URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=31948
Printed Date: 07 May 2024 at 1:36pm

Topic: Scruffy Murphy's YBIG meet up Slovakia game
Subject: Scruffy Murphy's YBIG meet up Slovakia game
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 11:54am
Right I've met the owner again, the whole pub will be used for the meet up -YBIG HQ will be upstairs.

Carlsberg & Guinness pints €4
Short & Mixer €5
Free finger food upstairs
Marquee out the front in case the weather ain't great.

Use facebook? Join the YBIG page and pass on the event details

http://www.facebook.com/groups/78932204481/?ref=ts - YBIG FACEBOOK PAGE

Directions
Can be a tricky place to find. If your coming up Lower Mount Street heading towards the canal, on the right hand side of the road you will pass a pub called Oil Can Harry's, about 100 yards right after this is an alley with an overhead part - and Scruffy's is just there.

Posted By: keitho5
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 11:57am
Good stuff  Clap

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 12:00pm
Great stuff!

BH I mentioned this on another thread but is there any chance of seeing the Russia v Macedonia match? Its at 5pm. Any way we could get it on the tv in scruffys?

If it isnt on TV could they link a stream up to the TV?

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 12:12pm
Great stuff bh. If you are talking to the owner again would you mind asking him if he has sorted the problem that stops his cd player playing copied / burned CDs please? Myself and parklife can bring some but no point if they can't be Played. Cheers

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Posted By: Fitzinho
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 12:12pm
Brill, quality work

Rise and rise again, until lambs become lions

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 12:15pm
That's the shot.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 12:29pm

Great stuff!

BH I mentioned this on another thread but is there any chance of seeing the Russia v Macedonia match? Its at 5pm. Any way we could get it on the tv in scruffys?

If it isnt on TV could they link a stream up to the TV?

Oh yeah he was asking me about other games in the group that day. So does anyone know if it's on any stations? If not we'll have to watch it streamed from the tinternet, they have a big screen and we used it for the YBIG table quiz

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 12:30pm
Originally posted by Babysis Babysis wrote:

Great stuff bh. If you are talking to the owner again would you mind asking him if he has sorted the problem that stops his cd player playing copied / burned CDs please? Myself and parklife can bring some but no point if they can't be Played. Cheers

Yeah it will be fine, it was a matter of a switch not been turned on, but your cd is banned

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 12:48pm
Good man BH

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 1:08pm
Great work Clap

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 1:12pm

Yeah it will be fine, it was a matter of a switch not been turned on, but your cd is banned

Cheers bob, banning the cd suits me

Posted By: herbie
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 1:17pm
looking forward to another YBIG meet up.

"its the best trip iv ever been on"

Posted By: cathal
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 1:31pm
Awesome!  See ye there...

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 2:21pm
looking forward to this,I used to drink there a bit a few years ago but this will be my first time at a YBIG meet up in Scruffy's.Gonna be in Dublin early on the day,what time people gonna start meeting up at?

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 2:42pm
Good stuff, Hoskins.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 2:45pm
Jaysus this will be some weekend, YBIG meetup. slovakia game, early morning flights next morning to Moscow

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 2:51pm

looking forward to this,I used to drink there a bit a few years ago but this will be my first time at a YBIG meet up in Scruffy's.Gonna be in Dublin early on the day,what time people gonna start meeting up at?

A group of us are dropping the tifos off at the stadium early that day, and when we've organised all the stuff hopefully we'll be back at scruffys for 4 at the very latest. I'd say there'l be a good crowd there by that stage.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 2:52pm
Macedonia havent a.hope of getting anything in moscow!!

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 2:53pm

But we play Russia 4 days later. Also as long as its 0-0 there's always hope! Was only 1-0 in their last game.

Posted By: ericdogg
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 3:59pm
Cheers Hoskins! Looking forward to it.

Russia havent been great at home so far in the group. And the Macedonian lads might look to impress their new manager so they might come up with a result.

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Posted By: ParkLife
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:05pm
Can't wait...Babysis bring your CD, I'll bring mine.Smile
It has all the usual stuff plus I put some of the audio commentary from some of the goals we've scored over the years.
McAteer V Holland, Keane V Germany, Sledge and Whelan V Italy and a few others.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:08pm

A group of us are dropping the tifos off at the stadium early that day, and when we've organised all the stuff hopefully we'll be back at scruffys for 4 at the very latest. I'd say there'l be a good crowd there by that stage.

Cheers ,will head down around 3 wont be meeting any of my mates until they have finished work.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:13pm

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:15pm
Any pics of the Tifos?? If you wouldn't mind putting them all out in your back garden and taking a few snaps, preferably with the flags standing up,all 22 of them. Thanks.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:19pm
Originally posted by ParkLife ParkLife wrote:

Any pics of the Tifos?? If you wouldn't mind putting them all out in your back garden and taking a few snaps, preferably with the flags standing up,all 22 of them. Thanks.

no probs, will do it now Parklife Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:31pm

Right I've met the owner again, the whole pub will be used for the meet up -YBIG HQ will be upstairs.

The usual drinks will be set to €4 (could still be a better deal on a particular brand)
Marquee out the front in case the weather ain't great.
Like the Table Quiz, there will be loads of FREE platters of finger food upstairs only.

Will update with further info

Which one?

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:32pm

Tifos?

What time is the meet up starting?

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:33pm
Yeah Tifos...the Tifo flags.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 4:34pm

no probs, will do it now Parklife Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 6:08pm

But we play Russia 4 days later. Also as long as its 0-0 there's always hope! Was only 1-0 in their last game.

And Macedonia missed a penalty

Posted By: dotts101
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 6:33pm
where is scruffys?

Posted By: ThrowInDelap
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 6:47pm
Originally posted by dotts101 dotts101 wrote:

where is scruffys?

If time's a drug, then Big Ben is a huge needle injecting it into the sky.

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 1:43am
Have fun lads! Will be watching that in my local here, but how I'd love to be in Scruffy's for it!

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 1:56am

And Macedonia missed a penalty

yes but the game is in moscow. if he dies he dies.

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 5:06am
Good work Bob

Have enjoyed the atmosphere at Scruffy's the couple of times I've been there, my only gripe is they serve probably the worst pints I've ever had in Dublin

Posted By: shoveonyournicks
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 5:14am
I'm actually starting to think it's a little bit sad how much I'm looking forward to this gameEmbarrassed Gonna be a messy night!!!!

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 6:03am
cheers delap, mite make a first appearance

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 6:44am

cheers delap, mite make a first appearance

Dont forget your name badge..

Posted By: petej1963
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 9:02am
The Ballyer seven will be there.............Wink

Sleep gentle our Rose of Mooncoin.......

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 9:18am

Good work Bob

Have enjoyed the atmosphere at Scruffy's the couple of times I've been there, my only gripe is they serve probably the worst pints I've ever had in Dublin

That was a basket of wedges not a pint ya hungry fooker!

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 11:42am
Folks, The High Kings will play a few songs before the match.

Can we all try get in early?

I suggest we all march from Scruffy's to the ground at 6.45. There for 7. 300 walk down together
What yis think

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 11:48am

I suggest we all march from Scruffy's to the ground at 6.45. There for 7. 300 walk down together
What yis think
Green Street style!

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 12:24pm

What yis think
It's not a 45 minute walk in fairness. What time is KO, 7.45?

Posted By: Diego Duffy
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 1:13pm
He never said it was 45 min walk, he said ''march from Scruffy's to the ground at 6.45. There for 7. 300 walk down together'' .

Ireland 4 Poland and Ukraine 2012 :D

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 1:24pm
Spot on Gerk . . No point everybody squeezin in at 745 lets get in early and rock the place !!

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 1:41pm
I'll be giving the High Kings a big miss

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 2:17pm
Tickets can be collected on route to the stadium. 

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 2:19pm
yeah I agree that we all should aim to be in the ground at 7.30pm at the latest. Lets lay down our intention early.

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 3:19pm
What time is it acceptable to be in Scruffy Murphys from?

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 3:29pm

Last time I wasone of the first there. Except for the Hayes family but that's a given that they'll be at the bar first

I should be there around 4.30 this time

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 3:29pm

My crew are usually there between 1 and 2, majority of crowd usually arrives 3-4, lightweights

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 3:46pm
most people will get off work a bit early but will only really make  it for 5!
Personally gonna try be there for 4ish as don't have the time to take off!

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 3:48pm
Windbag you going to Russia ?

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 4:14pm

My crew are usually there between 1 and 2, majority of crowd usually arrives 3-4, lightweights

See you there about then as me and baby bro hit Dublin about 11am the Friday morning. Hopefully I can drink again by then

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 4:19pm

See you there about then as me and baby bro hit Dublin about 11am the Friday morning. Hopefully I can drink again by then

Do you not do the pub tour wit Tom, Aido, Hornets etc?

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 4:33pm
Don't mention the War Podge :)

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 4:34pm
Originally posted by Balf.airy Balf.airy wrote:

Ooooohhhhhh..Please go on...There's feck all on the Tv tonight..i'd love a good chinwag Big smile

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 4:36pm
Any chance of cheerleaders Bob?

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 4:55pm

Shocked Go on......

Posted By: Q Man's midget
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 4:58pm

Shocked Go on......

Go fairy

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 5:03pm
One of the lads going to the match with me is a sex pest.

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 5:41pm
Only hopping the ball. :)

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 4:45am
Originally posted by billybob billybob wrote:

Any chance of cheerleaders Bob?

You got pom poms?

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 5:40am

babysis has been known to follow us around alright.... Wink

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 10:24am

Can we join yiz again if we're up early enough?? Beer

Posted By: DubIRL
Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 10:47am
Originally posted by shoveonyournicks shoveonyournicks wrote:

I'm actually starting to think it's a little bit sad how much I'm looking forward to this gameEmbarrassed Gonna be a messy night!!!!

Ha was thinking the same myself. But nothin sad about supporting your country. Fair play Bob, defo looking forward to this. Nothin wrong with the High Kings either, wouldn't buy them, but will certaintly listen to em Wink

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 12:46pm

Thanks for that Podge, looks like I'm gonna be stuck with them again now

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 12:48pm
Going to knock off work at 4 and join the Pub crawl gang.  

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 12:48pm
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

We should form a break away match day drinking group Paul- we could be splitters

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 1:15pm

We should form a break away match day drinking group Paul- we could be splitters
Great idea! The Hayes Clan, Babysis and BabyBro on the lash together. Watch out Dublin!
Anyone who'd like to join our Babysis's splinter group stick your name down (Trap Jr, Guf, Trapped, Sham) on the list below!

Babysis
BabyBro
Metal Paul 
Grazza
Big Podge
Papa Hayes

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 2:17pm

will be in work that day because i have the week off after for moscow, but will probably leave at 2ish

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2011 at 5:37pm

What yis think

Sounds like a plan, We should hold onto some of the Tifo's for the march down??
If there's a mic in Scruffy's someone can announce "10 mins to go" so people can finish up and be ready...if it's just left til 6.45 then lads with full pints won't move and it'll end up people leaving in dribs and drabs.
Anyone bringing a drum?

Posted By: Doyler
Date Posted: 21 Aug 2011 at 7:06pm
I love the walk to the stadium from the pub, always try and get a song or 2 going but have only really got the whole street going once, before the Russia game. Would be absoloute quality a massive squad of us making our way down together in full voice!

Look at these scenes, just look at these scenes!

"it's too strong lads!"

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 5:02am
Excellent. Be me and 4 other tallafornians

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 5:04am
Will be there as usual shortly after the Hayes Clan. I think them lot come up the night before and sleep over...

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 7:46am
Il be bringing a drum parklife, should be in Scruffys for for or 5...

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 7:47am
Originally posted by Diego Duffy Diego Duffy wrote:

Il be bringing a drum parklife, should be in Scruffys for for or 5...

Good man...you can lead the march to the Aviva...now where did I leave my sash!!

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 7:52am
Haha keep that for July parklife Smile

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 7:58am

What yis think

Sounds like a plan, We should hold onto some of the Tifo's for the march down??
If there's a mic in Scruffy's someone can announce "10 mins to go" so people can finish up and be ready...if it's just left til 6.45 then lads with full pints won't move and it'll end up people leaving in dribs and drabs.
Anyone bringing a drum?

6.45 is too early if you want a big crowd. A lot of people will only be arrving between half 5 and 6 due to work and you'd be a bit ambitious if you're planning on running them out at that time. 7/7.10 would be a more realistic time.

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 8:25am

Will be there as usual shortly after the Hayes Clan. I think them lot come up the night before and sleep over...
Not at all Sham, Papa Hayes always insists on leaving early so we can get to the pub before you!!

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 8:26am

Not at all Sham, Papa Hayes always insists on leaving early so we can get to the pub before you!!

Some day I will get there first

Posted By: DangerHere
Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 9:22am
Really lookin forward to this. Never been to one of your pre-match meetups before. I'm expecting fire works :)

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 9:27am
I reckon we leave the pub at 6.45/7pm alright and get in early Great shout, the place has to be rocking early!

Will be me +2 there

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 10:18am
I'll be finishing up work at 12:30 and then will have the 5 min walk from Baggot St to Scruffys.

There's a food market every Friday at the canal bridge beside Scruffys so I might treat myself to a gourmet burger on the way Big smile 

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2011 at 6:47pm
can i ask y not drink in some of the pubs around havelock square and get evry1 pumpin outside the ground?

Posted By: Mafi Mushkila
Date Posted: 23 Aug 2011 at 7:42am
Hopefully will make it for a while, I have two flights booked all depends on work.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2011 at 7:51am

can i ask y not drink in some of the pubs around havelock square and get evry1 pumpin outside the ground?

Because Scruffy's is a good loaction to the ground and large enough to be able to cater to a large YBIG gathering. ClapBig smile

Posted By: John W
Date Posted: 23 Aug 2011 at 7:52am
After collecting tickets in the berekley court how do I get to Scruffy's ???

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2011 at 7:53am

Some day I will get there first
NEVER!!! Well not while you still have a job anyway!

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2011 at 7:56am
Originally posted by John W John W wrote:

After collecting tickets in the berekley court how do I get to Scruffy's ???
There's a map on the first page of this thread John!

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 7:24am
I'm already buzzing for this now. Land in Dublin Airport at Midday..aiming to be in Scruffy's from about 2 o'clock. Myself, Karnage + 1

What time are people planning to be there?

Posted By: ColG
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 8:24am
Originally posted by SteviesGranny SteviesGranny wrote:

I'm already buzzing for this now. Land in Dublin Airport at Midday..aiming to be in Scruffy's from about 2 o'clock. Myself, Karnage + 1

Most people will start to arrive around 2 

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 8:27am
Originally posted by ColG ColG wrote:

I'll be there at opening time if I have my way

Posted By: ColG
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 8:27am

Originally posted by ColG ColG wrote:

I'll be there at opening time if I have my way

LOL Clap Fair play!

Posted By: OohAah...
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 9:37am

Any chance of doing us up  copy of the CD's you made for macedonia. Ill throw you a few quid

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 12:52pm
wrkn til half 2 so if i do make 1st appearance mite be rnd 4ish, look 4wrd to see the atmosphere and craic

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 3:32pm

The usual drinks will be set to €4 (could still be a better deal on a particular brand)

any word on this??

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 3:33pm
can't wait. Although, on the wagon at the moment. Might be tempted to have a couple seeing as it's a special occasion

Posted By: Doyler
Date Posted: 28 Aug 2011 at 9:19pm
Me and around 7 or 8 lads will be boarding the train at portadown at 2.40 on friday afternoon, after that we jump on the dart to Lansdowne road, check into sandymount hotel and make our way to Scruffy's. Hopefully land at about 5 o'clock or just before. Can't wait for this.

Come on Ireland!!

Look at these scenes, just look at these scenes!

"it's too strong lads!"

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 12:56am
Originally posted by Doyler Doyler wrote:

Me and around 7 or 8 lads will be boarding the train at portadown at 2.40 on friday afternoon, after that we jump on the dart to Lansdowne road, check into sandymount hotel and make our way to Scruffy's. Hopefully land at about 5 o'clock or just before. Can't wait for this.

Come on Ireland!!

Any birds coming Doyler, if so you know the drill....Pics or GTFO