URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=33724
Printed Date: 18 May 2024 at 8:03pm

Topic: iPhone Apps Recommends
Posted By: Siralex
Subject: iPhone Apps Recommends
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:17am
Lads, 

Let's have a forum where we can recommend apps to eachother.  make sure you put the name of teh app, the cost and a brief detail about what the app actually does.

My must-haves are:

SKY NEWS (free)
self explanatory

SKY SPORTS NEWS (free)
self explanatory

FOX NEWS (free)
self explanatory

PGA TOUR (free)
Gives up to date news, views and features as well as real time score updates.

PADDY POWER (free)
Could be more detailed, but I use it every day to catch up on changing odds.

IRISH WEATHER (free)
Brilliant app, details the weather for next five days in your area.

IRISH TAXI (free)
Superb app.  You can call a taxi nearby, it locates nearest branch to where you are standing.  But the best thing is you can gauge how much the taxi should cost you, what route is the quickest for teh taxi to take.  Type in your location, where you wanna go and the app will tell you how much that will cost.  No more going the long route for more money!!

Loads, loads more, but be interested to see if there's any I should have that I haven't heard of!

If I keep writing enough hagiographic articles on Man Utd, they might give me a job

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:22am

Viber

Free texts and phone calls using your wifi or mobile internet connection. Very handy for chatting to lads on here for me!

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:28am
Whatsapp is very good free text messages

Livescore good for football scores

Thejournal.ie is a good news one

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:31am
Find I phone - doesn't need explaining

Camwow - for different types of photos

Endomondo - app for exercise

Flashlight - torch

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:37am
Eiretxt free. Use your webtext on your phone.

3 wifi (for 3 customers) free. Free access to Bitbuzz wifi in Ireland and UK

First Aid free obvious

Film on TV free. loads of channels including the terrestrial UK ones

Posted By: totti
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 5:46am
Lads, update your phones to iOS 5, and you get to use iMessage, basically built in viber/whats app messaging into the phone. So sending an sms to someone else who has iOS5 on theirs, will cost you nothing but the data charge, which on many is free.

Get angry birds, perfect for those long moments on the toilet.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 6:45am
Originally posted by totti totti wrote:

Lads, update your phones to iOS 5, and you get to use iMessage, basically built in viber/whats app messaging into the phone. So sending an sms to someone else who has iOS5 on theirs, will cost you nothing but the data charge, which on many is free.

I'll wait til the jailbreak is available for IOS 5

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 6:46am
The imessage thingy is very handy alright- most people dont seem to have bothered updating to ios 5 yet though Angry

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 6:53am
Sham why would ya jail break your phone? Is it just to unlock it? A lad I know has this and can't turn on his phone if it goes dead unless he hooks it up to his pc that he used to jailbreak it, what a pain in the tits.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 6:54am
Ye once you jail break it you void your insurance and contract with apple also dont ye?

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 6:58am
Never jailbreaking mine again. Did it so i could watch the old sky player full screen when hooked up to a tv. But then tried reversing it to upgrade to IOS 5 ( needed a new OS for SkyGO) and made an awful hames of it altogether.

Took it down the Apple Store and they did a restore on it and upgraded the firmware, didn't catch the jailbreak.

AntrimMan 1 , Steve Job -1 ( 1 point deduction for being dead !)

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 6:59am
The weighing scales app. You stand on your phone and it tells you your weight.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 7:12am

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 7:51am

Sham why would ya jail break your phone? Is it just to unlock it? A lad I know has this and can't turn on his phone if it goes dead unless he hooks it up to his pc that he used to jailbreak it, what a pain in the tits.

If its jailbroken properly, and thankfully mine is, then its brilliant. Can get all the apps for free. Example being, Tom Tom Sat Nav. Have both the UK/Ireland and Europe versions (came in handy for ShamTravel recently) for free saving me €130. Can change setting on the phone to whatever I want. Needs to be done right though. If there is an issue that I need to bring it to Apple, then I can just do a restore anyway. 

Posted By: Ciano316
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 8:15am

Originally posted by totti totti wrote:

I'll wait til the jailbreak is available for IOS 5

iOS5 is tethered jailbroken, meaning its jailbroken on all devices except the iPhone 4s but if your phone turns off you have to reboot it using redSn0w. iOS5 is quality, has imessage and notification centre and a bunch of other stuff.

Eirtext Pro - have to pay for it.
Instagram for photos
Shazam - lets you search any song while its playing
vlingo - If you want to see what Siri on the 4s is like this is very close. Thumbs Up

I Love Loft.
twitter - @Ciano316

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 8:20am
Theres a free version of eirtext as well. Wonr be too long til the untethered jailbreak is available

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 8:45am
G strings free (Free) Never be without a guitar tuner again.

Solo Lite (Free) - turn your phone into a strumming guitar 

I'm seconding Viber (Free) - I've only just discovered this a few days ago. Brilliant for calling up mates.

Next Bus Dublin ( Free)

Where's my Droid (free) - got this the other day when I read the thread here about the stolen iphone.

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2011 at 11:43pm
Xe currency converter is another great one.

Did anyone get the free music app I was sh*ting on about? Up to 60 downloaded songs for free so far Thumbs Up

Posted By: Mafi Mushkila
Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 6:36pm
Viber is fantastic Thumbs Up
Skyscanner handy one to have

Loving the free music one, thanks Sono Clap

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 8:50pm
Originally posted by Mafi Mushkila Mafi Mushkila wrote:

Viber is fantastic Thumbs Up
Skyscanner handy one to have

Loving the free music one, thanks Sono Clap

Posted By: superdfc
Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:10pm
sono what is the app called cant work itunes

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:21pm

Eiretxt free. Use your webtext on your phone.

3 wifi (for 3 customers) free. Free access to Bitbuzz wifi in Ireland and UK

First Aid free obvious

Film on TV free. loads of channels including the terrestrial UK ones
closest one is in newry

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:24pm
Type in bso soft and get the app it should work for ya, let me know.

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:35pm
Yeah have it is there a certain website i go into to download the songs ?

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:38pm
use mp3skull.com Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:44pm
Cheers man Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:46pm
No bother, ya get 15 songs for free then the full version costs 99cent or something for unlimited, Gaz is the one that found it to be fair Clap

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2012 at 3:48pm
Anyone into games on the iPhone, you have to get Temple Run.

The most addictive game app since angry birds Clap

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2012 at 4:22pm

I'm on it,bit scary innit

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2012 at 4:36pm

I'm on it,bit scary innit

Those demon monkeys chasing you are sh*t scary Cry

As you get more coins you can go to the store and buy upgrades that make you better.

Phil Neville and Tim Cahill and a few of the Everton lads are always on twitter sl*gging each other about who's got the highest score in this!

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2012 at 5:26pm
Hes Sum Athlete 

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 28 Mar 2012 at 1:43pm
anyone get draw something? add me: flickybig

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2012 at 12:59am
Meteor customers should get the eircom wifi hub app.

For movies Flex Player is the business. Simply drag and drop your AVI movie files or any format to the flex player app. No need to convert.

Posted By: AndyMc
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2012 at 1:37am

Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

Posted By: cass123456
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2012 at 7:50am

Type in bso soft and get the app it should work for ya, let me know.

Just seeing this now. Absolute quality
Been using beemp3.com with it

Posted By: Skipper
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2012 at 6:05pm
NET Flix App (free) Movies
Samsung Remove (free) if you have a samsung tv and connect it to your internet its a class remote 
eBay (free)
Sky Go (free) Sky Tv
Drinksfree (free) cocktails 
FM 2012 (12 euro)
Colour Splash (2 euro) great photo app

Stephen Irelands Superman Jocks!!

Date Posted: 03 Jun 2012 at 12:16pm
The logo gameClap

Date Posted: 04 Jun 2012 at 2:23am
That bso soft is the best app ever.

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 11:57am
Got an Iphone the weekend, any new apps I should get?

A few I recommend:

Action Movie
Doodle Jump
IMDB

All Free....

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2012 at 12:04pm
Flex Player : watch movies on phone/ipad without converting
Viber: Free calls and SMS/MMS to other users
What's App: free sms/mms to other users 
Tango: free video calls to other users
Film On Free TV: free tv/movies/sport/bikini tv
Dublin Bus: handy if you have to use the bus the odd time. just put the stop number for times
Booking.com: hotels
Skyscanner: flights
AIB: money (only useful if youre with AIB though :-) )
Eircom Wi-fi hub: free wifi for Meteor Customers.

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 6:33am
Eirtext: has a free and pro version. The free is perfect. Lets you use tour webtxts on your phone

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 9:08am

Flex Player
Dublin Bus: handy if you have to use the bus the odd time. just put the stop number for times

Film on has been great,but havent used it in a while as the iphone didnt travel to Poland,now its not working, when i try to watch a channel a pop up screen comes with the caption"Load channel error, channel id not found????any ideas?

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 9:50am

Flex Player

Film on has been great,but havent used it in a while as the iphone didnt travel to Poland,now its not working, when i try to watch a channel a pop up screen comes with the caption"Load channel error, channel id not found????any ideas?
used it in Poland on the iPad and it worked perfectly. Just checking the phone out now, I shall report back

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 9:55am
Yeah mine wouldnt play either on the phone. After each channel it said UPGRADE APP. Theres was no update in the app store showing up, but if you look above where the channels are you should see an "extras" section. In there you'll find a link to upgrade the app. Mines working perfectly again.

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 10:12am

Yeah mine wouldnt play either on the phone. After each channel it said UPGRADE APP. Theres was no update in the app store showing up, but if you look above where the channels are you should see an "extras" section. In there you'll find a link to upgrade the app. Mines working perfectly again.

Nice one Sham!! Clap

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 10:37am

Nice one Sham!! Clap
Glad it worked, would be lost without the free tv Big smile

Posted By: Midlands
Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 3:22pm
GPS Navigation by Skobbler. It cost me just under €6 for European maps. It's for all intents and purposes TomTom only it also works offline. Once bought you can download whichever countries you need as you need them and then you can use the maps offline. Was a blessing during the Euros. Navigation is exactly the same as TomTom from what I can figure. It paid for itself during trip to the Euros.

The Irishmans left foot is so cultured it could paint the Mona Lisa while enjoying a half time orange

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 3:35pm
Originally posted by Midlands Midlands wrote:

GPS Navigation by Skobbler. It cost me just under €6 for European maps. It's for all intents and purposes TomTom only it also works offline. Once bought you can download whichever countries you need as you need them and then you can use the maps offline. Was a blessing during the Euros. Navigation is exactly the same as TomTom from what I can figure. It paid for itself during trip to the Euros.
Nav free is free Big smile

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 6:49pm
I tried to download navfree a few times and it just wouldn't download for me. Reviews were saying Irish maps weren't great on it either so I was a bit cautious as to how good the Polish ones would be. But it gets plenty of good reviews. Bought Skobbler with last few toys left over from booking so didn't mind spending and it's spot on.

The Irishmans left foot is so cultured it could paint the Mona Lisa while enjoying a half time orange

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 7:25pm
Google Chome
Stick Cricket
Find iPhone
Xe currency converter

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2012 at 6:14am
Originally posted by Midlands Midlands wrote:

I tried to download navfree a few times and it just wouldn't download for me. Reviews were saying Irish maps weren't great on it either so I was a bit cautious as to how good the Polish ones would be. But it gets plenty of good reviews. Bought Skobbler with last few toys left over from booking so didn't mind spending and it's spot on.
No issues myself downloading any Nav Free. Irish one is fine too, not that I use it that much to be honest.

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2012 at 8:48am
I might try it again

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2012 at 10:17am
Tiger woods PGA tour 2012 - 79c. Absolutely quality game
My fitness pal - measures carbs/protein and calories of all foods
Fitness buddy - loads of workouts
Tune in radio - every radio station in the world

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2012 at 2:08pm
BUMP

Any new recommendations?

Found a few daycent ones:

Clear Vision is a bit of craic, tis a sniper game.
Stupid Zombie is very addictive.
Flow Free, couple of Ted apps, all good!
Draw Something, Words With Friends and of course NSS addictive as fook too!

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 7:17pm
Anyone have this Hailo app? It's great. Tells you how long it will take a taxi to get you. You tap a button or two and you've ordered a taxi to your current location. It shows you where the taxi is, how long it will take and who your taxi driver is. You can register a card as well so you can pay that way and if ye want a tip you can put that on the card as well. I haven't had the chance to use it yet as only got last night but seems a deadly idea.

Other ones I have:

Dublin Bus
Livescore
Paddy Power
BOI Online Banking
Shazam
Instagram
Book Light
4 in a row (Connest 4) Addictive sh*t. 

Anymore recommendations?

Posted By: GreenArmy!
Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 8:03pm
Sound Hound is a handy enough app
and of course temple run

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 8:08pm
Originally posted by Mr.Mojo Risin' Mr.Mojo Risin' wrote:

Anyone have this Hailo app? It's great. Tells you how long it will take a taxi to get you. You tap a button or two and you've ordered a taxi to your current location. It shows you where the taxi is, how long it will take and who your taxi driver is. You can register a card as well so you can pay that way and if ye want a tip you can put that on the card as well. I haven't had the chance to use it yet as only got last night but seems a deadly idea.

Other ones I have:

Dublin Bus
Livescore
Paddy Power
BOI Online Banking
Shazam
Instagram
Book Light
4 in a row (Connest 4) Addictive sh*t. 

Anymore recommendations?
Have Hailo and used it twice. Excellent app. Both occasions the taxi arrived exactly when it was meant to.

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 8:19pm
Hailo class app have used it in London on numerous occasions and its beginning to catch on in dublin

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 8:38pm

Tv listings Thumbs Up

http://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.vaudauxruth.tv.ireland&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS52YXVkYXV4cnV0aC50di5pcmVsYW5kIl0." rel="nofollow - http://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.vaudauxruth.tv.ireland&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS52YXVkYXV4cnV0aC50di5pcmVsYW5kIl0.

anyone know any decent Android apps for rugby scores?

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 9:19pm

anyone know any decent Android apps for rugby scores?

ESPN score centre can be set up to give scores for different rugby competitions/leagues.

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 9:39pm
Just got Irish TV Guide. Very handy! 

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 9:41pm
Dream league soccer. Free app, similar game to Pro Evo.

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2012 at 9:50pm
Can you get espn goals for Irish phones?

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 9:34am
101 Great Goals
Countdown
GTA III
Bad Piggies
Angry Birds Star Wars
Joe.ie
The Journal
The Score

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 9:43am

No but you can get a Premier League Goals App for free.

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 9:48am

Whats the title of the app and what does the icon look like Franko?

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 9:52am

It's the one that says BPL goals

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 9:57am

nice one man Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 10:28am

101 Great Goals
Countdown
GTA III
Bad Piggies
Angry Birds Star Wars
Joe.ie
The Journal
The Score
Is this worth buying? Say it drains the battery fairly fast?

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 10:40am

101 Great Goals
Countdown
GTA III
Bad Piggies
Angry Birds Star Wars
Joe.ie
The Journal
The Score
Is this worth buying? Say it drains the battery fairly fast?

I picked it up on sale for €0.89, haven't played it for a very long period of time yet but I'd imagine it'd run it down pretty fast alright!

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 12:05pm
Didn't know 101 great goals had an app,
balls.ie is quite good
What's app messenger
Airtricity
Paddy Power
New star soccer

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 12:34pm

How did you upload the pic from phone to site Frank?

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 12:36pm
Press the button at the top of the phone and the button on the main screen at the same time to take a photo of the screen. Then go into your photos and e-mail the photo to your e-mail address and upload from there.

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 12:38pm
I know how to take a pic it was just the uploading part, good man

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2012 at 1:35pm
Incidentally, Hailo is great app. I've used it maybe half a dozen times, completely flawless.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 12:28am
Gta vice city now available to download from store.

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 10:12am

Tune in radio is brilliant. Good shout there Gaz

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 10:24am
4 in a row - connect 4 game, absolutely quality game

Posted By: Black Knee Stevie
Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 11:47am

Tune in radio is brilliant. Good shout there Gaz

Got this for free the other day Clap

It is not just a simple game, it is a weapon of the revolution

Date Posted: 08 Dec 2012 at 1:35pm
Voxer - Walkie talkie app, very good and free

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 12:38pm
QQ player - just drag movies in to this app and it automatically coverts it so u can watch it on the iPad or iPhone
Evernote - good for notes especially if ya use your iPad for work
Overdrive - log in using your library card and can rent out ebooks online for a few weeks

Date Posted: 09 Dec 2012 at 2:55pm
Just downloaded the fart app

Good craic here in workThumbs Up

Date Posted: 10 Dec 2012 at 4:21pm
Downloaded tuneinradio app, worked yesterday but now it's saying error no entries in playlist. Anyone know what's wrong?

Date Posted: 20 Dec 2012 at 6:18pm
FIFA 13 is 89cent to download at the moment. Just got it there.

Date Posted: 30 Dec 2012 at 10:04pm
Anyone use spotify? Is it any good?

Date Posted: 30 Dec 2012 at 10:23pm

FIFA 13 is 89cent to download at the moment. Just got it there.

Sound for that.

Date Posted: 31 Dec 2012 at 12:05am

Was just about to post about this app, absolutely brilliant app.

Date Posted: 31 Dec 2012 at 12:34am

Was just about to post about this app, absolutely brilliant app.

Any song you want but is a 10er a month a bit steep for the full version?

Date Posted: 31 Dec 2012 at 12:43am
Just using the free trial at the minute but 10er a month isn't bad when you consider what it has, try it out for free sure and see what ya think, no commitment Seany.

Date Posted: 01 Jan 2013 at 10:08pm

Just using the free trial at the minute but 10er a month isn't bad when you consider what it has, try it out for free sure and see what ya think, no commitment Seany.

How do you go about downloading spotify premium?

Date Posted: 01 Jan 2013 at 11:53pm
Got a brilliant app the other day called Score! where you recreate brilliant international goals from the 80s, 90s, 00s and 10s, addictive as fook so it is!

Date Posted: 03 Mar 2013 at 9:17pm
Downloaded a game called Subway Surfer, very addictive.

Date Posted: 04 Mar 2013 at 9:45am
Forever Lost is my latest recommendation!

You wake up in a room in an abandoned psychiatric hospital and have to look for clues, pick up keys etc and figure out a way out, very addictive and a creepy enough game!

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2013 at 9:36am
Anyone use that nike +iphone gps thing. Is it worth forking out 20 quid for?

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2013 at 9:40am

Anyone use that nike +iphone gps thing. Is it worth forking out 20 quid for?

I know a few lads who use it as they do a lot of marathons. They thinks its the business. Might get it meself soon.

Date Posted: 07 Mar 2013 at 9:43am

Got a brilliant app the other day called Score! where you recreate brilliant international goals from the 80s, 90s, 00s and 10s, addictive as fook so it is!
Got that the other day. Tis quite good alright.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2013 at 5:25pm
Football on the tv is a good app. Tells you all the football matches that are coming up for the next 15 days and what channel they're on.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2013 at 5:35pm
Last time my hard drive went I set up itunes again and when I plugged the iphone into the laptop all of the songs stored were wiped. 

How do you do it so that doesnt happen as I got a new hard drive recently.

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 11:04pm
See they are charging to download whatsapp now!....coonts

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 11:18pm

Last time my hard drive went I set up itunes again and when I plugged the iphone into the laptop all of the songs stored were wiped. 

How do you do it so that doesnt happen as I got a new hard drive recently.

Think you can store them on iCloud could be wrong but worth checking. Actually should check that myself.