URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=33731
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 10:27am

Topic: Weekend Break in Ireland
Subject: Weekend Break in Ireland
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 9:10am

Goin away for a long weekend with the girlfriend the end of the month, lookin to go somewhere close enough to the big schmoke, an hour or two max, thinkin maybe Kilkenny or Carlow!!

Any advice on where to go, somewhere with a cinema, decent shops & restaurants and a good nightlife!!

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 9:14am

Athlone

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 9:14am

Goin away for a long weekend with the girlfriend the end of the month, lookin to go somewhere close enough to the big schmoke, an hour or two max, thinkin maybe Kilkenny or Carlow!!

Any advice on where to go, somewhere with a cinema, decent shops & restaurants and a good nightlife!!

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 9:28am
Cinema on a w/end away good wan
Galway,made it down there in 90 mins on sunday

Posted By: FiremanDan
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 9:32am
It doesn't have a cinema but it has some cracking restaurants and pubs, Carlingford. 1 hours drive. 

Sean Og O Hailpin.... his father's from Fermanagh, his mother's from Fiji, neither a hurling stronghold."

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 9:48am

Podge has already been on a weekend away in Galway in the last yearWink

90Mins?? You drving a Ferarri BSM?

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 9:51am
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

An hour and a half is no problem Guf, done it in that coming back from Mervue. Might have exceeded the odd speed limit here or there though

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 10:03am

Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

An hour and a half is no problem Guf, done it in that coming back from Mervue. Might have exceeded the odd speed limit here or there though

Every speed limit by the sound of it LOLLOL I can do Galway city to Enfield in 90mins driving bang on the speed limit the whole way so fair play for getting to Dublin in that time ClapClap

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 12:11pm
This is a great little spot down in New Ross, usually has great deals on that include the use of the Spa and Dinners on the night your staying there...has some good late bars and great restraunts about the town as well...

http://www.brandonhousehotel.ie/ - http://www.brandonhousehotel.ie/

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 1:07pm
From the firhouse m50 exit to renmore roundabout was 88mins
He was doing 90-100mph all the way

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 1:18pm
Get yourself up the N2 to MonaghanWink 

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 1:29pm
That father ted cinema is in greystones... And closed, dont come here!

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 1:41pm
Give your money to the Queen and head to newry!

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 2:14pm
Farnham Estate Radisson, Cavaaan,

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 2:41pm
romantic weekend away podge and no estonia???????

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 2:57pm
Letterkenny

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 3:05pm
Podge head up to Newry or Belfast and then spend your day taking in the delights of Co.Down - visit the Mournes(and educate yourself in 1 or 2 villages/towns that bask in the foothills of there lol) then down to Strangford Lough for a trip around the Lough then back to your base for food, cinema and whatever else you have planned WinkLOL

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 3:23pm

romantic weekend away podge and no estonia???????

Shocked Disgraceful carry on

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 3:39pm
Co. Down Heart

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 3:49pm
Down with Down

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 4:03pm

Down with Down
AngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngry

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 4:28pm
nobberThumbs Up

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 4:33pm
Dundalk,had a cracker there in the summer
Swimming near shocos gaff
Day trips to newry and the beautiful carlingford

Posted By: Midlands
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 4:34pm
Fundalk! Cmon the tow-an! Its good craic to head out in, greyhound/allweather horse racing and plenty of latebars/clubs cos of college there and some gems of pubs hidden away like the Spirit Store that gets some really great gigs and comedians. The Crown Plaza (4 star) does decent deals, usually around €79 room only. Carlingford and Cooley/Mourne Mountains are only a few mins away and 10 mins to Newry for some cheap shopping/off licence drinks! Cant go wrong hey... Wink

The Irishmans left foot is so cultured it could paint the Mona Lisa while enjoying a half time orange

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 4:34pm

Carlow esp on a Saturday Night is really good for the nightlife , The Foundry is one of the best/biggest nightclubs in Leinster...Shoppings decent aswell has most big name retailers , a new big cinema has only opened in the past year or so , lots of nice restaurants aswell!!

The Seven Oaks , The Dolmen & The Talbot are all within a mile or two from the town centre really nice hotels....

Posted By: weelout
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:27pm
termonfeckin hi

ah sure it wil b grand in d mornin

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:49pm
Come to Castlebar and I'll show you a good time Cracking live band on that weekend here too

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:49pm

This is a great little spot down in New Ross, usually has great deals on that include the use of the Spa and Dinners on the night your staying there...has some good late bars and great restraunts about the town as well...

http://www.brandonhousehotel.ie/ - http://www.brandonhousehotel.ie/

New Ross ?? Are you fecking mad????

Posted By: Eamonn68
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:58pm

I stayed in these cottages last year

http://www.osierbrookcottages.ie/ - http://www.osierbrookcottages.ie/
great accomadation near the bog

Clonmacnoise
Kileens- Shannon bridge

Lough boora parklands is great

Slieve Bloom Mountains close by

Posted By: herbie
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 6:01pm
Dale Farm

"its the best trip iv ever been on"

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 8:46pm
any recommendations (not for me) doesnt want to travel too far coming from magherafelt area - for a couple

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 8:49pm
A weekend away? As a magherafelt I might head away myself this weekend.

Posted By: Lostandfound
Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 8:57pm
Muff is always worth a little visit.

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 9:01pm

any recommendations (not for me) doesnt want to travel too far coming from magherafelt area - for a couple
Clogherhead

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 9:04pm
Originally posted by Lostandfound Lostandfound wrote:

Muff is always worth a little visit.
Yeah but there is a certain few days of the month you would want to avoid it

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 9:12pm
Carlingford is a nice spot . Mate of mine got a lovely cottage on the outskirts of the village beside a pub and shop . Said it was cheap enough and beside walking trails

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 9:23pm
Plenty of places in Donegal. Downings, Rossnowlagh and a few others that aren't Bundoran. The route from Magherafelt through Draperstown and then either Greencastle to Omagh (and over the border through Pettigo) or Plumbridge to Newtownstewart (and on over the border through Castlederg) are both very scenic drives.

Also Rosses Point and even Enniscrone are options, albeit they're both a bit further afield.

Posted By: Funsize Crouchy
Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 9:29pm

any recommendations (not for me) doesnt want to travel too far coming from magherafelt area
- for a couple

Stayed in lusty beg island earlier in the year with the missus. Nice and quiet. Just past Enniskillen.

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 14 Aug 2017 at 9:32pm

Plenty of places in Donegal. Downings, Rossnowlagh and a few others that aren't Bundoran. The route from Magherafelt through Draperstown and then either Greencastle to Omagh (and over the border through Pettigo) or Plumbridge to Newtownstewart (and on over the border through Castlederg) are both very scenic drives.

Also Rosses Point and even Enniscrone are options, albeit they're both a bit further afield.

Gods country

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 12:25pm
Bump - somewhere over the twelfth that isn't rammed eg Donegal and or full of frankies 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 12:28pm

Bump - somewhere over the twelfth that isn't rammed eg Donegal and or full of frankies 

Wexford Town is a nice aul spot particularly when the weather is nice Thumbs Up 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 12:32pm

Wexford Town is a nice aul spot particularly when the weather is nice Thumbs Up 
It must have changed!

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 12:37pm

You should try to give Westport a lash Big smile

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 12:53pm

Inis Mor is unreal NR. Went last year around that time and loved it. 3 pubs. Nice grub and great scenery and no hustle bustle.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 12:55pm

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 1:15pm

Inis Mor is unreal NR. Went last year around that time and loved it. 3 pubs. Nice grub and great scenery and no hustle bustle.

not sure about a ferry Colmoc looking for somewhere a bit busier

Behave

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 1:23pm
The further from the North the better, if you're going over the twelfth. But wherever you go in July, it'll be busy.

If you don't fancy Westport, you could head on down to Clifden.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 1:25pm
Clifden is lovely, but I'd suspect it's all boked out in July 

So I give you BigStrongman's hidden gem, Blackrock in Craptown Clap Clap Clap

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 1:38pm
Clifden, Dungarvan, Ballyvaughan all nice spots..

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 1:56pm

Clifden is lovely, but I'd suspect it's all boked out in July 

So I give you BigStrongman's hidden gem, Blackrock in Craptown Clap Clap Clap
That would be fine as long as that merve was not there at the same time LOL

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 2:54pm

Back to Waterford City with ya NP. Viking Triangle and Waterford Crystal in City Centre and then head off on the Greenway but don't stay in Dungarvan. Kip LOL

off to Killarney and Kenmare for Easter will report back Wink

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 4:23pm
The sandhouse hotel on rossanowlagh is outstanding in everyway and is what an Irish hotel experience should be. Fantastic food  , beach out your window , surfing Bar none , wonderful walks and magnificent staff who make it feel like home.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 4:34pm

The sandhouse hotel on rossanowlagh is outstanding in everyway and is what an Irish hotel experience should be. Fantastic food  , beach out your window , surfing Bar none , wonderful walks and magnificent staff who make it feel like home.
Surely that would defeat the whole purpose of going away?

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 4:46pm

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 4:54pm

best off to stay at home and save yourself a few bob. 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 5:05pm

Too close 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 5:10pm

Also home to the only Orange March in the Republic 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 5:14pm

Love this hotel. Managed to blag my way into a suite years ago and still manage to get it everytime now as I stay there a couple of times a year. No better sound to wake up in the morning than the sound of the waves. Great food there too. Surfing is pretty good also. Super orange parade 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 5:21pm
surfing is for ****s

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 5:26pm

surfing is for ****s

I am sure it is great, if you like that sort of thing, but somebody needs to tell them  other topics of conversation are available. Definitely one of the things I don't miss from home is ****s in the pub talking about 'the swell'. 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 5:27pm

Back to Waterford City with ya NP. Viking Triangle and Waterford Crystal in City Centre and then head off on the Greenway but don't stay in Dungarvan. Kip LOL

Get ta f*ck! You can't be recommending people avoid Dungarvan for being a kip, and then tell them to go to the city, an even bigger hole LOL

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 6:36pm

surfing is for ****s

A lot more than surfing there https https://m.sandhouse.ie/" rel="nofollow - ://m.sandhouse.ie/

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 9:01pm

surfing is for ****s

I am sure it is great, if you like that sort of thing, but somebody needs to tell them  other topics of conversation are available. Definitely one of the things I don't miss from home is ****s in the pub talking about 'the swell'. 

Surfers are total ****s. Irish surfers are the biggest knobs you will ever meet. No time for them myself but I do enjoy it.

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 10:08pm
Was over in Galway last weekend,stayed in Oranmore lodge hotel very handy for town, 15€ taxi trip. Hotels a throwback but friendly and only 4.50 for a late pint.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 11:56pm

Get ta f*ck! You can't be recommending people avoid Dungarvan for being a kip, and then tell them to go to the city, an even bigger hole LOL

These fcukin Cork lads Hunty, wha ? 

Posted By: LO SCIENZIATO
Date Posted: 10 Apr 2019 at 8:53am

ah come on Hunty tell me other than shagging your sister or 1st cousin in Creations niteclub what is there else to do in Dungarvan LOL

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2019 at 9:28am

ah come on Hunty tell me other than shagging your sister or 1st cousin in Creations niteclub what is there else to do in Dungarvan LOL

Ah ya, but at least they're still better looking than the yokes you'd find in Masons