URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=33470
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 9:46pm

Topic: New FIFA rankings
Posted By: dunloybhoy
Subject: New FIFA rankings
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:04am

Holland have lost ground on Spain in the FIFA world rankings following a 3-2 defeat to Sweden in a Euro 2012 qualifier earlier this month.

The Dutch still occupy second place behind Spain, who recorded a 23rd consecutive home victory, beating Scotland in their final qualifying match.

But Bert van Marwijk's side suffered the biggest points drop of any nation in the rankings - losing 146.

The biggest gain was made by Wales, who ended their Euro 2012 qualifiers on a high with victories over Switzerland and Bulgaria. Gary Speed's team earned 245 points, enough to move them up 45 places to 45th.

England moved up one place to seventh, while Greece nudged up three places to sit in eighth after booking their qualification for the Euro 2012 finals in Poland and Ukraine next summer.

Ireland, who face Estonia in a qualification play-off next month, are up four places to 25th, Scotland managed to move up one place to 51st despite missing out on qualification after their defeat to Spain, while Northern Ireland dropped 14 places to 84th.

put em under pressure!

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:15am
Originally posted by dunloybhoy dunloybhoy wrote:

Ireland, who face Estonia in a qualification play-off next month, are up four places to 25th, Scotland managed to move up one place to 51st despite missing out on qualification after their defeat to Spain, while Northern Ireland dropped 14 places to 84th.

Jaysus, wasn't so long ago that the Pub Team had nicked in ahead of us for a brief stint - now they're 59 places behind!

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:20am
Win both legs against Estonia and we are in the top 20!!! Smile

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:21am
Great to see.
Well done Trap and the Team LOL
2 or more places will see us where we really sit, about 21st/22nd

Posted By: herman
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:23am
Originally posted by dunloybhoy dunloybhoy wrote:

while Northern Ireland dropped 14 places to 84th.

Smile

the german

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:26am
From 41st to 25th during Traps time in charge. Well done. Clap

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:26am
Great stuff. We qualify then we should also pick up points in the Euro's since international tournaments carry a lot of points, especially if we can get out of the group. Could be looking at top 15 Big smile

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:28am
Always good to be in the top 25

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:33am
  Onwards and upwards! 

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:36am
http://www.fifa.com/newscentre/widgets/index.html - http://www.fifa.com/newscentre/widgets/index.html

Deadly little thing on this page that you put in your teams next 2 results and it shows you how many points you would get!

A 1-0 win away, and 2-0 win at home against Estonia would have us on 914 pts, and possibly into the top 20! Clap

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:55am
Denmark joint 10th with Argentina, really?

But great to be seeing us this high up, it's been too long.

Posted By: el2nz
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:57am
We've had a good 2011 on paper, better than Brazil and Argentina.  Northern Ireland, on the other hand would be around 150th in the World if they had the same year for the next 3 too.

Posted By: MJD
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 7:58am

Denmark joint 10th with Argentina, really?

But great to be seeing us this high up, it's been too long.

Obviously, in reality, you wouldn't think so. However, Denmark did beat portugal to win the group and qualify automatically, and I believe Argentina lost to Venezuela in their last match.

Plus, any team who does well with Bendtner playing for them deserves a high ranking (yes, I am aware he smashes the goals in for Denmark, but he's still pure poo).

Posted By: walsheman
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:02am
nice one,so this time next month we be top 20 for the first time in ages!!NIIIIIICCCCCEEEE

Going To The Euro's,Poland and Ukraine 2012 HO HO!!!!

twitter.......@walsheman

Posted By: finnanselbow
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:06am
Just a pity FIFA didn't wait to make the 2014 qualifying draw with these rankings!

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:08am

http://www.fifa.com/newscentre/widgets/index.html - http://www.fifa.com/newscentre/widgets/index.html

Deadly little thing on this page that you put in your teams next 2 results and it shows you how many points you would get!

A 1-0 win away, and 2-0 win at home against Estonia would have us on 914 pts, and possibly into the top 20! Clap
thought playoffs dont count for rankings

Posted By: swimmityswim
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:11am

the fai season ticket said that if we didnt qualify for playoffs, there'd be a friendly instead of the home game, so im guessing it's an international break, which should count towards rankings.

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:22am

Never heard that before, it has an option for our 2 games v Estonia to fill in on that widget so I presume they do, anyone confirm this?

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:24am
im almost certain the playoff v france didnt count towards ranking points

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:39am
Friendlies count, so why wouldn't playoffs?

Posted By: el2nz
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:41am
Playoffs should count for double. They're make or break games.

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:46am
Every match counts for FIFA rankings and have weighting depending on the match and opponent WC > Euros & Copa American > Qualifiers > Friendlies. Opponent strength taken into account too, plus home and away factor.

For UEFA rankings, only the result matters and they only take competitive games into account. You get bonus points for playoffs (6000 iirc) and for advancing in tournaments & winning penalty shootouts (which counts as 20000 points, as opposed to 30000 for a win and 10000 for a draw).

In short, playoffs always count, and for the UEFA rankings, actually get you bonus points.

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:54am

im almost certain the playoff v france didnt count towards ranking points

both games counted

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 8:58am
yeah dont know what i was on about at all!

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 9:59am
It's funny how when we're going up the rankings it's great but when we're going the other direction they're sh*t an inaccurate LOL

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 10:01am
Good to see us rising. And there were people on here complaining that we were making no improvement under Trap- up 20 something places not bad- give him two more years andwe'll be top Wink

All joking aside depending on the results of other games and our own we could be up into top 20 next month

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 10:43am
Great to see us getting up the ladder but they are still a load of balls. Wales are now up to 45th one place ahead of Armenia who have had a brilliant campaign. You start really low, win a few games, and you shoot up the rankings way too quickly. Look at Montenegro.

Still though its the system FIFA use, it aint going to change so its great to see us moving up

Posted By: The U
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 11:51am
keep on climbing Clap

Posted By: Pablo
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 1:07pm
Great to see us moving up the list important when it comes draws for world and euros Thumbs Up

Euro 2012

Posted By: newrygreen
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 2:58pm

Twitter: @50SavesOfDeGea

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 5:14pm
Best of luck Newrygreen in the world cup!!

Posted By: KrisMorrisKross
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 5:44pm
Estonia have dropped 1 place to 59th in the World. They are ranked 31st in Europe. We are 17th.

Back o' the Net !

Posted By: herman
Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 5:57pm
You've gotta luv the football manager stats. Something seems to be horribly wrong though! Forget about Ireland... Germany, 26th??  Shocked

the german

Date Posted: 19 Oct 2011 at 6:04pm
Originally posted by newrygreen newrygreen wrote:

CHEAT CHEAT CHEAT CHEAT!!!! Big smile

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 3:32am
Keep us posted about how you get on newrygreen, gwan ireland!

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 3:51am
Ah Football Manager! where a Darren Potter penalty miss in a shoot-out cost Ireland Euro 2008 during my time in charge Tongue but never mind Germany in 26th, whats up with Switzerland in 15th?

Posted By: wicklowrunner
Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 3:51am

If the World Cup Draw was today instead of 3 months ago, we would have been 2nd seeds.

Posted By: davekoolhill
Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 6:28am
Lads, a quick question, when we qualify for the Euro's after beating Estonia (I know im on the bandwagon), will our ranking impact on the position we get drawn in the group.

We were seeded in the Playoff draw, so would we be 2nd seeds in the Euro's group?

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 7:03am
Originally posted by davekoolhill davekoolhill wrote:

Lads, a quick question, when we qualify for the Euro's after beating Estonia (I know im on the bandwagon), will our ranking impact on the position we get drawn in the group.

We were seeded in the Playoff draw, so would we be 2nd seeds in the Euro's group?
The draw for the Euros is done under Uefa Coefficient rankings The same way the playoff draw was
http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/competitions/General/01/69/56/52/1695652_DOWNLOAD.pdf - http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/competitions/General/01/69/56/52/1695652_DOWNLOAD.pdf

based on the fact that the hosts are also seeded we will be fourth seeds should all top seeds qualify

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 7:09am

The draw for the Euros is done under Uefa Coefficient rankings The same way the playoff draw was
http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/competitions/General/01/69/56/52/1695652_DOWNLOAD.pdf - http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/competitions/General/01/69/56/52/1695652_DOWNLOAD.pdf

based on the fact that the hosts are also seeded we will be fourth seeds should all top seeds qualify

So would be

top seeds: Ukraine,Poland,Spain,Holland
2nd:Germany,Italy,England,Russia
3rd:Croatia,Greece,Sweden,Denmark
4th:Portugal,France,Ireland,Czech Rep

That of course if all top seeds qualify

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 7:21am

So would be

top seeds: Ukraine,Poland,Spain,Holland
2nd:Germany,Italy,England,Russia
3rd:Croatia,Greece,Sweden,Denmark
4th:Portugal,France,Ireland,Czech Rep

That of course if all top seeds qualify

I'd rather be 4th seeds looking at who are also 4th seeds and we would avoid, the teams in pot 3 are easier than pot 4 imo

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 7:26am
Originally posted by newrygreen newrygreen wrote:

Newrygreen to take over for the WC qualifying. The FLO's can tell the FAI this is what we want.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 7:30am
It's interesting that as we climb the ladder, we are now closer to our Elo ranking, which is usually considered a more accurate ranking system, rather than FIFA's one. 
Elo rankings here.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Football_Elo_Ratings#Top_100_ranking - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Football_Elo_Ratings#Top_100_ranking
(incidently, this doesn't page has not been recently updated to take into account the new FIFA rankings, but does account for our last game played)

Either way, it's fantastic progress for Ireland and will surely aid our position in future draws.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 7:36am

I'd rather be 4th seeds looking at who are also 4th seeds and we would avoid, the teams in pot 3 are easier than pot 4 imo

Based on what? current form or reputation?
Portugal, France and Czech Rep would appear to be all on the way down.

Greece and Denmark won their groups and Sweden only finished behind Holland who are Europe's second top rated team.
Croatia only narrowly missed out to Greece and would be the top seeded team in the playoffs.

Based on current form, all of this quartet would be trickier opponents than the potential three in pot four.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 8:27am

Based on what? current form or reputation?
Portugal, France and Czech Rep would appear to be all on the way down.

Greece and Denmark won their groups and Sweden only finished behind Holland who are Europe's second top rated team.
Croatia only narrowly missed out to Greece and would be the top seeded team in the playoffs.

Based on current form, all of this quartet would be trickier opponents than the potential three in pot four.

Have to Agree /diasgree Stoked up on this one

The Danes,Croats and Swedes all good teams (would take Greeks anyday though )
As for Portugal,France both have some good young players coming through the czech u21 team didn't look too bad either in u21's in summer

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 9:35am

one of the ranking geeks posted up that if we qualify we will be 4th seeds

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 10:00am
[QUOTE=trapped][QUOTE=newrygreen]
I want to know two things
1.What is your Ireland Squad
2.What is the German Squad 26th in the World that crazy!!

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 10:46am
As far as I remember, the German national team isn't licensed in FM so its just a load of the dark grey players that you cant buy playing for them, I'd say thats why they are so low Geek

Posted By: Belfast Green
Date Posted: 21 Oct 2011 at 8:02am
Two wins in the play-off's and we could be up to 18th in the world rankings

http://www.football-rankings.info/2011/10/fifa-ranking-november-2011-probable_21.html - http://www.football-rankings.info/2011/10/fifa-ranking-november-2011-probable_21.html

http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/" rel="nofollow - http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2011 at 11:26am

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2011 at 11:28am
Originally posted by 9fingersbabb 9fingersbabb wrote:

I object to that. Knowing that doesn't make you a ranking geek.

Making a spreadsheet that means you only have to put the scores of the playoffs in and it automatically updating the seeds..... now THAT is ranking geekery.

Posted By: newrygreen
Date Posted: 21 Oct 2011 at 5:52pm
Thats just a print screen from the 2009 game folks. Dont have it anymore unfortunately. Cant even mind how I got on in the world cup. Wish I still had that game!! 

Twitter: @50SavesOfDeGea

Posted By: Belfast Green
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:18am
http://www.football-rankings.info/2011/11/fifa-ranking-november-2011-final.html - Up to 21st in November rankings

1 Spain 1564 0 -60
2 Netherlands 1365 0 -60
3 Germany 1345 0 -7
4 Uruguay 1309 0 79
5 England 1173 2 72
6 Brazil 1143 -1 -1
7 Portugal 1100 1 56
8 Croatia 1091 4 76
9 Italy 1082 -3 -53
10 Argentina 1068 0 38
11 Denmark 1035 -1 5
12 Russia 971 1 -4
13 Chile 970 3 29
14 Greece 964 -6 -80
15 France 915 0 -38
16 Côte d'Ivoire 911 3 13
17 Switzerland 898 1 -22
18 Sweden 891 -4 -64
19 Japan 884 -2 -40
20 Mexico 867 2 7
21 Republic of Ireland 864 4 52
22 Australia 851 -2 -17
23 Bosnia-Herzegovina 838 -2 -26
24 Paraguay 795 4 10
25 Norway 788 -1 -50
26 Slovenia 780 1 -7
27 Serbia 775 -4 -79
28 Turkey 769 -2 -34
29 Ghana 761 4 27
30 Algeria

http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/" rel="nofollow - http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:20am
We'd have been comfortably been in pot 2 nowOuch

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:21am
ClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:50am
Originally posted by Belfast Green Belfast Green wrote:

http://www.football-rankings.info/2011/11/fifa-ranking-november-2011-final.html - Up to 21st in November rankings

1 Spain 1564 0 -60
2 Netherlands 1365 0 -60
3 Germany 1345 0 -7
4 Uruguay 1309 0 79
5 England 1173 2 72
6 Brazil 1143 -1 -1
7 Portugal 1100 1 56
8 Croatia 1091 4 76
9 Italy 1082 -3 -53
10 Argentina 1068 0 38
11 Denmark 1035 -1 5
12 Russia 971 1 -4
13 Chile 970 3 29
14 Greece 964 -6 -80
15 France 915 0 -38
16 Côte d'Ivoire 911 3 13
17 Switzerland 898 1 -22
18 Sweden 891 -4 -64
19 Japan 884 -2 -40
20 Mexico 867 2 7
21 Republic of Ireland 864 4 52
22 Australia 851 -2 -17
23 Bosnia-Herzegovina 838 -2 -26
24 Paraguay 795 4 10
25 Norway 788 -1 -50
26 Slovenia 780 1 -7
27 Serbia 775 -4 -79
28 Turkey 769 -2 -34
29 Ghana 761 4 27
30 Algeria

Probably be at least one spot higher if we beat Estonia in the second leg.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:55am
not bad at all !

Posted By: Diego Duffy
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:59am
Great to see, but a pity we didnt beat Estonia at home...where would we have been if we did beat them?

Ireland 4 Poland and Ukraine 2012 :D

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 6:49am
We would have been 18th in the world if we had beaten Estonia on Tuesday. Still, brillliant all the same.

Posted By: walsheman
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 6:50am
let the rise up the table continue

Going To The Euro's,Poland and Ukraine 2012 HO HO!!!!

twitter.......@walsheman

Posted By: DangerHere
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 6:58am

We would have been 18th in the world if we had beaten Estonia on Tuesday. Still, brillliant all the same.

Well in that case we have really only lost out on one spot, because the world rankings really don't matter for anything. It's the uefa rankings that are important

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:19am
No groups to be drawn for awhile now so although it would have been nice to break the top 20, the most important thing is to not drop any positions before the next draw is for the world cup 2014 which will take place this time in two years. If we manage to get out of the group in the Euro's then we will be in top 20 and if we finish top 2 in the World cup qualifiers and qualify for the world cup then good chance we can be in the 2nd pot for that draw

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:36am
Shame about the draw, but still brilliant to see us on 21st spot again. And who knows where we'll end up after the Euro's!

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:39am
From 41st to 21st under trap, now thats progress, fair play. Clap

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:40am
Some climb Clap

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:47am
Did ye get the leg up mcg ?

Posted By: M.50
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:49am
Fantastic achievement for this country

Posted By: damo21
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 7:53am
Might silence the critics at last !!

he who lies down with the dog will come up with fleas

Posted By: DangerHere
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 8:14am
Originally posted by damo21 damo21 wrote:

Might silence the critics at last !!

Don't be silly. Even if we win the euros critics like Dunphy will still be saying "We're never gonna win the World Cup playing like that" "It's one thing beating European teams, it's a whole other kettle of fish beating South Americans"

Posted By: ericdogg
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 8:24am
Great to be back where he belong Thumbs Up

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 8:56am

Of our near neighbours

England 5th

Scotland 49th

Wales 50th

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Posted By: JayDunne88
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 8:59am
You can't really question Trap after that, that's a massive leap since he has taking over.

Posted By: dotts101
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 11:28am
nearly ahead of swedenClap

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 11:33am
It is funny how when we're going up the rankings it's great but when we're going the other direction they're sh*t . They are inaccurate at times but important no doubt so well done lads

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 1:31pm
The Rankings are sh*t in all fairness Babbs some of the scoring is ridic on some counts , but sure f**k it we're upto 21st im happy Big smile

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 3:48am
We are on the up again folks, up 4 places to 21st.Smile

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 3:58am

We are on the up again folks, up 4 places to 21st.Smile

Shocked I suppose next you're going to be telling us Ireland beat Estonia 4-0?

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 4:04am
Not that I don't trust those on her with more time than myself to work these things out (Don't care what anybody says, these calculations are done like those lower league Scottish games you see results for on a Saturding - Numbers generated at random !) but FIFA only offically published the new rankings today.

Glad we wonn 4-0. I fancy a 1-1 draw in the second leg........

Posted By: aviva8
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:11am
Does anyone know what our highest ever world ranking was?I think it was under chartlon.

Posted By: c90
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:13am
5th back in 1990. the year rankings started
* I'm completely wrong it was 93 and we were 6th ( but in my defence it was based on the WC 1990 results)

Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Lawrence Of Arabia, Elton John! Yiz can all go f**k yerselves

Posted By: Mr Marbles
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:14am
Highest ever was 7 th I think 

Posted By: Fitzinho
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:14am
Originally posted by aviva8 aviva8 wrote:

Does anyone know what our highest ever world ranking was?I think it was under chartlon.
I think it was 6th in 1993 or early 94 pre WC anyway.

You can check our entire timeline of standings on FIFA.com

Posted By: c90
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:15am
If you only consider the fifa co-eff ranking for the last year, were 11th and ahead of Brazil and Holland

Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Lawrence Of Arabia, Elton John! Yiz can all go f**k yerselves

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:23am
Originally posted by aviva8 aviva8 wrote:

6th in late '92/early '93 as far as I remember. Also seem to remember Norway being ranked 1 or 2 around the same time, could be wrong on that tho !!

Posted By: Weser777
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:34am
yer right...

"I'm not the best manager in the world, but I'm definitely in the top one!" - Brian Clough

Posted By: Fitzinho
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:48am

Detail time range summary - From Jan 1993 To Nov 2011

Team Highest Lowest Average Ranking
Republic of Ireland Aug 1993 - 6 Nov 1998 - 57 29.217

Compared teams positions

Date Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland
Nov 11 21
Oct 11 25
Sep 11 29
Aug 11 31
Jul 11 33
Jun 11 31
May 11 34
Apr 11 34
Mar 11 34
Feb 11 35
Jan 11 35
Dec 10 36
Nov 10 32
Oct 10 32
Sep 10 33
Aug 10 36
Jul 10 36
May 10 41
Apr 10 43
Mar 10 44
Mar 10 39
Feb 10 37
Dec 09 35
Nov 09 36
Oct 09 34
Sep 09 38
Aug 09 37
Jul 09 37
Jun 09 34
May 09 34
Apr 09 34
Mar 09 26
Feb 09 29
Jan 09 37
Dec 08 38
Nov 08 36
Oct 08 38
Sep 08 38
Aug 08 41
Jul 08 41
Jun 08 42
May 08 41
Apr 08 42
Mar 08 37
Feb 08 36
Jan 08 36
Dec 07 35
Nov 07 35
Oct 07 32
Sep 07 32
Aug 07 37
Jul 07 39
Jun 07 38
May 07 32
Apr 07 31
Mar 07 51
Feb 07 46
Jan 07 49
Dec 06 49
Nov 06 49
Oct 06 49
Sep 06 43
Aug 06 38
Jul 06 39
May 06 31
Apr 06 30
Mar 06 29
Feb 06 27
Jan 06 26
Dec 05 24
Nov 05 23
Oct 05 21
Sep 05 21
Aug 05 14
Jul 05 15
Jun 05 15
May 05 15
Apr 05 15
Mar 05 12
Feb 05 12
Jan 05 12
Dec 04 12
Nov 04 14
Oct 04 14
Sep 04 16
Aug 04 16
Jul 04 16
Jun 04 14
May 04 15
Apr 04 15
Mar 04 15
Feb 04 15
Jan 04 14
Dec 03 14
Nov 03 15
Oct 03 15
Sep 03 14
Aug 03 13
Jul 03 15
Jun 03 14
May 03 15
Apr 03 15
Mar 03 14
Feb 03 14
Jan 03 14
Dec 02 14
Nov 02 14
Oct 02 14
Sep 02 14
Aug 02 13
Jul 02 14
May 02 15
Apr 02 19
Mar 02 18
Feb 02 19
Jan 02 18
Dec 01 17
Nov 01 18
Oct 01 20
Sep 01 22
Aug 01 25
Jul 01 23
Jun 01 22
May 01 27
Apr 01 30
Mar 01 35
Feb 01 31
Jan 01 32
Dec 00 31
Nov 00 33
Oct 00 38
Sep 00 38
Aug 00 39
Jul 00 39
Jun 00 40
May 00 39
Apr 00 36
Mar 00 36
Feb 00 37
Jan 00 35
Dec 99 35
Nov 99 36
Oct 99 35
Sep 99 34
Aug 99 38
Jul 99 36
Jun 99 35
May 99 38
Apr 99 46
Mar 99 41
Feb 99 41
Jan 99 44
Dec 98 56
Nov 98 57
Oct 98 52
Sep 98 54
Aug 98 48
Jul 98 47
May 98 46
Apr 98 47
Mar 98 50
Feb 98 50
Dec 97 47
Nov 97 45
Oct 97 43
Sep 97 42
Aug 97 55
Jul 97 53
Jun 97 40
May 97 44
Apr 97 41
Feb 97 39
Dec 96 36
Nov 96 33
Oct 96 32
Sep 96 32
Aug 96 37
Jul 96 40
May 96 44
Apr 96 37
Feb 96 32
Jan 96 27
Dec 95 28
Nov 95 21
Oct 95 18
Sep 95 12
Aug 95 16
Jul 95 16
Jun 95 15
May 95 10
Apr 95 11
Feb 95 10
Dec 94 9
Nov 94 8
Oct 94 11
Sep 94 12
Jul 94 13
Jun 94 14
May 94 12
Apr 94 17
Mar 94 13
Feb 94 11
Dec 93 10
Nov 93 13
Oct 93 11
Sep 93 9
Aug 93 6

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 6:18am
Aug 93 6th

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 7:07am
Sept 98 - 54th
Some here might now be surprised, that Mick managed to hang on to his job during this period, despite that tumble.  I don't think another manager would now be given so much leeway to get things going again.
It has to be said though that prior to that time, it was deemed that Charlton had failed to bring on a newer generation and this was left to McCarthy. 

IRC, he had a disasterous start losing most of the first half dozen games. Although we went on to  qualify for the playoffs in second place, it was off the back of a very easy group, of which we finished miles behind the group winners, Romania. We failed to beat Iceland and Lithuania at home and were beaten away by Macedonia, who were only finding their feet as one of the newest EUFA participants.

It should be pointed out that we had still had the likes of Denis Irwin/Gary Kelly/Steve Staunton/Niall Quinn/Cascarino/Alan Kelly/Ray Houghton/Jason McAteer all still available to us. And we also had Roy Keane, but he often went missing during McCarthy's earlier tenure.

This fall down the ranking wasn't lost on the FAI and when Kerr took over from McCarthy, friendlies were managed much better and opponents chosen that we were more likely to pick up ranking points from. A pity it all fell apart under Staunton. It's taken Trap four years to recover our usual place in the 2nd echelon of EUFA.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 7:26am
while I don't agree that the world rankings give a true indication of how much better/worse we are compared the other teams it certainly shows how we have improved over the last couple years

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 9:19am

Really well placed when they first started. The first slide started in the 96 group which was really one of the most f**ked up groups we were ever in. Started off like we wouldn't be stopped. Then the North got a draw off us at home but we still managed to rectify by beating Portugal. Then we had the dreaded Liechtenstein game where he had multiple chances but didn't get the 3 points. Then we played Austria at home, went 1-0 up and hit the post but they still managed to come back and beat us. Fell apart then. If only those last two matches had been 6 points instead of 1 then things could have been a lot different for us!

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 12:58pm
the england friendly began the slide in 1995

Posted By: Pablo
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 2:37pm

Great to be on the way up Stauntons time in charge done some damage when you look at the ranking during his time. Good to be heading up towards the top table with the likes of Spain Germany etc Clap

Euro 2012

Posted By: Billy O'Toole
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 4:50pm
Clap not a bad achievment

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:07pm
still sickened the wc 2014 draw was made prematurely, could cost us big time

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2011 at 5:23pm
How far do the ranking go back? Can't be long now till Stauntons campaign is wiped out altogether?

Posted By: Weser777
Date Posted: 24 Nov 2011 at 3:49pm
as long as we stay consistant, and not g into freefall like back then....they were dark days

"I'm not the best manager in the world, but I'm definitely in the top one!" - Brian Clough

Posted By: oreilly21
Date Posted: 25 Nov 2011 at 3:19am
although we do need to replace a number of players after this summer,

players who could retire are Given, Keane, Dunne, Duff & John O'Shea

in fairness Given & Dunne are the only ones there who may actually jack it in but do we have the players to replace them? i dont think so personally

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2012 at 7:06pm
We are up to 20th in the FIFA rankings

http://www.football-rankings.info/2012/02/fifa-ranking-february-2012-final.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.football-rankings.info/2012/02/fifa-ranking-february-2012-final.html

Posted By: M.50
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2012 at 7:12pm
was only searching this morning for some advance info on the rankings, knew they were being updated on Feb 15. cheers Thumbs Up

great news, up 3 places Clap

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2012 at 7:49pm
Into top 20. Let's stay there Thumbs Up

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"