URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=30389
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 3:39pm

Topic: YBIG Quiz Scruffy Murphys - Over €2000 raised
Subject: YBIG Quiz Scruffy Murphys - Over €2000 raised
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:07pm
Lads, on the night (Tues 9th) before the Croatia game in August we are planning to run a YBIG fundraiser in Scruffy Murphys. Clap Same as last one with a quiz / raffle /spot prizes and all that!

All the money on the night would be split 50/50 between the Singing Section Flag fund and sponsoring a special needs kids team (girls and boys aged between 9-12) which is run by a local football team in Dublin in conjunction with Cheeverstown. (Will post up full details in a few days) Thumbs Up

It would be great to get behind this as all the ybig members who help out would be involved in getting this team sponsored so would be a great thing for the forum. I will also post up regular updates and a few training / match reports.

More info to follow.......

* Like last time if lads have any prizes (big or small) they can donate towards the raffle it would all be much appreciated. If any really good prizes come through we will try run a pre-raffle here on the siteThumbs Up

Scruffys will have a few promotions on the night and have made a very genenerous donation towards the cause already ClapClapClap

19:30pm KO

Lads, fair play to Belfast Green and to the Q man for getting the below posters done up for the fundraiser night ClapClapClap

If ye could pass the info your friends and workmates so we can get a good few numbers for the quiz on the night that would be great Thumbs Up

Download posters below.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=S93JILQM - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=S93JILQM - 1st poster below
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RDRADTL3 - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RDRADTL3 - 2nd poster below in A3
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XGL44KGL%20 - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XGL44KGL - 2nd poster below in A4

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:09pm
BigPodge reporting for duty SIR

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:10pm
Lurleen
Windbag +Prize

Posted By: shoveonyournicks
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:11pm
Only a new kid but would like to get involved!!

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:11pm
Count me in count!

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:12pm

Count me in

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:17pm
Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:17pm

Oh and ill donate some confectionary Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:18pm
1st prize donated already and its a good one ClapClapClap keep them coming Thumbs Up

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:23pm
hopefully make this.

Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:24pm

Plenty of advance notice so FW will be there rolling back the years to my 1989 appearance on Know Your Sport. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:26pm

Who is preparing the quiz this time? Keep Justice away!

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:31pm
Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick
Guf

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:35pm
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick
Guf
FW

Posted By: Roll_It_There
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:36pm
Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick
Guf
Roll_it_There

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:48pm
roughly what time will this start at?

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 4:56pm
Originally posted by flick flick wrote:

roughly what time will this start at?

8 bells flick Thumbs Up

Who is preparing the quiz this time? Keep Justice away!

hes barred this time for cheating!

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 5:07pm
Brilliant

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 5:20pm
Count me in and possibly a few of me crew. Will try an organise a prize or two.

Posted By: AndyMc
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 5:24pm
Southside

Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

Posted By: dublin-hammer
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 5:44pm
should be able to make it for this will try get a few others to come aswel,

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 6:48pm
Will try make this, hopefully won't be too broke after America.....

Posted By: ericdogg
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 6:50pm
Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick
Guf
Roll_it_There
ericdogg Thumbs Up

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 12:28am
Originally posted by ericdogg ericdogg wrote:

Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick
Guf
Roll_it_There
ericdogg Thumbs Up
Sham157 (for birthdays drinks)

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 2:14am
should make it,will sort a few prizes again if i can

Posted By: Jerryfromkerry
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 2:55am
Was the last fundraiser not a quiz. Why not mix it up a bit and have a race night

No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 3:05am

[Sham157 (for birthdays drinks)

Heart

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 3:54am
Great idea Count. Im in

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 4:17am
[QUOTE=FREEWHEELER]

Plenty of advance notice so FW will be there rolling back the years to my 1989 appearance on Know Your Sport. Thumbs Up

Still has the umbrella no doubt! pass george!

Posted By: Justice No. 1
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 7:34am
The reigning champions line up ( I. E. The Gay Tinkers) will be announced shortly by myself and Lyd17
Negotiations are on going with Saint Toms agent along with others as we have decided to cut two team members from last years victorious team for not been up to the high standards of the Gay Tinkers

Posted By: Lyd17
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 7:44am
Originally posted by Justice No. 1 Justice No. 1 wrote:

The reigning champions line up ( I. E. The Gay Tinkers) will be announced shortly by myself and Lyd17
Negotiations are on going with Saint Toms agent along with others as we have decided to cut two team members from last years victorious team for not been up to the high standards of the Gay Tinkers
Gonna be even better this time. I've been brushing up on my general knowledge

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 9:01am
Should be able to make it. I'll donate a prize too.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 9:03am

I will have prizes, including a signed framed photo of myself

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 9:03am
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

Guf

50% of the Beating Chastards on for this, time for us to come outta retirement I reckon!!

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 10:42am
The Gay Tinkers management have already made clear that a week in falaraki greece is acceptable as a first prize this year to make up for the farcical nature of prize distribution last year

Posted By: keitho5
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 10:49am
Hopefully i can make it Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 11:03am
tuesday night is a bit shiite? what about some friday night, surely its more awkward to have it closer to match day for people who don't live in Dublin, two visits to Dublin two nights in sucession is not practical for most

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 11:12am
Friday would indeed, be class!

Posted By: Mafi Mushkila
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 4:13pm

You better get the fake tan topped up for that photo LOL

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 4:15pm

tuesday night is a bit shiite? what about some friday night, surely its more awkward to have it closer to match day for people who don't live in Dublin, two visits to Dublin two nights in sucession is not practical for most

A friday night would work better for me, but if not I willl be there on the Tuesday Smile

Posted By: ollie
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 4:19pm
Originally posted by Mafi Mushkila Mafi Mushkila wrote:

Should do a charity waxing night save you a fortune Gerk LOL

Posted By: Billy O'Toole
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 4:22pm
yes count me in Thumbs Up i'll try an arrange a decent prize too

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 5:37pm
Lads, will ye post up what prizes you can get so we can get a list going? Thumbs Up (or PM me if ye dont want to post it up like a few lads have done already Clap)

+ will need a few raffle ticket sellers on the night so all help appreciated Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 5:40pm
I will help ya with raffle tickets count!

might be able to get my hands on a few bottles of wine?

Posted By: AndyMc
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 5:59pm
Sham is head of raffle tickets.

Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 6:07pm
Should be able to make this, will try and drag the Da up too!

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 6:13pm
Ah lads just landed myself in it
Was telling the missus that I would be going to this on the day before the match and she just stared angrily at me..

Turns out her birthday is august 9th

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 6:18pm

Was telling the missus that I would be going to this on the day before the match and she just stared angrily at me..

bring her along flick.Thumbs Up

Lads all family and friends welcome, the more there the merrier
ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 7:00pm

Good man flick LOLLOL

Posted By: The-Scientist
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2011 at 8:39pm

Just out of the Joy

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2011 at 5:06am
Originally posted by The-Scientist The-Scientist wrote:

Why would anyone want that eh.... sure just pick up Target on a Tuesday and yer sprayed all over it, Awards here, awards there.....what was it last week..WFAI me thinks Smile

p.s where was your Tie ?

Posted By: Roll_It_There
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2011 at 10:36am
I can help out with the raffle tickets Smile

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2011 at 6:20pm
Have a signed Ireland jersey in for the raffle already ClapClapClap

Posted By: ericdogg
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2011 at 6:23pm
Great stuff Count! Thumbs Up

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2011 at 6:56pm

Originally posted by ericdogg ericdogg wrote:

Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick
Guf
Roll_it_There
ericdogg Thumbs Up
Trap Junior

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 10:51am
Great effort lads!Unfortunately I won't be there myself, but if I can help with the quiz, let me know. Organize and make 2 of them each month in the pub I work in, so tons of questions ready to go. I'll gladly make a special YBIG one with some novelty questions thrown in!

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 12:45pm
Will get raffle prizes.

And will help out on the night

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 2:41pm
I'm in Count. Who we gettin to replace Gaz for this one? Hopefully someone who can contribute more than 1.5 answers LOL

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 5:27pm
I hear count has lined up gerk to replace gaz on team We hate Hoskins bhob. Reckon he's good for two questions maximum

Posted By: Lurleen Lumpkin
Date Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 6:47pm
Is there a prize for the best team name?

The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2011 at 7:32am
Yes. The Gay Tinkers

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2011 at 7:34am
Originally posted by Justice No. 1 Justice No. 1 wrote:

Yes. The Gay Tinkers

So YOU are the prize ShockedDead

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2011 at 7:35am
looking forward to another raffle Cool

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2011 at 4:08am
Lads, will ye post up what prizes you can get so we can get a list going? Thumbs Up (or PM me if ye dont want to post it up like a few lads have done already Clap)

+ will need a few raffle ticket sellers on the night so all help appreciated Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2011 at 4:18pm
great stuff lads who have Pm'd me so far.... keep em coming lads, all prizes no matter how small greatfully accepted towards the great cause ClapClapClap

on another note dont forget to get this night in your friends and familes diaries now and bring them all along Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 20 Jun 2011 at 4:53pm
Can't make midweek games.

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 6:16am
Lads,
Are any of ye any good at doing sample posters (A4), graphics to advertise quiz i.e.  something to stick up on a wall or hand out.

If someone was able to throw something together, I could print and stick up some in work (6000 people) and hand it to a few GAA lads and in one or two other places.
I have told few people, but would be handier to have in work cos people will see it and more than likely remember.
Just an idea

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 6:23am
Originally posted by WindBag WindBag wrote:

Lads,
Are any of ye any good at doing sample posters (A4), graphics to advertise quiz i.e.  something to stick up on a wall or hand out.

If someone was able to throw something together, I could print and stick up some in work (6000 people) and hand it to a few GAA lads and in one or two other places.
I have told few people, but would be handier to have in work cos people will see it and more than likely remember.
Just an idea

good idea but GAA ladsEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 6:43am

Lads,

Just an idea

BSM.....I think that was just a typo from Windbag.....should have read GAY Lads

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 6:44am

Lads,

Just an idea

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 6:57am

Lads,

Just an idea

Ah yeah I know, but they would be big into soccer but play GAY  GAA , same as alot of lads on the forum. LOL
Plus they have their own website (Ranelaghgaels.ie) with a proper Star Jounalist Shocked

Anyway its more exposure for Ybig.

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 7:11am

If you do get posters done up let me know as I'm sure our three Dublin units (one northside, one southside, one city centre) would put them up. There are a few who go to the games that work there so they may come along.

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 7:15am
good call windbag, any designers out there? Drog addict is away now, anyone else?Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 7:18am
Belfast green nvidic?

Also CookieMonster and Amanda, where are ye?!

Date Posted: 21 Jun 2011 at 5:17pm
Was in brogans earlier and joined a team of randomers for the first five rounds. Needless to say team I was on were winning when I left to go home. mailto:%20 -
Can't wait to make all ye ****s who accused the gay Tinkers of cheating last year eat yer words when we win again this year. f**king begrudgers! Line up to be announced soon

Date Posted: 22 Jun 2011 at 7:31am

BUMP Thumbs Up

and Role call

Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick
Guf
Roll_it_There
ericdogg Thumbs Up
Trap Junior
The count + 2
Gerk + 2
Bob Hoskins + 3

Date Posted: 22 Jun 2011 at 1:19pm
I'll throw in a bottle of whiskey or something. Probably owe it after last year.

Date Posted: 22 Jun 2011 at 1:46pm

I'll throw in a bottle of whiskey or something. Probably owe it after last year.

Posted By: Cookie Monster
Date Posted: 23 Jun 2011 at 5:16pm

Belfast green nvidic?

Also CookieMonster and Amanda, where are ye?!

could have a problemo with work that night but will try and arrange somethin Beer
Are the Gay Tinkers not suspended pending the outcome of the iPhonegate Tribunal? Evil Smile

I used to be a schizophrenic.......and so was I

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2011 at 6:28pm

Great effort lads!Unfortunately I won't be there myself, but if I can help with the quiz, let me know. Organize and make 2 of them each month in the pub I work in, so tons of questions ready to go. I'll gladly make a special YBIG one with some novelty questions thrown in!
Stevo, you should do a Quiz Night fundraiser in your local for YBIG and we can all go for a weekend in the Dam to support it Thumbs UpPartyBeerHug

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2011 at 6:55pm
Originally posted by Cookie Monster Cookie Monster wrote:

Stevo, you should do a Quiz Night fundraiser in your local for YBIG and we can all go for a weekend in the Dam to support it Thumbs UpPartyBeerHug

Sounds like I plan to me. Bags the couch in Steve's gaff!! LOLLOL

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2011 at 11:11pm
Originally posted by Lurleen Lumpkin Lurleen Lumpkin wrote:

I'll take Sean's cot if all else fails Handshake

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 5:21am
Reddladd will be there. Probably travelling solo so will be looking to join/make up a team with others.

I will bring a box of USA assorted!

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 5:30am

Reddladd will be there. Probably travelling solo so will be looking to join/make up a team with others.

I will bring a box of USA assorted!

Im on my own too if you want to make up a team Smile

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 7:42am

Not a bad plan of course, but we would need some fans here to rally the cause! And that means hotels! Good news though Lurleen, I'll make sure they have a channel 13 just as in Skopje for you guys! Wink

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 11:31am

Not a bad plan of course, but we would need some fans here to rally the cause! And that means hotels! Good news though Lurleen, I'll make sure they have a channel 13 just as in Skopje for you guys! Wink

LOLThumbs Up

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 12:15pm
cheating gay tinkers Thumbs Down

Posted By: Belfast Green
Date Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 4:39pm

http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/" rel="nofollow - http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 4:42pm
great stuff Belfast Green, will you email me on the full size image?Clap

on another note, some quality prizes coming in, will post up early next week Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 6:42pm
What time will this be kicking off at?

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2011 at 2:52pm

BUMP Thumbs Up

and Role call

Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick
Guf
Roll_it_There
ericdogg Thumbs Up
Trap Junior
The count + 2
Gerk + 2
Bob Hoskins + 3
brianie+1

Posted By: Billy O'Toole
Date Posted: 26 Jun 2011 at 3:07pm
Billy O'Toole will be in attendance Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2011 at 5:35am
Big podge
lurleen
windbag
shoveonyournicks
eire32 via helicopter
babysis
McG
flick Cry
Guf
Roll_it_There
ericdogg Thumbs Up
Trap Junior
The count + 2
Gerk + 2
Bob Hoskins + 3
brianie+1
Billy O`Toole

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2011 at 5:59am

Bad form Flick, better have a good excuse....

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2011 at 7:09am

The missusLOLLOL

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2011 at 7:16am
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

The missusLOLLOL

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2011 at 5:02pm
LOL its her 21st in fairness LOL

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2011 at 12:43am
bring her to a surprise fundraiser for a good cause, I think there's one happening in Scruffy Murphy's

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2011 at 6:21pm

Lads, fair play to Belfast Green and to the Q man for getting the below posters done up for the fundraiser night ClapClapClap

If ye could pass the info your friends and workmates so we can get a good few numbers for the quiz on the night that would be great Thumbs Up

Download posters below.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=S93JILQM - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=S93JILQM - 1st poster below
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RDRADTL3 - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RDRADTL3 - 2nd poster below in A3
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XGL44KGL%20 - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XGL44KGL - 2nd poster below in A4

Date Posted: 29 Jun 2011 at 3:23am
Will get those sent to the Dublin units. Not putting them up here because I'd rather not encourage any of these to attend. I will throw it up at Childline too tonight as you never know.

Great work lads Clap