URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=35907
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 5:14am

Topic: FAO BSM: Schools Rugby Alert
Subject: FAO BSM: Schools Rugby Alert
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:04pm
Belvedere v Clongowes on Setanata at 2:25. Just popped out for some tinnies for this sporting fest.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:11pm
Keep us updated on the score will ya, dont have setanta

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:14pm
Yeah I'm wide son,fancy Clongoes the Mongos to beat them easy

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:14pm
now thats quality rugby Thumbs Up

Posted By: greengiant
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:15pm

Belvedere v Clongowes on Setanata at 2:25. Just popped out for some tinnies for this sporting fest.
F**ker!! BeerHeart

The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:15pm

Keep us updated on the score will ya, dont have setanta

Sure thing. I hope Niall Cogley is commentating
The voice of schools rugby

BSM leaves me in the ha'penny place though when it comes to knowledge of schools rugby. One day he'll be on the tv with George Hook and Conor O Shea.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:18pm
Clongowes tipped to win this one easily. Could be a rout.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:20pm

Clongowes tipped to win this one easily. Could be a rout.

Thats the beauty of sport. Could be a giant killing act today.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:20pm
Ye like that do ye??

Young boys running around in shorts........ya dirty feckers!

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:22pm

Ye like that do ye??

Young boys running around in shorts........ya dirty feckers!
Not forgetting there big muscles,my nickname when I played schools was BSM,hence my forum name

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 2:28pm
http://www.setanta.com/ie/Articles/2012/02/02/LIVE-BLOG-Clongowes-v-Belvedere/gnid-128996/" rel="nofollow - http://www.setanta.com/ie/Articles/2012/02/02/LIVE-BLOG-Clongowes-v-Belvedere/gnid-128996/ http://www.setanta.com/ie/Articles/2012/02/01/LIVE-BLOG-Pres-Bray-v-Newbridge/gnid-128863/" rel="nofollow -

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 3:25pm
Quality try from Clongowes. A passing move from about 70 yards out with about 5 hand offs

Not nearly as good as BSMs try for castlerock in 99

Posted By: JH91
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 3:26pm
Unreal try there from the scrumhalf.
Great build up.
no contest here

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 3:33pm
Awesome display
Castlerock

Posted By: The Lurker
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 4:15pm
was at the game! Great Display by mongos ..belevedere were just out to try to limit the damage
think belevedere will do better in the juniors next week

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 4:25pm
Was a bit of a colour clash wasn't it

Posted By: The Lurker
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 4:33pm
haha it was! terenure v blackrock should be a good one!
Terenure my outsiders for the cup

Posted By: c90
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 4:57pm
Pres Bray - Newbridge match. what a way to go out of the cup.
http://www.balls.ie/2012/02/02/the-controversial-end-to-the-pres-bray-newbridge-game/" rel="nofollow - http://www.balls.ie/2012/02/02/the-controversial-end-to-the-pres-bray-newbridge-game/

Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Lawrence Of Arabia, Elton John! Yiz can all go f**k yerselves

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 5:06pm
That's the beauty of Senior cup

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 6:17pm
Phew! What a game! Hopefully yhere will be a highlight programme tonight to relive the drama.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 7:47pm
what were the scores in todays games??

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 8:42pm

I dont want to put up the scores and ruin it for the lads who want to see the highlights tonight.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2012 at 9:16pm

I dont want to put up the scores and ruin it for the lads who want to see the highlights tonight.

it would ruin it alrightClap

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2012 at 12:35pm
Nure v Rock today.  Gwan the Nure boys, if anyone has updates, here please.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2012 at 12:39pm

Its The Gick FWThumbs Up

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2012 at 1:39pm

Its The Gick FWThumbs Up

Well aware we are called the Gick BSM, dunno though when that started cos Gick wasn't the name when I was there.

Schools rugby is brilliant and I remember getting into a scrap with a CBC Monkstown dickhead outside of Donnybrook when I was in 4th year.  He spat at me and I landed 2 on him the prick, Maths teacher broke it up. Ouch  Great days those schools rugger matches.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2012 at 4:54pm
Result of Nure v Rock anyone?

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2012 at 5:08pm
17-15 to terenure

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2012 at 6:25pm
[QUOTE=nvidic] 17-15 to terenure

[/QUwOTE]

Wow musta been some game. Great win Nure boys, one of them played football for me a few years back, he gave it up to play rugby so I forgive him now.  

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2013 at 12:26pm
My people in rugby tell me Terenure have a devastating Senior Cup team this year
They are currently 5/4,short price yes
But I hear they have several future internationals in there team
This is buying money lads
As I said this info comes from the top

@FW they called The Gick cos Terenure rhymes with manure
Hence the Gick

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2013 at 12:35pm

Kings Hospital are playing Newbridge at Tallaght Stadium on Monday. Tallaght will soon be rugby country Clap

I think Terenure-Belvedere is on Setanta on Sunday Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2013 at 6:45pm

Kings Hospital are playing Newbridge at Tallaght Stadium on Monday. Tallaght will soon be rugby country Clap

I think Terenure-Belvedere is on Setanta on Sunday Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2013 at 2:45pm
Some top class Senior Cup action live on Setanta roish now Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 4:08pm
Roscrea are playing Terenure live on setanta in Rugby Country (Tallaght Stadium) right now. Unbelievable atmosphere, there must be more there now than 2 Shamrock losses in a row

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 6:13pm
You get the score big dawg?

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 6:17pm
Roscrea 13-10 Terenure

Big shock in the home of rugby.

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 6:19pm

Roscrea 13-10 Terenure

Big shock in the home of rugby.
holy sh*t! There goes my nap of terenure...my people were sooo wrong

Posted By: Funsize Crouchy
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 6:24pm
Great finish to the game. Terenure were unlucky not to get something from it

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 6:27pm
Biggest sporting occasion in Tallaght since Spurs played Rovers

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2013 at 6:30pm
Terenure had some serious backs There is defo at least one international between them. They just couldnt get ball off Roscrea and their bludgeoning forward play.

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2013 at 4:51pm
Newbridge and Michaels are currently on Setanta. Michaels are up 21-10. The 10 off Michaels looks a player, there is an air of J.Sexton about him Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2013 at 5:42pm
How come Roscrea play in Leinster Confused

Date Posted: 05 Mar 2013 at 10:47pm
So its the aul classic of Blackrock v Michaels in the final at the RDS. Whats the story with the Annual YBIG meet up? Kiely's>Match>GilesD4's gaff>Wes and then end up in Kyrstal again or are we changing it up this year?

Posted By: gilesD4
Date Posted: 06 Mar 2013 at 1:33am

So its the aul classic of Blackrock v Michaels in the final at the RDS. Whats the story with the Annual YBIG meet up? Kiely's>Match>GilesD4's gaff>Wes and then end up in Kyrstal again or are we changing it up this year?

Chez moi at 9am>Watch a Trilogy of Heino cup wins> If Svetlana isn't too busy stealing my silver cutlery, she normally serves up some Onion Brie Pizza, Smoked Salmon Pizette and I shall be rustling up some Baked Brie in Phyllo with Mango Chutney> After a few Courvoisiers and some Bolivian marching powder>Kiely's (Never any commoners on school cup final dayClapClapClapClap) >Match> A few liveners and Cardiff 2009 >Kyrstal

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2013 at 8:50am
Loike Luftwaffe style timing and precision

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2013 at 10:25am
I'll bring my DVD of The BSM Final...the JCT '96 Final

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2013 at 10:32am

I'll bring my DVD of The BSM Final...the JCT '96 Final

With new camera angles of THAT Try. It was the day Ireland became Rugby Country Clap

Date Posted: 06 Mar 2013 at 2:28pm
After muchos bottles of Dom Pérignon in Kyrstalback to mine for the annual burning of the Blackrock flag.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 12:11pm
The day has finally arrived. Just finished watching the 1996 Cup Semi final here in GilesD4s gaff, next is the final and THAT try, then to Keily's Clap

Svetlana served up a top notch breakfast. Just a shame she had an accident in the kitchen and is now in Vincents hospital. It seems to be another tradition that GilesD4s help ends up in hospital on Schools Cup Final day. Giles being the gent he is, rang for the ambulance himself. 

Ive heard back from Giles' brother Sebastian, that the Muckross parents association have already set up camp in Kiely's awaiting BSMs arrival.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 1:59pm
The Munster schools cup final is on Setanta as a warm up to the big one Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 3:32pm
What a top day so far

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 5:15pm
Top top game. The winner is surely the joint favourite with the Womens Rugby team for the Irish team of the year.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 5:48pm
Blackrock win 23-20 Thumbs Up

GilesD4 is not happy. I just seen him kick a Blackrock 1st year in the face. He gave him 100 lids after though to stop him crying Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 5:51pm
Bookies had the handicap spot on

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 5:57pm

Blackrock win 23-20 Thumbs Up

GilesD4 is not happy. I just seen him kick a Blackrock 1st year in the face. He gave him 100 lids after though to stop him crying Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 10:55pm
Just leaving Kiely's with BSM, Gerk, The Q Man and the Muckross Parents Association. Gerk is trying to impress the ladies about his LSL football career. The ladies are repulsed by his raff-raffyness. GilesD4 had to go to his solicitor about Svetlana's accident. He's left us his aul lads Credit Card for Kyrstal Clap

We were chatting to Ross Byrne the number 10 from Michaels. BSM is trying to convince him to fail his leaving cert how he can have another pop at the Cup. BSM was his childhood hero Cool

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2013 at 10:59pm

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2013 at 12:44am

Just leaving Kiely's with BSM, Gerk, The Q Man and the Muckross Parents Association. Gerk is trying to impress the ladies about his LSL football career. The ladies are repulsed by his raff-raffyness. GilesD4 had to go to his solicitor about Svetlana's accident. He's left us his aul lads Credit Card for Kyrstal Clap

We were chatting to Ross Byrne the number 10 from Michaels. BSM is trying to convince him to fail his leaving cert how he can have another pop at the Cup. BSM was his childhood hero Cool

Was he the goiy with the hairy rug sticking out at the top of his fake Lyle&Scott pique (polo shirt to you commoners)?

The two girls Tabitha and Abigail actually thought he was a hobo bumming some spare change.

Byrne really made a show of himself with BSM. It is all over the schools twitter page LOLLOLLOLLOL but 'that try' does do that to people ClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2014 at 5:47pm
Splendid reading in the Irish Times today. The annual Schools Cup Rugby supplement signals the real start to the build up to the premier sporting competitions on this island.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2014 at 7:43pm

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2014 at 1:08am
Cant believe its Schools Rugby time already again. The nation will return to occupying thier tournament prediction brackets and debating over the dinner tables and work places.

All the squads can be viewed on the IT website Clap
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/leinster-squads-school-by-school-1.1663085?page=1" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/leinster-squads-school-by-school-1.1663085?page=1

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2014 at 12:52am
Devastated that my beloved CUS lost out to Gonzaga today in the Vinnie Murray Cup semi-finals. 

In other news, Wardie's preview in tomorrow's Irish Independent Schools Rugby supplement will certainly be required reading.

The former St, Mary's and Ireland stand-off half is simply the foremost authority on the schools game on this island. 

Hopefully Sir Anthony will pen a wistful piece about the biggest regret of his sporting and business life - being part of the Belvo team which famously lost the 1954 final.

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 5:49pm
The whole of Leinster came to a standstill for today's massive Holy Ghost derby.

And the natural order has reasserted itself:

Blackrock College 16
St. Michael's 6

They'll be Rocking and rolling down Williamstown way tonight. 

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 9:44pm
Just watched this incredibly physical affair now. I spent the whole day trying to avoid the scores. The future of Irish sport and Ireland are in good shape with these 2 magnificient teams.

More sport of the highest order is on tomorrow again on Setanta Clap

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 9:47pm

Just watched this incredibly physical affair now. I spent the whole day trying to avoid the scores. The future of Irish sport and Ireland are in good shape with these 2 magnificient teams.

Andrews first time in quarters in 27 yearsClap

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 9:56pm

If I were a parent of one of the female pupils I'd be putting them in a convent if they get the win. The girls will be whipped up in frenzy to get their hands on their Schools Cup Icons.

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2014 at 7:04pm

If I were a parent of one of the female pupils I'd be putting them in a convent if they get the win. The girls will be whipped up in frenzy to get their hands on their Schools Cup Icons.

won 47-3, first time in the semi's since 1922Clap

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2015 at 5:35pm
Blackrock are OUT!

I repeat!

Blackrock are OUT!

Beaten 17-14 by Roscrea in the most dramatic fashion imaginable!

If ever a video summed up what this competition means, this is it.

Watch the video here:

https://twitter.com/SetantaSports/status/565550693936005120

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2015 at 6:18pm
The Rock out😱😱😱

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2015 at 6:25pm
That's why they call it the greatest knockout tournament in the world

#MagicOfTheCup

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 1:11am
Well done Roscrea
great day for offaly rugby

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 10:49am

Well done Roscrea

Clap, must echo that, what a finish to sicken The Rock.

Are De Nure still in it?

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 11:02am

Well done Roscrea

LOL Geography not your strong point.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 11:04am

Well done Roscrea

The College itself is in Offaly, although it's called Roscrea.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 11:09am

Well done Roscrea

Whoops...

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 11:21am

Well done Roscrea

Fcuk the College, geographically Roscrea is in Tipp!Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 11:54am

Well done Roscrea

Take your clamping and move on, Moonboy.

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 3:38pm

Well done Roscrea

The school is in offaly!
Them tipp crowd try to claim everything first obama now the offaly part of Roscrea!!

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2015 at 3:54pm
We have the same problem in Laois where Carlow keep claiming Knockbeg college. Not a rugby stronghold but geographically the same issue that tripped Neil Armstrong up.