URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=31822
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 2:56am

Topic: Jeff Hendrick
Posted By: Sloop John G
Subject: Jeff Hendrick
Date Posted: 13 Aug 2011 at 3:19pm
The Ireland U-19 International made his first appearance of the season for Derby today, coming on at half-time. He imposed himself well by all accounts.

Mark O'Brien completed 90 minutes in the absence of Russell Anderson as Derby kept a clean sheet.

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 13 Aug 2011 at 3:37pm
Henfairy!LOL

Posted By: Absolutely Use
Date Posted: 13 Aug 2011 at 4:00pm
Gob bless Jeff

Say nothing till you hear more

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2011 at 4:01pm
you should see me on a good day

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 11:38am

Henf.airy could be in line for a first Rams start

NIGEL Clough may give Republic of Ireland under-21 midfielder Jeff Henf.airy his first start in a Derby County shirt tonight.

The 19-year-old was excellent after he came on at half-time during Saturday’s 1- 0 win at Watford.

And with James Bailey (ankle) and Stephen Pearson (abdomen) unlikely to be fit for tomorrow’s trip to face Blackpool, kick-off 8pm, Henf.airy is in line to win his first start.

Clough said: “I’d have no worries about starting Jeff — and have not got many options.

“I thought Jeff did brilliantly for 45 minutes on Saturday.

“We’ve only seen him for training for two days out of the last four weeks (because of his international commitments).

“So we had to introduce him to the lads at half-time!” Henf.airy has made six substitute appearances so far for Derby after coming through the club’s Academy, but is yet to start a match.

His fellow young Irishman, Mark O’Brien, 18, is also earning rave reviews after making his first start on Saturday.

Clough said: “Mark and Jason (Shackell) got us the result on Saturday.” Steve Davies, meanwhile, says he is unhappy with his form — despite scoring the winning goals in the first two league matches.

He said: “I’ve been a bit disappointed with how I’ve played in the last two games, but thankfully I’ve managed to stick it in the net.

“I think strikers are judged on the goals they score, but on a personal level I wish I’d played better in the last two games.” Davies now wants to continue finding the net to nail down a regular spot in Derby’s first-team.

He said: “It’s always nice to be a striker and score goals, and that’s what I’m going for.

“I think if the fans see I’ve got us two victories with two goals, they will be happy.”

Burton Mail

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2011 at 2:03pm
Jeff & Mark O'Brien start for Derby tonight.

Posted By: traphasntaclue2
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2011 at 5:22pm
where is the irish connection here lads?

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 2:46pm

Clough lauds Henf.airy

Teenager Jeff Henf.airy has earned the praise on manager Nigel Clough after making his full debut for Derby.

Republic of Ireland Under-21 international Henf.airy started his first game for the Rams in Wednesday night's 1-0 victory at Blackpool, helping Derby begin the league season with three consecutive wins for the first time since 1948.

Clough told the club's official website: "Jeff Henf.airy did not look out of place in midfield.

"He has been desperate to get into the team and showed great maturity in his performance."

Yahoo

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 3:17pm
Originally posted by traphasntaclue2 traphasntaclue2 wrote:

where is the irish connection here lads?

Was on the recent euro u19 team that lost in the semi to spain

Posted By: traphasntaclue2
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 5:04pm
how does he qualify to play for us?

Posted By: JoeyLapira
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 5:14pm
Originally posted by traphasntaclue2 traphasntaclue2 wrote:

how does he qualify to play for us?

Being born in Dublin Smile

Posted By: Drummerboy
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2011 at 5:35pm
From Ringsend in Dublin I think. Mark O'Brien also Irish, 18 and a centre half, has played the last 3 games also.

Posted By: smart man
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 5:49am
Henf.airy has move on from the U/19s and was with the U21 side that played in Sligo a few weeks ago. Was wondering a lad called Henf.airy used to play in the LOI for Dundalk way back in the 70s is their a connection.

alive and kicking

Posted By: gally
Date Posted: 19 Aug 2011 at 7:16am
This is the lad that could make it big, already playing/on the cusp of being a regular for Derby, has that assured presence in the midfield area, a Trap kind of player, still only 18/19, i would hope that he remains injury free for the next year or two, anyone seen him play in the flesh?

Posted By: farfar
Date Posted: 17 Sep 2011 at 9:48am
scored today against forest in a 2-1 for derby

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2011 at 12:18pm
He took his goal very well, looks a bit of a player and O'Brien too

Posted By: musicinmouth
Date Posted: 17 Sep 2011 at 12:56pm
High praise here too: http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/opinion/columnists/robbie-savage/Robbie-Savage-column-Everton-s-Ross-Barkley-Hull-s-Robbie-Brady-and-Derby-s-Jeff-Hendrick-are-the-brightest-talents-around-article799826.html

One of the things we all love about Kevin Keegan is his sheer enthusiasm whenever he spots a good young player. And when I mentioned Hull winger Robbie Brady to him the other day, the legend's eyes brightened.

“Do you know what, I've been watching him too,” said KK. “That lad's got something.”

I'd say that Irishman Brady, who's at the Tigers on loan from Manchester United, has got everything. He is one of three youngsters who have really impressed me so far this season.

Another is fellow Dubliner Jeff Hendrick, a strong midfielder who's making Derby fans forget all about me!

And the third is 17-year-old Ross Barkley, who has cut through the gloom at Everton. He's got the potential to be one of the finest the Goodison school of science has ever produced.

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2011 at 6:09pm
Jeff Hendrick will be a fine player

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2011 at 6:25pm
took the goal well but jesus that was some miss just before it! will be a derby hero for a long time after that today

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2011 at 6:40pm
He certainly scored the harder one

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2011 at 9:43am
Just scored v Millwall

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2011 at 9:51am
he's having a good season.

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2011 at 10:03am
Some start alright, nice see him build on the euro's, hopefully see him in prem in a years time

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2011 at 12:34pm
He looks like a decent player

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2011 at 6:12pm
good finish yet again.. getting used to watchign this football league show with Hend rick banging him consistently

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2011 at 6:23pm
Same as he took it well

Posted By: Godot
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2011 at 6:46pm
If he is playing as well until say, February/March, maybe a call up would be on the cards. Clap

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 3:16am
is he a central mid ?

Posted By: itoldyetraphasnaclue
Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 7:26am
another good young lad who will be ignored for years

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 8:05am
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

is he a central mid ?

Yeah he's playing centre mid for them,looks a really promising player.Mark O'Brien is having a good start to the season as well,playing centre back.
If both of them continue this form ,they would deserve a call up to the seniors in 2012.

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 8:12am
The pair should be in the next U-21 squad, Henrick has been involved but it now time for O'Brien too.

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 10:02am
Still a long way to go for him but hes doing well. Good to see

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 2:47pm
Its ironic that an injury to one Irish International, Paul Green has given Jeff Hendick an opertunity at club level.

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 2:56pm
Originally posted by Absolutely Use Absolutely Use wrote:

Its ironic that an injury to one Irish International, Paul Green has given Jeff Hendick an opertunity at club level.

The 'comedian' Ed Byrne used have a routine about the use of this word.......

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 4:04pm
Should anything be read into the fact that Paul Green hasn't been given a squad number this season at Derby.

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2011 at 5:23pm
Originally posted by Absolutely Use Absolutely Use wrote:

Should anything be read into the fact that Paul Green hasn't been given a squad number this season at Derby.

Maybe they aren't sure if he will play much this season?

Posted By: BWAGNER
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 2:44am
Mark O'Brien shouldnt be selected for the under 21s as we have Lanre thingy guy that plays for some time in the moghty conference league

Posted By: Drummerboy
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 3:15am
O'Brien Was on standby for last u21 game and should be included next time.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 3:17am
Originally posted by BWAGNER BWAGNER wrote:

Mark O'Brien shouldnt be selected for the under 21s as we have Lanre thingy guy that plays for some time in the moghty conference league
go back to school ye mongo

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 6:25am
Originally posted by BWAGNER BWAGNER wrote:

York City - Don't understand Oyebanjo's inclusion ahead of O'Brien at all. Then again we have similar decisions being made in the Senior Squad.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 1:12pm
I reckon O'Brien should defo be in the u21 squad myself , but in fairness the u21s are actually doing well enough since Noel King took over i'll trust his judgement!!

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2011 at 8:56am
Anyone with Sky Sports 2? Derby playing Leicester later on this evening.

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2011 at 12:37pm
Any body watching the Derby Leicester match ?

How are Hendrick and O'Brien playing?

What type of players are they?

Date Posted: 01 Oct 2011 at 5:52pm
I feel LIKE A SAD SACK NOW, nobody watched the match

Posted By: Tuff Paddy
Date Posted: 02 Oct 2011 at 2:00am
I watched it - can't see either of them stood out. Leicester were on top. 

Waka waka hey hey, we're in Armenia!

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2011 at 3:46am
Jeff is way too inexperienced to be called up .Its ridicolous the way the Irish Media and certain fans start calling for players to be brought into the squad after a handful of games in the championship let alone the premier league.

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2011 at 11:16am
Hendrick signed a new contract today at Derby

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2013 at 2:30am
bump

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2013 at 2:58pm

Trap at this game. Would be promising if he was there to watch Hendrick. Surely Sammon and the rest of them arent god enough. Although who knows when Clifford is getting his place in squads..

%20" rel="nofollow - http://www.thesun.co.uk/irishsol/homepage/sport/irishfootball/4743611/Irelands-eye-Reporting-on-best-of-Irish-talent-with-Neil-ORiordan.html

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2013 at 3:03pm
Reckon it is more likely he was there to watch Hendrick, especially given Gibson's continued post Euros huff.  Very unlikely he sees something in Sammon that Doyle/Walters/Long don't give us already. Possibly Richard Keogh as well, given the current CB injury situation.

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2013 at 3:12pm
most likely there to meet gibson lads,

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2013 at 9:53pm

most likely there to meet gibson lads,

So, he went to Brighton Vs Derby to talk to Darron Gibson ??? Or maybe former Wimbledon striker  Terry Gibson ??  If what you say is true, the man has clearly lost it, time to get rid of him....

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2013 at 9:54pm
Did Gary Dicker play?

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2013 at 9:57pm
Came on as sub in 76th minute according to BBC

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 1:40pm

Trapatonni was at the Brighton -v- Derby game at the weekend and according to todays Star Hendrick is in line for a call up for the Poland Game.

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 1:46pm
nice finish in front of Trapattoni at the weekend:  " rel="nofollow - http://www.skysports.com/video/inline/0,26691,16428_8395199,00.html

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Posted By: Mick_G
Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 1:49pm
Great news and very much deserved if true.

I love the way people say he's not good enough cause he doesn't play in the epl.
Funnily enough everyone talking about hoolahan like he's maradonna when he was always that good people need
To look beyond the epl. A lot of average players in the epl and a lot of talented players playing in other leagues

@mickgleeson82

Date Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 1:57pm

Trapatonni was at the Brighton -v- Derby game at the weekend and according to todays Star Hendrick is in line for a call up for the Poland Game.

Hopefully its not Clifford getting the boot

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 3:32pm
Just scored against Sheffield Wednesday was impressed with him on Wednesday night showed good composure with the pass for the second goal

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 3:52pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLh3IS4cegw" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLh3IS4cegw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4rI6Jyt058" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4rI6Jyt058

Two well taken goals by him last season especially the Forest game. 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 4:20pm

Just scored against Sheffield Wednesday was impressed with him on Wednesday night showed good composure with the pass for the second goal

Yeah he looks a tidy little player alright, for the moment he'll be a good squad player for us.

Posted By: davekoolhill
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 7:00pm
Anyone think he is a better player than whelo?

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 7:02pm
Originally posted by davekoolhill davekoolhill wrote:

Would Hendrick not be more of an attacking midfielder? 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 7:25pm

Seriously how many games have you seen Henderick play in to come to that conclusion?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 7:53pm

<div id="isChromeWebToolbarDiv" style="display:none">

Would Hendrick not be more of an attacking midfielder? 

Yeah he is but as well as that Whelan does a completely different job for stoke to what he is expected to do for us. He is stokes playmaker, the one who makes them tick essentially.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:02pm
Stokes playmaker?!

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:16pm
Originally posted by Ireland4ever Ireland4ever wrote:

Stokes playmaker?!

Yeah, that's my view on his role in the stoke side anyway. As opposed to sitting in Midfield doing sweet FA (like he does for us), he actually believe it or not gets on the ball and makes things happen at club level. Pulis values him a lot, he has already come out and said he is going nowhere in the summer as Glenn was being linked with a move to Fulham & West Ham.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:18pm

Stokes playmaker?!

+ 1

He's clearly a holding player for Stoke. He is allowed venture forward more with Stoke maybe but thats it, he's certainly no playmaker 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:23pm
Play stopper not a play maker .... Hendrick looks a player , have seen a good bit of him with u21s . He's composed , good feet , big and strong. Thats a good mix !!

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:28pm

Stokes playmaker?!

+ 1

He's clearly a holding player for Stoke. He is allowed venture forward more with Stoke maybe but thats it, he's certainly no playmaker 

Eh you don't have to play behind the front two or as an advanced midfielder to be classed as a playmaker. Depends what you class a playmakers role I suppose. For me a playmaker is someone who controls the flow of the game, puts his foot on the ball, dictates the tempo somewhat. I would class pirlo as a playmaker and he essentially plays a holding role (for the record I am in no way comparing Whelan to Pirlo in regards quality!!)

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:32pm

Play stopper not a play maker .... Hendrick looks a player , have seen a good bit of him with u21s . He's composed , good feet , big and strong. Thats a good mix !!

Yeah, I've been impressed on what I've seen for Derby and the 21's and his cameo on wednesday, I reckon he's one for the future.  Good to see him carrying the confidence he'd have gained from Weds night into his club form.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:33pm
Originally posted by El_nino El_nino wrote:

Stokes playmaker?!

+ 1

Eh you don't have to play behind the front two or as an advanced midfielder to be classed as a playmaker. Depends what you class a playmakers role I suppose. For me a playmaker is someone who controls the flow of the game, puts his foot on the ball, dictates the tempo somewhat. I would class pirlo as a playmaker and he essentially plays a holding role (for the record I am in no way comparing Whelan to Pirlo in regards quality!!)

Glenn Whelan doesnt do that so eh, no , he's not a playmaker. In any mans language. 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 9:40pm

Originally posted by El_nino El_nino wrote:

Stokes playmaker?!

+ 1

Glenn Whelan doesnt do that so eh, no , he's not a playmaker. In any mans language. 

Not for Ireland he doesn't correct. Plays a completely different role a club level.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 10:25pm
Stoke never control a game, they always have the minority of possession no matter who they play, like us, Whelan does not control or dictate the rhythm of a game for Ireland or Stoke

Posted By: GreenDodger93
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:04pm
Whelan a playmaker??? Heard it all now...

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2013 at 11:31pm
Originally posted by GreenDodger93 GreenDodger93 wrote:

Whelan a playmaker??? Heard it all now...

Indeed. The only way Glenn passes the ball is 5 yards sideways and backwards. 

Posted By: bossofthemoss
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2013 at 12:47am

Seriously how many games have you seen Henderick play in to come to that conclusion?

Seems more of a question than a conclusion.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2013 at 11:09pm
Whelan is hardly a playmaker at Stoke. Anyone who thinks otherwise haven't watched him at Stoke too often.

I saw Hendrick play for the 21's and was impressed. Let's hope he continues this progress. We've been averagely served in this dept for too long.
Incidently, I was chatting with one of the moaner/begrudgers in my local over the weekend, who told me that someone close to Hendrick had said that he was instructed not to cross the half way line against Poland. Amazing how he made that pass to Hoolahan from inside his own half.

Posted By: c90
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2013 at 2:42pm
didnt know where to put this, here seems as good as any

Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Lawrence Of Arabia, Elton John! Yiz can all go f**k yerselves

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2013 at 4:01pm
Mcclean had to be careful there about saying his fav Irish tune LOLLOL

Posted By: Weecounty
Date Posted: 31 Mar 2013 at 1:13pm
Great strike for Derby at weekend. Also won a pen which Ward had saved.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2013 at 3:36pm
Yeah i was watching the football league show highlights last night and he supposedly ran the show in midfield, he looks a very good prospect.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2013 at 4:25pm
Semaus Colemans earliest Irish football memory is WC2002, when he was 14. LOL 

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2013 at 9:58pm
Have high hopes for Hendrick . Looks a class act

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2013 at 12:14am
Really needs to get a chance in the summer friendly games

Posted By: skippy87
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2013 at 12:21am
i hope he get his chance, i m impressed from wat i saw on the football league show the last couple of months

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2013 at 12:31am
Hes very important to Derby. I really cant see Trap trusting him. England game would be a great chance for him on the big occasion

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2013 at 1:03pm
He was player of the year at Derby last year but he has been even better this year with more goals to his name. 

I wonder if he was English, would there be a clamor of Premier League clubs looking to sign him?

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2013 at 6:34pm
Did great there in setting up a goal for Derby which was ruled out. Green set up Leeds goal with a lovely touch. Had a good effort in the 1st half as well!

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 11:47am
Looks like he could be a Villa player very soon, be a great move for the lad

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 12:15pm

Looks like he could be a Villa player very soon, be a great move for the lad

Any link sono?

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 12:17pm
Would love to see him go to Villa.

Posted By: gwhite
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 2:08pm
This would be a great move, for him and Ireland.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 4:38pm
Been linked with Barcelona

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 4:40pm

Been linked with Barcelona
your time of the month or wha?

Posted By: rainpaulo
Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 6:43pm
Any source to this....Villa do need players...very thin squad.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 6:51pm
Originally posted by rainpaulo rainpaulo wrote:

Any source to this....Villa do need players...very thin squad.

What does it matter?

Their going to get relegated according to you.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 7:49pm
http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/james-mccarthy-jeff-hendrick-been-1943359" rel="nofollow - http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/james-mccarthy-jeff-hendrick-been-1943359

Nothing since June 10th on Hendricks link to Villa unless it's doing rounds on the Villa forums.

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 7:50pm
Jaysus itd be tasty if himself, clark, carruthers all played together

Date Posted: 15 Jul 2013 at 8:10pm
Can't find much on this anywhere?

Have had a quick scan of the Villa forums and nothing mentioned about it within the last couple of days. Bit of talk about Hoolohan alright but nothing about Hendrick.