Category: International
Forum Name: Rest of The World
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=29155
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 9:47am

Topic: John Flanagan - Is he eligible?
Posted By: KING-CON
Subject: John Flanagan - Is he eligible?
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 4:15am
Just wanted to know if anyone had any info on this lads eligibility. He had a cracking debut for Liverpool on Monday night. From looking around a few sites, it looks like he has never been been capped at any level by England and with a surname like Flanagan there must be some Irish blood in there..

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 5:22am
I wondered the same myself. Conor Coady, Martin Kelly and Jonjo Shelvey are others at Liverpool with Irish roots & big potential. Shelvey is eligible but I don't know how far back the others go.

Posted By: Pubes
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 5:31am
liverpool is full of irish decedents, immagrints or whatever u call them. so there is going to be alot of irish names but they are now a few generations off the grandpa rule. i could play for england cuz my granda from liverpool.. but dont worry ill turn them down for ireland ;p

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 5:35am

Mings brother?

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 5:40am
Yeah obviously some are going to be a generation or two out. But there might be some in there. It's worth investigating now while they are at this young age. I don't think we are whoring ourselves either. I think it's better to get players when they are young rather than then coming looking for us when it doesn't work out with England.
I see Flanagen has been in the England U-18 squad though, although doesn't have a cap yet.
Shelvey could be a decent player. does he defo have Irish roots?

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 6:11am
Jaysus lads, he's played 1 game, give the lad a bit of time!

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 6:21am

Jaysus lads, he's played 1 game, give the lad a bit of time!

Not talking about the senior team or anything. But we should scouting through the ranks of clubs globally for players with Irish roots to find out if they are interested in playing for us. I am sure the FAI are doing so, they have a good track record with the likes of McGeady and McCarthy.

Posted By: mccarticus
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 8:52am
I think Shelvey is eligible alright,  but I doubt he'll declare. I think hes a few u21 caps for them.

Sheedy wins it back, Sheedy shoots....

Posted By: TheMightyQuinn
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 2:06pm
he certainly looked good.
nothing on him online about being Irish though.
Martin Kelly also at liverpool looked great last season... think he played for England underage though...would be another one that would be nice to grab

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Posted By: elroy45
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 4:07pm
Kelly and Shelvey are well and truly part of the England set up, no chance there.

Havent a clue what Flanagans story is.

Posted By: traphasntaclue2
Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 5:17pm
shelvey is useless

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 5:47pm
Originally posted by traphasntaclue2 traphasntaclue2 wrote:

shelvey is useless

Date Posted: 15 Apr 2011 at 6:23pm
Seen Him play twice before once against Galway united in a friendly last season and in a youth cup game back in January and he was stand out player in both games although nearly got a straight red against Gufc.

Posted By: connordonegal
Date Posted: 03 Jun 2012 at 2:56pm
http://www.clickliverpool.com/sport/liverpool-fc/1215084-liverpool-fc-starlet-could-make-euro-2012-appearance.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.clickliverpool.com/sport/liverpool-fc/1215084-liverpool-fc-starlet-could-make-euro-2012-appearance.html

Posted By: musicinmouth
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 1:03pm
Hmmmmm. Is he still eligible? Could do with a new left back. He's playing for liverpool today.

Posted By: LucasMacShuirtain
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 1:10pm
According to the irish examiner 18 months he is through a grandparent, I'm sure if he is eligible the FAI are already aware
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/flanagan-close-to-ireland-switch-179317.html

Posted By: SportsLocalLive
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 1:26pm
Played for England in the U20 World Cup.  Thanks but no thanks I am afraid.  

www.nearfm.ie 90.3

Posted By: PaulMcGrath5
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 1:35pm
So what? Ciaran Clark captained England Under 20's. If Flanagan is eligible I like to see him called up.

Posted By: davekoolhill
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 1:38pm
Originally posted by PaulMcGrath5 PaulMcGrath5 wrote:

So what? Ciaran Clark captained England Under 20's. If Flanagan is eligible I like to see him called up.

Agree, he could develop into a good player, the more quality we have available the better. 

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 1:45pm
There was some buzz about him a while back, but I seem to remember that he was a generation out. Could be wrong. He'd be a welcome addition

Posted By: Fintan
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 1:46pm
Apparently he has an irish granda.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 2:40pm
Originally posted by Sky news Sky news wrote:

How about we find and develope our own irish left back? just a suggestion, im sick of all this "are they irish lets cap them crap" its embarresing.

There's an air of irony that you find it 'embarresing'

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 2:42pm
He's a poor player, wouldn't be sending Roy to Anfield any time soon unless it's to speak to Ryan McLaughlin

Posted By: Shamrock
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 5:15pm
There a  piece in the paper about him getting a possible call-up round the time of the Estonia play-off. Not a call-up for that Play-Off but a call up in the future. I'm almost certain it was The Star it was in.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 5:21pm
almost certain he's not eligible, it was mentioned when he first broke into the Liverpool side, and it seems his only Irish link is through his great grandfather

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 5:43pm
Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

almost certain he's not eligible, it was mentioned when he first broke into the Liverpool side, and it seems his only Irish link is through his great grandfather

You sure that's not Martin Kelly you're thinking of, Tets?

Posted By: athlonecelt
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 6:51pm
Has there ever been a poll on the site about the granny rule ? 
Granny Rule , lets take advantage of any player we can get v No Thanks, we want Irish born and live in Ireland only 

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 6:55pm
Originally posted by athlonecelt athlonecelt wrote:

Has there ever been a poll on the site about the granny rule ? 
Granny Rule , lets take advantage of any player we can get v No Thanks, we want Irish born and live in Ireland only 

The FAI didn't make the rules. They only comply with them.

I do agree to an extent in that the rules should be tightened a bit.

Players qualifying via the 'granny rule' should have to make a decision before the age of 21 or 23.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 7:11pm
I reckon once a player is overage for the U21s would be the right time to declare.

Posted By: stokes78
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 9:03pm

He's a poor player, wouldn't be sending Roy to Anfield any time soon unless it's to speak to Ryan McLaughlin

Send roy to chat to alex o hanlon didnt he used to play left full for st kevins?Scored again today for the pool 18s

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 9:08pm
Flanagan was excellent today

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 9:18pm

He's a poor player

No worse than Ward.

Posted By: Jackthelad
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 9:18pm

Flanagan was excellent today

Very good in certain aspects but far too easily beaten 1 on 1 for my liking.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 10:17pm
20 years old, engine like a racehorse and held his own against Mirallas and Coleman all day. Jon Patrick Flanagan - sounds like he'd do alright for usThumbs Up

Although I remember the Echo claimed that he wasn't eligible a couple of years back
http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fc-jon-flanagan-not-3354654" rel="nofollow - http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fc-jon-flanagan-not-3354654

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2013 at 11:21pm
Ciaran is Wink

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2013 at 5:26pm
Originally posted by HateHenry HateHenry wrote:

Ciaran is Wink

But he is sh*te so we will move on Big smile

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2013 at 5:33pm

He's a poor player

No worse than Ward.

There is very little worse than ward playing pro football. But Flanagan isn't a left back so doesn't matter how he compares to ward

Date Posted: 24 Nov 2013 at 7:22pm

Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

You sure that's not Martin Kelly you're thinking of, Tets?
Kelly as well, but Flanagan too: http://foot.ie/threads/149952-John-Flanagan?p=1564322&viewfull=1#post1564322" rel="nofollow - http://foot.ie/threads/149952-John-Flanagan?p=1564322&viewfull=1#post1564322

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2013 at 11:26am
Lads, Flanagan does not have an Irish Grandparent - Was asked about it by one of the Liverpool Echo Reporters last year and he confirmed he doesn't.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2013 at 12:47pm

He's a poor player

No worse than Ward.

There is very little worse than ward playing pro football. But Flanagan isn't a left back so doesn't matter how he compares to ward

Completely OTT, he's played all of his career in England in either the Championship or the Premier League for 2 different clubs over around 250 games, there's loads of players in the Championship, League One and League Two worse than him, not to mention the likes of the SPL.

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2013 at 2:12pm

He's a poor player

No worse than Ward.

Completely OTT, he's played all of his career in England in either the Championship or the Premier League for 2 different clubs over around 250 games, there's loads of players in the Championship, League One and League Two worse than him, not to mention the likes of the SPL.

Yes it was a bit of hyperbole but the point stands, poor footballer that should not be in our squad. Poor positioning, gives the ball away too often and constantly wants to go long. He's a lucky man getting the caps he has as he just happens to play in the position where we are weakest.

Posted By: Na Firinne
Date Posted: 25 Nov 2013 at 11:03pm
After watching the Merseyside derby I hope he doesn't have any Irish blood in him. He's shyte.

Ireland's Number 1!!

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2013 at 11:33pm
Originally posted by Na Firinne Na Firinne wrote:

After watching the Merseyside derby I hope he doesn't have any Irish blood in him. He's shyte.

Rodgers was praising him just yesterday? 

Date Posted: 25 Nov 2013 at 11:44pm
Flanagan had a good game on Saturday.

Posted By: Doyler1993
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2013 at 12:08am

Rodgers was praising him just yesterday? 

From what ive seen rodgers has never said anything negative about liverpool players even when they lose a match. He is the most positive manager goin so maybe thats why flanagan got praised yesterday.

IT’S NO USE BOILING YOUR CABBAGE TWICE

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2013 at 11:40am

Not sure what game you were watching......

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2013 at 12:44pm
Originally posted by Gus Poyet Gus Poyet wrote:

Ming flanagan would do a better job at left back than ward.

Is Gus, TNC?

Ming Flanagan LOL

Posted By: Long Shot
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 9:21am
Heard on newstalk this morning O Neil is gong to make an approach for him

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 9:44am
http://www.radiokerry.ie/sport/liverpool-player-could-declare-for-ireland/" rel="nofollow - http://www.radiokerry.ie/sport/liverpool-player-could-declare-for-ireland/

After an impressive display in the Merseyside derby it’s being reported that Martin O’Neill will approach Liverpool’s John Flanagan about playing for Ireland. http://www.radiokerry.ie/sport/liverpool-player-could-declare-for-ireland/attachment/liverpool-crest-13/" rel="nofollow">liverpool crest

Flanagan who has played under 21 for England refused an approach from Irish under 21 boss Noel King two years ago.

The 20 year old qualifies for Ireland through his grandparents.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 10:18am
Lads, he spoke to the Liverpool Echo last year and confirmed he doesn't have Irish Grandparents.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fc-jon-flanagan-not-3354654

Posted By: Long Shot
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 11:40am

Lads, he spoke to the Liverpool Echo last year and confirmed he doesn't have Irish Grandparents.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fc-jon-flanagan-not-3354654

Neither did Cascarino

Posted By: Peter Farrell
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 11:43am
He had a stormer of a game on Saturday and whoever said he didn't needs an eye test.

As regards Ireland he doesn't qualify.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 12:56pm

That's not what it says on the article.  No quotes from the player.  I've not seen anything definitive either way on the issue.  The reason for his alleged ineligibilty isn't given, it just says the Echo 'understands' he's not eligible. 

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 1:07pm

That's not what it says on the article.  No quotes from the player.  I've not seen anything definitive either way on the issue.  The reason for his alleged ineligibilty isn't given, it just says the Echo 'understands' he's not eligible. 

Ok, to clarify a bit more, the Echo reporter who wrote the article also tweeted at the time that he had talked with Flanagan to verify this - It was either David Prentice or James Pearce.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 1:10pm

Ok, to clarify a bit more, the Echo reporter who wrote the article also tweeted at the time that he had talked with Flanagan to verify this - It was either David Prentice or James Pearce.

Actually, If I read the article properly then I would have seen it was Neil Jones.

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2013 at 1:14pm
FFS

Posted By: JAVIER
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2013 at 4:59pm
If Ireland could bring this fellow to the national team would be a great chance..  He is not that good, but full backs are not so decisive in a team, unless you dont have them, and you play players out of positions to fill up the gaps,  left midfielders and right midfielders or central midfielder, or central backs, ussually play full backs positions right or left,

It is really hard to develop a reliable and concerned full back (right or left) with the notion, intelligence and expertise in that PARTICULAR position. 

For me Greg Cunningham is the best available to fill up the gap, he is a good player and the few time i saw him at international level he was class, lefty, fast, young,   I dont care where he is playing as long as he is good for Ireland.   In the mix you have Mark Wilson (better as center mid or center defender or libero) Stephen Ward, that is a left midfielder turned to left back, the untried trio of Mark Tierney , Enda Stevens, Aidan White.   Darren O'Dea could be a good option there but he has no great pace, too big, but he has a good left foot, there is a youngster  at Wolves Doherty that can switch from right to left to test him, Stephen Kelly that he is not confortable on the left he is a right back, Kevin Foley that is still at wolves and the youngster question from Ryan McLaughlin.  

Posted By: stokes78
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2013 at 5:05pm
Cant agree there if you dont have full backs who are techically able it limits you hugely as an attacking force

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2013 at 5:19pm
Originally posted by stokes78 stokes78 wrote:

Cant agree there if you dont have full backs who are techically able it limits you hugely as an attacking force

Yeap, but if you play a left midfielder or right midfielder on the full backs slots, you may be good going forward, but the team will have no balance, they have this tendency to be out of position or the lack of being unreliable or undependable to mark a man or to close down the play, ususally they got distracted, , it is really hard to be a full back, a good one, that knows how to attack when to attack, and has an expertise in that position either right of left full back,  so the common knowledge in football from the brains worldwide, they say "we can play a center back or a side midfielder or central midfielder there, is not that relevant, you have tons of examples to choose from". 

What is good 'bout Flannagan is that the guy knows his limitations, and he is not going to do something luxury, he is steady, fast and can support his teammates, like Irwin use to do, or Terry Phelan, or Juan Sorín or José Chamot, Tasotti, Ferrer or the uruguayan full backs experts Maxi Pereyra and Jorge Fucile if you want.  

Posted By: rainpaulo
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2013 at 5:36pm
Why the hell is this in Ireland section...the guy is English.

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2013 at 5:48pm
http://newstalk.ie/Martin-ONeill-wants-Liverpools-Flanagan-for-Ireland

it says that Martin O'Neill wants him over, anyway a Jon-Paddy Flannagan doesnt sound engish to me , tbh, by the way, great goal he scored today, just for being optimistic and going one more time, what a goal, he put it where the "spiders sleep"

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2013 at 5:50pm
anyway  give him a mullet hair-cut and a moustache and he is  Mark Lawrenso's son, they are very alike,

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2013 at 8:58pm
He's not eligible, this has been confirmed on a number of occasions of various sites.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 12:55pm

Brendan Rodgers singing his praises again yesterday, he played very well and scored a nice goal too.

There is some difference between Flanagan and Ward, i'd like to see 100% if he is eligible or not before closing the door on him, he looks a very good prospect. 

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 12:56pm

He's not eligible, this has been confirmed on a number of occasions of various sites.

but is he eligible though ?

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 1:01pm

According to FM14 he is eligible Thumbs Up 

Thou, shall not fail to believe thi word of the football bible that is Football Manager.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 1:04pm
very lightweight and needs to build himself up a bit.might take another year or two.

I assume he wants to declare for England

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 1:11pm

very lightweight and needs to build himself up a bit.might take another year or two.

I assume he wants to declare for England

Pre-Euro's he seemed very keen to play for us according to media reports! (Media reports i know)

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 1:15pm
He has been excellent at LB for Liverpool during the last few games. Liverpool have not missed Enrique at all. If he's eligable for us we should definetly try to get him onboard

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 1:18pm
If he is eligible, MON needs to roll out the "50 caps for ireland or 5 for England, your call" that Big Jack used on a few occasions. That's if the fella is any use!

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 1:47pm
Again, reposting this link :

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 2:16pm

Which has been contradicted by a number of reports since.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 2:19pm

Yeah, but none of them with any conclusive proof that he is eligable.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 2:20pm
google says irish examiner says he qualifies for ireland.

google says daily star thinks he qualifies

Ireland manager Martin O'Neill will try to convince Liverpool full back John Flanagan to play for the Boys in Green according to the Daily Star.

The 20-year-old England under-21 player qualifies through his grandparents.

Predominantly a right-back, he made his Liverpool debut in 2011 under Kenny Daglish and was named Young Player of the Year at the club.

But after two seasons with limited appearances, Flanagan made his first start for 18 months in the 2 - 0 defeat to Arsenal.

He also played the full 90 minutes against Everton in last Saturday's Merseyside derby.

Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard praised his performance in that match, going to say:

“He reminds me of Carragher in a lot of ways. I don't think you would judge Jon in terms of ability or skill, but he is all about heart, desire, determination and fighting for the cause."

Flanagan was rumoured to be close to a switch to Ireland in 2012 but nothing materialized.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 3:18pm

Yeah, but none of them with any conclusive proof that he is eligable.

True, I've yet to see anything conclusive either way.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 3:32pm
Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard praised his performance in that match, going to say:

He reminds me of Carragher in a lot of ways. I don't think you would judge Jon in terms of ability or skill, but he is all about heart, desire, determination and fighting for the cause."

Ability OR skill? High praise indeed Mr. Gerrard! LOL

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 3:50pm

One of the lads on Foot.ie I think it was knows his uncle and he was adamant that Jon is not eligible, last link is a great or even great-great grandparent.

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 9:20pm
at least he looks like mark lawrenson without the mullet and moustaches

Date Posted: 16 Dec 2013 at 10:23pm

He reminds me of Carragher in a lot of ways. I don't think you would judge Jon in terms of ability or skill, but he is all about heart, desire, determination and fighting for the cause."

So he's a lump of sh*te so Stevie?

Posted By: gwhite
Date Posted: 17 Dec 2013 at 8:20am
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/spartak-open-to-offers-as-hull-join-hunt-for-mcgeady-29843312.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/spartak-open-to-offers-as-hull-join-hunt-for-mcgeady-29843312.html
"However, it has emerged that http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Liverpool_F.C." rel="nofollow -

Posted By: keith11
Date Posted: 18 Dec 2013 at 1:06pm

So he's a lump of sh*te so Stevie?

It was all said very tongue-in-cheek by Gerrard as Carragher was sat next to him in the Sky studios. Even mentioned that Flanagan was close to bettering Carraghers scoring record :)

Date Posted: 18 Dec 2013 at 1:21pm
moving to the ineligible section