URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=34244
Printed Date: 07 May 2024 at 8:25pm

Topic: Annual YBIG Dinner and Awards?
Subject: Annual YBIG Dinner and Awards?
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:15pm
What do people think of a proper Ybig sit down awards night at the end of the season in somewhere like the Burlo?

Inviting the full first team squad and representatives from the underage teams and ladies etc.

We could make a proper presentation to our player of the year and legends such as McGrath.

Not a black tie affair could be done for around €50 @ head i reckon.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:26pm
Muted a similar idea in the Rise and rise of YBIG thread

Have been thinking about a YBIG dinner as a send off to the players.
Few hundred with players and sponsors etc

Would be a quality night

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:32pm
Would be a good idea alright, and another way to publicise the SS etc. When you say end of season, what month you talking about?

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:35pm
As GF said end of season and not long before they meet for training for the euros.
Maybe even try get it one of the first nights they meet in Dublin.
I would see it as a send off to the players from the fans
Players would probably just hang on for dinner and then fuk off.

Dinner, awards, speeches, live music, residents barCool

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:36pm
Would be a cracking night and a great way to celebrate the qualification with the players and fans mixing. JD might even sort out a free bar for a few hours

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:42pm
Yea excellent idea, might give the players that extra bit of inspiration before they get into the campaign. Plenty of time to organise it too.

TJ says the players won't be drinking Wink

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:45pm
Originally posted by trapped trapped wrote:

Yea excellent idea, might give the players that extra bit of inspiration before they get into the campaign. Plenty of time to organise it too.

TJ says the players won't be drinking Wink

Sure ive always said the players drank heavily during irish duty. Ive always apoken out against it.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:50pm
Just winding you up, calm down son Wink

Posted By: Peter
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 8:14pm
Absolutely!!! I am gutted i cant make the Christmas dinner, but with money and whatnot its kind of unavoidable. But this definitely!!!! Wouldnt care if it was black tie or not! Thumbs Up

Tea???? FECK!!!!!

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 9:18pm

As GF said end of season and not long before they meet for training for the euros.
Maybe even try get it one of the first nights they meet in Dublin.
I would see it as a send off to the players from the fans
Players would probably just hang on for dinner and then fuk off.

Dinner, awards, speeches, live music, residents barCool

After the 1st of June good lad Gerk Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 9:13am
Smashing idea, would be a quality night.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 10:09am
Im sure they will have left Ireland by then

Tournament starts 8th

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 10:32am
Great Idea would be an excellent night but could be costly with a lot of us flying out a few days after it but im up for itThumbs Up and willing to help in the organising of it.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 10:35am

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 10:49am
Great idea, count me in but defo be more than 50 a head IMO

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 11:53am
Our college ball is in the burlington in february and its 50 euro a head.

Great idea Ger, hope this is a runner.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 11:57am
great idea by gerk and Gf.  I would be on for that. 

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 12:17pm
Deffo up for this lads, great idea. I'd fly in for that!

Posted By: Beareleven
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 12:45pm
Great Idea. I could wear my John Delaney Tie

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 12:51pm

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 1:16pm
Sorry this event would strictly be Irish based supporters - sorry Steve and no bears allowed, tie or no tie Clap

Seriously could be a fantastic annual event and really help build the prifile of the SS or 114 or Lansdowne End as has being suggested for new names.

I would reckon 3 as main sponsors should be offered the chance to buy up to 10 tables of 12, and all the other sponsors up to 2 tables of 12.

The FAI should be offered the chance to buy approx 5 tables.

There should also be IMO a big effort to attract new people to join us in expanding the SS to eventually include the whole Lansdowne End.

Somewhere like the Burlo can accomodate 1,000 people very comfortably and that should be the target, and even if we only got 400 it would still be a massive night.

3 Could be approached to sponsor the cost of the trophies presented.

Tony O Donohoe would IMO be an ideal presenter for the night given he would be well known among fans.

I cant see Delaney if Trap gave the goahead having a problem with paying for the FAI tables likewise I'm sure 3 would be more than happy to pay for thier own tables etc, thus keeping the cost way down, and making it as affordable as possible for the fans.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 1:27pm
I thought the awards given would be for YBIG'ers?!

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 1:41pm
Yeah so did I.  

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 1:48pm
taught the first post was clear enough, it would me awards to our player of the year, also a chance to honour legends such as McGrath Killer etc.

Off course there would be no problem with having awards for different posters, or for those who set up the going green campaign or other things as people saw fit

Dont see how the players would attend a function if there was no players awards

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 1:53pm
we could call the awards the AIDOs

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 2:02pm
Awards for Ybiggres a no no, How boring would that be for those not on the site

There would be no shortage of sponsors for this. Only stumbling block I can see is if the FAI want to to their own send off dinner or if the calendar becomes a bit hectic.

Very unofficial talks on it that I have had have been positive

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 2:04pm
Just messing GF, have a feeling Robbie and all the lads won't be too interested in the Thread of the Year, newcomer of the year, and Gimp of the year award. And fan awards for players are common enough in many countries,and players always appreciate it very much. All we need is a good name for 'em!

Maybe we can call them the Johnnies....in honour of JD

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 2:06pm
There are hindreds of members of ybig. Who would decide who would gwt invited etc.. Not enough room for everyone.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 2:09pm
the fact you have to pay for it would be the reason why there would only be a few hundred at it from here

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 2:53pm
The Aidos

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 2:54pm
Great idea lads

We could try have one player at each table as well, would be deadly craic!!

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 2:55pm

Great idea lads

88 team over and the current team. Should be enough for wan at each table

You are down to be with Paul GreenThumbs Up

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 2:59pm

Great idea lads

I'm baggin Sledge now, unlucky f**ky

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 3:10pm

Great idea lads

I could sit at Ian Hartes table, we could talk about missing penaltiesThumbs Up

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 3:23pm
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

Great idea lads

Posted By: captkeen
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 3:24pm
This is a great idea. Would come over from bristol for this.an idea might be to have a raffle on the night,proceeds to a local sports charity.

Live Long and Prosper.

Posted By: Mafi Mushkila
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 3:28pm
Lads this is a fantastic idea Thumbs Up Would be great to do it before the lads head off to the Euros. 

Posted By: Roll_It_There
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 3:33pm
Great idea

Posted By: Midlands
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 3:47pm
Fair play Gerk, great idea and would be a great send off! Really hope it can happen. Would love to be there

The Irishmans left foot is so cultured it could paint the Mona Lisa while enjoying a half time orange

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 4:02pm
Great idea but slim chance of it happening i'd say.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 4:06pm
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

Great idea lads

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 4:29pm
Originally posted by Midlands Midlands wrote:

Fair play Gerk, great idea and would be a great send off! Really hope it can happen. Would love to be there

Night after the final home friendly?

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 4:35pm

If it suited it would be perfect

Sham...have been thinking about this for a while now and while there are many hurdles, I can defo see this happen

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 5:04pm
Gerk for Ybigger of the Year 2012 if you can pull this off. Not sure how, but would be more than willing to help any way I could with organising something like this.

The Irishmans left foot is so cultured it could paint the Mona Lisa while enjoying a half time orange

Posted By: AndyMc
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 5:25pm
Will it just be those of us that are in the cushy clique with the mods yeh ?

Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 5:49pm

Sham...have been thinking about this for a while now and while there are many hurdles, I can defo see this happen

Bout time son, been talking about it for long enough nowThumbs Up.  Will be a quality night Clap

Posted By: keitho5
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 5:58pm
This would be quality hope it gets the go ahead!

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 6:12pm
Great idea to do something like this, think it has massive potential

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 6:23pm

Bout time son, been talking about it for long enough nowThumbs Up.  Will be a quality night Clap

Didn't want to jinx it before we qualified to absolute thick

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 8:03pm

Great idea but slim chance of it happening i'd say.

+1, great idea but i cannot see the players being up for it tbh.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 9:25pm
Dont see the players having an issue with it, as they all were fans when kids, I think they'd actually enjoy the banter.

The hardest bit might be getting Traps approval but time will tell.

FAI may want to limit numbers of fans / tables if it gets the go ahead.

It would be very easy to organise, once the FAI were prepared to bring the players along, it would be a matter of arranging a MC for the night, and enteratinement afterwards. The venue would do all the donkey work and tickets would be very easy to sell.

Id be suggesting maybe allocate 50% of available tables to posters on the site, 25% to ST holders and 25% to others so as to bring more people into the whole YBig SS idea.

Inviting the team of 88 would be class, and they may well be happy to sit at seperate tables with the fans.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 9:32pm
GF I reckon you have your usual tickets boxed off for this one, we couldn't see u wanting for tickets

Fairest way to do it would be just a draw and every poster is entitled to claim 2 tickets per name, I would imagine the interest in the site would go through the roof if word got out that this night was happening.

If the lads can pull this off it would be some coup, would hopefully be home for it and would really look forward to something like this.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 9:53pm
Well if its my proposal as per the thread, id say id be entitled to one, dont you Approve

IIRC the ballroom in the Burlo can hold up to 3,000.

Price will stop a lot of people going anyway.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 3:05am
But yourselves in the players shoes. It will be a night of having to be nice to a load of drunken football fans who want the shirt off your back and pretending to be your best mate whilst having to get into a load of pictures and sign autographs.

Sounds like a pain in the arse to me.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 3:20am
Kinda agree LD,players nighmare I'd say
I've seen them in the players lounge a few times and they can get a but tetchy in there
Some even stay in the roped Off areas while there to avoid the punters

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 4:59am
@GF-are you serious?you may have started this poll/thread but to say it's your proposal is
The Gerk mentioned this in another thread DAYS ago and has been talking about this,off forum,for months!
Your a gas man!

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 5:30am
This has zero appeal for me but most fans will be well up for it. I doubt the players will be up for it throw in Trap's dislike of them boozeing and the timing just before they leave for Pokraine will give them a good excuse not to have it. The timing is key to it going ahead.

If you can get a lot of the Euro 88 squad to come then that's half the job done

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 5:37am
Players would only stay for the meal, few speeches then fuk off

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 5:57am
could be a great night, I could see the players getting pissed off alright after a while and will have other things on their minds.
If they stayed for the dinner as Ger says and then head off that's fair enough.
Would be some session

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 6:05am
not wanting to put a dampner on this but travel, 2 tickets, hotel for the night , money for drink  a few weeks before the euros in the perfect storm of qualifying for euros and the 2 most expensive away trips .

the mrs will be lucky to get an orange this year for Xmas

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 6:29am

Kinda agree LD,players nighmare I'd say
I've seen them in the players lounge a few times and they can get a but tetchy in there
Some even stay in the roped Off areas while there to avoid the punters

+1, they even corden themselves off in the players lounge Confused.

when this type of thing is done for clubs, players are contractually obliged to do it. I can't see them turning up on their own free will unless trap/fai makes them tbh. It is just the way the modern player is imo.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 6:43am
I think Bob Hoskins has a fair point about timing. It would be great for the fans for it to be a great send off for them. But can see after the tournament being maybe an easier time to get them. I'm presuming being optimistic here that there will be some sort of civic home coming for them just like Phoenix Park or OConnell St before. Maybe then might be a more relaxed time for them to do it. Personally though I'd love to give them a send off with this behind them. I can dream...

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 6:45am

not wanting to put a dampner on this but travel, 2 tickets, hotel for the night , money for drink  a few weeks before the euros in the perfect storm of qualifying for euros and the 2 most expensive away trips .

Its not compulsory to attend..

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 6:59am

@GF-are you serious?you may have started this poll/thread but to say it's your proposal is
The Gerk mentioned this in another thread DAYS ago and has been talking about this,off forum,for months!
Your a gas man!

The audacity to claim this as your idea just cos u started the thread on it...!!!

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 7:44am

and there was me thinking that it was and if i didnt attend I would lose my season ticket and posting rights hereConfused

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 8:23am

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 9:45am
Get Chris cooper to organise it

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 10:48am

Your a gas man!

The audacity to claim this as your idea just cos u started the thread on it...!!!

Jesus lads he was joking.  Think GF gets taken far too seriously on here at times.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 10:52am

Your a gas man!

BSM you really have a problem.

Yes I started the thread and had not read GerK's previous post, and it is actually a slightly different proposal as in it would be a proper awards cermony as held by supporters clubs everywhere where the supporters get a chance to make a proper presentation to their player of the year etc. not just a piss up, though no doubt it would end up in that after the dinner.

As for what GerK is talking about off the forum am I meant to have a crystal ball and not dare have similar ideas and post them.

As regards distribution of tickets for such an even if it could be organised, my proposal of making the tickets as widely available as possible would Im sure get the approval of your buddy as he was more than happy to pass on the details of non Ybig contributors to the Late Late. Tables should also be made available to any supporters clubs out there, such as the london one.

We are all meant to be supporting the one team with the one goal and an even like this couldbe great in bringing more and more supporters closer together resulting in further improving the athmosphere in Lansdowne Road.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 10:53am

Your a gas man!

Jesus lads he was joking.  Think GF gets taken far too seriously on here at times.

Especially considering he is an SLO. Lighten up a bit

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 11:11am

Your a gas man!

Especially considering he is an SLO. Lighten up a bit

WTF is an SLO??? No doubt very complimentary coming from a young fella who likes a little ZZZZZZZZZZZZ in coppers Wink

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 11:15am
Supporters Liason Officer. 

Rolo and Aido were elected to this job. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 11:30am
with 99% of the vote i believe

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 1:22pm
GFs foot soldiers always make me laugh!!!

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 1:28pm

GFs foot soldiers always make me laugh!!!

Its a well paid job BSM and pays for the trips  Wink

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 1:29pm
I hear ye bigdog

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 1:41pm

Ah I taught they were FLO, then they better not claim to repesent me cause I'm a fan not a supporterWink

Didnt realise they were elected, taught they were roped into it LOLLOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 1:45pm
Saint Tom Christened them SLO suits them better I think. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 1:55pm

Saint Tom Christened them SLO suits them better I think. 

Is that Davey Keoghs lost son Wink

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 7:01pm

Ah I taught they were FLO, then they better not claim to repesent me cause I'm a fan not a supporterWink

Didnt realise they were elected, taught they were roped into it LOLLOL

I think Super-Fans fall under their remit tooWink

Seriously though is there a hope in hell of this happening?

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2011 at 6:07am
Two stumbling blocks - The FAI might want to promote their own dinner at that time and will Trap let the players attend

There would be no problem doing our own thing withl the 88 players though

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2011 at 6:25am
I reckon the Euro 88 squad will be defo up for it.

I emailed Tony Galvin a link to the last issue this morning, I also asked him IF there was a dinner for the 88 squad would he attend and also when was the last time the squad met up.

Posted By: AndyMc
Date Posted: 12 Dec 2011 at 1:27pm
Got the menu Gerk, cheers

I'm gonna go with the Veg Soup, The Beef, and the cheesecake

Looking forward to this now

Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2011 at 1:29pm
Hopefully will go ahead and could be a great fundraiser for the YBIG charities...

Posted By: Eamon Numpty
Date Posted: 12 Dec 2011 at 1:31pm
Originally posted by AndyMc AndyMc wrote:

Got the menu Gerk, cheers

I'm gonna go with the Veg Soup, The Beef, and the cheesecake

Looking forward to this now

I will have the prawn cocktail, the chicken and mushroom volavent and lots of humble pie after the euros bill.

''If you have passion, if you have conviction, if you believe the lies that you're writing , then you stand to make a great deal of money. Its a beautiful game. Thats why I love writing for the Star."

Date Posted: 12 Dec 2011 at 7:12pm
Would be better Craic with 88 squad as they could let their hair down more than the current squad. Would Brady be suspended from thee squad :)

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2011 at 12:59am
Can we change the cheesecake for profiter rolls?
Should be a great night,can someone post the full menu up here for those that wernt invited to see

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2011 at 5:08am

Would be better Craic with 88 squad as they could let their hair down more than the current squad. Would Brady be suspended from thee squad :)

Would there be a lot of hair to let down???

88 Squad would be a great night much better than the current squad.

Highlights of the 88 tournament games, Joxer goes to Stuttgart soundtrack.
Guest of honour could be Gary MacKay!

Date Posted: 13 Dec 2011 at 5:21am
the current squad would go be cordened off in a VIP area, god forbid someone might try and talk to them!

88 / 90 squad all the way.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2015 at 9:23am
Did this ever go ahead?

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2015 at 2:26pm
Yeah, was a great night. 

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2015 at 5:48pm
Brilliant night.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2015 at 5:53pm
Will live long in the memory.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2015 at 6:04pm
Arnold Schwarzenegger was at it in Total Recall

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2015 at 6:13pm
Remember when he removed his head and threw it to Maurice Setters and it exploded? Fun times.