URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=30096
Printed Date: 18 May 2024 at 4:45am

Topic: Your prefered team for Saturday
Subject: Your prefered team for Saturday
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 3:33pm
Seeing as we now know who couldn't make the squad or who simply couldn't be bothered, it's time to focus on the players who will be there to face Macedonia. Everyone will be second guessing Trap's selection but what starting 11 would you pick given the players currently available?

Here's mine:
                                Given

Coleman   St.Ledger (if fit)   O'Shea      Ward

McGeady      Whelan          Fahey          Hunt

Keane           Long

Coleman needs to start playing regularly in the bigger games. He is more than capable and the only way to maximise his potential is to start playing him in games like this. McGeady has improved an awful lot since moving to Russia and is now one of our most dangerous players. The two of these, therefore, must play in my opinion. I don't go along with the idea that Coleman can't play right - people probably aren't used to seeing him there but it's actually his natural position.

Hunt looked good when he played last week and should play in Duff's absence. I would have Fahey in ahead of Andrews because he brings much lot more energy to centre mid than Andrews does, so he complements Whelan a lot better.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 3:38pm
Given

Kelly Sledge O'Shea Ward

McGeady Whelan Andrews Fahey

Long Keane

Would like Hunty coming on last 20 as impact sub.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 3:39pm
Originally posted by trapped trapped wrote:

Seeing as we now know who couldn't make the squad or who simply couldn't be bothered, it's time to focus on the players who will be there to face Macedonia. Everyone will be second guessing Trap's selection but what starting 11 would you pick given the players currently available?

Here's mine:
                                Given

Keane           Doyle

Coleman needs to start playing regularly in the bigger games. He is more than capable and the only way to maximise his potential is to start playing him in games like this. McGeady has improved an awful lot since moving to Russia and is now one of our most dangerous players. The two of these, therefore, must play in my opinion. I don't go along with the idea that Coleman can't play right - people probably aren't used to seeing him there but it's actually his natural position.

Hunt looked good when he played last week and should play in Duff's absence. I would have Fahey in ahead of Andrews because he brings much lot more energy to centre mid than Andrews does, so he complements Whelan a lot better.

Doyle's not available.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 3:42pm

Doyle's not available.

That was supposed to be Long Embarrassed

Force of habit. Fixed.

Posted By: Mick_G
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 3:44pm
                      Given

Foley     Sledge.   O'Shea.     Ward

Coleman.     Whelan. Andrews. McGeedy

Keane.      Long.

Posted By: ScruffyR
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 3:47pm

Given

Kelly Sledge O'Shea Ward

Long Keane

+1 Clap

"Football isn't a matter of life or death, it's much more important than that."

Posted By: traphasntaclue2
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 3:55pm
 given,coleman,shea,ledger,ward,mcgeady,andrews,whelen,fahey,long,keane.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:07pm
                      Given

Kelly      Sledge     O'Shea    Ward

Coleman   Whelan   Fahey    McGeady

Keane     Cox

Personally think Keane & Cox have struck up a great understanding plus Long is a great impact sub if 0-0 or 1-1 after 65mins for Cox. Would like Coleman on the right to help out Kelly as r/b is gonna be a weak spot I reckon. Ward has to play after the last 2 games. As I said before on a different thread playing Andrews is a negative move and not for this game(best kept for the 2 big games coming up) as would signal Traps intent on getting a draw rather going for the win.

Posted By: FiremanDan
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:14pm

Given

Keane     Cox

Personally think Keane & Cox have struck up a great understanding plus Long is a great impact sub if 0-0 or 1-1 after 65mins for Cox. Would like Coleman on the right to help out Kelly as r/b is gonna be a weak spot I reckon. Ward has to play after the last 2 games. As I said before on a different thread playing Andrews is a negative move and not for this game(best kept for the 2 big games coming up) as would signal Traps intent on getting a draw rather going for the win.

Can't agree with Cox's selection. He has been an unexpected bonus from the last couple of games but to throw him in ahead of Long is insane IMO. Long has been excellent in the last few internationals including a tricky game away to Slovakia, a bit of heavy treatment from an uncompromising Uruguayan defender and a nasty challenge from a Macedonian defender. Cox hasn't done enough to warrant selection and Long doesn't deserve to be left out.

Sean Og O Hailpin.... his father's from Fermanagh, his mother's from Fiji, neither a hurling stronghold."

Posted By: yapster
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:21pm

Given

Kelly Sledge O'Shea Ward

Long Keane

yeah running head first into brick walls creates an impact after all...

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:22pm
Originally posted by FiremanDan FiremanDan wrote:

Given

Keane     Cox

Can't agree with Cox's selection. He has been an unexpected bonus from the last couple of games but to throw him in ahead of Long is insane IMO. Long has been excellent in the last few internationals including a tricky game away to Slovakia, a bit of heavy treatment from an uncompromising Uruguayan defender and a nasty challenge from a Macedonian defender. Cox hasn't done enough to warrant selection and Long doesn't deserve to be left out.
Your right - Long doesnt deserve to be dropped but I just dont think he & robbie arent as effective as Cox & Robbie, as watched them closely in the last 2 games and they look to have the beginnings of that almost 'telepathic understanding' of what the other is going to do, that you would see in the great striking partnerships. Not saying Long and Keane dont have this but was highly impressed by Cox and Robbie in last 2 games plus Long's morale will surely be down after monday and he is brilliant coming off the bench and for this game I reckon its the way to go with him as dont think Cox would be too effective coming off the bench(will await the comments if he comes off the bench and scores the winner on sat LOL)

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:24pm
Yapster stick up your starting 11 there and stop annoying everbody's hole

Posted By: Jack Malone
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:27pm
Macedonia are missing their recognised right back. They will have Pandev and Trickovski playing.

I'd be all in favour of Foley and Ward at full back and play either Coleman or Treacy with McGeady; I'd also play Cox from the start, leaving Hunt, Long and either Coleman or Treacy as the impact subs. I think I'd like McGeady on the left, to attack the inexperienced full back. So that would mean Coleman on the right. Pair Whelan and Fahey in the centre, Fahey to give a bit of composure on the ball.

------------------------Given------------------------
Foley--------Josh-------------O'Dea--------Ward

Coleman----Whelan-------Fahey---------mcGeady

------------------Keane ----Cox--------------------

Posted By: johnno
                                Given
Foley        Sledge            O Shea         Ward
Coleman   Whelan      Andrews      McGeady
             Keane            Long

Even though the full backs are a bit inexperienced at international level they would still be playing at a far higer standard than the Macedonians. Think myself that Hunt can be far more  impressive when he comes on second half and runs at the opposition.

"you,ll never beat the irish"

I reckon Cox has done more than enough to be considered. But I'd still have Long

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:40pm

stop being so sensitive son..

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:40pm
1. Given
2. Foley
3. Kilbane
4. O' Shea
5. St. Leger
6. Whelan
7. Hunt
8. Andrews
9. Long
10. Keane
11. McGeady

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:41pm
My prefered team. Shoot.

Given

Coleman Sledge O'Shea Ward

Whelan
   Hunt              McGeady
       Long      Cox
           Keane

Shoot on sight policy.

Hunt coming off the right pinging with his right. Vice versa for Cox and McGeady.

There keeper is completely sh*te. Shoot and the goals will come.

Just shoot shoot shoot.

Shoot.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:50pm
Originally posted by yapster yapster wrote:

I guarantee you can't put a starting 11 up of players you haven't bitched about

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:55pm
Originally posted by Mick_G Mick_G wrote:

As you already know that I have said this is one of the worst ever Irish squads,so yes it would be hard to pick a decent team out of the current crop. Any squad that has McShane,Kilbane & Green deserves all the criticism it gets..

Posted By: keitho5
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 4:58pm
                     Given

Kelly    Sledge   O'Shea     Ward

Mcgeady   Whelan  Fahey     Hunt

Keane      Long

Posted By: wrestler313
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 5:03pm
                                Given

Foley            Kelly                  O'Shea              Ward

McGeady           Whelan        Andrews               Hunt

Keane          Long

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 5:07pm

As you already know that I have said this is one of the worst ever Irish squads,so yes it would be hard to pick a decent team out of the current crop. Any squad that has McShane,Kilbane & Green deserves all the criticism it gets..

Green isn't in the squad ya donkey. Do me a favour and just have a go even leave the positions blank that u can't fill. Just prove the doubters wrong buddy, they all say your a wum

Or.......................................... f**k off

Posted By: FiremanDan
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 5:19pm

I know you're only looking to get a rise out of people yapster. You can't criticise a squad for not being good enough if that's all that is available. If they are underachieving or better players are being overlooked then that's valid. But in the past when certain players were being controversially omitted you might have had an argument but I think you should get back in your box until you can make a reasoned and intelligent argument.

Sean Og O Hailpin.... his father's from Fermanagh, his mother's from Fiji, neither a hurling stronghold."

Posted By: sheasy
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 5:24pm

My prefered team. Shoot.

Given

Coleman Sledge O'Shea Ward

Whelan
   Hunt              McGeady
       Long      Cox
           Keane

Shoot on sight policy.

Hunt coming off the right pinging with his right. Vice versa for Cox and McGeady.

There keeper is completely sh*te. Shoot and the goals will come.

Just shoot shoot shoot.

Shoot.
Would absolutely love if we went out there nice and attacking but realistically there's fook all chance Trap will send out a team like this. Cox has impressed me bigtime, especially his attitude, but think Trap will give Long the nod with Keano

Posted By: danny10tot
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 5:48pm
Well said McG. It says your prefered irish team. Not talk negative and useless sh*te about the irish team! idiot.

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

George Best

Posted By: Trapcandoit
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 6:07pm
I agree with Philliyk's 11 here. Especially with the Cox/Long choice. Long is too much of a young hothead for this Macedonian game. And he showed a bit too much of that last time already. As I said on another thread, I'm not doubting his talent or commitment. Throw him at the Slovakians and Russians where we can really use those scrapping abilities. But for now I'd settle for a cool head out there to partner Keane. Also Coleman to start is a no-brainer imo.

5 goals to go Robbie!

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 6:36pm
not one person on here would play even one of mcshane or kilbane so why the hell do we have to put up with the two of them starting on sat?

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 7:02pm
1. Given
2. Foley
3. Ward
4. O'Shea
5. St. Ledger
6. Whelan
7. Coleman
8. Andrews
9. Long
10. Keane
11. McGeady

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 7:24pm
Originally posted by wrestler313 wrestler313 wrote:

Given

Keane          Long

Yes pleaseClap

Posted By: Chopra Gunner
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 7:38pm

Okay then don't pick McShane, Kilbane and Green in your starting 11 so... Confused Confused

Give us your preferred first team, and you can include as many Steven Irelands as you like.

What are you looking at?

Posted By: Emerald
Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 8:09pm
                           Given

Foley           Kelly          O'Shea             Ward

Coleman     Andrews     Fahey           Mc Geady

Keane        Long 

.....but it won't be that.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 8:23pm
My preferred team    

Given

Coleman    Sledge       O'Shea       Ward

McGeady   Andrews     Whelan      Hunt

Keane    Long

This is what it will probably be

Given

Kelly        Sledge         O'Shea       Kilbane

McGeady  Andrews      Whelan       Hunt

Keane     Long

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 10:35pm

My preferred team    

Given

Coleman    Sledge       O'Shea       Ward

McGeady   Andrews     Whelan      Hunt

Keane    Long

This is what it will probably be

Given

Kelly        Sledge         O'Shea       Kilbane

Keane     Long

Yep agree with both teams except I'd have Foley for Coleman. Coleman is great going forward, but he can be shaky defending from what I've seen. Either way our full backs will more than likely be our biggest liability on saturday. I just dont rate Kelly. Foley ahead of him for me every time.

Posted By: sonofakeano
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 12:19am
Given GK
Kelly RB
Sledge CB
O'Shea CB
Kilbane LB
Lawrence RW
Whelan CM
Andrews CM
McGeady RW
Keane CF
Long CF

Come on guys, this is Trap we're talking about. Lawrence for his deadball ability and cover for Kelly, Kelly because Coleman is too attacking-minded, Kilbane because of experience, no Fahey as he is too creative in the middle. Remember we are away to Macedonia, Tarp will try and nick a goal and consolidate!!
This isn't the team I want, but Trap is a stubborn old mule and will gun for experience over youth

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 2:30am
Coleman had done absolutely nothing to justify his place in the team.
My team would be -

Given

Foley        Sledge         O'Shea       Ward

Keane     Long

Posted By: cododonnell
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 2:53am

Here's mine:
                                Given

Keane           Long

I would love this team as well but lets be realistic!! I think we all know what team is going to be picked!

Given

McShane        Sledge(O'Dea if he doesn't make it)   O'Shea           Kilbane

McGeady        Andrews                Whelan(if fit)  Hunt

Keane               Long

Posted By: Drummerboy
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 3:21am
I'm a huge fan of Kevin Kilbane. I'd point to him as an example to young kids regarding how a player should behave and conduct himself. But I am really frightened for him on Saturday night. He has lost his pace and has had a very long hard season. I don't think Trap will be doing anybody any favours, especially Kevin, if he selects him on Saturday.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 3:46am
                                                         Given
Mcshane                               O'Shea               St Ledeger                          Ward

McGeady                              Whelan               Andrews                                 Hunt

Keane                                      Cox

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 3:46am
                    Given
Foley. O'Dea   St Ledger. O'Shea
Coleman. Whelan. Andrews. McGeady
                             Keane
                            Long

This is the team I'd like to see, but I would suspect Trap will go with something like the team that C O'Donnell suggested.

Posted By: johnnycee
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 3:49am
                   Given

McGeady   Whelan  Andrews   Hunt

Keane     Long

Don't believe everything you read in the news papers

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 3:59am
I really don't fancy Ward at all. I'd even put Kilbane in ahead of him. He didn't even look secure in either of the two games he played in against weak oppositiono

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 4:21am
                        Given

O'Shea      O'Dea       Sledge        Ward

Lawrence   Whelan     Andrews     McGeady

Keane         Long

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 4:46am
My prefered team would be

Given
Kelly--O'Dea--O'Shea--Ward
McGeady--Whelan--Andrews--Hunt
Long--Keane

But I think he'll go McShane at RB, Kilbane at LB

Posted By: sledgehammer
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 5:00am
Kevin Foley is absolult 100% nailed on to start RB in Macedonia

I d be shocked if Trap didn't go with

Given
Foley    O Dea    O Shea   Kilbane

Hunt     Andrews   Whelen   McGeady

Long        Keane

Up there for thinking. Down there for dancing

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 5:04am
Sledge, why is he nailed on to start at RB? Something i dont know?
He started against the North in midfield and only got a sub run out against the Scots?

Posted By: sledgehammer
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 5:20am

Sledge, why is he nailed on to start at RB? Something i dont know?
He started against the North in midfield and only got a sub run out against the Scots?
No just my opinion on analysing Traps tactics over the past couple of years. Foley started the home game against the same opposition and did reasonably well. Trap won t risk changing something that he know works especially seeing as he is missing his most experienced and trusted defender for the game.

In the Carling Cuo, I felt he was trying to give some of the starters for Macedonia a break where he could. Examples of this would be Hunty not starting the first game and Keane being taking off twice. One place we have lots of cover is right full so thats why i feel Foley was givin some rest time after a hard slog in mid-field against the North rather than it being that he was dropped for McShane.

But again just my opinion McG and i ve been known to be wrong before!! 

Up there for thinking. Down there for dancing

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 5:59am

Trapattoni has indicated that veteran http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Kevin_Kilbane - Kevin Kilbane will come in for Stephen Ward at left-back. http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Paul_McShane - Paul McShane , http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Kevin_Foley_%28footballer%29 - Kevin Foley and Stephen Kelly are competing for the right-back slot.

"It's an away game and we need experience," said Trapattoni. "They look for corners and free-kicks and are dangerous in that situation. We must pay attention to these details."

Killer all the way as expected!

Posted By: The U
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 6:06am
Originally posted by wrestler313 wrestler313 wrote:

Given

Keane          Long

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 6:44am
Cox and o dea to start on Saturday. Keane pulled up with an injury today. Should be ok For Saturday 

From tommy Martin via tardelli

Posted By: el2nz
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 6:48am
Killer had one of his best games for Ireland in his most recent game. Those vying to come in haven't done THAT much to dislodge him.

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 6:50am
"So subject to proper confirmation by Trap tmrw, team is: Given, Kelly, O'Shea, O'Dea, Kilbane, Hunt, Whelan, Andrews, McGeady, Cox, Keane"

Tommy Martin on twitter

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 6:52am

Given

Foley     Sledge.   O'Shea.     Ward

Coleman.     Whelan. Andrews. McGeedy

Keane.      Long.

Yup - fully agree with this selection! Two solid lads in the middle just fending off the Macedonian attacks, and then two quick lads with bags of talent on both flanks feeding the forwards. It would also mean we could introduce proper impact subs like Hunt and Fahey which could be decisive also.

I reckon Trap will go with the below team however:

Given

McShane     O'Shea   O'Dea     Kilbane

Lawrence Whelan Andrews McGeady

Keane     Long

Which ain't a bad team either to be fair - just not my preference. I suppose the experience of Lawrence and Kilbane could be handy for such a tricky away fixture though. And also Lawrence's set pieces are an added bonus of going with this line up also. Either way I'm worried about our full backs to be honest!

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 6:54am
Originally posted by flick flick wrote:

"So subject to proper confirmation by Trap tmrw, team is: Given, Kelly, O'Shea, O'Dea, Kilbane, Hunt, Whelan, Andrews, McGeady, Cox, Keane"

Tommy Martin on twitter

What the fook?? Jaysus, I wonder is Longs head just all over the shop after the play-off defeat or something?

Don't get me wrong, Cox has done well in the last two games, but there has to be something up with Long if he's not starting this one!

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 7:29am

Confused Confused Confused

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 7:30am
Trap will u please stop picking Kilbane ffs, how many games do u need to see he isn't up to it anymore, I thought Ledger and Long were alright to play?

That defense is ropey as fuk, massive responsibilty on O'Shea to control the back 4, very worried after seeing the team.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 7:31am
Surprised McShane aint in that 11.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 7:35am

And Stephen Kelly has? Go away outta that Horsebox, what planet are u on?

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 7:38am

Surprised McShane aint in that 11.

Considering Cox is looking like he's going to start I agree with you on that one. It amazes me with some of the decsions the management team come up with

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 7:39am
as i have told ye several times TRAP HASNT A CLUE  long not starting is a discrace,cox?????ffs,kilbane????no comment

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 7:51am

Coleman had done nothing in an Ireland shirt. He has to earn his place in team and I do not believe he has done that yet. I also dont see Coleman as a RB, more as right midfielder.
And he aint going to be taking McGeady's place.
Coleman's main attributes is his pace, his ability to take a player on and deliver a cross in the box. Under Trap's system he will not be allowed to over take the RM. Coleman and McGeady on the same wing will not work either.

From a club perspective - he started off very well but his form faded towards the end of the season and he finished the last few games from the bench.

Coleman's time will come as he is a very promising player.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:03am
Yeah sorry I forgot Kelly is so well established in that team, great point there.

Coleman should be starting end of, we need to go for the win, if Coleman pressed on it would allow McGeady to go more forward as well, Coleman has pace to burn he can go up and down no bother.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:07am
I'd be with horsebox on that one - as in starting Coleman at RB. Having him and McGeady on the same wing away to Macedonia would be suicide surely?? We'd get absolutely r*ped down that side of the pitch!

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:11am

Yeah sorry I forgot Kelly is so well established in that team, great point there.

Coleman should be starting end of, we need to go for the win, if Coleman pressed on it would allow McGeady to go more forward as well, Coleman has pace to burn he can go up and down no bother.

It's all about balance -
Foley is too light weight and not physical.
McShane - is a liability.
Kelly - is next in line and he has played the last few games and captained Ireland.

It's not ideal and not my personal choice.
The only way Coleman\Foley would play RB is if either Hunty or Lawrence would play RM.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:20am
I agree about Coleman Horsebox, although I would have Foley as Kelly gives me as many kittens as McShane does at right back. Coleman has looked very nervous in his  appearances and his little pushes in the back are dangerous. Could see him giving a penalty away out there.

Posted By: danny10tot
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:21am
Prefered for Macedonia (AWAY):
Given
O'Shea O'Dea  Sledge Kilbane
Lawrence Whelan Andrews Fahey
Keane Long

Bring hunty on for andrews move facking into the centre if were behind! 
Lawrence for mcgeady
Cox for Keane, with cox is clever and his workrate along with long's unbelieveable ability in the air i think these 2 could really hit it off!

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

George Best

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:25am

Eh Kelly has 23 caps and has captained Ireland, Coleman has 3 caps, so yeah Kelly's place is justified!!

I'm with Horsey on this, Coleman has done nothing in an Ireland shirt as of yet, he will be some player in a few years tho!! 

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:26am
Cool

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:28am

Young player of the season nominee in the EPL and that's not enough?
I'd shift McGeady to the left wing as he is just as effective there, to accommodate Coleman.
Even in the few cameo appearances he's made for Ireland he's looked lively and a threat.

ETA: I certainly would not play Coleman at RB though. Even his own club manager Moyes, does not trust him there.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:29am

Exactly. Coleman is the future and he needs to start being played. Him and McGeady would be fine on the right - it's not as if Coleman will forget his position and just run past McGeady every time FFS. He started his career at right back so he's well used to it.

It's an absolute no-brainer to have him and McGeady in the team.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:32am

Exactly. Coleman is the future and he needs to start being played. Him and McGeady would be fine on the right - it's not as if Coleman will forget his position and just run past McGeady every time FFS. He started his career at right back so he's well used to it.

Have you watched him play recently he has done f**k all recently and he is a liability defensively.
I would never ever play him right full - he is a RM.

Colemand and McGeady will never be on the same wing as neither for them provide any defensive cover.

Trap has made the right choice.

@Stoked UP -  Ireland team not the Everton team.
Trap is not going to accomodate a player with 2 caps by shifting other players around.
Coleman will get his chance.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:34am

Have you watched him play recently he has done f**k all recently and he is a liability defensively.
I would never ever play him right full - he is a RM.

Colemand and McGeady will never be on the same wing as neither for them provide any defensive cover.

Trap has made the right choice.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:36am

Young player of the season nominee in the EPL and that's not enough?
I'd shift McGeady to the left wing as he is just as effective there, to accommodate Coleman.
Even in the few cameo appearances he's made for Ireland he's looked lively and a threat.

ETA: I certainly would not play Coleman at RB though. Even his own club manager Moyes, does not trust him there.

It's not that Moyes doesn't trust him there. It's just that Everton don't have anyone as good as Coleman in the right wing postion. We are lucky enough to have a better right winger than him in McGeady. Right back suits him perfectly for Ireland. The experience of O'Shea and (usually) Dunne could guide him. I don't know how many more time i have to say that's his natural position.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:36am
Yeah Kelly is really established, can Podge or horsebox tell me off the top of their head a game where he stood out? Would yis stop, Coleman needs to be starting and if it was any other manager he would be, but u boys continue to support these ridiculous decisions while a few of us are realistic as to what players should be playing.

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:38am
People seem to want coleman RB based on his form for Everton

Have ye forgotten that he has played right midfiled for everton all year and the reason moyes moved him up there is because he has been caught out for goals on more than one occasion playing at RB

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Sono - why play Coleaman right full - I dont believe he has ever played there only for Sligo.
Have you ever actually watched him trying to defend?

Posted By: Jonny2Times
No Keane, No Duff, No Dunne, No Doyle, No Gary Doherty.... Christ a point is looking good at this stage... 

I never comment on referees and I'm not going to break the habit of a lifetime for that prat

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:41am
And Coleman has played three games and has been below average in all. A full back doesn't have to stand out, just do your job with little fuss. How often did Denny Irwin stand out? If Coleman plays at right back I would be putting a score on their regular penalty taker to be first scorer, Maznov is it?

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:46am

The experience of O'Shea and (usually) Dunne could guide him. I don't know how many more time i have to say that's his natural position.
I'm afraid I don't understand that comment at all.
He was nominated as young player of the year, based on his form at right mid.
I'm a firm believer in playing players in form and in their best positions.
It's a no brainer to play players at positions they excel in and Coleman clearly excels at RM.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:47am

I would never ever play him right full - he is a RM.Colemand and McGeady will never be on the same wing as neither for them provide any defensive cover.

Trap has made the right mailto:choice.@Stoked - choice.@Stoked UP -  Ireland team not the Everton team.
Trap is not going to accomodate a player with 2 caps by shifting other players around.
You're contradicting yourself here. On the one hand you're saying he's a liability defending for Ireland but on the other you say he hasn't actually had the chance to prove himself. Coleman obviously would provide defensive cover if he's playing in that position.

I've seen him a couple of times for Blackpool there yea. When have you seen him there? You seem to be basing your whole argument on one or two clips you've seen where he was caught out at RB. Rafael has made way more blunders at RB at United than Coleman - do you think he will still be United's RB for the next ten years? Of course he fooking will.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:57am

The experience of O'Shea and (usually) Dunne could guide him. I don't know how many more time i have to say that's his natural position.
I'm afraid I don't understand that comment at all.
He was nominated as young player of the year, based on his form at right mid.
I'm a firm believer in playing players in form and in their best positions.
It's a no brainer to play players at positions they excel in and Coleman clearly excels at RM.
But why would we play him at RM if McGeady is a better RM than him? That would make no sense. It's about adapting players so we have the strongest team. Coleman would still be able to get forward. Attacking full-backs are an important part of the modern game, which some of yous haven't noticed. Baines is a very attacking full back for Everton so maybe Moyes did not want two full backs with attacking tendancies.

It's not as if we have Cafu or Maicon there to come in at RB.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 8:58am
Kelly is muck and Coleman is after having an unbelievable season, I'd have McShane ahead of Kelly and that really is saying something.

Coleman can defend lads and the sooner yis realize that the better, in case u hadn't noticed we have to win this game and I'd be much happier to have Coleman backing up McGeady than Kelly FFS.

Two brilliant pacey wing backs for Saturday, the freedom Hunt and McGeady will have is gonna be class, absolute joke.

Horsebox - would u consider Dani Alves a good defender or Glen Johnson for that matter? No but they get the job done cos they have the pace to track back.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:11am

I would never ever play him right full - he is a RM.Colemand and McGeady will never be on the same wing as neither for them provide any defensive cover.

Trap has made the right mailto:choice.@Stoked - choice.@Stoked UP -  Ireland team not the Everton team.
You're contradicting yourself here. On the one hand you're saying he's a liability defending for Ireland but on the other you say he hasn't actually had the chance to prove himself. Coleman obviously would provide defensive cover if he's playing in that position.

I've seen him a couple of times for Blackpool there yea. When have you seen him there? You seem to be basing your whole argument on one or two clips you've seen where he was caught out at RB. Rafael has made way more blunders at RB at United than Coleman - do you think he will still be United's RB for the next ten years? Of course he fooking will.

I am not contradicting myself at all - for Eveton where I watched him loads of times I found that he is not good defensively. Now is not the time for him to play RB for Ireland to prove himself.
Coleman is not a RB so why play him there in such a crucial qualfier?
Coleman in his last 2 games for Ireland didnt do enough to justify a position in the team.
Playing Coleman tomorrow would be suicidal.

At the end of the day - It's Trap's call and I firmly belive he has made the right decision.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:13am
Agree Horsebox, I'm just wondering has anyone else notice how often he puts his hands on players backs, especially in the box?

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:14am

Kelly is muck and Coleman is after having an unbelievable season, I'd have McShane ahead of Kelly and that really is saying something.

Coleman can defend lads and the sooner yis realize that the better, in case u hadn't noticed we have to win this game and I'd be much happier to have Coleman backing up McGeady than Kelly FFS.

Two brilliant pacey wing backs for Saturday, the freedom Hunt and McGeady will have is gonna be class, absolute joke.

Horsebox - would u consider Dani Alves a good defender or Glen Johnson for that matter? No but they get the job done cos they have the pace to track back.

You dont understand Trap's system - The full back's are not allowed to overlapt the right midfielder. Trap does not allow it - he wants the full backs to hold their position.

I rate Coleman and he is the future of the Irish team but now is not the time for him to play because we have better options.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:14am

Agree Horsebox, I'm just wondering has anyone else notice how often he puts his hands on players backs, especially in the box?

I've made my point.
Trap is the manager and he was picked his team and I believe it is the correct one.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:16am

But why would we play him at RM if McGeady is a better RM than him? That would make no sense. It's about adapting players so we have the strongest team. 
Yes, indeed, you are quite right it is about adapting. McGeady has played many times at LM and it seems to me he's equally effective there. But not Coleman at full back, who has not been playing there for his club. I believe you when you tell me it's his natural position, but I'd like to see him play there for his club first. 
My preference with young players coming into the international squad is always to see them play in the positions that they excel for their club. From there, it is possible to shift them around, but give 'em a chance to prove themselves in their best positions first.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:16am
No one understands his system not even the players!

U never answered my question by the way.

Fact remains we need to go for the win and playing kelly and Kilbane is a fukin shambles

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:18am

No one understands his system not even the players!

U never answered my question by the way.

Fact remains we need to go for the win and playing kelly and Kilbane is a fukin shambles

About Dani Alves?
It's not worth answering.
Trap's left back and right back are not allowed to overlap the left and right wingers. So your point is not valid.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:20am
Am i right in saying kelly has played for Fulham once since november?

He should play coleman at right full and fookin go for a game for once in his fookin life

Playing kilbane at left back is beyond the realms of belief

How are players ever supposed to get competitive international experience if the coont never picks them for a competitive international?

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:33am
Dani Alves was an example, if u read it again u will see I mentioned your player Johnson as well, they are examples of the type of wing back Coleman is, not sure u get that to be honest.

The point remains our team is set up ultra defensive with no imagination through the middle and a back 4 which won't move, so my point is valid as playing these 2 wing backs means limitations for Hunt and McGeady, really don't see how u don't get that.

Yeah Barlow you are right about Kelly he has only played once, fukin pony that lad, but he has 23 caps over an emerging talent who has had an unbelievable season, but Trap is right, Kelly defo ahead of Coleman, cop the fuk on, not only are u a deluded Pool fan but u are just as bad when it comes to Ireland.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:35am

Playing kilbane at left back is beyond the realms of belief

How are players ever supposed to get competitive international experience if the coont never picks them for a competitive international?

Don't understand it myself.  He probably won't give any young player a run against Andorra either when the time comes. When is Kilbane finally going to be omitted? Wouldn't be surprised if he was still getting on the team at 50 while playing for Canvey Island.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:38am
Its an absolute joke

The pressure is on trap big time for this one- we need a nothing less than a win

And that tardelli lad can fook off if he thinks he is just gonna walk into the job as soon as trap finishes

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:39am

Am i right in saying kelly has played for Fulham once since november? 
So it seems according to Tet's site, he played his last game for Fulham on Nov 13th. He really shouldn't be playing ahead of Foley.

Has the team been officially announced?

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:43am
Foley is another one who deserves to be considered but going on the theory on this thread he hasn't done anything to deserve a place in the international set up, I hope u all realize that excuse/reason for not picking these lads is bull sh*t, they need to be picked and it's simple as that, I'd rather try them and not qualify over sticking with dead wood who we knew were no good before this campaign started anyway, it's ridiculous.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:44am
Has to be Foley. Not even a debate but this is Trap and Foley might lack personality. I wonder does trap have a little miss congeniality type points list he awards during training?

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:44am

Dani Alves was an example, if u read it again u will see I mentioned your player Johnson as well, they are examples of the type of wing back Coleman is, not sure u get that to be honest.

The point remains our team is set up ultra defensive with no imagination through the middle and a back 4 which won't move, so my point is valid as playing these 2 wing backs means limitations for Hunt and McGeady, really don't see how u don't get that.

Yeah Barlow you are right about Kelly he has only played once, fukin pony that lad, but he has 23 caps over an emerging talent who has had an unbelievable season, but Trap is right, Kelly defo ahead of Coleman, cop the fuk on, not only are u a deluded Pool fan but u are just as bad when it comes to Ireland.

Your not reading any of my posts.
The right full and left full are not allowed to over lap the RM or LM therefore you wont be utilizing the player to the best of his ability.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:45am
I am seriously fed up with Trap's bullsh*t when it comes to squads, completely wrong picking these lads and completely not justified.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:48am
I am reading them Horsebox I just don't like the way u are writing as if u are Trap instead of having your own opinion, I've clearly stated mine.

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 9:59am

I am reading them Horsebox I just don't like the way u are writing as if u are Trap instead of having your own opinion, I've clearly stated mine.

I dont think Coleman should be playing based on the following.

Lack of international experience.
He is not a right full and has not played there for over a year so why play him there now?
McGeady is a better option at RM.
He can be at times a defensive liability.

If he played in the last 2 Carling Cup games at right full then he may be in a better postion to play but he didnt.

His strenghs are getting the ball and running past players and getting the ball in the box.
I would howeve bring him on if either McGeady or Hunt is having an off game.