URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=32283
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 11:23pm

Topic: James McCarthy
Subject: James McCarthy
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:08am
Fu**in deleted the topic by mistake cause I had to delete all that f*kin nonsense crap talk over the last few pages AngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngryAngry

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:09am
Can you not restore it from backup?

Posted By: MaxWell
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:09am
f*ck it clean slate.. hes captain tonight!

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:11am

yeah why dont i waste more of my time restoring all the bollocks and then deleting all that crap again, get bent!Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:12am
Originally posted by MaxWell MaxWell wrote:

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:13am
better off deleted good man count

Posted By: Garak
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:16am

Posted By: Jonny2Times
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:17am

Great stuff.. Clapbut fuming this lad is not in the senior squad. Hope he stays injury free and gets called up for Tuesday.

I never comment on referees and I'm not going to break the habit of a lifetime for that prat

Posted By: DangerHere
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:18am

Yeah it was kinda getting off the topic. And handbags arguments are never fun to read.

Has there been anything suggesting that James McCarthy might make it to the senior squad for the Russia game?? Trap ruled out calling in anyone else before the Slovakia game, but didn't mention Russia. I think McCarthy would be great to have an off the bench option of against the Ruskis!

Posted By: traphasntaclue2
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 4:20am
hope traps pig headedness doesnt cost us qualification,mccarthy is needed 4 us to qualify

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 5:28am

yeah why dont i waste more of my time restoring all the bollocks and then deleting all that crap again, get bent!Thumbs Up

Kerzi wont be too happy Shocked

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 5:40am
150 pages gonzo'd!

You absolute clown!

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 5:59am
was looking good for 100,000 views as well!

Don't think he is captain tonight, is he?! good to see him playing tho, would love to head to that but bit far from here to sligeach

Posted By: MaxWell
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 6:16am

Don't think he is captain tonight, is he?! good to see him playing tho, would love to head to that but bit far from here to sligeach

I was goin on a tweet made last night from FAI
http://twitter.com/#!/FAIreland - FAIreland  FAI 
U-21 Squad have final training session now before tomorrows game v Hungary. Fully fit squad, James McCarthy will captain the team  http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23ireu21 -

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 6:18am

must have been the most viewed topic on here was it?

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 6:19am
We can rebuild when he pulls out if the next squad.

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 6:19am

I was goin on a tweet made last night from FAI
http://twitter.com/#!/FAIreland - FAIreland  FAI 
U-21 Squad have final training session now before tomorrows game v Hungary. Fully fit squad, James McCarthy will captain the team  http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23ireu21 - - # - ireu21

wonder if there's a chance he will be called up to the senior team after this match? Think the Russia game would be the one where he would most likely could be used anyway (as part of 5 man midfield)

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 6:24am

must have been the most viewed topic on here was it?

macedonia away was but after that it was himself and andorra riding high

not sure what to make of him being captain, strange one but he has shown dedication to the cause which many on here expected he wouldn't, wish him well

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 6:28am
Lads he's not going to be called up for the remainder of the campaign unless we have even more injuries. Trap has shown himself to be a moody old man at times and this is another example. Why else would Trap rely on defenders to cover the midfield positions if Whelan/Andrews get injured when he has McCarthy available.

Fair play to Trap for what he's acheived but I think we tend to let him off the hook a bit. Its not right that he hasnt called up cover. I know McCarthy was very unlucky to injure his ankle against Villareal and miss the Croatia game (altho some ppl still believe he doesnt want to play for IrelandLOL) but why couldnt Trap call up another midfielder. We have other PL players, like Hoolahan for example.

Is nobody concerned at the thoughts of Kevin Foley coming off the bench to play centre mid against Slovakia?

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 6:28am
Anywhere on line to watch the game tonight?

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 6:30am

Anywhere on line to watch the game tonight?

Link on the under 21 thread

Posted By: ColG
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 8:19am
James McCarthy will be called into the squad after playing for the U21s this evening.

Ken Earlys Twitter

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 8:25am
Originally posted by ColG ColG wrote:

James McCarthy will be called into the squad after playing for the U21s this evening.

Ken Earlys Twitter

Wow!! good good!!! DOubt he'll feature against Slovakia though after playing today, but roll on Russia

Posted By: ColG
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 8:26am
Originally posted by DangerHere DangerHere wrote:

Ken Earlys Twitter

Wow!! good good!!! DOubt he'll feature against Slovakia though after playing today, but roll on Russia

Yea he wont play tommorow but he will be around for Russia!

Posted By: JoeyLapira
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 8:33am
Doubt he'll see any time against Russia though. Just be on the bench again. Great to see him captaining the under-21's though.

Posted By: Jonny2Times
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 8:34am

Ken Earlys Twitter

Think he will turn up???

Joking joking.. Good news,....Clap

I never comment on referees and I'm not going to break the habit of a lifetime for that prat

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 8:35am
how much did all the lads who made eejits of themselves on that thread pay you count LOL

Posted By: danny10tot
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 8:57am
I think it's great to see the likes of McCarthy in the 21's! Firstly, it show's ambition from Noel King by having him there, then he rightly so links up with the Seniors! 

I don't agree with players simply bypassing the 21s (i'm not saying Mc Carthy im talking players in general) cause they are playing for there respective club teams, by showing the commitment and quality with the 21s they should be merited by being drafted into the senior squad! 

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

George Best

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 9:00am
Originally posted by danny10tot danny10tot wrote:

I think it's great to see the likes of McCarthy in the 21's! Firstly, it show's ambition from Noel King by having him there, then he rightly so links up with the Seniors! 

I don't agree with players simply bypassing the 21s (i'm not saying Mc Carthy im talking players in general) cause they are playing for there respective club teams, by showing the commitment and quality with the 21s they should be merited by being drafted into the senior squad! 

I see your point, but if you have a 17/18 year old who is setting the world on fire then I don't see why he can't come straight into the seniors. Like I was quite happy with Robbie coming straight in at 17 and I'm sure England were quite happy getting a young rooney too. National teams should play their best available 11 regardless of age

Posted By: danny10tot
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 9:12am
Yea that's a fair point! But its not very often that these players come along. I'm talking about players leaving there parent clubs on loan and doing well with there clubs, people automatically assume that they should be drafted into the senior squad! Being called into the senior squad should be the highest achievement a player can achieve IMO (as you are considered the best in your country at what you do) yet we seem to give that unbelieveable achievement to anyone "new" on the scene, instead of monitoring and letting them adapt and also understand international football (with the 21s)

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

George Best

Posted By: Eire83
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 9:13am
Apparently he is going to be called up to the squad now......great that he showed up for the u21's!!!!

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 9:20am
Quality, every one is happy now and it should draw a line under everything. For the ones who always backed McCarthy, he is now back in the squad. For the people who thought his pull outs have been a bit suspect, he was 'punished' and dropped to the U-21's. He has now shown his committment to Ireland by turning up for the U-21's and is in to the senior squad after tonight. Lets all hold hands

Posted By: Tuff Paddy
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 10:04am
Captaining his country tonight. G'wan James! Clap Clap Clap

Waka waka hey hey, we're in Armenia!

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 10:11am
Originally posted by Tuff Paddy Tuff Paddy wrote:

Captaining his country tonight. G'wan James! Clap Clap Clap

ClapClap

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2011 at 11:41am
Gwan James bi Smile

Posted By: Godot
Date Posted: 02 Sep 2011 at 3:50am

Quote Martinez believes that McCarthy, the Glasgow-born Republic of Ireland international, will eventually leave for a major club but would view that as a success.

"All I want for James is for him to carry on enjoying his football and developing," he said.

"I think there's no doubt that he is going to go to the very top in world football.

"He's a very mature boy. He is only 20 but has played so many games that he is the first one to know he doesn't want to make that jump, that step too early.

"I have never been in any doubt that James needs another season at least to carry on having that responsbility and in a way experimenting with things tactically on the pitch.

"One day I am sure he is going to go right to the top and be involved in Champions League football."

Posted By: el2nz
Date Posted: 02 Sep 2011 at 3:55am
The BBC have him joining up with the main squad after last night, so I assume that means he'll be available for Russia. 

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2011 at 4:10am
Originally posted by el2nz el2nz wrote:

The BBC have him joining up with the main squad after last night, so I assume that means he'll be available for Russia. 

ya as back up.

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:15pm
Anyone watch the re run of the slovakia game on rte player?

Liam Brady very very critical of James McCarthy. Go to 2 hrs 59mins 10 secs

http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1110545 - http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1110545

Posted By: Sloop John G
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:16pm
Liam Brady's opinion is worthless.

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:18pm
Originally posted by Sloop John G Sloop John G wrote:

yeah what would he know?Confused

Posted By: Black Knee Stevie
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:21pm

RTE player not allowed in her majesty's system, know anywhere else to watch it again? 

It is not just a simple game, it is a weapon of the revolution

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:22pm

Just because he played for Arsenal and Juventus doesn't mean I give a sh*t about what he has to say.

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:25pm

Just because he played for Arsenal and Juventus doesn't mean I give a sh*t about what he has to say.

and therein sloop defined the career of jacob marley Embarrassed

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:25pm

He was a part of the management staff. Therefore his opinion is based on good inside knowledge of exactly what is going on inside the camp.  He knows whats going on.  

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:27pm
Originally posted by Black Knee Stevie Black Knee Stevie wrote:

RTE player not allowed in her majesty's system, know anywhere else to watch it again? 

Ah sorry chief. Dont know how you'd go about watching it. Youre in the occupied 6 arent ya? Strange how you cant get it thereConfused

Posted By: davekoolhill
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:41pm
Is there any chance of Trap bringing on McCarthy tomorrow night?

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:43pm
Originally posted by davekoolhill davekoolhill wrote:

Is there any chance of Trap bringing on McCarthy tomorrow night?
Perhaps if we're losing 1 or 2-0, Trap will bring him on in the 90th minute after he brings on Cox and Keogh first.

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 12:45pm
So is he in the senior squad tomorrow night or what?

Posted By: Dunne23
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 1:18pm
What does Brady say about McCarthy? I've personally never seen what the big fuss is about myself, but I realize that he is a solid player.

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 1:24pm
Originally posted by Dunne23 Dunne23 wrote:

What does Brady say about McCarthy? I've personally never seen what the big fuss is about myself, but I realize that he is a solid player.

Basically questions the lads committment and said he pulled out with fake injures

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 1:31pm

http://www.rte.ie/player/#%21v=1110545 - http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1110545

You can change the IP address to fool the system into thinking you are in ROI.Dont know how to do it but Im sure someone here will tell you.A mate of mine used to do it to view BBC player.

Posted By: MJD
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 6:37pm

http://www.rte.ie/player/#%21v=1110545 - http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1110545

You can change the IP address to fool the system into thinking you are in ROI.Dont know how to do it but Im sure someone here will tell you.A mate of mine used to do it to view BBC player.

Anyone? I have the same problem

Posted By: TheMightyQuinn
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 6:48pm

[QUOTE=Trap junior][QUOTE=Sloop John G]Liam Brady's opinion is worthless.

He was a part of the management staff. Therefore his opinion is based on good inside knowledge of exactly what is going on inside the camp.  He knows whats going on.  
Either way....publically alienating a player isn’t going to help resolve the situation. he should have the intelligence to know to keep his mouth shut for the good of the national team instead of furthering his broadcasting career.

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 7:02pm
Good point quinner but he probably wants to let the public know whos at fault because trap was getting alot of criticism for the situation.

Posted By: The Drifter
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 7:02pm
Originally posted by TheMightyQuinn TheMightyQuinn wrote:

[QUOTE=Trap junior][QUOTE=Sloop John G]Liam Brady's opinion is worthless.

Either way....publically alienating a player isn’t going to help resolve the situation. he should have the intelligence to know to keep his mouth shut for the good of the national team instead of furthering his broadcasting career.

it isn't the first time trap has done it. not just with ireland but with bayern munich, strunz anyone??LOLLOL

My dream has always been to play for the Republic of Ireland - James McClean.

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 7:03pm
Strunz is always injured!!

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 7:04pm

Strunz is always injured!!

LOL trap really hates injured players

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 7:06pm
Why cant players play through their injuries? Big girls.

Dad told me they are weak like empty bottles.

Posted By: GARY_BREEN
Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 7:11pm
James McCarthy will have an influential role to play in tomorrow's game.

You heard it here first.

#FinnanWithTheAssist

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 7:13pm
Originally posted by GARY_BREEN GARY_BREEN wrote:

James McCarthy will have an influential role to play in tomorrow's game.

You heard it here first.

I hope you dont mean hes going to be a waterboy

Date Posted: 05 Sep 2011 at 7:14pm

Why cant players play through their injuries? Big girls.

you basically have to be kneecapped to avoid a tongue lashing from trap! i'd love him to go psycho again on rte like he did with bayern! this mentality and personality lark....IST SEHR LANGWEILLING! WIR MUSSEN ALEINE SPIEL GEWINNEN!!!!

just watching this interview, funny to see trap thinks that nerhlinger and hamann were the best players in the bayern munich team. no wonder he loves whelan and andrews so much!!

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 11:39am
Unused substitute again today, thats two games in a row. Surely he's good enough to get into that Wigan side? Any word of an injury?

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 11:40am
Lovers tiff maybe

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 11:51am
Originally posted by Ireland4ever Ireland4ever wrote:

Unused substitute again today, thats two games in a row. Surely he's good enough to get into that Wigan side? Any word of an injury?

Ankle according to Martinez last week. Still isn't quite right.

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 12:21pm
Was poor in the games before he was benched, could simply be down to form

Posted By: Darren
Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 1:28pm
..... no commitment to Wigan ...... will soon be off to Bolton ........ Trap has turned his head .......... he didn't even wave to this dead Granny after the game ...... anyway he's not as good as the 47 year old farmer who plays centre mid for our pub team ...... my Mum saw him in Lidl when he claimed to be on the bench in Moscow

Cue another 100+ pages of utter sh*te about a player who will hopefully be at the centre of a bright future for Irish football.

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 1:34pm
Originally posted by Darren Darren wrote:

..... no commitment to Wigan ...... will soon be off to Bolton ........ Trap has turned his head .......... he didn't even wave to this dead Granny after the game ...... anyway he's not as good as the 47 year old farmer who plays centre mid for our pub team ...... my Mum saw him in Lidl when he claimed to be on the bench in Moscow

Cue another 100+ pages of utter sh*te about a player who will hopefully be at the centre of a bright future for Irish football.

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 1:39pm

That really is a bit + at the same time!

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 2:54pm

serious lesson in rantingLOL

Posted By: Trap Juniors Trainer
Date Posted: 10 Sep 2011 at 3:08pm

Whats this lad on about?

The reason James hasnt played for Wigan lately is that Martinez wanted James to be a partner in a joint business venture which involved trading antiques. James said he was too busy with other things and Martinez lost the plot and called him 'an Irish bastard.' James went off to play with the under 21's and when he returned to Wigan Martinez snubbed him.

Date Posted: 11 Sep 2011 at 9:41am
http://ciarano.tumblr.com/post/10081651442/trapattoni-james-mccarthy-is-the-future-not-the-now - He's for the future, not now - Trapattoni

Date Posted: 11 Sep 2011 at 11:28am

Trapattoni admitted he could have played McCarthy in a five-man midfield had he not wanted to win in Moscow. LOL

This is interesting - “In his last game (against Uruguay), he did not ask for the ball, he wasn’t calling for it"

Date Posted: 11 Sep 2011 at 11:34am

Trapattoni admitted he could have played McCarthy in a five-man midfield had he not wanted to win in Moscow. LOL

This is interesting - “In his last game (against Uruguay), he did not ask for the ball, he wasn’t calling for it"

I think Trap needs to realise McCarthy plays deeper than where he played him.

Date Posted: 11 Sep 2011 at 11:35am
I would love to see what Trap calls defensive if that is wanting to win!!

Posted By: Absolutely Use
Date Posted: 11 Sep 2011 at 11:43am
I don't see McCarthy as that much of on attacking midfield player, he can put his foot in, I do'd see him as a liability in a 3 man midfield, we need an extra man in there and push your wingers further forward and use McCarthy youth to get in the box. I would like to see Marc Wilson or Chris McCann given a rum out in the holding role in a friendly.

I believe Wilson best position is in the holding role in midfield, i thought he was outstanding in that position for Portsmouth when they got relegated. McCann could also have a future if they are given the chance to prove themselves.

Say nothing till you hear more

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2011 at 2:43pm
Started tonight in the Carling Cup away to Palace(currently 2-0 Palace) as has Connor Sammon.

Anyone watching to give us the details of how he is doing so ye's can scrutinise another performance from him?

Date Posted: 22 Oct 2011 at 7:04pm

Not in the wigan squad today and no word of an injury, whats going on here?

Posted By: farfar
Date Posted: 23 Oct 2011 at 7:16am
Originally posted by Ireland4ever Ireland4ever wrote:

Not in the wigan squad today and no word of an injury, whats going on here?

"James has got a hamstring problem as well but we hope they will both back with us very soon."

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2011 at 2:59pm
Source?

I was on the Wigan site and the teamtalk site and no mention of an injury.  He was also named in the 21 man squad.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2011 at 4:00pm
http://mobile.wiganlatics.co.uk/runtime/wiganathletic/article?articleId=2490808 - http://mobile.wiganlatics.co.uk/runtime/wiganathletic/article?articleId=2490808

Dunt know why my posts dont come up as links anymoreCry

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2011 at 4:05pm
Hit enter once or twice farfar

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2011 at 4:08pm

Hit enter once or twice farfar

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2011 at 5:28pm

Source?

I was on the Wigan site and the teamtalk site and no mention of an injury.  He was also named in the 21 man squad.

thought you were the physio?Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2011 at 2:38am

Source?

thought you were the physio?Thumbs Up

FAI physio Clap

Posted By: Trapcandoit
Date Posted: 10 Nov 2011 at 10:29pm
  Just watched the "competition winners shoot out thread."  This lad really is gonna be class.  Anyone got any fresh info? I believe he's not getting his game at Wigan, is he injured?

5 goals to go Robbie!

Posted By: davekoolhill
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 6:03am
Isn't he just just back from a hamstring injury?

Any chance of him getting a game tonight?

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 7:40am
We only have 3 fit strikers. So if two of them need to come off then we will need to switch to a 5 man midfield and McCarthy might be in the frame to be that 5th man

Posted By: Tuff Paddy
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 10:17am

Waka waka hey hey, we're in Armenia!

Posted By: Trapcandoit
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2011 at 5:53am
  FINALLY we should to see this player in action on Tuesday, Coleman also.  I can't wait!

5 goals to go Robbie!

Posted By: Absolutely Use
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2011 at 6:21am
Trap will not make too many changes

Say nothing till you hear more

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 2:05pm
Thought he was impressive tonight although I was flicking between the Leinster match aswell. Seems to be the leader for them in midfield always pointing where to go. Amazing how deep he is playing this year maybe trying to prove a point to Trap?

EDIT: Goal also gave him motm

Posted By: HewhomustbeHeeded
Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 2:18pm
McCarthy will be a massive player for Ireland.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 3:00pm
got rave reviews tonight v Chelski

Posted By: John W
Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 3:01pm
I am watching him the last few weeks to try form an opinion on him and i must say im impressed always showing for a pass. He got into a few tackles tonight. Hopefully he keeps up this performance level.

Posted By: TheBeachBoysReunion
Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 4:09pm
Sammon is also getting positive reviews, albeit he was neutralised by the Chelsea defenders today.

If he adds goals to his game, he could be an option for us, realistically for the WCQ campaign.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 4:56pm
Originally posted by TheBeachBoysReunion TheBeachBoysReunion wrote:

Sammon is also getting positive reviews....... he could be an option for us, realistically for the WCQ campaign.

Not a chance in hell

Posted By: Drummerboy
Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 5:50pm
McCarthy did very well against Chelsea. He was the main man for Wigan, without a doubt. Looking forward to seeing progress further.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 5:57pm
McCarthy has to get out of that club to progress. Wigan are going nowhere. Has the potential to be a leading Premier League player. I think if he moves to a bigger club and keeps progressing, he could be a similar player to Michael Essien when he was at his best.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2011 at 6:03pm
This post might look daft 5 years from now but I'm calling it now:

James McCarthy will be a future Ireland captain.