URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=31629
Printed Date: 18 Apr 2024 at 8:52am

Topic: Shelbourne
Posted By: scottyccfc
Subject: Shelbourne
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2011 at 6:57pm

Hometown football, cant beat the feeling...

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2011 at 7:04pm

Posted By: kent o'brockman
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2011 at 7:40pm

hope your right scotty.what a difference it made tonight though to have a proper rival of old in town compared to the likes of mervue and wexford youths visiting.made the night all the sweeter.

just because i dont care doesn't mean i don't understand.

Posted By: TangyZizzle
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2011 at 7:43pm
f**kin hell. Only five more homes games this season. Hope the lads hold their f**kin nierves.

God save Ireland! said the heroes, God save Ireland said they all.Whether on the scaffold high or the battlefield we die,Oh what matter when for Erin dear we fall!

Dalyer - so good they sold it twice

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2011 at 8:19pm

Even with this result, I still cant see Shels throwing it away. If worst comes to worst, second spot goes up automatically this season thank god Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2011 at 4:04am
Langers are worthless scum [except kent o brockman, hes alright]

Posted By: NiallbutnotQuinn
Date Posted: 06 Aug 2011 at 10:59am
hope shells go up love to see them play bohsThumbs Up

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2011 at 10:59am

Langers are worthless scum [except kent o brockman, hes alright]

Charming LOL

Posted By: mcshane what a name
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2011 at 4:47am
love to see them play shams
shels 3-2 shams

Posted By: GINN
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2011 at 6:40am
whats the story with shels anyway? when you's went down did many of your fans stop or start supporting other clubs or do yes still have decent support?

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2011 at 6:51am
the 1st points they dropped away from home this season, won all games before Friday. That's some going

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2011 at 8:42am
Originally posted by GINN1916 GINN1916 wrote:

whats the story with shels anyway? when you's went down did many of your fans stop or start supporting other clubs or do yes still have decent support?

Well the season they won the league and last played in the Premier Division, they only needed to get a draw to win the league in The Showgrounds. A scappy 100-120 fans were in the Showgrounds that night to see them win the league. Take of that what you will.

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2011 at 8:50am
[QUOTE=GINN1916]whats the story with shels anyway? when you's went down did many of your fans stop or start supporting other clubs or do yes still have decent support?[/QUOTE
They never had decent support. 

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2011 at 8:51am
Shels have a very good Hardcore support like most clubs though they dont have a lot after that

Posted By: dublin-hammer
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2011 at 10:04am
shels are goin up, goin up, shels are goin up! NA NA NA NANA NANA NA!

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Posted By: GINN
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2011 at 10:42am

Well the season they won the league and last played in the Premier Division, they only needed to get a draw to win the league in The Showgrounds. A scappy 100-120 fans were in the Showgrounds that night to see them win the league. Take of that what you will.

Confused serious? have they just been overshadowed by bohs and rovers?

Posted By: PaddyBurke
Date Posted: 09 Aug 2011 at 12:44pm

Confused serious? have they just been overshadowed by bohs and rovers?
No, they never had decent support and never will. They are sh*te.

Posted By: saintjoey
Date Posted: 10 Aug 2011 at 11:40am

hope it goes to the final day shels will always bottle it :)

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2011 at 12:25pm
Originally posted by saintjoey saintjoey wrote:

Final day is Cork City v shels at Tolka so if we can get within 2 points of them by november let the bottle commenceBig smile

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2011 at 6:03am
is the final day on a different day to the premier again this season? i was at the game where scanlon scored in the 94th min to keep them down and last year v waterford when then were winning to make play offs and fell apart :) if they can bottle it ill be there :D

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2011 at 8:06am

is the final day on a different day to the premier again this season? i was at the game where scanlon scored in the 94th min to keep them down and last year v waterford when then were winning to make play offs and fell apart :) if they can bottle it ill be there :D

Good to see u lot are still fascinated with us

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2011 at 9:01am

i just like to see final day heartbreaks and theres nowhere better than tolka park :)

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2011 at 9:05am

Hmmmmm! Doubt that! 4-1! EASY!

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2011 at 11:06am
Shels have signed Brazilian Superstar striker David Da Silva Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2011 at 4:33pm
Scully's gone. What's the craic with that?

God save Ireland! said the heroes, God save Ireland said they all.Whether on the scaffold high or the battlefield we die,Oh what matter when for Erin dear we fall!

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2011 at 3:24pm
Great win 3-1 shels yessssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
sha la la la la la what do you want from me ?????ClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2011 at 6:23pm
Massive weekends results after our defeat to the langers last week

I really feared a defeat last night but we did the business

G'wan shels

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 5:28am
Hows the match fixing going lads?

Posted By: Row Z
Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 5:41am
anyone else back Sheriff at 11/1 before the game on Friday??? Wink

"Just put it up there..."

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 5:46am
Anseo

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 6:37am
9 points deduction then when they appeal they should get a 15point deduction that will teach them

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 7:33am

9 points deduction then when they appeal they should get a 15point deduction that will teach them

Agree ClapClapClapClapClap although I may be a bit biased Wink

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 9:44am
I agree. Dock them langers and let Cork, Mons and Limerick go up. Too much dubs in the pl anyway.Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 9:47am

I would say a 20-30 point deduction would be more appropriate.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 9:50am

How about relegation to the a-league or lsl like juventus got when they were caugth match fixingBig smile

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 9:56am
Originally posted by John Caulfield John Caulfield wrote:

How about relegation to the a-league or lsl like juventus got when they were caugth match fixingBig smile

Only if club officials are involved. A points deduction would be more appropriatte as it targets the players.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 9:59am

Originally posted by John Caulfield John Caulfield wrote:

Only if club officials are involved. A points deduction would be more appropriatte as it targets the players.

Right. Whats the lastest news from it anyway landon. Any one person caught out yet or a club statement or anything??

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 10:12am
No word from the club and everyone is innocent until proven guilty Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 10:23am
We'll everyone in Cork, Monaghan and Rimlicker Citaaay are waiting anxiously for news of ye're hopeful points deductionThumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 10:59am
They should be thrown out of Irish soccer for 2-3 years. A points deduction is not enough.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 12:58pm
surely any penalty would have to be fai cup related?

Posted By: dotts101
Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 2:09pm
no mention of it on MNS tonight

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 2:27pm
Wouldn't be surprised if the Shels keeper had a few bob on Sheriff based on a couple of the goals shown.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2011 at 4:14pm
Originally posted by dotts101 dotts101 wrote:

no mention of it on MNS tonight

Would they really mention something that is absolute speculation? It hasn't even been reported except for one or two lines in the sunday world I think it was.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2011 at 3:07pm
Originally posted by scottyccfc scottyccfc wrote:

Bump

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2011 at 3:14pm
Hopefully we get Shels in the play off.

The ultimate bottle.

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2011 at 4:54am
I dont give a sh*t anymore Thumbs Up    

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2011 at 6:20am
Wexford at MonDog Park later, really can't afford another slip up.

Posted By: timoffski
Date Posted: 09 Oct 2011 at 6:48am

Bump

I own a football club

Posted By: Shelsman
Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 2:16pm
Distinct lack of action on this thread from the inchichore mob since we hammered them off the pitch in the swamp last mon in the cup, c'mon lads don't bottle up your bitterness. Although a good few pats folk in the main stand waited to applaud the shels lads off the pitch which was decent of them while the other thicks went out onto the road looking for trouble which the gardai sorted.

If you want a guarantee, buy a toaster.

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 3:35pm
enjoy your gaint killing for this year lads :)

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 4:22pm
Joey that wasn't even nearly funny. Your lot couldn't put us to bed with a man advantage and couldn't do it with your second chance in your own bleedin' ground. Shels will be up next season and you can expect us to be on your heels for the whole thing. We're not gonna be top but we'll be mid table and I say that without an ounce of hesitation.

Posted By: MrFantastico
Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 4:25pm
shels won their cup final last monday they will be hammered at the aviva and probably won't take their allocation

We hate princess diana, we hate elton john too, we hate orange bastards but rovers we love you.    KOH

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2011 at 8:10pm
Originally posted by MrFantastico MrFantastico wrote:

shels won their cup final last monday they will be hammered at the aviva and probably won't take their allocation

What is the alloocation?

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2011 at 5:38am
Nothing official yet, HM. But it looks like all the lower tier seats of the North half of the ground.

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2011 at 7:03am
it wasnt meant to be funny in anyway, its just the way i see it a lower league team beating a premierleague team is giant killing always been like that, enjoy it as i know i would if pats ever beat a team better than them and in a higher league

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2011 at 7:15am
Joey you're not seeing my point. Your lot couldn't beat us when we were a man down and you couldn't beat us in your own ground - does that not mean that we are a better side? The better side isn't always the one that's ranked higher. For example, Would you consider Galway to be better than Shels? Mongs? Cork? I certainly wouldn't and I'm far from alone in having that opinion. 

Shels are a mid table Premier Division side - right now that's theory, this time next season it will be fact.

Date Posted: 21 Oct 2011 at 7:44am
i funny agree yous were the better team on the 2games, however i dont think we played at all well we looked tired plus our manager f**ked it up aswell, i think it was pats 53 game this season

Posted By: Shelsman
Date Posted: 22 Oct 2011 at 2:04pm

ooh i smell a pats fan!

If you want a guarantee, buy a toaster.

Date Posted: 23 Oct 2011 at 10:35am
want to get your nose checked pal

We hate princess diana, we hate elton john too, we hate orange bastards but rovers we love you.    KOH

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2011 at 1:01am

want to get your nose checked pal

Posted By: David Agtista Eager
Date Posted: 24 Oct 2011 at 10:36am
Is premier seating going on general sale?

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2011 at 10:26am
Ask the FAI

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2011 at 10:53am
big club like shelf will fill polka tonight won't they ? 

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2011 at 9:37pm
Congratulations to Shelbourne back in the big league after five years away. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2011 at 3:43pm
BUMP

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 8:27am
BUMP

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 8:31am

Bump
You called?

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 8:33am
What's that smell? Smell's like  bog

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 8:34am
Originally posted by TangyZizzle TangyZizzle wrote:

What's that smell? Smell's like  bog
Champions!

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 8:36am
Is not being able to form full sentences another symptom of inbreeding?

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 8:37am
Rattled much?

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 8:38am
I thought it was only d4 saps that talked like that.. I was sick on the night but was grand within the half hour. Thanks for asking.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 10:33am

Smile

Posted By: The U
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 1:27pm
andy boyle have a good season lads? chris mulhall?

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2011 at 2:49pm
boyle was immence this season quality against st pats in particular. chris mulhall hasn't really played I doubt he'll be with us next season.

Posted By: Tiocfaidh Armani
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2011 at 11:53am
Was a great season for the super reds regardless of what people say. Promotion and a cup final would be better than a first division league win and no cup final. That cup final day will live with me forever. Heroic!

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2011 at 4:52pm
Giller's been hit with a ban for what he said to Dick Winter

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 12:50pm
Just seen a coment on Fb on the shels page and a quote from a shels fan "what a year for Dublin sport, Dubs win all ireland, shels  promoted and fai cup final runners up only disapointment was Ireland qualifaction for Euro 2012:) " fuking knob sometimes I'm ashamed to be a red DeadDead.
Some knobs out of our club need to learn to differentiate from the Irish team and JD. Pathethic!!!

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 1:57pm
Ian Ryan

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 4:57pm

Just seen a coment on Fb on the shels page and a quote from a shels fan "what a year for Dublin sport, Dubs win all ireland, shels  promoted and fai cup final runners up only disapointment was Ireland qualifaction for Euro 2012:) " fuking knob sometimes I'm ashamed to be a red DeadDead.
Some knobs out of our club need to learn to differentiate from the Irish team and JD. Pathethic!!!

I hope you don't read either of the fan forums, mate.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:00pm
I do actually, don't post though one particular thread regarding the Aviva stadium springs to mind.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:05pm

Alot of shels Supporters will say "support your own" but yet you wish your own national team bad luck DeadDead. No logic to it can't understand it.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2011 at 5:07pm
Some unbelievable amount of bell ends of that forum. Very rarely post on it. Too many kids and thicks who are so smug it's unbearable. Way too many know it alls and people who literally only post to highlight other people's errors

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 4:46am

Ian Ryan

Top man

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 7:54am
Originally posted by TangyZizzle TangyZizzle wrote:

Giller's been hit with a ban for what he said to Dick Winter

Good. Shels as a club need to grow up and get real. This culture of victimhood is f**king tedious.

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2011 at 8:29am
One game ban Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2018 at 10:25am
Some great signings pre-season (Conan Byrne and Oscar Brennan) and great re-signings (Dean Delaney, James English, Derek Predergast, Lorcan Fitz etc). Will be interesting to see how Morris gets on as manager, it's a huge gamble but I'm hoping the calibre of players that have signed and re-signed signal that he's highly thought of.

Club is now debt free with investors on board and we seem to be going in the right direction. Feel good factor definitely seems to be back at the moment. Hopefully a big push for promotion this season Clap

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 2:43pm
Promotion or bust (or even both) for Shels this season the way they’re spending. 

Ciaran Kilduff signs. 

Posted By: limerick lad
Date Posted: 05 Jan 2019 at 5:17pm
Shels building a squad similar to what we had in 2016, should win the league at a canter.

just hit the fecking thing

Posted By: max
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2019 at 12:10am
What price are Shels to win the first division? 

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2019 at 10:51am
Not sure what price but Bray spending big too so I don't think it's a 1 horse race

The win or bust (or both) comments I don't think are true tbh. Shels are debt free for the 1st time since Ollie's years, new board there, new investor etc. Shels have been extremely frugal since 2006 and I'd be fairly surprised if we were spending above our means all of a sudden

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2019 at 8:03pm
Originally posted by max max wrote:

What price are Shels to win the first division? 

Market not up but I expect shels to be red hot favourites. They've a team that would stay up in the Premier 

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2019 at 8:31pm

Not sure what price but Bray spending big too so I don't think it's a 1 horse race

The win or bust (or both) comments I don't think are true tbh. Shels are debt free for the 1st time since Ollie's years, new board there, new investor etc. Shels have been extremely frugal since 2006 and I'd be fairly surprised if we were spending above our means all of a sudden
Any idea who it is? I assume it's a sugar daddy really, an investor expects return on his investment, not a hope the LoI can produce a return

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 10 Jan 2019 at 9:12pm
Isint it the lad who left rovers? Wanted in there as he’s a fan but the love was unrequited so he upped and left for rovers lite. Apparently he’s fairly ruthless too, by all accounts was talking to heary about extending his deal a day before giving him the old heave hoLOL I think I like him.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2019 at 1:44pm
Yeah Andrew Doyle (ex Rovers) is the investor. The figure thrown around earlier this year was €500k investment, but not sure how accurate that is. I honestly don't know the ins and outs of our finances. Here is a link to an article earlier in the year, don't think there has been much in the press since:

http://www.extratime.ie/articles/20733/shelbourne-set-to-name-former-shamrock-rovers-defender-as-chief-executive/" rel="nofollow - http://www.extratime.ie/articles/20733/shelbourne-set-to-name-former-shamrock-rovers-defender-as-chief-executive/

Also, Kilduff and Conan Byrne are part time. They signed as it suits them professionally (both teachers). So I don't think Shels are 'throwing around money' to the extent you might think

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2019 at 8:19pm
Paddy power have shels at 1/2 and next are Bray at 4/1

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2019 at 8:56pm

Yeah Andrew Doyle (ex Rovers) is the investor. The figure thrown around earlier this year was €500k investment, but not sure how accurate that is. I honestly don't know the ins and outs of our finances. Here is a link to an article earlier in the year, don't think there has been much in the press since:

http://www.extratime.ie/articles/20733/shelbourne-set-to-name-former-shamrock-rovers-defender-as-chief-executive/" rel="nofollow - http://www.extratime.ie/articles/20733/shelbourne-set-to-name-former-shamrock-rovers-defender-as-chief-executive/

Also, Kilduff and Conan Byrne are part time. They signed as it suits them professionally (both teachers). So I don't think Shels are 'throwing around money' to the extent you might think

Kilduff was hardly teaching when he was at Rovers, Dundalk and in the US and would have been playing full time?

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2019 at 9:13am
There's part time clubs in the top division who would have taken them players too. Add in the likes of brennan and likely luke.byrne on the way its clear they are spending a right few quid. No point playing it down if yer man can afford it so what but they have to go up imo 

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2019 at 9:31am
Using Bohs as an example of another debt free club, averaging over 2k attendance & 3 match day bars jammed. Shels with 600 and 1 small bar. The spending certainly looks unsustainable and seems no one has learned anything over the past 10 years. 
Finances aside it’s ve a very exciting time as a fan, I’m sure Morris will turn out to be a very astute signing