URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=34617
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 11:31am

Topic: Torun
Posted By: irishtoon
Subject: Torun
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:11pm
Well lads just wondering who if any one is staying in torun and does anyone know much about it we've got an apartment booked form the 6-16th  there using it as our base for the first 2 games ive heard there is plenty of pubs/ clubs there anyone else know anymore?

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:20pm
unesco heritage site - well preserved old town. half way between poznan and gdansk and only 3 hours from warsaw too. well suited for rail links and apparently its poland's nicest town with a well developed torist industry

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:21pm
Good crowd from here staying here. 

Roll call  for Torun between games. ,  :)  Sure lets get a list going.

Baldrick
Irishtoon
Saint Tom

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:23pm
will be at least 40 of us there between games baldrick - big london crew organised by tash, ourselves, the hornets, gem and the girls are booked too, as is aido and his three, dg80 and his bro too

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:24pm
i believe murph and his mrs have booked there, as has gufct and his group, malachy and seamus too

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:25pm

will be at least 40 of us there between games baldrick - big london crew organised by tash, ourselves, the hornets, gem and the girls are booked too, as is aido and his three, dg80 and his bro too

Brianie +4

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:26pm
Myself and rolo plus 4 at some point too, cant remember when

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:26pm
just had a quick look and train to poznan is €7 and two hours, train to warsaw about 2.5 hours and €10, gdansk is slightly longer because only regional train go (over 3 hours - two hours by road) but fare is about €7 too

Posted By: Uncle Trap
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:27pm
Just a thread for fans basing themselves in Torun!

Uncle Trap +6 (in Hostel Orange, going up on Mon 11th and basing ourselves there for rest of group)

Who else is pencilled in for Torun?!

Given, Dunne, Duff, Keane...The Generals.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:28pm
Yeah I did not want to list everybody out let them put their names down for themselves was my thinking.  I read in a report one time, that was the right way to do a list on YBIGWink.  That was while I was charging myself 15 euro an hour to read the report in the first place while being patronising to Citizen. 

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:29pm
Babbsballs crew are there too, Shannonhibs 

I have 8 beds booked there from the 9th til the 19th. Will use as a base and hopefully get to Poznan and Gdansk for a couple of nights
Me, Hoskins, Count, O'Toole, HoneyMonster, Gaz, Bhob 

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:29pm
Ahhh Jaysus, I did not realise the YBIG hierarchy was going to be there. 

I am out of there Wink

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:30pm
i have about 4/5 with me  seems like a good crowd there the role call will take place mid day everyday in the old grandmother think its the only irish bar in the town hope they will be well stocked up

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:32pm
SO basically a lilst of who is not there would be a better idea

Guarantee, the Bear and Aido will be in the Old Grandmother every night Wink

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:33pm
our lot have booked for 11th - 13th and 15th - 17th

going to head straight to poznan after landing in warsaw - rooms are very pricey in warsaw on the 6th and 7th (which is odd because its a few days before the start) - have good rooms in poznan from 6th to the 9th at €36 a head per night.

the match nights are proving quite difficult in poznan and gdansk

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:34pm

no suprises there LOL

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:34pm

Ahhh Jaysus, I did not realise the YBIG hierarchy was going to be there. 

I am out of there Wink

Someone has to keep an eye on the tramps, which there will be plenty of by the looks of thingsSmile

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:35pm
As I said on the phone earlier Tom, I think they will free up after X mas. 

As Minty says.  Main thing is not to panic.  

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:35pm

Ye then they will go to the pub

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:36pm

our lot have booked for 11th - 13th and 15th - 17th

going to head straight to poznan after landing in warsaw - rooms are very pricey in warsaw on the 6th and 7th (which is odd because its a few days before the start) - have good rooms in poznan from 6th to the 9th at €36 a head per night.

the match nights are proving quite difficult in poznan and gdansk

CampsiesThumbs Up

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:38pm
will considered it ger - campsites are a bit far out 10km

have a few irons in the fire yet so will see

would love to stay here http://www.brovaria.pl - http://www.brovaria.pl  hotel with brewery right in central poznan - €150 ppn B&B on match nights though

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:39pm
worst comes to the worst tom, stay in Torun the night before the game, and pull and all nighter after we win :)  

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:39pm
7 of us booked in from Mon June 11th to end of the group! In Hostel Orange near the main square!Big smile

Hoping we'll get accom in Poznan on the 9th and 10th before heading up to Torun to set up base!

Same with Gdansk, it'll be a case of waiting until Jan to get accom up there for the 14th (or we could all chip in for a private coach, a fiver or so a head on a 50 seater should see us up and brought back down to Torun that night to our base around 2 in the morning out of our trees, just a thought...could be worth exploring...)

Torun is gonna be where its at!! Clap

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 2:41pm
Must be a good spot if bruce springsteen wrote a song about it

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:06pm
Staying here from the 15th - 19th

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:07pm

rolo and nvidic plus 4:

Krakow: 6th to 9th. €10 a head per nite. 
Poznan: 9th to 11th. Apartment at €36 a head per nite. 
Bydgosczc: 11th to 13th. €11 a head per nite.
Gdansk: 13th to 15th. €20 a head per nite.
Bydgosczc or Torun: 15th to 17th. €10/12 a head per nite. Depends which one we cancel.
Poznan: 17th to 18th. €24 a head per nite.
Homeless on the 18th till booking.com settle a dispute for us with one sneaky hostel, if not we're not worried, just head back on the early morning train to bygo/torun.

Posted By: John W
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:07pm
JohnW plus 2 for Torun have an apartment booked from 8th - 15th have to come back for a wedding.
Torun: YBIG Home for Euro 2012 Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:08pm
Myself, the missus and 2 others booked for Torun 11-13 and 15-18 June, changed base from lodz after the draw. Gettin impatient already! In 2 minds whether to book return flight or not cause I know when we get out of group I won't wanna go home!

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:17pm
Dont book your flight home if you dont have to.  Stick a few bob on us qualifying out of the group and if we do, then that covers some of the cost of the next round. 

No advantage of booking a flight home in my view, unless you have to go home

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:34pm
we have booked for 11th - 13th and 15th - 17th.
Rossieman +4

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:35pm
my problem is some place the stay the day before and the night of the match  i was thinking campsites but i wanted to hold out but on booking.com it says the campsite is going to hold out soon what are others doing?

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:41pm
http://www.travbuddy.com/travel-blogs/11489/Trip-Warsaw-Toru-14 - http://www.travbuddy.com/travel-blogs/11489/Trip-Warsaw-Toru-14

This lad has a blog on his travesl around Poland.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 3:43pm
This town seems like a great find. I'll i'll have to join people in the orange hostel.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 4:19pm
for any of yous booked into orange hostel were did you book it from cant find it on booking.com 

Posted By: Handy
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 4:25pm
Myself + 2 in Orange Plus hostel, from 8th -16th. Will get campsite or some such for matchdays. An hour's kip on a bench before a 6am train would even suffice for those days.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 4:59pm
hostelsclub.com buddy, its not on booking.com

Hope you get sorted!Thumbs Up

Posted By: Gem
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 6:40pm
Looks like this is where the party is between matches, Torun Clap

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 6:46pm
Just booked 9th to the 20th in Torun..........no flights booked yet but will worry about that tomorrow. Thinkin about pulling an all nighter for the matches in Poznan. Girlfriend is Polish and she's been boasting how Polish clubs/bars remain open till the next morning...little does she know we'll be pulling all nighters the night of the games Tongue

Posted By: Son of Trap
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 7:13pm
Anyone booked into that Green Hostel?Was goin to go for it on booking.com but thought it looked a bit dodgy

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 7:42pm
Originally posted by Son of Trap Son of Trap wrote:

Anyone booked into that Green Hostel?Was goin to go for it on booking.com but thought it looked a bit dodgy

yea mate have a booking there with booking.com have a quad room  but dunno if ill stay there yet as have an apartment got too so will see they have an official website too check it out http://www.greenhostel.eu/11,2,gallery.html i think it looks ok i did email them today asking about my booking but got no responce so ill wait and see as far as i know its pritty cheap i got it for 10 euro a nyt per person for 10 nyts.
hope this helps

Posted By: bonesdublin
Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 7:44pm
I booked the green hostel from the 11th to the 18th.

€10 pernight per person in a twin. Free cancellation too. Cant go wrong.

Gonna fly to Berlin then onto poznan on the 10th. Probably pull an all nighter and head up to torun on the 11th.

Prob do a day trip to gdansk and again pull an all nighter.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 10:21pm
Originally posted by Uncle Trap Uncle Trap wrote:

Just a thread for fans basing themselves in Torun!

Uncle Trap +6 (in Hostel Orange, going up on Mon 11th and basing ourselves there for rest of group)

Who else is pencilled in for Torun?!
in the orange hostel Monday the 11th and Tuesday the 12th After the 1st game in Poznan.

Date Posted: 03 Dec 2011 at 11:15pm
Most things sorted staying in Toran for a lot of the time apart from match nights . Like Baldie says don't book any return flights unless you have to Mrs Claret has to return after the Italy game but I am putting in for 25 days holiday here just can't miss the final now can yer . GO ON ROBBIE , we know you can do it .

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 2:26am

yup, in there for two nights and orange plus for 2, whats dodgy about it?! has a really high rating!

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:00am
Does anyone else think this place looks like a right dump? Not sneering at anyone going here I might even end up here but it just seems fairly crap.

Poznan looks like the place to be in my opinion anyway.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:04am
yeah sono - they generally put insignicant dumps on the unesco heritage list...

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:06am
7 of us in a 3 star hotel in Torun for 150each for 11 nightsBig smile

Walter hotel

Posted By: fr larry duff
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:07am
staying in krakow 7-8, have booked torun for 11-12 and 15-16

have to book for the night before and night of the games yet, undecided whether to book the campsite or hold out for a while to see if anything free's up

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:19am
12 of us heading plus 6 from London we can put an extra bed in each room so somehow I'd say 18 of us.place is class a friend who does loads of business there reckons its the finest city in Poland.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:21am

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:22am
Torun in Poland - Beautiful city

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:24am

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:27am
As I said Tom a dump

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:37am
Wow it's got a river

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 5:14am

t_rAndy + 3. Planning to do the same as Ger, use it as a base for 10 nights but maybe stay in the host cities the night before a game. Do an all nighter then after the games and get an early train back to Torun.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 5:17am
Does it sell Stella ?

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 5:19am

t_rAndy + 3. Planning to do the same as Ger, use it as a base for 10 nights but maybe stay in the host cities the night before a game. Do an all nighter then after the games and get an early train back to Torun.

Same as meself Andy + 1 mate, hopefully Doyler and Stevie too

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 5:29am

Same as meself Andy + 1 mate, hopefully Doyler and Stevie too

Ya we'll probably pull all nighters after the games and train it back the next morning Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 5:50am

Does it sell Stella ?

There goes a man with his priorities rightLOL

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 5:55am
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tyskie - Tyskie , http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warka_Brewery - Warka , http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C5%BBywiec_Brewery - Żywiec , and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Okocim_Brewery - Okocim  all will do quiet nicely - polish beers are excellent imo

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 5:57am
That, they are Tom. Bottles of Zywiec are the future.

Posted By: Son of Trap
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:03am

yup, in there for two nights and orange plus for 2, whats dodgy about it?! has a really high rating!

Just thought it was strange that all the reviews have been written by poles and all in november 2011.However,Booking.com assure me that it's legit.Sold out now tho so booked angel hostel from 10th to 19th on hostel bookers instead

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:05am
My view is that anybody who is fussy about food or drink in your group, you just ditch them.  Bloody liabilities.i  

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:13am
mcdonalds and any yellow coloured beer = sorted

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:18am
Now now  GF,  you are one to be talking.  Never seen such crowd of whingers looking for food in my life. 

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:22am
You could be humming and hawing about hostels for days. I had a look at Orange Hostel, it looks clean, has a 77% rating and is cheap. At the end of the day its a base, a bed to throw the bones down on. Once a fella can shower and get a nights kip and knows his gear is safe then thats all you want, it doesnt need to be a classy joint. For 8.88 a night it'll do!

During the day and evening we'll be exploring Torun and checking in to see how the oul' Grandmother is doing every so often!!! Tongue

Be fair class if Ireland set up camp within travelling distance...could nip over to watch them training etc.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:30am
no mcdonalds stick to the beer

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:34am
booked into orange hostel between spain and italy games as a back up.
Plan on staying in gdansk and poznan though

Posted By: Gem
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:36am

My view is that anybody who is fussy about food or drink in your group, you just ditch them.  Bloody liabilities.i  

One thing you definitely don't have to worry about with Saint Tom anyway, had to set an alarm on our phones in Tallinn to remind us to eat and drag Tom with us to get his first meal in two days

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:43am

Nuclear option there Baldy. Here are another few options;

The Shipwreck option  - Eat nothing at all, stick to beer and smokes.
The Familyguy option - Eat 2 dinners at the one time, this does ya for 4 days (if topped up with sufficent quantities of vodka)
The McRonald option (not advisory, would recommend the first one ahead of that)
The Drink all day and get a kebab on the way home option - doesnt really matter what is in it or what it tastes like at that stage, you could eat the wrapper and it would still taste much the same

Think that should cover it. I'll be doing all 4 options at some stage next June.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:44am

poor form neilThumbs Down, you used to be cool

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 6:46am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tyskie - Tyskie , http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warka_Brewery - Warka , http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C5%BBywiec_Brewery - Żywiec , and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Okocim_Brewery - Okocim  all will do quiet nicely - polish beers are excellent imo

Posted By: bonesdublin
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 7:18am
looks like there are a few more interested in Torun and might switch my sh*tty hotel to an apartment.

Anyone got any sites to book an apartment in torun for the week.

Cheers

EF

Posted By: coleman's
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 8:22am
10 of us (hopefully) staying in Torun, have the deposit down from the 9th to the 20th, 7.50e a night in that Orange Hostel, roll on next June!

Posted By: Stringer
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 9:03am
Booked into a hotel in Torun myself for 11th and 12th June...looks like a nice spot to stay in between the croatia and Spain matches.Should be a good crowd there by the sound of things

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 9:54am

Just thought it was strange that all the reviews have been written by poles and all in november 2011.However,Booking.com assure me that it's legit.Sold out now tho so booked angel hostel from 10th to 19th on hostel bookers instead

ive spoke to the hostel its self they assured me of my booking and said that alot of other irish were staying here too so clearly it ligit 

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 9:54am
Hayes clan accommodation booked from 8th - 17th June in Hotel Nad Rzeczką

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 9:55am
lads are people in orange or orange plus hostel?

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 9:57am

yeah I have it booked anyway as a backup a few people seem to have it booked from what I can see on previous few pages

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:03am
Originally posted by The Saint The Saint wrote:

yeah I have it booked anyway as a backup a few people seem to have it booked from what I can see on previous few pages

good stuff, hope they're close to each other

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:12am
http://www.hostelworld.com/hostels/Torun/Poland/Map

We're staying in the other hostel, 4 of us in a 4 bed dorm. Got it for 10.50 a night each. Up to €60 now! They better not try to rip us off....

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:24am

ClapClap

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:29am
keep an eye on booking.com and hostelworld as a few places are starting to become available

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:32am
Any reccomendations for cheap hotels in torun?

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:34am
Good crew in Torun . Party central Cool

Posted By: danger here
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:35am
Lovely lovey town, stayed there in 2005 in huts in a campsite (between the bridge and train station on the south side of the river) with beds and showers for €3 a night!

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:36am
wrong thread

Posted By: Mr Marbles
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:37am

keep an eye on booking.com and hostelworld as a few places are starting to become available

What was the name of the place 

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:38am
Originally posted by Mr Marbles Mr Marbles wrote:

What was the name of the place 

meant to post this in who's booked thread got a place in poznan, last room though.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:53am
Looks like it will be the chiba of Poland .

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 10:59am

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 11:10am

Monday and Tuesday after Game 1.  10.50 a night

Posted By: familyguy
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 11:27am
myself,gmansdad and the sligo crew making this our base between the games - sounds a good spot Clap (I hope their A&E department is up to scratch as an emergency liver trasplant will no doubt be required at some stage Cry)

Posted By: coleman's
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 12:13pm
Originally posted by daboi89 daboi89 wrote:

Monday and Tuesday after Game 1.  10.50 a night

Orange plus, it has far better ratings, got it for 7.50e a night! bargain!! Smile

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 12:18pm
"BABY WE WERE BORN TORUN !!!"

Posted By: irelandshirts
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 12:25pm

"BABY WE WERE BORN TORUN !!!"

The Official Anthem

WWW.IRELANDSOCCERSHIRTS.COM

Posted By: wicklowrunner
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 12:52pm
Etap Hotel - less than €20 per person per night. Basic but clean. Poor man's Ibis.
http://www.etaphotel.com/gb/booking/hotels-list.shtml - http://www.etaphotel.com/gb/booking/hotels-list.shtml

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 3:44pm
Originally posted by wicklowrunner wicklowrunner wrote:

Etap Hotel - less than €20 per person per night. Basic but clean. Poor man's Ibis.
http://www.etaphotel.com/gb/booking/hotels-list.shtml - http://www.etaphotel.com/gb/booking/hotels-list.shtml
Thanks a mill for that link.6 of us sorted

Posted By: Monk
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 4:07pm
Monk+2 in  Hotel Trzy Korony- best I could get is about €30 a night each for 9 nights day after first game. Last 3 single rooms. Can cancel if necessary

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2011 at 5:57pm
Have booked myself, sham,saus,horsey,trapped,JFK and Antrim man into hotel Solaris from the 9 - 11 and then again from the 15 - 17. They havent agreed to this yet but I just booked it anyway and can cancel if they dont want to stay there Big smile