Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 11:52am

Topic: Manchester Utd Thread
Subject: Manchester Utd Thread
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 9:49am
as with the celtic one, stick all yer stuff in here - good lads Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 10:13am
as with the celtic one , no lurkers/haters

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:00pm
should win tonight but you never know with united, playing a decent-ish team but the fact united reject Obertan is getting his game says it all, 1-3

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:11pm
I disagree with a set United thread. the scum one is there because they can't handle the opinions of others. United fans have the ability to debate rationally.

Are non United fans not allowed discuss Man Utd now?

Are we now going to have a Liverpool thread and every other club?

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:14pm

I disagree with a set United thread. the scum one is there because they can't handle the opinions of others. United fans have the ability to debate rationally.

Are non United fans not allowed discuss Man Utd now?

Are we now going to have a Liverpool thread and every other club?

LD, this is the scum one  LOL

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:14pm
Have the starting lineups been named already?

I can see United dropping 2 points tonight, it depends on what Nani shows up, the brilliant exciting and non wasteful one or the fookin infuriating twat that showed up against Blackburn!!

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:15pm
De Gea dropped Lindegaard starts

Valencia, Jones, Ferdinand, Evra, Nani, Carrick, Giggs, Park, Berbatov & Rooney

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:35pm
If anyone gets a link throw there, cheers

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:36pm
*throw it up there

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:37pm
Does Fergie see Valencia as a long term full back? Or is it injuries/squeezing him into the team?

Posted By: whoRya
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:47pm
Glad  Lindegaard is in the squad ahead of De Gea. Don't get me wrong I think De Gea will be a quality keeper but he needs a cooling!! 

"We can't behave like crocodiles and cry over spilled milk and broken eggs" - Trapattoni

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:55pm

Does Fergie see Valencia as a long term full back? Or is it injuries/squeezing him into the team?
I hope not

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:00pm
Come on United

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:07pm
I agree LD,Celtic thread was set up for certain reasons

Posted By: The Big Club
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:13pm

should win tonight but you never know with united, playing a decent-ish team but the fact united reject Obertan is getting his game says it all, 1-3

Sterotypic stupid opinion, have you see a newcastle game this season, been one of our best players constantly loooking for the ball and taking men on has been a great signing or is a players career over when they leavve united

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:17pm

I agree LD,Celtic thread was set up for certain reasons

It was set-up so people like you and that bitch could stay away from it.

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:27pm
Is firstrowsports down ???
anyone got a link ?

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:33pm
The scum should have had a peno.

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:36pm
1-0 to the scum. What a finish from Ba.

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:39pm
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

The scum should have had a peno.

who ? Celtic ? its hard to tell on ybig.ie

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:49pm
Very hot and cold from Man United. The 2 lads at centre back look to be struggling with the high ball in the wind. Passing could be better. Nani giving away a huge amount of posession.

Newcastle are full value for their 1-0 lead though. They've been superb. The wind is a huge factor though.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:53pm
Newcastle the better team so far, along with the goal. Entertaining stuff.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:56pm
Can't believe how poor Man U have been first half don't think I've ever seen Wayne Rooney play so badly.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:58pm
I was typing in Howard Webb to google and straight away the following came up "Howard Webb Manchester United" LOL

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 1:58pm
rooneys been shocking, his touch and lay offs havent beent here at all

Posted By: KrisMorrisKross
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:02pm
Sloppy first half from United. Rooney has been very off the pace, giving the ball away cheaply. Didn't think it was a pen, for once shoulder to shoulder Rio showed a bit of strength and I think that caused the legs coming together. Rio was at fault for the goal, he should have been tighter as Ba's only options were to hit first time or take a touch which he would have been forced to do if Rio was closer. 

Back o' the Net !

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:05pm
United's players aren't fit to wear the jersey in that first half.

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:08pm
Originally posted by KrisMorrisKross KrisMorrisKross wrote:

Sloppy first half from United. Rooney has been very off the pace, giving the ball away cheaply. Didn't think it was a pen, for once shoulder to shoulder Rio showed a bit of strength and I think that caused the legs coming together. Rio was at fault for the goal, he should have been tighter as Ba's only options were to hit first time or take a touch which he would have been forced to do if Rio was closer. 
Rio with the reactions of a turkey for the goal.

2-0 now. Superb strike from Cabaye.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:15pm
Lindegaard
http://media.monstersandcritics.com/articles2/1477624/article_images/t24501.jpg

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:18pm
sh*t team

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:30pm
Ferdinand your done lad....time to leave!

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:31pm
O'Shea is stood in the away end!

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:46pm
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

O'Shea is stood in the away end!
With Bardsley and Frazier Campbell apparently. From the pic on twitter it looks like David Meyler is there too.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:50pm
Jones

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:52pm
OMGEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:52pm
Utter muck.

Schoolboy defending from Jones. Himself and Ferdinand have been dreadful. Shambles of a performence.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:53pm
#FERGIEOUT

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:55pm
What the fook was Jones playing at Angry

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:56pm
I siad before i could only see one winner of the league this season, Man City. United dont have the consistency to challenge at the moment, too many individual errors, which is to be expected from young players. Jones always seems to give the opposition a chance in every match

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:56pm
Ferdinand has to go at the End of the season for me. Not just based on tonight btw

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:58pm
Not worth a rant. So i'll keep it short and sweet.

Pathetic.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:00pm
Midfielder is badly needed in this transfer window

Posted By: The Drifter
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:00pm
what was jones playing at there? do him and lindegaard not know how to communicate? if in doubt, head out for a corner or a throw in, shocking defending.

My dream has always been to play for the Republic of Ireland - James McClean.

Posted By: Siralex
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:01pm
Newcastle's work-rate was immense.  United were poor though again - second best again for the second game running.

It's worrying.  Injuries as an excuse won't go far...

If I keep writing enough hagiographic articles on Man Utd, they might give me a job

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:03pm
Very light in midfield, Carrick and Giggs struggled with the tenacity of Tiote. Rooney was very poor. Dont agree with the criticism of Ferdinand.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:08pm
united undone by duke

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:15pm

looks a mistake selling O'Shea now, he has been brilliant under O'Neill and would be an improvement on Jones and Valencia in defence IMO

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:16pm
united will still win the league, you heard it here first Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:20pm

Cabaye and Tiote wont be hanging around the toon for too long. Big money summer transfers on horizon. Tidy players.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:24pm
Newcastle deserved the win. Quality all over the park. United were dire.

What Park adds to the side i do not know. Tiote is a great player. Will prob move to Liverpool and be ruined as a footballer, like Carroll and Downing Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:26pm

ruined as a footballer, like Carroll

Posted By: The Big Club
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:32pm
We were magnificent.

NA NA NA NA NA NA NA DEMBA DEMBA BA DEMBA BA DEMBA DEMBA BA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:36pm

It was a joke.... cannot compute, cannot compute!

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:42pm

It was a joke.... cannot compute, cannot compute!

Posted By: KrisMorrisKross
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 3:49pm
United are beating leeds 3-1 at half time on Setanta from the 2001-02 season. This will either depress you, cheer you up or anger you depending on whether you are a glass half full/empty/broken and stuck in someone's face type of person

Back o' the Net !

Posted By: Weecounty
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 4:41pm
Bet Fergie is sick he sold O'SheaLOL

Posted By: harry
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 5:05pm

Newcastle deserved the win. Quality all over the park. United were dire.

What Park adds to the side i do not know. Tiote is a great player. Will prob move to Liverpool and be ruined as a footballer, like Carroll and Downing Thumbs Up

Posted By: harry
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 5:09pm

united will still win the league, you heard it here first Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 5:26pm
I thought it was a bad decision tonight by Fergie to drop De Gea (unlike most United fans I have come across who seemed to think it was a masterclass before the game) in favour of Lindegaard. I think it is simply knocking a player when he is obviously dejected after the Blackburn game and the blame he received. It is clearly scapegoating a player despite Ferguson saying after the blackburn game when asked "was de Gea at fault for the final goal", he replied "they were all at fault for the goal" and swiftly moved on. Clearly he isn't confident in De Gea but I felt that actually the best thing to have done would have been to keep playing the lad and show faith in him.

Posted By: MintBerryCrunch
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 5:54pm
Delighted Trapped kindly bought my tickets for this game Clap

Posted By: ilovetrap
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 5:58pm
uniteds goalie wasnt the problem tonite prob their best player which wudnt be hard,united are finished lucky if they get 3rd this season,city have it in the bag

I ARE GIMP

Posted By: Twice_Daly
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 8:20pm
Originally posted by The Drifter The Drifter wrote:

I thought it was a bad decision tonight by Fergie to drop De Gea (unlike most United fans I have come across who seemed to think it was a masterclass before the game) in favour of Lindegaard. I think it is simply knocking a player when he is obviously dejected after the Blackburn game and the blame he received. It is clearly scapegoating a player despite Ferguson saying after the blackburn game when asked "was de Gea at fault for the final goal", he replied "they were all at fault for the goal" and swiftly moved on. Clearly he isn't confident in De Gea but I felt that actually the best thing to have done would have been to keep playing the lad and show faith in him.

if lindergaard played so well in his previous games and didnt come into question and De Gea played bad when given his chance, of course Ferguson isnt going to be confident in De Gea.

The 1st 2 goals tonight were well taken. id have Lindergaard in goals any day, De Gea's presence and communication is not up to scratch for EPL yet.

NUNS ARE PEOPLE TOO

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 2:19am
Yeah, the goalkeeper position was just a side show last night - the real battle took place in centre midfield and United were more or less destroyed in that department. Giggs was decent in possession, but just doesn't have the legs any more to be effective enough without it. Tiote and Cabaye were just too much for them in the end last night.

Oh, and Ferdinand is more or less a liability at this stage - startling how such a quality player can decline so quickly. I'd hardly say he was at fault for the first goal, but I'd be confident enough that Ferdinand in his prime would have got tight enough to Ba to block the shot. And how in God's name the ref didn't give that peno I'll never know!

Still, think it's far too premature to write United off at this point - they've still got a good few injuries and if they get those players back they'll be a force again. Surely Ferguson needs to seriously look into signing a CM in January though.

Posted By: greengiant
Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 3:41am

What CM should they be targeting dya think?,either of the Newcastle midfielders would walk onto the united team,two great signings,id be delighted if we could take one but to be honest id like to see them stay at the toon,good to see them doing well. I think we missed a trick with Parker in the summer,would have been perfect for United,i think a DM is more of a priority than a playmaker,we have been shambolic at times,although a lot of that could be down to a complete lack of consistency in the back 4.

Rodwell for me,young,premier league experience,all round solid midfielder €20 million isnt too bad either,these days!

The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 3:46am
Originally posted by Weecounty Weecounty wrote:

He never played O'Shea at CB though. Don't think he would have been their answer to their problems in centre midfield either.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 3:54am

Originally posted by Weecounty Weecounty wrote:

He never played O'Shea at CB though. Don't think he would have been their answer to their problems in centre midfield either.
He had a shocker at CB one game about 3-4 years ago,cant remember who it was against,it was an important enough fixture and Fergie never trusted him in there again and O'Shea in CM very rarely happened

The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 4:12am
Last night was just a minor blip for United on the way to title #20!! Clap

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 4:16am

Last night was just a minor blip for United on the way to title #20!! Clap
+1 Clap

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 4:19am
is this lad Pogba not ready for an appearance in the first team? surely would be an improvement on the likes of Rafael or Park, he has a big reputation. i noticed Will Keane came on ahead of him at the weekend, and actually became one of Blackburns most important defenders!!

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 4:26am
Some odd points being raised.

I don't Ferdinand had a bad game at all...don't know where people are getting that from, probably the slo-mo of the first goal???  I thought he did OK...Ba is some player for holding the ball up...

United's main problem is Young injured at the moment at the same time Smalling is - because not having the width is really what United are struggling with, creatively.  The lack of width and incosistency in names in the back 4.  It seems to change every week.

If Smalling was fit, we'd have Valencia one side, Nani the other.  If Young was fit, Nani one side, Young the other.  It makes such a massive difference - a huge difference to how we use the ball when in possession.  That has been largely missing the last two games.  

Defensively we are all over the place...Injuries galore and a different back 5 seem to be playing every game.  It's unreal how important to have consistency in that area is...Liverpool are sh*te, but their consistent in the players they use in the back four and have become a real unit there...hard to break down.  United are easy to break down.

If we don't start getting layers returning from injury - and staying injury-free, we may not amass the 86 points I said we'd get to win the league at the start of the season...It's a worry.

Too many United fans pointing fingers at particular players saying he ain't good enough, he's sh*te, buy some one in that position....That's all knee-jerk nonsense.  United need consistency in their set-up and they just don't have it because from September onwards they've constantly had about 8-10 injuries..every week.  

...On a further note, this is just a thread for the Newcastle v United game....Any other points relating to United a new thread can be made.  This is a football forum - it's supposed to be open for all readers.  If we start creating threads specific to each club, the rest of teh world forum would die...Why would Liverpool fans just wanna be discussing things with Liverpool fans or United fans just discusing with United fans?  Doesn't make sense!  Each topic had it's own forum - it's what makes this ROW section the one of the best football discussion places in Ireland.

If I keep writing enough hagiographic articles on Man Utd, they might give me a job

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 4:52am
Originally posted by Siralex Siralex wrote:

Some odd points being raised.

I don't Ferdinand had a bad game at all...don't know where people are getting that from, probably the slo-mo of the first goal???  I thought he did OK...Ba is some player for holding the ball up...

United's main problem is Young injured at the moment at the same time Smalling is - because not having the width is really what United are struggling with, creatively.  The lack of width and incosistency in names in the back 4.  It seems to change every week.

If Smalling was fit, we'd have Valencia one side, Nani the other.  If Young was fit, Nani one side, Young the other.  It makes such a massive difference - a huge difference to how we use the ball when in possession.  That has been largely missing the last two games.  

Defensively we are all over the place...Injuries galore and a different back 5 seem to be playing every game.  It's unreal how important to have consistency in that area is...Liverpool are sh*te, but their consistent in the players they use in the back four and have become a real unit there...hard to break down.  United are easy to break down.

If we don't start getting layers returning from injury - and staying injury-free, we may not amass the 86 points I said we'd get to win the league at the start of the season...It's a worry.

Too many United fans pointing fingers at particular players saying he ain't good enough, he's sh*te, buy some one in that position....That's all knee-jerk nonsense.  United need consistency in their set-up and they just don't have it because from September onwards they've constantly had about 8-10 injuries..every week.  

...On a further note, this is just a thread for the Newcastle v United game....Any other points relating to United a new thread can be made.  This is a football forum - it's supposed to be open for all readers.  If we start creating threads specific to each club, the rest of teh world forum would die...Why would Liverpool fans just wanna be discussing things with Liverpool fans or United fans just discusing with United fans?  Doesn't make sense!  Each topic had it's own forum - it's what makes this ROW section the one of the best football discussion places in Ireland.

I missed the game last night,just caught the highlights,so I cant comment on Ferdinands performance but hes not the player he was,surely you can concede that?
Your obviously a big Man U fan...who would u like to see them bring in?,do you think we need anybody?

Posted By: Twice_Daly
Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 5:01am
agreed that ferdinand did ok, you couldnt really blame him. he's been much improved lately. Tiote, Ba and Cabaye are solid, good players. it will be interesting to see how newcastle cope without Tiote and Ba.

hate that knee jerk nonsense too about fans looking to buy all the time. Remember how we struggled last year and when Valencia came back fit, just one player, it was like getting in a new signing and it freshened up the team. plenty of utd players due back soon and they are good enough to make the team stronger ( smalling & especially Tom cleverley IMO)

NUNS ARE PEOPLE TOO

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 5:06am

I think the way the injries have hit mean that the most important area to keep consistent in is defence.  So if I were gonna spalsh out it would be to bring someone in in that area.  Possibly a right-full.

But I don't like the idea of buying someone just for the sake that we have a few injuries.  If we have a solid right-full, it changes everything.  Smalling can play with Rio at the heart, Valencia can then move to the right wing and Nani out to the left where the team would have much, much better balance.  There is no balance in this team the last two games.  SOme fans are going on about our defence being too weak or our central midfield not being strong enough...the fact is, over the last two matches, we have been lacking width and balance and our players in possession are being laboured because the balance that we are used to isn't there.  

We'll just have to count ourselves to be very unfortunate to have had so many injuries...and if it throws us right of course for the season than so be it!  Panic buying isn't the Ferguson way...Fergie has too much potential in central midfield that he will want to test before bringing anyone in in that area. 

For some reason a lot of United fans feel that's where we are lacking, because there isn't a world-class household name in there.  I think that's bollocks.  Central midfield is the one area United aren't lacking!  They have like 9 first-squad members that can play in there.  It ain't a problem.  I wouldn't be surprised in the summer if Berbatov left and Fergie went full-tilt at a top quality goalscorer.  

But in January, I'll be surprised if he buys anyone, and if he does, it may be just to patch up numbers at the back - especially right-full so we can stop playing so many players out of position.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2012 at 5:07am
Originally posted by Twice_Daly Twice_Daly wrote:

agreed that ferdinand did ok, you couldnt really blame him. he's been much improved lately. Tiote, Ba and Cabaye are solid, good players. it will be interesting to see how newcastle cope without Tiote and Ba.

hate that knee jerk nonsense too about fans looking to buy all the time. Remember how we struggled last year and when Valencia came back fit, just one player, it was like getting in a new signing and it freshened up the team. plenty of utd players due back soon and they are good enough to make the team stronger ( smalling & especially Tom cleverley IMO)
Thats a very good point...but i still cant help but feel we need more options in midfield??...as i said previously its a sad day when newcastle who are maybe eyeing a europa league spot have two midfielders who could walk onto the united team?...im not absolutely demanding we sign someone as i have trust in Fergie...who am i to question him!!...but im just interested to hear who people think we should sign if we were to open the cheque book?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2012 at 3:34pm
Utd to lose their 3rd game on the trot on Sunday?

Man City away is not an easy game.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 2:26pm
2 3 game on !

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 2:33pm
Originally posted by greengiant greengiant wrote:

Originally posted by Twice_Daly Twice_Daly wrote:

Thats a very good point...but i still cant help but feel we need more options in midfield??...as i said previously its a sad day when newcastle who are maybe eyeing a europa league spot have two midfielders who could walk onto the united team?...im not absolutely demanding we sign someone as i have trust in Fergie...who am i to question him!!...but im just interested to hear who people think we should sign if we were to open the cheque book?

Glaziers have net spent 8million since they arrived.  Don't think any opening of the cheque book is going to happen. Does not mean they wont sign players but it seems to be that its all pretty much self financing from player sales etc.

Posted By: Wearside Bhoy
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 2:41pm
Scholes should have stayed on the bench.

TJ Doyles,Sunderland probably the best Irish pub in the world.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 4:17pm
kompany should have stayed on the pitch 

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 4:38pm

I think the way the injries have hit mean that the most important area to keep consistent in is defence.  So if I were gonna spalsh out it would be to bring someone in in that area.  Possibly a right-full.

But I don't like the idea of buying someone just for the sake that we have a few injuries.  If we have a solid right-full, it changes everything.  Smalling can play with Rio at the heart, Valencia can then move to the right wing and Nani out to the left where the team would have much, much better balance.  There is no balance in this team the last two games.  SOme fans are going on about our defence being too weak or our central midfield not being strong enough...the fact is, over the last two matches, we have been lacking width and balance and our players in possession are being laboured because the balance that we are used to isn't there.  

We'll just have to count ourselves to be very unfortunate to have had so many injuries...and if it throws us right of course for the season than so be it!  Panic buying isn't the Ferguson way...Fergie has too much potential in central midfield that he will want to test before bringing anyone in in that area. 

For some reason a lot of United fans feel that's where we are lacking, because there isn't a world-class household name in there.  I think that's bollocks.  Central midfield is the one area United aren't lacking!  They have like 9 first-squad members that can play in there.  It ain't a problem.  I wouldn't be surprised in the summer if Berbatov left and Fergie went full-tilt at a top quality goalscorer.  

But in January, I'll be surprised if he buys anyone, and if he does, it may be just to patch up numbers at the back - especially right-full so we can stop playing so many players out of position.

Siralex are you suggesting United have conceded 8 goals in the last 3 games because of the wingers rather than Vidic's absence? Jaysus!

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 4:41pm
Originally posted by trapped trapped wrote:

Siralex are you suggesting United have conceded 8 goals in the last 3 games because of the wingers rather than Vidic's absence? Jaysus!

Would this be the same Vidic that SA claimed we wouldn't miss as much as Ferdinand Embarrassed

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 7:39pm
After much speculation that Rooney was going to leave Man United , he kissed the badge during the Manchester derby today to show his loyalty to the club...A bit like when he kisses his wife before he goes to see a prostitute Wink

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 8:34pm

Trapped - I'm looking at the bigger picture.  I suggested that Smalling was key to United - not because he's a good player - or not because of what he brings to the team - but purely for balance.  I said this in my post.  You clearly don't understand.

...and here's the thing.  ALex ferguson's press conference on Friday - AFTER I posted SMalling was key on here - said, and I know some of you watch Fergie's press conference so can confirm this - "Smalling is key, Smalling is THE one player I would want back."  That's a paraphrase, he said something to that tune, can't remember the exact quote.

But here's teh reason why he and I wanted Smalling back...It gave the team balance - as you saw today.  Against Blackburn and Newastle - United were laboured in possession - y'all saw that yourself.  United had possession of teh ball around midfeild and couldn't make progress.  They didn't know what to do with the ball.  Reason?  Lack of width!  Check out my thoughts on teh Blackburn and Newcastle games - the lack of width was my concern. Smalling coming back released Valncia from his full back duties giving United both Valncia and Nani...I mentioned this many times on here...as soon as Smalling's back United will improve.

Hey presto..United get SMalling back, they push Valencia in to the right wing, Nani to the left and they go and beat Man City - the best team in England at present - in their own back yard....Look at the first goal for reason for me wanting Smalling back...and Smalling didn't even touch the ball!  Remember players and their rle can't be judged just by what they do on the ball.

As fo United missing Vidic, yes they will - but in no way the same way as they missed Ferdinand when he was banned for missing a test.  When he got that ban in January - United were 7 points clear at the summit, I turned around to me mate on hearing that news and said: "United won't win this title now."  They didn't!

I don't think Vidic's loss is as big a deal.  I still think United can win the league without him.  I'm sure they can!  ..and let's not forget, United only conceded one goal in the four games (three clean sheets) immediately after Vidic picked up his injury.  yes they have conceded 8 in the last three games, but that was more to do with the lack of balance United were showing and make-shift defenders (Carick, Valencia etc) playing in those positions.

Vidic is a loss, definitely, but not as key a loss as some people will have you believe.  I have to add to that though, that he may well now be a more pivotal figure than Rio because Rio is in the dark winter of his career.  

But once United have that balance, I knew they'd improve...and I thought they were brilliant today.  Deserved to win by a lot more than one. Great display - different team to the last two games - and that difference was the balance within the side. KEY!

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 8:43pm
Nani was dreadful again today. Needlessly gave away posession in build up to man city's 1st goal.

Posted By: dotts101
Date Posted: 09 Jan 2012 at 12:30am

Trapped - I'm looking at the bigger picture.  I suggested that Smalling was key to United - not because he's a good player - or not because of what he brings to the team - but purely for balance.  I said this in my post.  You clearly don't understand.

...and here's the thing.  ALex ferguson's press conference on Friday - AFTER I posted SMalling was key on here - said, and I know some of you watch Fergie's press conference so can confirm this - "Smalling is key, Smalling is THE one player I would want back."  That's a paraphrase, he said something to that tune, can't remember the exact quote.

But here's teh reason why he and I wanted Smalling back...It gave the team balance - as you saw today.  Against Blackburn and Newastle - United were laboured in possession - y'all saw that yourself.  United had possession of teh ball around midfeild and couldn't make progress.  They didn't know what to do with the ball.  Reason?  Lack of width!  Check out my thoughts on teh Blackburn and Newcastle games - the lack of width was my concern. Smalling coming back released Valncia from his full back duties giving United both Valncia and Nani...I mentioned this many times on here...as soon as Smalling's back United will improve.

Hey presto..United get SMalling back, they push Valencia in to the right wing, Nani to the left and they go and beat Man City - the best team in England at present - in their own back yard....Look at the first goal for reason for me wanting Smalling back...and Smalling didn't even touch the ball!  Remember players and their rle can't be judged just by what they do on the ball.

As fo United missing Vidic, yes they will - but in no way the same way as they missed Ferdinand when he was banned for missing a test.  When he got that ban in January - United were 7 points clear at the summit, I turned around to me mate on hearing that news and said: "United won't win this title now."  They didn't!

I don't think Vidic's loss is as big a deal.  I still think United can win the league without him.  I'm sure they can!  ..and let's not forget, United only conceded one goal in the four games (three clean sheets) immediately after Vidic picked up his injury.  yes they have conceded 8 in the last three games, but that was more to do with the lack of balance United were showing and make-shift defenders (Carick, Valencia etc) playing in those positions.

Vidic is a loss, definitely, but not as key a loss as some people will have you believe.  I have to add to that though, that he may well now be a more pivotal figure than Rio because Rio is in the dark winter of his career.  

But once United have that balance, I knew they'd improve...and I thought they were brilliant today.  Deserved to win by a lot more than one. Great display - different team to the last two games - and that difference was the balance within the side. KEY!

i agree with most you have said siralex, especially regards valencia play right wing!!! i would love to see the stats regarding valencia assist to rooney goals. when rooney had his 30 goal season alot of them were supplied by valencia. he then got injured and nearly left and suffered with form, when did that form return? when valencia came back from injury. and it has been similiar again this season.

Regarding smalling, he is outstanding player with alot of potential still to develop, everyone bangs on about jones, who is good but i prefer smalling by a mile!!! But i do feel vidic presence is badly missed he is our captain and when he returned from injury the clean sheets returned.

my one question is rafael is back but not playing! he is a natural full back not a centre mid has happened against blackburn where i cried out for him to switch so valencia could take the wing. does fergie see valencia as a better rb than rafa? who has been good but rash at times. 

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2012 at 8:23pm
SA i agree that Valencia has been excellent recently and is the form winger out of himself, Nani and Young. His deliveries are getting back to as good as they were two seasons ago and the team are much better going forward when he's at right wing rather than right back.

However, the mistakes made at the back in the last few matches had nothing to do with the 'balance' of the team - that's a separate issue. The goals conceded were very poor, caused by sloppy defending and a general lack of assertion. Vidic's absence is the main reason for this - plain and simple. I think you're trying to over-complicate the situation to make it seem like Vidic is not much of a loss at the back.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2012 at 9:07pm

I never even mentioned Vidic - read back!  It wasn't me that brought him up.  I just said in order for this team to improve we need Smalling back asap so we can find the balance in the team again. 

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2012 at 1:00am
Right well i doubt those 6 goals would have been conceded with Vidic in the team.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2012 at 4:10pm
Whats the story with Pogba and Ravel Morrison constantly being linked with moving away from the club?

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2012 at 5:22pm

Whats the story with Pogba and Ravel Morrison constantly being linked with moving away from the club?

Ravels had enough apparently

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2012 at 6:05pm
The only reason Fergie hasn't f**ked Morrison out of the club is the huge potential he has and I'd imagine he's afraid a rival will snap him up and he'll become a top player. He certainly has the potential to be a serious player.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2012 at 6:41pm

Ravels had enough apparently

i had enough of them too over the Christmas, the toffee ones are great Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2012 at 6:44pm
Match against Racist FC in the Cup is on Saturday 28th January with a 12:45 KO. Live on ITV

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 12:54pm
Just interested what you think of Mark McCaddens page in the Star today

i quote"Roy Keane aside,Fergie cant buy decent central midfielder"
"Fergies failure to buy a top class midfielder has arguably cost him more CL successes"
"the jury is still out on Michael Carrick,despit PL and CL medals"

As a Utd fan whose opinion i respect,just wonder what your opinion is on what he has writtenThumbs Up

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 1:02pm
might have already been posted
fletcher and young in with Utd fans v City
Seems Utd players to this alot when not available to play
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2csWI1QbfI" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2csWI1QbfI

i see Ravel Morrison is being sold aswel,Fergie must have had enough of him

Posted By: seaniemac
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 1:50pm
Would like to see Morrison stay as he is a very talented player but if he does leave United, I hope it's somewhere far away from Manchester as he needs to get away from his 'mates' who he keeps hanging around with and getting into trouble with. He should be old enough by now to realise it too.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 4:47pm

Just interested what you think of Mark McCaddens page in the Star today

i quote"Roy Keane aside,Fergie cant buy decent central midfielder"
"Fergies failure to buy a top class midfielder has arguably cost him more CL successes"
"the jury is still out on Michael Carrick,despit PL and CL medals"

As a Utd fan whose opinion i respect,just wonder what your opinion is on what he has writtenThumbs Up

Was that Mark's opinion on it?  I haven't read the Star today...

My own opinion on that is - as I've said here lots of times - people tend to put way too much emphasis on individual players and individual positions.  It's crazy.  The fact that football is a team game seems to go out the window.  Whether Alex Ferguson has had or has not had what people refer to as a world-class midfielder in his team over the past 20-years doesn't really matter in teh grand scheme of things does it?  What matter is that the TEAM are winning things...Who can argue with what United have won over teh past 20-years?  You'd be a moron to expect anything more than what they have done...in fact what they have done in that time remains the longest run of success in English football's 130-year history - so to question it is just plain daft.

Does anybody think any United fan would rather have a top world-class midfielder in their team and not have the team overrall be a success - or would they rather have it the way Fergie currently has it - winning four league titles and been in three European Cup Finals since Roy Keane (the last great midfielder United have had in Mark's opinion) left the club six years ago?

It seems to be a hurdle fans can't get over - forget the success this team have had....where's the world-class midfielder?  Mental thinking in my opinion.  Horrendous thinking.  The team - overrall - is ONLY what matters.

I think Fergie genuinely takes an approach whereby he doesn't purposely have players in his team that he can't rotate and drop.  He likes the idea of having a big squad and utilising that squad as best he can.  I think buying Sneijder for 25million - while he is undoubtedly a great player - would bring with it pressures that Fergie doesn't want.  How can I drop Sneijder for Park when I want to keep everybody on the same fitness level?    Can Sneijder play in the middle alongside Giggs-Carrick-Valencia one week and then adapt to playing with Young-Anderson-Nani the next?  

That's teh beaut about Fergie's midfield options...he can play different names in even in different positions at different times for different matches - and nobody batters an eyelid....Nobody mentions that ANderson is dropped, or young is left out, or Valencia's on the bench..or Giggs, Park, Cleverley, Nani....he can adapt as he wants.

Bring in a Sneijder - and suddenly the media are asking questions of why he is on the bench against Bolton at the weekend...extra pressure on the player, pressure on the manager, pressure on the team.

That - I genuinely think, is Ferguson's approach to handling modern-day football, managing a big squad which is what you need.

People will say that a midfield duo of Carrick/Fletcher just isn't good enough on paper for such a big club...and that may be so - but football isn't played on paper.  However the fact remains - and this can't be disputed, that the midfield duo of Carrick/Fletcher has been the most successful midfield duo in United's 130-year history - just look at the amount of trophies United have won since those two became our important midfield players...more than we ever won with Robson - or Keane - or Charlton - or Duncan Edwards - or Ince - etc, etc, etc..

Football is all about the results the TEAM bring home, not about whose name looks prettiest on paper!  And it always will be that way!

(Just thought I'd post this answer BSM to your question, because in the other thread people seem to be dragging up a debate that happened over a year ago - what's your opinion on it?)

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 5:44pm
If either Manchester clubs are buying a midfielder it should be a deep lying playmaker I feel. I think both teams need to improve this are in order to go further in Europe. I don't see any need for a player like sneijder. The last few winners of the UCL have had excellent deep lying playmakers, Alonso, Pirlo, Xavi/Busquets, Cambiasso, Scholes(08).

If they do buy I think this is where they should look. Doesn't need to be a superstar either. Someone like Montolivo who's out of contract in June. Javi Martinez, but he'd take more cash.

Haven't see enough of Cleverly to know if this is the tyoe of midfielder he is?

City are in the same boat as well for me. Barry not quite UCL standard, and De Jong is just a destroyer.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 6:07pm
Modric is the man.  Best central midfielder in the EPL.  

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2012 at 6:35pm

Modric is the man. Best central midfielder in the EPL.

Totally agree, he's absolutely quality, don't think he'll leave Spurs for anyone but Chelsea tho!!