New Bike for cycle to work scheme - see pg 2 pic!

Category: Other Forums
Forum Name: Whatever!
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=30405
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 10:00pm

Topic: New Bike for cycle to work scheme - see pg 2 pic!
Subject: New Bike for cycle to work scheme - see pg 2 pic!
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 5:25am
Looking to get a new bike on the cycle to work scheme.
I dont a racer, looking to get something with the mountain bike handle bars
Any recommendations?

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 5:27am

Looking to get a new bike on the cycle to work scheme.
I dont a racer, looking to get something with the mountain bike handle bars
Any recommendations?

A mountain bike

Posted By: TAFKAS
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 5:41am

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 5:51am

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 6:00am

Cool

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 6:07am

Yiz are all a pack of ****s

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 6:09am

Horsey........note "Mountain Bike Style" handlebars

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 7:55am
If your not actually planning on doing mountain biking then go for hybrid, its got the riding position of a mountain bike and the stifness, while its geared for the road and has larger wheels giving you the best of both

actually got a new racer meself on this scheme, should be collecting today or tomorrow

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 7:57am
Yeah looking at the hybrid bike alright - coming into this section for advice is really bad idea LOL

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 10:49am
Hows it work Horsebox?

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 11:47am
Halfords have a class range of bikes.

If youre going to be on the roads mainly, a few things:
- Hybrid bike probably best (mountain bike style & comfort but skinny tyres for better speed)
- Dont bother with suspension (if youre not using it off-road then suspension just slows you down).
- Are the handle bars adjustable i.e. move up and down (some are locked in position and nothing worse than not been able to change it if youre not comfortable)

Posted By: deisedevil
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 12:21pm
Balf.airy is the bike expert spends most of his time on his,
please dont buy it from Halfords, support your local bike shopThumbs Up

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 1:05pm
halfords is a last resort lads, stay away if possible, a monkey would do a better job of building your bike!

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 1:14pm
If you are using the scheme go big and get good value.

Specialised elite is a great bike. Hybrid will do you. Spend at least 600 euros and you will get half of that back (well depending what tax bracket you are in

Posted By: The U
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 2:51pm
Originally posted by deisedevil deisedevil wrote:

support your local bike shopThumbs Up

+1 local bike shops all the way

Posted By: AndyMc
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 3:37pm
Do you not work miles away

Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 3:38pm
I dont ever plan on cycling to work.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 3:39pm

Hows it work Horsebox?

Go to bike shop and spec up a bike and all the accessories for up to €1000 bring the quote to work and they will write you a cheque for the bike.
The money will then come off your tax or something!

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2011 at 7:52am
Nah they give you a voucher and then take it out of you wage over a set period of time, in muy case they are taking 930 out of my wage over a month! A mate is getting 25 a week out of his wage over 6 months

the saving comes from tax, you dont pay paye until you have saved the value of your discount

Posted By: Huggybeer
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2011 at 9:50am
check out the Giant rapid range HB.
Basicly a giant racer without the droped racing bars

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 5:21am
This is the bad boy I picked out -

RAPID 3 2011

http://duffcycles.com/about-shop?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=322&category_id=22 - http://duffcycles.com/about-shop?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=322&category_id=22

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:14am
Lovely bike,  only thing I will say is that if you are leaving it about town or locking it anywhere, get 2 good locks and maybe, done it down on the colours either by covers or paint.

Thiefs are a bit stupid and like magpies they are attracted to bright and shiny things. 

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:15am

Nah they give you a voucher and then take it out of you wage over a set period of time, in muy case they are taking 930 out of my wage over a month! A mate is getting 25 a week out of his wage over 6 months

the saving comes from tax, you dont pay paye until you have saved the value of your discount

Each company does it there own way, some restrict you to one shop etc so there is no standard way of doing it. 

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:15am
Much was that horsey?

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:18am
Just saw the link

Lovely bike. When I return to the emerald isle I shall be purchasing one similar to this thru that scheme. Savage bike

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:18am

Nice bike.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:39am
€795 for the rothair and then I got a lock, lights, water holder, mud guards and I will get him to remove the quick release nuts and put on these special nuts that need a key, so €900 all in.

Mate of mine got one as well recently spend approx €750 and as far as he remembers all he said was €33 docked off his wages for 4 months so in total he paid approx €432

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:43am
€133 a month u mean horsey?

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:47am

€133 a month u mean horsey?

No 33 p/m x 4 months. - that is just an approx. The way his company did it was  from start to finish for every year.So he started paying it in August therefore only 4 months left to pay it.
And all he remembers was being deducted 33 euro per month.

My work will give me a choice and I will do it over 12 months which is the max. Not sure how much i will pay each month - it all depends on your tax bracket etc

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:51am
4 x €33 = €132

There's no way he got it that cheap? U said €432 was the total in ur 1st post. Just asking cause I'm hoping to do something similar when I go home

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:52am
http://www.biketowork.ie/employee-information/ - http://www.biketowork.ie/employee-information/

Calculate the savings from here. If your in the higher tax bracket (42%) you can get 51% off the price of the bike and accessories up to max 1000.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 5:30pm
Gaz post a pic of the bike you cycle to work, please!

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 5:34pm

Gaz post a pic of the bike you cycle to work, please!

PLEEEEEEASE!!

I have one on FB I will try upload it now! Embarrassed

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 5:40pm

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 7:45pm

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

ClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 9:55pm
A tremendous bicycle

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2011 at 1:27am

A tremendous bicycle

with a nice basket

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2011 at 6:42am

BUMP ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2011 at 7:00am
is that Pepsi on the bike?

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2011 at 8:24am
pepsi do not have anything to do with this BSM!

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2011 at 8:28am

I ment Pepsi YBIGS resident homeboy

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2011 at 8:31am

I ment Pepsi YBIGS resident homeboy