URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=28561
Printed Date: 23 Apr 2024 at 8:12pm

Topic: Grand stretch in the evenings
Subject: Grand stretch in the evenings
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 10:48am
Isn't it great that we are getting a grand stretch in the evenings Big%20smile and it'll only get better from this weekend.

Today's weather was so nice I decided to get out and give the grass it's first cut of the year.

Hmmm, the scent of fresh cut grass is brilliant.LOL
Had this to help me perform the task

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 10:54am
Thats 2 Grand Stretches in the Evenings we have nowThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 11:43am
The next person I hear saying or writing about the "grand stretch" in the evening gets a grand smack in the proverbials.

Posted By: TAFKAS
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 11:44am
Lovely grand stretch love it.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 11:47am
Originally posted by Shamrock Shamrock wrote:

Lovely grand stretch love it.

Angry, fookez-vous. Angry LOL

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 11:48am

Isn't it great that we are getting a grand stretch in the evenings Big%20smile and it'll only get better from this weekend.

Today's weather was so nice I decided to get out and give the grass it's first cut of the year.

Hmmm, the scent of fresh cut grass is brilliant.LOL
Had this to help me perform the task

Quality wheels in fairness soccerc, that your camera equipment in the back of it so you can snap a few cows taking a dump?

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 11:50am

The next person I hear saying or writing about the "grand stretch" in the evening gets a grand smack in the proverbials.

Feck off back to your dark, damp and dank hovel Wink

Spring is in the air, and a young man's thoughts turn to love LOL

and no, that's not my camera kit, it's too valuable to waste taking sh ite snaps of cattle having dumps

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 1:24pm
Ah there's a grand oul stretch in the evenings alright. Won't be long now till summer.

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 2:14pm
Summer drinking will begin next week after the clocks change. Grand having a few pints in the sunshine after a days work

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 2:15pm
Grand aul stretch in the evenings now and we'll notice it even more after this weekend Clap

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 9:15am
Breaking news Shocked

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0325/breaking22.html - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0325/breaking22.html

Posted By: Emerald
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 9:21am

Breaking news Shocked http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0325/breaking22.html - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0325/breaking22.html

Absolutely shocking stuff that

Even grander stretch on the way...

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 10:02am
Love the stretch. I can get in a few holes of golf in the evenings.

Although, it's in dispute as to who actually invented the notion, the English builder and outdoorsman http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Willett - William Willett, who disliked cutting short his round of golf at dusk, was to one who got politicians onboard with his pamphlet "The Waste of Daylight", which advocated the idea to move the clocks forward in summertime. Unfortunately, he never got to see the fruits of his labour, as he died in the great influenza outbreak in 1915.

I love June, when it's still bright at 10 pm.
I remember being in Donegal one June, when I came in off a golf course at eleven bells!

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 10:10am
Grand stretch in the evenings.

Hour's less kip on Sat night. Thumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 10:13am

You must be kicking yourself FW

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 10:14am
Originally posted by Emerald Emerald wrote:

You must be kicking yourself FW

Can't beat them join them job.........LOL, I missed me proverbials when I lashed out.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 10:21am
Im 99% sure it doesnt happen but....on saturday do the bars stop serving at 12 instead of 12.30 because it's actually 1 o'clock at 12 if ye know what I mean?

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 10:22am

Im 99% sure it doesnt happen but....on saturday do the bars stop serving at 12 instead of 12.30 because it's actually 1 o'clock at 12 if ye know what I mean?

No, clocks don't go forward until 2am

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 11:23am
Originally posted by Emerald Emerald wrote:

No, clocks don't go forward until 2am

Hooray Big%20smile

Posted By: Chopper 76
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 5:36pm

Grand stretch in the evenings.

Hour's less kip on Sat night. Thumbs%20Down
extra hour fishing sunday morning for me nice n earlySmile

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 5:38pm
Clocks go forward at 01:00 not 02:00

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 4:16pm

Grand stretch today Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 4:19pm

was thinking the same thing Clap

Posted By: walsheman
Date Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 5:06pm
roll on the long evenings!!makes training so much more easier!!

Going To The Euro's,Poland and Ukraine 2012 HO HO!!!!

twitter.......@walsheman

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 5:29pm
Grand stretch alright.

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 5:42pm

Tis a mighty stretch alright

Date Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 11:23pm

was thinking the same thing Clap

Pair of faggots. Angry

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2012 at 10:49am
Clocks going an hour ahead tomorrow night, the evenings will be stretchier than Stretch Armstrong next week Clap

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 7:52pm
Now that's an evening stretch if I've ever seen one lads

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 7:53pm
Still nice and bright out.

Posted By: harry
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 7:56pm
we have a lot to be talking about dont we!

Posted By: JuanNil
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 8:24pm
Young lads playing football on the green still

Shes got a head like Liam Brady

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 8:25pm
Grand stretch in that tonight

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 8:34pm
T'was a grand stretch this evening Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 9:26pm
great stretch, went for a nice cycle at half 5

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 9:39pm
Unbelievable stretch today

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 9:39pm

great stretch, went for a nice cycle at half 5
there was a nice early evening atmosphere in galway this evening and every crusty was out playing sh*te kumbayaa songs on shop street.i love cycling in this weather.is yours a racer shoco or a normal mountain bike?

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 9:42pm
have both, just went for a short spin on the mtb, great evening for it

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/161479638#.T29eFiojfhw.facebook" rel="nofollow - http://connect.garmin.com/activity/161479638#.T29eFiojfhw.facebook

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2012 at 9:53pm
As the old man would say, ya can bate the wife and kids but ya cant bate the auld stretch in the evening

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2012 at 12:07am

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/161479638#.T29eFiojfhw.facebook" rel="nofollow - http://connect.garmin.com/activity/161479638#.T29eFiojfhw.facebook

ha ha all the comments on here "tis a grand stretch" etc etc.we sound like the auld fellas on last of the summers wine

that awful handy sat nav thing  for the bike. what garmin model is that?i must invest in one of those.it looks like a really scenic route you took.id say its a nice area to cycle around plus plenty of villages to stop around the lough to stop for a pint Wink. i bought a racer last summer for only 460 quid which is dirt cheap for a racer.how muchs your set ya back?

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2012 at 12:16am
Miriam O Callaghan wouldn stretch as long

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2012 at 12:33am
Think i might give college a miss for the next 2 or 3 weeks if this weather keeps up. Fantastic weather for cans.

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2012 at 8:35pm

ha ha all the comments on here "tis a grand stretch" etc etc.we sound like the auld fellas on last of the summers wine

that awful handy sat nav thing  for the bike. what garmin model is that?i must invest in one of those.it looks like a really scenic route you took.id say its a nice area to cycle around plus plenty of villages to stop around the lough to stop for a pint Wink. i bought a racer last summer for only 460 quid which is dirt cheap for a racer.how muchs your set ya back?

aye went for a scenic spin yesterday, its the garmin edge 500 with cadence and heart rate sensor, serious piece of equipment if you use all the features

spent a grand on the road bike but got it through the bike to work scheme, the mtb was 830 stg back in the day

Posted By: vinny 2012
Date Posted: 26 Mar 2012 at 8:42pm
Originally posted by IrishPride IrishPride wrote:

Think i might give college a miss for the next 2 or 3 weeks if this weather keeps up. Fantastic weather for cans.

il second that buddy

Posted By: greengiant
Date Posted: 27 Mar 2012 at 9:48am
Originally posted by vinny 2012 vinny 2012 wrote:

Originally posted by IrishPride IrishPride wrote:

il second that buddy
Thems were the days Cry...enjoy it while it lasts lads!! Thumbs Up

The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2012 at 10:44am
The strech in the evenings is nice. But was a bit harder to get me daughter to sleep last night. I still haven't accustomed my body clock to the change either. Knackered the last two mornings getting up for work. We'll get there though

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2012 at 10:47am
There was a grand stretch last night so there was, expecting an even grander one tonight.

Grand

Posted By: The U
Date Posted: 27 Mar 2012 at 8:19pm
much easier to get up with the brighter mornings i find andy (depends how early I suppose)

Posted By: petej1963
Date Posted: 27 Mar 2012 at 8:53pm
Grand walk this evening with the two dogs.................

Sleep gentle our Rose of Mooncoin.......

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2012 at 8:57pm

The strech in the evenings is nice. But was a bit harder to get me daughter to sleep last night. I still haven't accustomed my body clock to the change either. Knackered the last two mornings getting up for work. We'll get there though

FFS andy ya lout, its a 1 hour change, not as if your after coming home from australia!!

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2012 at 9:16pm
Was a bit disappointed with that stretch this evening lads, expected a little bit more. Went a bit cold and dark on my BBQ

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2012 at 12:21am
Grand Auld Stretch,, But its still only MarchClap  Hotter than Parts of Spain todayCool

Posted By: walsheman
Date Posted: 28 Mar 2012 at 1:01am
hope its a sign its gonna be a top summer and poland is boiling

Going To The Euro's,Poland and Ukraine 2012 HO HO!!!!

twitter.......@walsheman

Posted By: newrygreen
Date Posted: 31 Mar 2012 at 9:39am
Quare oul stretch in the evenings that

Twitter: @50SavesOfDeGea

Posted By: dotts101
Date Posted: 24 May 2012 at 7:30pm
strange this hasnt got a bump in the last few days

Date Posted: 24 May 2012 at 7:57pm
Cool

Posted By: GockaRocka
Date Posted: 24 May 2012 at 8:17pm
Ah tis lovely now

Great banner making weather, got started on ours out the back today

Posted By: RonnieB
Date Posted: 24 May 2012 at 10:22pm
Too warm. Ground is gone horrid dry. Few weeks of rain
Needed

Not Metal Paul

Date Posted: 25 May 2012 at 12:16am
Class weather Clap

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 25 May 2012 at 5:03am
Fine few days Cool

Date Posted: 07 Dec 2012 at 5:01pm
Pitch dark at 5pm.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2013 at 5:37pm
BUMP

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2013 at 5:38pm
Galway City

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 23 Jan 2013 at 5:42pm
near dark at 4pm in rostrevor this evening got home early as i had a local call to do it was like the middle of the night Angry

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 5:10pm

Posted By: St.Pauli Reloaded 2
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 9:56pm
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

God love him is he related to the Healy-Raes LOL Btw Grand stretch in the Evenings Clap

In Martin and Roy we Trust !

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 10:08pm
Grand Strech in the evenings now Clap

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 11:25pm
It made some rain earlier so didn't notice the stretch tonight

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 11:34pm
No rain up here Mayo was near bright at 545 dont forget we are 41 days past the darkest night of the year they say you will see over a minute extra light  per day

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 11:40pm
Can't wait until it's fully stretched out. Still bright out after 10pm in the west.

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 11:50pm

Can't wait until it's fully stretched out. Still bright out after 10pm in the west.

and the eastLOL

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 11:55pm

and the eastLOL

the west is brighter

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 11:56pm
Not much drying out though Unhappy

Date Posted: 31 Jan 2013 at 11:58pm
No drying in it at all deise.

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2013 at 12:02am
Its a damp breeze, Grand stretch though,nights are getting shorter.

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2013 at 7:28am

and the eastLOL

the west is brighter
That's because you keep leaving the lights on Tribs Wink

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2013 at 10:27am
Nearly 6pm when it's getting dark now, bright when I'm getting outta work

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2013 at 1:15pm
fully stretched out. love it LOL

Date Posted: 01 Feb 2013 at 1:19pm

and the eastLOL

the west is brighter

it also gets 2.5 times as much rain as the east!

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2013 at 6:11pm

finally its great to see the good old stretch in evenings and the sun still out splitting stones ah heaven, is the sun still out in Tallaght mighten be for too long.......................

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 12 Apr 2013 at 6:48pm

finally its great to see the good old stretch in evenings and the sun still out splitting stones ah heaven, is the sun still out in Tallaght mighten be for too long.......................

Why? do ya rekcon it might get robbedLOL

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2013 at 6:53pm

and the eastLOL

the west is brighter

it also gets 2.5 times as much rain as the east!

f**k all rain in the last month Cool

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2013 at 10:02pm
The groundsman didn't even have to turn on the floodlights tonight at gaelic training, love this stretch in the evenings Clap

Posted By: big nail
Date Posted: 12 Apr 2013 at 10:11pm
evenings are bet in australia.

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2014 at 7:08pm
Anyone else notice there's a grand stretch in the evening?

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2014 at 10:25pm
Aye..

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:39am
didnt notice last night but tonight i plan to go for a run and take advantage of the stretch...

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 10:16am
will have astro game in daylight for the first time in 2014

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2015 at 6:02pm
Bump

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2015 at 1:05am
Aye, bitter though.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2015 at 5:58pm
One week later and its even brighter

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2015 at 10:06pm
Bring back the darkness! Evenings getting a bit too long for my liking! Sending the 9 year old to bed there and he is asking "you can't be serious". In fairness to him I can see his point!

Date Posted: 30 Dec 2015 at 1:50pm
Grand aul stretch in the evenings. You can really tell a difference since the 21st.

Date Posted: 26 Dec 2017 at 4:35pm

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 4:58pm
Reminded of this on another thread.

Its getting there.....

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 4:59pm
Still f**king baltic though.

Must be the coldest winter we've had.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 5:14pm
T'is cold alright. 

Posted By: TonyNotJack
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 5:34pm

Still f**king baltic though.

Must be the coldest winter we've had.

It's been a bad month for those February is spring because the ancient Irish said so lads. 

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 6:30pm
Absolutely freezing out with a wind that would cut the balls off ya.

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 6:50pm
February is often a bad month weather wise! January was fine we had a few nice days no idea why people hate January so much i find it a grand month myself