic tune.

".....NEVER ROCK AND ROLL ANY MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORE".

Date Posted: 17 May 2012 at 10:35am
Originally posted by cliffrichard cliffrichard wrote:

Epic is right! Let's crank it up over there!! 

Posted By: Supertrapster
Date Posted: 17 May 2012 at 12:17pm
Originally posted by Big_Red Big_Red wrote:

"Hey, I'm from Derry

and this is crazy

but heres my number

so call me maybe....

LOLLOL  I'd love to see this one in action.  So ridiculous.

Unreal stuff " so here's my number , Trap call me maybe" !?
Respect for poznan by doing it when we go 1 up vs Croatia ..

Shoes off if you love shay given.!!? Jump around with your shoes in the air..

Posted By: Redhof
Date Posted: 17 May 2012 at 4:15pm
Uncles traps effort is brilliant...that'll take off, catchy as f**k...

any heres my effort....to lord of the dance

Green!,Green! wherever you may be!,
We're gonna beat everyone we see,
So I sold the house,
And bought a van
Cos the boys in green are playing in Poznan!!

Posted By: Ludwig von Drake
Date Posted: 17 May 2012 at 11:21pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iteRKvRKFA" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iteRKvRKFA

To be hummed from 0.24 on

Posted By: Big_Red
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:07am

Something could be done with that Mundy song July or maybe Aslan's Crazy World. Like "How can I protect you in this crazy world, It's O'SHEA, It's O'SHEA!!!"

Still my favorite is Uncle Traps idea 

"Hey, I'm from Derry

and this is crazy

but heres my number

so call me maybe....

The boys from Windsor, they tried to take me

Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:20am
What about this one?! Tongue LOL

Shay Given No. 1 (to the tune of Number 1 by Tinchy Stryder ft. N Dubz)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJsVDH-3b3Y&ob=av2e" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJsVDH-3b3Y&ob=av2e  

"See, we all understand why Shay's No. 1,
when it was big Pakie before, now he's the one,
no he wont even blink twice,
he's our goalie, SUPER GOALIE! 
NUMBER 1! "

Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:22am
Originally posted by Big_Red Big_Red wrote:

Something could be done with that Mundy song July or maybe Aslan's Crazy World. Like "How can I protect you in this crazy world, It's O'SHEA, It's O'SHEA!!!"

Still my favorite is Uncle Traps idea 

"Hey, I'm from Derry

and this is crazy

but heres my number

so call me maybe....

The boys from Windsor, they tried to take me

Dont forget the best part at the end!

"Before you came into the squad we missed you so bad, we missed you so bad, we missed you SO SO bad!!"

LOL LOL LOL

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:36am

Uncle Trap,

If you're here for any length of time you'll soon realise that this lad never has anything positive to say about anything or anybody ever.The fact that he makes reference to how many posts you have is fairly pathetic  and automatically loses any argument on an internet forum imo.

Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 1:07am
Originally posted by cliffrichard cliffrichard wrote:

Thumbs DownThumbs DownThumbs DownThumbs DownThumbs DownThumbs Down

Posted By: FORAS400
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 1:24am

I Remember In Japan we started singing the Great Escape just put Ireland instead of England and it sounded great

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 9:51am
Loanesome Boatman. roared.

only think is Celtic did it first, so that puts people off i suppose. 

Posted By: Keltica
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 11:09am
The chants everyone is coming up with are great! Just thinking is everyone staying in Berlin on the Saturday night or some square in Poznan on the Sunday where we could belt out a few songs so we hit the ground running once we are in the stadium.

We won't be able to get the whole crowd singing unless theres a load of us coordinated enough and loud enough to get everyelse behind it.

I could collect up all the suggestions and put them in a word doc and send it around to everyone so at least a good few would know them before we get into the stadium, and then we can blow the roof off it!

On the First day of Christmas...

Posted By: schillaci
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 11:44am
Lonesome Boatman is a great tune, so is On the One Road. I remember Mick McCarthy conducting the crowd in Palermo in 1990 when we sang that one.

Also, nothing wrong with singing God save Ireland as a poster suggested earlier.

Posted By: willmcc83
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:23pm
Originally posted by schillaci schillaci wrote:

Lonesome Boatman is a great tune, so is On the One Road. I remember Mick McCarthy conducting the crowd in Palermo in 1990 when we sang that one.

Also, nothing wrong with singing God save Ireland as a poster suggested earlier.

Spot on, great song. Was once considered our national anthem.

Time To Get Behind Mick & The Team

Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:40pm
Originally posted by athlonecelt athlonecelt wrote:

Loanesome Boatman. roared.

only think is Celtic did it first, so that puts people off i suppose. 

That doesn't stop them singing "just can't get enough". Some serious hypocrites on here!Angry

@forks_89_

Posted By: Stutts88
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:45pm
First post on YBIG ( I think - unless I posted when drunk before - not impossible), despite being a foot.ie veteran. My usual login is taken (probably by myself) so I'll use a shrtened version.

Proposed song: short, sweet and simple:

ooh ah Manuela, say ooh ah Manuela.

Posted By: quinner77
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:59pm
to the theme of rainbow's more than a feeling.

oh what a feelin,
we've got, andrews and whelan, oh wow
i hope im not dreaming
they will see us go all the wayyyyyyyyyyy........

i havent felt this good since razor scored against england in 88

Posted By: hulkhogan
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 1:17pm
We shall not be moved sung by everyone would sound absoloutely lethal

Posted By: StephenB
Date Posted: 18 May 2012 at 2:19pm
tune based on the children's rhyme nick nack paddy wack, a common tune found in many football grounds. Will easily work seeing everyone knows the tune and lyrics are straight forward. we'll be singing it over than anyway, even if yous dont like it Tongue this one is based on the west ham song about billy bonds and fits extremely well with our big man Richard Dunne.

6 foot 2
eyes are blue
Richard Dunne is after you
with a nick nack paddy wack
give a dog a bone
why dont (enter team name)
f**k off home

(apologies if its been suggested or is to generic, thought id way in anyway)