Think I will go lanzarote again this year lovely place very quiet though

Date Posted: 10 May 2011 at 6:29pm
Maceddonia, heard there is something on there in early June

Posted By: JH91
Date Posted: 10 May 2011 at 6:35pm
Santa Ponsa  in AugustThumbs Up

Date Posted: 10 May 2011 at 6:39pm
Killarney for the golf looks like my only getaway and even that it will only be for the day.

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 10 May 2011 at 6:55pm
Salou in october me thinks, Double up with the andorra game

Date Posted: 10 May 2011 at 7:06pm
Barca in October hopefully long weekend for the Andorra game

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 3:17am
Macedonia 3 weeks today, then Russia to catch the end of the summer in early September, followed by a break to Barcelona/Andorra in October.

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Posted By: The Big Club
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 3:19am
Originally posted by JH91 JH91 wrote:

Santa Ponsa  in AugustThumbs Up

Late June

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 3:20am
Macedonia & Glastonbury in june, its an expensive month!

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 3:31am
Me summer will hopefully consist of
Macedonia in June
Oxegen and baby's christening in July
Last minute week away somewhere in August with missus, thinking Napa or Ibiza if I can get it but will go for cheapest option
Andorra in October

Yeah I like Lanzarote flick. This is me first time not going in about 3 years. Stranded there during the Ash cloud!!!

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 3:47am
Originally posted by Babysis Babysis wrote:

Macedonia 3 weeks today, then Russia to catch the end of the summer in early September, followed by a break to Barcelona/Andorra in October.

+ 1  ( Plus a few trips to "Dublin Riviera" )

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 3:54am
Would love to be going macedonia nobody to go with though

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 3:58am
Originally posted by flick flick wrote:

Would love to be going macedonia nobody to go with though

How would you be on your own?........all your mates ,bothers and sisters from your YBIG family will be going!

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 4:13am

Originally posted by Babysis Babysis wrote:

+ 1  ( Plus a few trips to "Dublin Riviera" )

That tooClap. Also regular trips to London, Brighton, Kildare and Connemara. Its an exotic life I lead LOL 

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 5:05am
Macedonia for 2 weeks as I'm staying on for a nice beachholiday in Lake Ohrid, and then the Andorra game in October where I'll be staying in Murcia for a week after the game. Always like to combine my summer/sun holidays with away games! Big smile

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 5:33am
Macedonia and Andorra for a few days each and haven't booked yet but am going Florida for 3 weeks in August hopefully, flights are piss cheap to the states with the dollar price at the minuteClap

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 6:21am

No Idea.

went to santa ponsa last year. NEVER AGAIN!

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 6:24am
Galicia north west spain for a week at the end of June hopefully and Gijon in north spain sometime in augustThumbs Up

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 6:40am
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

Galicia north west spain for a week at the end of June hopefully and Gijon in north spain sometime in augustThumbs Up

What's your attraction to Spain Guf?

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 6:44am

going for some tomatoes guff! LOL

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 6:46am

Hummmmm Guf a very interesting choice , may I ask why you are going there WinkWinkWinkWinkWink

Anyway get back to exams your flute ..............

Just Macedonia and Barca but huge debate weather winter sun or build a wall at the front of our house, hey have not got the cash to do both ......

Can't wait to see what Hornet will add to this .Confused

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 6:53am

Hummmmm Guf a very interesting choice , may I ask why you are going there WinkWinkWinkWinkWink

Just Macedonia and Barca but huge debate weather winter sun or build a wall at the front of our house, hey have not got the cash to do both ......

Murph head over to Pakistan pronto..........those tall walls around Bin's gaff are going free at the moment

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 6:58am

Murph head over to Pakistan pronto..........those tall walls around Bin's gaff are going free at the moment

Hummmmmm was thinking that it could have been worse your reply  LOL

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 7:00am
Santa Ponsa next wednesday for a week, great spot this time of year without kids ruining the place with vomit. Then of course Macedonia, then Moscow and finally Andorra/Barca. Will try and fit in a weekend away in August for me birthday

Posted By: Lurleen Lumpkin
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 7:00am
Handy having a sister in Dubai. Will head over to her for a cheap week in the sunCool  once my liver recovers from Macedonia

The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 7:04am

Santa Ponsa next wednesday for a week, great spot this time of year without kids ruining the place with vomit. Then of course Macedonia, then Moscow and finally Andorra/Barca. Will try and fit in a weekend away in August for me birthday

good time of the year to be going!
santa ponsa in 5 weeks timeDead

Posted By: The Big Club
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 7:13am

good time of the year to be going!
santa ponsa in 5 weeks timeDead

CANT WAITClap

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 8:47am

Scenery is immense up thereWinkTongue

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 8:51am

Just back from Portugal.

Macedonia 3 days
Russia 3 days
Andorra 3 days
Vegas 7 days

Going to head somewhere in Ireland for a week as well in August.

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 9:32am
Visit my bro in Sofia for a few days in June and onward to Skopje.
Later in June to Narbonne for a couple of weeks
and again to Narbonne late Sept/early Oct for the game in Barcelona and a little golf.

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 9:36am

and again to Narbonne late Sept/early Oct for the game in Barcelona and a little golf.

thinking of making andorra away a golf trip too Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 9:43am
Flick dump the summer holidays and go to the Ireland games. Much more fun and you will meet a great bunch of people and Sligo Hornet.  :) 

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 9:48am
I have had my summer holiday already in that I went to Oz. 

Heading to Hamburg this weekend and Macedonia in June and then my brothers wedding in Poland.  Broke as feck after it all. 

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 9:57am
Originally posted by Balf.airy Balf.airy wrote:

Flick dump the summer holidays and go to the Ireland games. Much more fun and you will meet a great bunch of people and Sligo Hornet.  :) 

will defo be going andorra will be paying €150 deposit next week Thumbs Up

Posted By: ThrowInDelap
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 10:02am

Will you be trying to factor in Stoke's away leg in August for the Europa Qualifying?

If time's a drug, then Big Ben is a huge needle injecting it into the sky.

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 11:02am
Originally posted by ThrowInDelap ThrowInDelap wrote:

Will you be trying to factor in Stoke's away leg in August for the Europa Qualifying?

Tbh, I follow Stoke, but would not call myself a huge supporter, so I'm unlikely to go traipsing around Europe watching them. But I could change my mind...I'll probably go to the home game though.

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 11:35am

Originally posted by Balf.airy Balf.airy wrote:

will defo be going andorra will be paying €150 deposit next week Thumbs Up

who are you paying deposit with.

Tips for away trips is

Book your flights first and as soon as possible. 

Then book accomodation on booking.com usually and possibly book two hotels

Then send e mail to FAI asking for tickets for the away game. 

If you do all of the above you should get tickets for most games if not every game and it will be a lot cheaper than any package. 

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 11:36am
Originally posted by Lurleen Lumpkin Lurleen Lumpkin wrote:

Handy having a sister in Dubai. Will head over to her for a cheap week in the sunCool  once my liver recovers from Macedonia

Did you get the pass for Macednonia.  Joke of a husband you have letting you traipse around going to the games cramping his style :)

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 11:38am
Macedonia, Andorra

A couple of weekends in Galway and other places too

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 12:55pm
Nothing planned yet Cry

Posted By: daffyp
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 2:14pm
Off to vegas in Sept.

Posted By: SuperDub
Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 2:23pm
Macedonia in June and Florida in Septhember, Then Andorra in October with a possible playoff match in November.

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 3:00pm
Macedonia in June via Turkey and Greece the week before hand. Dingle for the August bank holiday weekend and now herself is putting pressure on me to go to Costa Rica with her later in the year...BUT I've not told her about the possibility of a playoff in November...gulp...Ouch 

Date Posted: 12 May 2011 at 1:26am

Scenery is immense up thereWinkTongue

LOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 12 May 2011 at 12:46pm
Vegas the end of May with Orlando in August

Hoping its Barcelona for the Andorra game and that Rovers get another nice draw in Europe!

Posted By: ericdogg
Date Posted: 12 May 2011 at 12:50pm
Macedonia, Ukraine (fingers crossed!) and hopefully squeeze in a couple of weeks tanning in spain surrounded by loads of chicks on a beach. Boom! Cool

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 12 May 2011 at 6:55pm
Goin to San Diego for 3 weeks in July, with a 3 day trip to Vegas as well. Really looking forward to it, never been to America.

Then Andorra in October and possible playoff game.

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 4:15pm
Going to Malaysia in May, and was thinking of heading over to Borneo to climb some mountain and see the monkeys. But while we're there is there any point in seeing Brunei? 
I anyone has ever been is it worth seeing or is getting a visa a nuisance?

Have only spent 3 days previously in KL on my way to Thailand so any other suggestions would be welcomed.  

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 10:01pm
Everyone's planning their holdays Cool

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 10:07pm
You see 1 monkey,you seen them all. Save yourself the hassle

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 10:10pm

This post was brought to you by Louth County Council, promoting Craptown as a holidaying destination since 2005

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2017 at 11:06pm

This post was brought to you by Louth County Council, promoting Craptown as a holidaying destination since 2005

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 7:33am
Originally posted by ericdogg ericdogg wrote:

Macedonia, Ukraine (fingers crossed!) and hopefully squeeze in a couple of weeks tanning in spain surrounded by loads of chicks on a beach. Boom! Cool

Didn't cross those fingers tight enough Ericdogg!

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 8:36am
America and New Zealand for me in April. 3 bank holidays during that time so only have to take 12 days from work for the 3 weeks Cool

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 9:03am

America and New Zealand for me in April. 3 bank holidays during that time so only have to take 12 days from work for the 3 weeks Cool

April isn't Summer though

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 9:28am
I've twins on the way this year so looking forward to a week in Kilkee if I'm lucky!

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 9:38am

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 9:48am
South of the USA for me, a few weeks out in the States. San Antonio, Austin etc heading over to see the Kentucky derby the year.

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 9:50am

April isn't Summer though

Probably won't be away in the Summer so it's my version.

Posted By: alihau41
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 10:01am
Guadeloupe for two weeks end of june / start of july. might as well when there are €450 direct flights from paris

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 11:05am
Off to SE Asia with the mot in June I think, looking to rent a place beside the beach in Vietnam for a month or two, it's cheap as chips from where i was looking it up

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2017 at 3:27pm
It's a good year to make the most of a long haul holiday (Norwegian kicking off cheap transatlantic flights from Ireland this year) with Georgia away in September being the only expensive away trip on the cards.

Having said that Georgia away will be my big holiday*. Will combine it with up to a week beforehand somewhere in southern Europe.

*Hoping to do 3 weeks in Costa Rica starting in late December or early to mid January. It'll be summer time there so it counts with regards to the OP

Date Posted: 25 May 2017 at 9:25am

It's a good year to make the most of a long haul holiday (Norwegian kicking off cheap transatlantic flights from Ireland this year) with Georgia away in September being the only expensive away trip on the cards.

Having said that Georgia away will be my big holiday*. Will combine it with up to a week beforehand somewhere in southern Europe.

*Hoping to do 3 weeks in Costa Rica starting in late December or early to mid January. It'll be summer time there so it counts with regards to the OP

Bumpety bump...

Norwegian has a €99 sale on at the moment re flights from Ireland to the US. Had a look myself and there's loads of dates available up to March next year. Very tempted to take them up on it...

Date Posted: 25 May 2017 at 7:45pm
Nerja for the summer holidays , Georgia for a long weekend then hit Abu Dhabi or Dubai for some winter sun in Nov . Possibly Africa in January and that's it until we head to Vlads back garden June 2018 and put some manners on them Russians mugs

Date Posted: 26 May 2017 at 8:17am

Nerja for the summer holidays , Georgia for a long weekend then hit Abu Dhabi or Dubai for some winter sun in Nov . Possibly Africa in January and that's it until we head to Vlads back garden June 2018 and put some manners on them Russians mugs

Would you not consider going somewhere sunny that doesn't build their countries on the backs of slaves?

Date Posted: 26 May 2017 at 8:29am
Mad for an old argument Wallsy!

Date Posted: 26 May 2017 at 8:32am

Would you not consider going somewhere sunny that doesn't build their countries on the backs of slaves?

I don't think Mayo will win the all ireland.

(runs, ducks, and covers.....)

Date Posted: 26 May 2017 at 9:44am

I don't think Mayo will win the all ireland.

(runs, ducks, and covers.....)

It's ok, I don't either!

Date Posted: 26 May 2017 at 10:30am
Currently on the beach in royan. Blessed with the weather. Will break 30 again today.

Date Posted: 26 May 2017 at 10:46am

Currently on the beach in royan. Blessed with the weather. Will break 30 again today.

You seem to be ALWAYS on holidays Tongue

Date Posted: 26 May 2017 at 1:49pm

Visited Sète, Nîmes, Narbonne and Carcassonne last week. Fabulous weather, food and the French in the south

Would recommend Sète for any seafood lovers

Date Posted: 26 May 2017 at 10:56pm

I've being slaving away all year and come Nov I'll be lying in the sun and taking it easy . After 5 days I return and will slave away through the rest of the winter .

So no I won't be going elsewhere . The Middle East suits me as the flights are through the night so I can sleep through the journey . The hotels are great value for money and the flight duration is not too bad . Sun will be hammering down and I couldn't be arsed looking for somewhere else when I have all I need in the emirates

Date Posted: 27 May 2017 at 12:44pm
anybody been to helsinki. any recommendations?

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2017 at 5:18pm
Anyone been to Cambrills holiday park ? If so what area Did you stay on ? Two young kids in tow

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2017 at 5:52pm

Anyone been to Cambrills holiday park ? If so what area Did you stay on ? Two young kids in tow
sister in law has gone there the last 2 years. Says it's brilliant

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2017 at 5:59pm

sister in law has gone there the last 2 years. Says it's brilliant

One of the lads I kick ball with there has two lads under 6 going again this year said the lads loved it

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2017 at 6:11pm
Yea I have heard from lots of people it's good . Robbie Brady and Shane Long were there after the euros last summer . 3 types of accommodation so you have apartments then there is bungalow type accommodation and then chalets all set out in different areas. So trying to see where the best area would be .

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2018 at 5:41pm
Anyone ever been to Tanzania?
Got cheap enough flights for there in October. Anyone ever do a safari too. My thinking would be that it doesn't matter where you do it as they would all be the same but have been told that I should really do the Serengeti.
Any info on Zanzibar would also be taken on board. 

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2018 at 6:45pm

Got cheap enough flights for there in October. Anyone ever do a safari too. My thinking would be that it doesn't matter where you do it as they would all be the same but have been told that I should really do the Serengeti.
Costa del Sol is a decent spot,and there’s a safari as well. Save a lot of hassle son👍

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 16 Jul 2018 at 7:12pm

If your going that far you can get a cheap flight do 2/3 day trek to low land gorillas in Uganda. Was in moshi for Kilimanjaro years ago, had a few parties in our compound for the safaris, they weren't that impressed.

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2018 at 7:38pm

This is the equivalent of aido saying someone is boring or me telling someone they eat too much.  

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2018 at 7:47pm

This is the equivalent of aido saying someone is boring or me telling someone they eat too much.  

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2018 at 9:32pm

Was there a good few years back to do Kilimanjaro. 

Did the safari from Nairobi but it's pretty much the same park as Serengeti. Well worth doing. Saw a lion eat an elephant.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2018 at 10:10am
Would love to do Kilimanjaro but it's too expensive and not there enough of days to fit it in. 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2018 at 10:13am
Didn't realise I was replying to a post from over a year ago Ouch

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2018 at 10:34am

I'm doing something similar in the new year. Flying to Zanzibar for a few days on the beach and then doing the Serengeti safari. 
The prices for the safari seem to be varying a lot. Have you seen any ones that look promising so far?

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2018 at 11:17am
Haven't looked too in depth yet but I see its around 800 -1000.
My boss has a sister living in Arusha and she said that there isn't really a cheap option for the Serengeti but to try Zara tours, Asante Tours and Tintin Tours. Also suggested doing Ngorongoro crater instead.

We fly into Dar es Salaam and then thinking of doing the nature stuff first and then taking it easy in Zanzibar. 

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2018 at 11:31am

Haven't looked too in depth yet but I see its around 800 -1000.
My boss has a sister living in Arusha and she said that there isn't really a cheap option for the Serengeti but to try Zara tours, Asante Tours and Tintin Tours. Also suggested doing Ngorongoro crater instead.

We fly into Dar es Salaam and then thinking of doing the nature stuff first and then taking it easy in Zanzibar. 

Sound man. I'm doing a bit of research at the moment for the safari and I'll send on anything that looks interesting.

We booked accommodation on the East side of Zanzibar in a place called Urba which was reasonably priced. 

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2020 at 11:46pm
Anyone have experience with Orlando and how much they spent on spending money when there?

My circumstance would be:
Breakfast is covered in hotel
no additional transport costs
probably bring a packed lunch.

So really just an evening meal (with one or two drinks) for 2 adult and the two brats (ages 14+9) buying bits and pieces in the parks.
250 Euro a day too little?

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2020 at 8:13am
Mate of mine goes with his 2 kids and he has gone 3 times and costs 10k all in.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2020 at 9:30am

Anyone have experience with Orlando and how much they spent on spending money when there?

So really just an evening meal (with one or two drinks) for 2 adult and the two brats (ages 14+9) buying bits and pieces in the parks.

The parks are absolutely class but you will burn money over there.
The exchange rates are not great and you have to tip everybody.

If you can cut out as much food and drink during the day you will save loads.
But overall it will be a great holiday.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2020 at 10:32am
anyone ever been to the Middle East during August ? Is it really as hot as they say ? 

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2020 at 4:27pm
Awful time of year to go to anywhere in the Middle East (Not a great time now either for obvious reasons).

End of October to May is a much nicer time to visit, you can actually be outdoors without sweating buckets.

Date Posted: 09 Jan 2020 at 3:29pm

The parks are absolutely class but you will burn money over there.
The exchange rates are not great and you have to tip everybody.

If you can cut out as much food and drink during the day you will save loads.
But overall it will be a great holiday.

Cheers HB+ZK.

Looking forward to it. Only problem is I am going at the start of last 16 round of Euros meaning I will probably be missing majority of games. Plan would be to watch them while queuing for rides Big smile (will need to figure out VPN so I can watch Sky Go over there)  
Unless of course Ireland somehow make it that far then I'll make an exception

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2020 at 11:50am
Thinking of Montenegro for a sun holiday this year, anyone ever been and have any tips?

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2020 at 12:36pm

Thinking of Montenegro for a sun holiday this year, anyone ever been and have any tips?
Yep we are going for 8 or 9 days .
Think we should have gone about 5 years ago but we will see how it pans out .

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2020 at 12:57pm
Nice one I'm thinking 9 nights myself, you basing yourself in one place or hiring a car and travelling along the coast?

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2020 at 2:47pm

Stayed in Budva a few years back. Nice seaside resort with nice hotels, full of easter europeans. It's like Lanzarote for Russians. First holiday resort I'd been where tourist menus wouldn't have English menus. Wouldn't knock it, good spot for a few days R&R.

On the tourist trail we stayed fairly close to there, Kotor is lovely, but thronged when a cruise ship arrives, if ya can stay a night you'll have the place to yourself after 5pm. Sveti Stefan is worth a glance, but you can't enter the island as far as I know. We stopped for lunch in Herceg Novi, easy striking distance of Dubrovnik airport if ya need a stopover

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2020 at 3:23pm

Stayed in Budva a few years back. Nice seaside resort with nice hotels, full of easter europeans. It's like Lanzarote for Russians. First holiday resort I'd been where tourist menus wouldn't have English menus. Wouldn't knock it, good spot for a few days R&R.

On the tourist trail we stayed fairly close to there, Kotor is lovely, but thronged when a cruise ship arrives, if ya can stay a night you'll have the place to yourself after 5pm. Sveti Stefan is worth a glance, but you can't enter the island as far as I know. We stopped for lunch in Herceg Novi, easy striking distance of Dubrovnik airport if ya need a stopover
Stayed in Budva last summer and thought it was great too. Some lovely beaches around the place and plenty to do. All the restaurants we went to had English menus so no problem there and the service was top class. Top of the Hill nightclub was unbelievable too I thought if you fancy a night out but some very lively bars along the sea front too.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2020 at 8:31pm

Nice one I'm thinking 9 nights myself, you basing yourself in one place or hiring a car and travelling along the coast?
Nope staying in Budva and taking local transport for day trips LOL