Printed Date: 02 May 2024 at 6:14am

Topic: Irish Women's National League
Subject: Irish Women's National League
Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 2:56pm

FAI announce new Women's League

Wednesday, 3 August 2011 18:27

The Football Association of Ireland has announced a new National Women's League which will begin in November.

The seven clubs who will compete in the league are: Bray Wanderers/ St Josephs, Castlebar Celtic FC, Cork Women's FC, Peamount United, Raheny United, Shamrock Rovers, and Wexford Youths Women's AFC.

Prior to the start of the new venture, the FAI will meet each of the participating clubs to discuss marketing, licensing and administration.

News of the new League was welcomed by Irish senior coach Sue Ronan. She said: "This is a very exciting time for women's football in Ireland. The new competition will continue to nurture and develop the women's game at domestic and international level.

"This new National League will be a cornerstone in the future success of our game."

We got it Clap

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 3:04pm
Cant support the Bray team because of their team up with Joe's. Cant support Rovers for obvious reasons. So come on Raheny Thumbs Up 

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 3:05pm
Ah I thought ya might give us a dig out

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 3:12pm

Ah I thought ya might give us a dig out

I will support any team against St Josephs Thumbs Up Even Rovers Shocked

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 3:15pm
Ah yeah I remember you saying you didn't like them, didn't that scumbag BoyZ play for them?

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 3:20pm

Ah yeah I remember you saying you didn't like them, didn't that scumbag BoyZ play for them?

He did Angry

I remember my first ever game for Ballybrack was against a Boy Z led Joeys in a wet pre-season friendly. We lost 15-1 Embarrassed

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 3:43pm
DG9 grab that 1 goal too I assume?

Posted By: Gem
Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 3:52pm
Great news for ladies football, brilliant for the girls looking for oppurtunities abroad as well Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 3:54pm
Surprised Salthill Devon aren't in this. One of the best womens teams in Ireland and regular National champions at underage level.

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 4:00pm

DG9 grab that 1 goal too I assume?

No i was a ball winning defensive midfielder back in the day. Demetrio Albertini was my hero back then Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 4:23pm
Womens football is growing alright
And of course the Irish Daily Star is leading the way with an 8-page pullout on ladies football every week. Again, doing their bit for every level of Irish footballClap

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 4:31pm

And of course the Irish Daily Star is leading the way with an 8-page pullout on ladies football every week. Again, doing their bit for every level of Irish footballClap

Slowly catching up, used to do 6 pages of DWSL weekly  back in 2006 LOL

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 4:33pm
Angry

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 4:34pm

Just so you know, Georgia Salpa holding a football does not constitute an 8 Page ladies football pull out

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 4:35pm
Angry

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 4:43pm

Angry

Don't worry Gerk, you'll get an invite to the best party of the year from MAL, the DWSL Presentation Night LOL

For everyone else, this is some shindigLOLClap

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 7:32pm
Salthill bottled it tribal. Best leave this to the real clubs

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2011 at 7:27am
MayoMark has been confirmed as the Assistant Manager of the Castlebar Celtic Women's National side

Posted By: Mafi Mushkila
Date Posted: 07 Aug 2011 at 3:00pm
Would love to have got a chance to play in this league Cry Massive step in the right direction for women's football Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2011 at 6:28pm
Definitely a huge step alright. Only 7 teams too so financially managable!

Celtic are recruiting Mafi

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2011 at 4:47pm

He did Angry

I remember my first ever game for Ballybrack was against a Boy Z led Joeys in a wet pre-season friendly. We lost 15-1 Embarrassed

Didn't even score in that match Thumbs Down

As regards to the thread..The Boy Z's Da is the Bray/Joes manager..

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2011 at 7:09pm

He did Angry

Didn't even score in that match Thumbs Down

As regards to the thread..The Boy Z's Da is the Bray/Joes manager..

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2011 at 8:58pm
Another sport for perverts...wonder how long before all the scandals are exposed?!

p.s. any late night tv coverage of the games?

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2011 at 10:03pm
do the lovely ladies swop shirts after the games?

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2011 at 5:18pm
Joes Girls won the Under 16 All Ireland today Clap

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2011 at 6:56pm

Joes Girls won the Under 16 All Ireland today Clap

Thumbs UpIan Turner ready to pounce zLOL

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 5:33pm

Peamount qualified for the last 32 of the Champions League Clap

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/6441/peamount-advance-champions-league/ - http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/6441/peamount-advance-champions-league/

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 5:39pm

Peamount qualified for the last 32 of the Champions League Clap

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/6441/peamount-advance-champions-league/ - http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/6441/peamount-advance-champions-league/

Joes/Bray player scores 2 late goals to seal it..Well done Steph Clap

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 5:53pm
Doesn't Amanda Parkes play for Wilton in Cork? She was on bench for cup final two weeks ago

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 6:27pm

Doesn't Amanda Parkes play for Wilton in Cork? She was on bench for cup final two weeks ago
They have a few players from various teams within the league playing for them.Steph Roche being one,Id say Amanda Parkes could be another..

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 6:39pm
Denise O'Sullivan and Amanda Parkes joined on a weeks loan purely for the game.......very odd

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 6:42pm
Jesus that's strange

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 6:42pm

They have a few players from various teams within the league playing for them.Steph Roche being one,Id say Amanda Parkes could be another..

Is Sara Lawlor another? Haven't heard of her for about 5 yrs since she went to US.

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 6:45pm
Julie Ann Russell is a Salthill player as well.

Date Posted: 20 Aug 2011 at 8:32am
Fantastic achievement by the peas. One of my coaches is on the team and got herself a hat-trick  Thumbs Up It is very strange that they drafted in players but it worked in their favour. 

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2011 at 7:21am
Peamount drawn against Paris St-Germain in the last 32 knockout round.

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2011 at 8:23am
Bray/St Joseph's have pulled out of this..

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2011 at 8:26am
Seriously Z?! Why?!

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2011 at 8:30am
How comes?

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2011 at 10:14am
Originally it was supposed to be 2 'Dublin' teams,that was changed to 4 and there simply isn't enough good players for 4 'Dublin' teams so the club have pulled the plug on it.Not a good start for the league 3 weeks before the kick off.Only 6 teams now Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2011 at 10:31pm
Sorry to hear that Z

Jaysus not a good start at all. It is difficult up there, especially with peamount and Shamrock rovers... Able to offer players money too.

We have a nice squad put togther here at Celtic. Good mixture of experience, international footballers and local girls. Great attitude in the squad and everyone very excited

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2011 at 10:42pm
Been offered the goalkeeping coach job at Raheny. Not sure if I can commit to it fully. That and the fact the Raheny keeper is in the Ireland senior squad and is better than me!

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2011 at 2:08pm
Jeez bad start to the league, hadn't heard they had dropped out. I had wondered about four Dublin teams because when I first heard about they said there could only be two for the very reason Bray/Joeys have pulled out. Somebody slipped up badly there.

Blueman would be a great experience go for it Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2011 at 2:28pm

Been offered the goalkeeping coach job at Raheny. Not sure if I can commit to it fully. That and the fact the Raheny keeper is in the Ireland senior squad and is better than me!

Sure all my 18s players are better than me, means nowt! Every one of José's players are/were better than him! Go for it Bluey

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2011 at 6:24pm
Its my own football that would keep me away from it. Id love to do it as I took a good few sessions up there last season. Hope it works out though because the first choice keeper up there is pure quality and is so easy to coach

Posted By: MrFantastico
Date Posted: 18 Oct 2011 at 9:12am
if your interested in coaching this is surely the way to do it also if any of them are nice looking and not riot dykes you could easily end up riding them 

We hate princess diana, we hate elton john too, we hate orange bastards but rovers we love you.    KOH

Date Posted: 28 Oct 2011 at 11:52pm
First game away to Wexford on the 13th (will be in Estonia )

Home to Shamrock Rovers the folliwng week

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2011 at 7:48pm

Decent start to the season, remain unbeaten after 2 long journies to Cork and Wexford. Also stuffed Rovers. Peamount at home SUnday will be very difficult, but their result v Raheny at the weekend was a surprise

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2011 at 7:52pm
Bluey ya tramp I'll see you Sunday week in Santry yeah? 

Date Posted: 29 Nov 2011 at 4:11pm

Bluey ya tramp I'll see you Sunday week in Santry yeah? 

Hope so. depends if my own team are playing or not 

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2011 at 12:41pm

did u take it?. good start to the season. only 1 conceeded in 3 games. the keeper has played for ireland?

Date Posted: 30 Nov 2011 at 6:27pm
Originally posted by DG80 DG80 wrote:

did u take it?. good start to the season. only 1 conceeded in 3 games. the keeper has played for ireland?

I go up as much as I can. Yea the keeper is in the Irish squad. She's top quality

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2012 at 4:11pm
Peamount 13 Castlebar 0 #shambles

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2012 at 5:26pm

Peamount 13 Castlebar 0 #shambles

I blame the coach LOL

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2012 at 6:04pm
Holy sweet mother of suffern Jaysus. A LOT of people NOT going to be happy about that. Just saw this there. Wasn't at today's game. God knows what happens next.

Not surprised this was a walkover but 13 f**king nil?! What's going on?!

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 12 Feb 2012 at 6:28pm
Just seen 13-0 there. Faaack. Half the Castlebar team must of been on the rags.

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2012 at 1:02pm

Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown are entering a team Clap

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2012 at 1:05pm
Waves?Embarrassed Fair play to them but jaysus

Date Posted: 14 Jul 2012 at 7:25pm
did UCD get in??

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 3:52pm
Hope everyone from Castlebar Celtic involved in the road accident on the way to the Shamrock Rovers games is ok. Thoughts are with them.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 3:54pm
Just seen that now. Best of wishes to all involved. Hopefully its just a minor incident

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:04pm
Recieved news in the last hour that we have lost a clubman, and friend, Jeremy Dee, in the accident. In absolute shock, only 50 years of age. God help his family.

Rest in Peace mate.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:07pm
Deepest sympathy to all at CCFC 

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:11pm
Condolences to all.  RIP

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:23pm
Terrible news. RIP

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:25pm
Awful news. Rest in Peace.

Posted By: Anto
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:33pm
Shocked, RIP.

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:36pm
Was anyone else killed or badly hurt ???

R.I.P

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:41pm
No other injuries AC.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 4:46pm
Very sad news

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 5:07pm
Jesus that's terrible news. Sad times

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 5:10pm
Just seen this on the fai page.
R.I.P

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 5:13pm
Sad news and particularly poignant on the world day of remembrance for road crash victims. Condolences to all at the club.

Posted By: Dukla
Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 7:03pm
Tragic News. RIP.

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 8:17pm
Very sad news, surely this deserves a thread of its own?

RIP

Date Posted: 18 Nov 2012 at 8:49pm
Tragic, agree GF, deserves its own thread. RIP.

Posted By: Hoop
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 1:40am
RIP.
Prayers are with them family and all associated with the club.

Posted By: Gaillimh Abu
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 9:34am
Tragic news this, didnt know Jeremy personally but he was very well respected in Mayo and Connacht football. RIP

To try and fail is understandable but to fail to try is inexcusable

Posted By: domo32GUST
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 9:38am
R.I.P. very sad news.

www.maroonarmy.boards.net 'One City, One County, One Club'

Posted By: forks89
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 5:29pm
Rest in peace Jeremy. Still remember the time he beat me heads in a poker tourney in Kiltimagh. Loved a game of cards so he did. Tragic news. 

Everywhere ya gooooo, always take St.Ledger with you!!!
@forks_89_

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2012 at 11:38pm
Jeremy was laid to rest today. You would not believe the numbers that came to say their last goodbyes last night. Truly incredible.

Rest in peace JD, you will be missed.

Posted By: pateen
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2023 at 2:38pm
Hey folks, bring up an old topic here.

Is there any thread or separate forum for the women's national team?

Flying so high, trying to remember
How many cigarettes did I bring along?
When I get down I'll jump in a taxi cab
Driving through London town, to cry you a song

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2023 at 5:39pm
Originally posted by pateen pateen wrote:

Hey folks, bring up an old topic here.

Is there any thread or separate forum for the women's national team?
http://https://forum.ybig.ie/rep-of-irl-wnt_topic53273_page73.html#2497188" rel="nofollow - http://https://forum.ybig.ie/rep-of-irl-wnt_topic53273_page73.html#2497188