URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=27377
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 4:27am

Topic: Fans charity fundraiser - Headway Ireland
Subject: Fans charity fundraiser - Headway Ireland
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2011 at 9:43am
Right folks Headway Ireland is the chosen charity

There will be a bucket collection on Tuesday and every player and fan who wants a sponsorship card will get one

We will talk to the FAI and hopefully present the cheque at half time at the last game of the Celtic Cup in Aviva

Anyone who won't make it Tuesday can donate online

http://www.mycharity.ie/event/ybig_nationscup/ - http://www.mycharity.ie/event/ybig_nationscup/

Date Posted: 06 Feb 2011 at 10:40am
Can posters please use Facebook status and Twitter to highlight this using text below?
Ireland fans choose Headway as chosen charity for Fans Carling Nations Cup. http://www.mycharity.ie/event/ybig_nationscup/ - http://www.mycharity.ie/event/ - ybig_nationscup/

Posted By: flick
Date Posted: 06 Feb 2011 at 3:22pm
My mother just donated €22 and my friend donated €10

Great start

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 8:35am

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 8:57am
PRESS RELEASE sent out this afternoon to all media.

The Carling Nations Cup kicks off today (Tuesday February 9) in the Aviva Stadium when the Republic of Ireland take on Wales while on Wednesday the two other competing nations, Northern Ireland and Scotland, face each other.

In order to foster and further develop good relations, supporters of each country have agreed to play each other in a Fans competition, sponsored by Carling, to run in tandem and this too will kick off on Tuesday at Irishtown Stadium when the fans of the Republic host Wales at 1.30pm. On Wednesday, Northern Ireland play Scotland at the same venue and start time.

The Republic of Ireland supporters will be represented by a squad of 18 chosen after a trial game in late January organised and promoted by members of You Boys in Green fans website – http://www.ybig.ie/ - www.ybig.ie

Each country has chosen a charity to support and the Republic of Ireland have selected Headway Ireland, a charity that supports those with an Acquired Brain Injury - http://www.headway.ie/ - www.Headway.ie

Sponsorship cards have been given to each player and a fund-raising target of €1000 has been set. As an incentive all participants will be provided with a special memento of the game in the form of a 20cm X 30cm squad photo along with a similar sized action shot, something they can frame and recall in years to come of the day they represented their country as an international footballer.

For further information, please call ********

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 9:44am
Good work Soccerc and Gerk.

The photo's will be a good touch

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 10:00am
Bob make the press release a story on the home pageThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 10:01am
ay: homepage and facebook notified

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 10:11am
Tremendous. Clap

Posted By: ScruffyR
Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 10:12am
Originally posted by flickYBIG flickYBIG wrote:

My mother just donated €22 and my friend donated €10

Great start

"Football isn't a matter of life or death, it's much more important than that."

Posted By: ericdogg
Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 10:50am
Will be hittin everyone i know for this! Thumbs%20Up

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 12:52pm
Lads, is the link down?
Wont open for me?

Oops! Internet Explorer could not connect to www.mycharity.ie

Suggestions:

• Try reloading: http://www.mycharity.ie/event/ybig_nationscup/ - www.­mycharity.­ie/­event/­ybig_nationscup/­
  • < method=get =http://www.google.ie/search>

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 1:29pm
Link is a bit slow McG, stay patient, it will open.

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 2:33pm
Great response on twitter.. Rachel wyse Matt holland Dan Mcdonnell and Padraig amond all retweeted my post

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 2:44pm

Great response on twitter.. Rachel wyse Matt holland Dan Mcdonnell and Padraig amond all retweeted my post

What does that mean to a non twitter user?

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 2:48pm

What does that mean to a non twitter user?

Spread awareness of us raising money to all their followers.. Which makes a difference considering they have several thousand followers where as I have 65

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 2:50pm
Not promising anything just yet but looks like we are in TV rights negotiations Wink

I can now confirm that TV3 Sports will be along to get a few shots for their spot in the 5:30 news slot

Posted By: AidoM
Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 3:18pm

Not promising anything just yet but looks like we are in TV rights negotiations Wink

Great stuff SC.Clap

Could you get a Headway banner to put up on "the cage" opposite any camera(s) to raise awareness Thumbs%20Up

But what they do have and no-one can deny this now, they have the finest collection of boilers in the world! And I include Canada in that!

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 3:19pm

I can now confirm that TV3 Sports will be along to get a few shots for their spot in the 5:30 news slot

Not to be outdone I think I'll have to get on to my "mate" in RTE about this Wink

But what they do have and no-one can deny this now, they have the finest collection of boilers in the world! And I include Canada in that!

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 3:23pm
Originally posted by AidoM AidoM wrote:

Not to be outdone I think I'll have to get on to my "mate" in RTE about this Wink
The Nation Holds its BreathClap

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 3:40pm

If he doesn't come up trumps on this he'll have no "minder" LOL

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 3:42pm

Is this the same person who deleted the press release unread?

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 3:46pm

Is this the same person who deleted the press release unread?

Date Posted: 07 Feb 2011 at 5:09pm
Looks like TV coverage is now off.

Scotland have changed their Press Conference time and it now clashes with the game.

Trying to arrange that they can get to the Gasworks.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 9:57am
Headway were delighted with all your efforts and enjoyed the chats with some of you yesterday in the Gasworks.

Thanks to Lurleen Lumpkin the bucket collection raised €49 despite the Gasworks manager blowing a fuse.

The Wales fans raffle raised a good amount and Neil will use the online donation site to  pass on the funds.

Thanks again to everyone
http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/02/09/carling-fans-nations-cup-headway-selected-as-repub/ -
http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/02/09/carling-fans-nations-cup-headway-selected-as-repub/ - http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/02/09/carling-fans-nations-cup-headway-selected-by-repub/ http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/02/09/carling-fans-nations-cup-headway-selected-as-repub/ -

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 10:19am

Headway were delighted with all your efforts and enjoyed the chats with some of you yesterday in the Gasworks.

Thanks to Lurleen Lumpkin the bucket collection raised €49 despite the Gasworks manager blowing a fuse.

The Wales fans raffle raised a good amount and Neil will use the online donation site to  pass on the funds.

Thanks again to everyone

http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/02/09/carling-fans-nations-cup-headway-selected-by-repub/ - http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/02/09/carling-fans-nations-cup-headway-selected-by-repub/

Good stuff Soccerc, thanks to yiz for donating the raffle lads, the Manager hoped to do it over their PA system but it wasn't working, so one of the Headway people drew out a ticket, it was sold by the Welsh Gaffer so I can't say who won it, but thanks for yizzer support as soccerc said.

The money left over from the plaque/plague I donated online earlier.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 10:38am
Link broken soccerc?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 11:37am

Link broken soccerc?

Fixed!

They changed the urlWink

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 11:49am
Lads get donating ...

Posted By: walsheman
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 11:54am
great stuff

Going To The Euro's,Poland and Ukraine 2012 HO HO!!!!

twitter.......@walsheman

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 2:06pm
Score wrong on the headway page soccerc! Thumbs%20Up

Meanwhile, the fans also had their moment of glory: the Republic of Ireland Fans were represented by a squad of 18 chosen after a trial game in late January organised and promoted by members of the "You Boys in Green" fans website: http://ybig.ie/ - www.ybig.ie . The Rep of Ireland beat the Wales Fans, 4 - 1! So, well done to everyone who played and supported.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 2:14pm

I didn't write it.Wink

Headway logo is wrong on YBIG News pageCry

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 2:20pm

I didn't write it.Wink

Headway logo is wrong on YBIG News pageCry

I'll change it now Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2011 at 4:25pm
how much did the raffle make? And what's our  target?

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2011 at 12:43pm

BUMP

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2011 at 12:45pm

BUMP

Unofficially I was told the Wales team whiskey raffle raised €135 and that they'd lodge that to the mycharity.ie account.

Target is €1000 and to date  we've hit €220 excluding the raffle amount

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2011 at 12:49pm
Has everyone got a sponsorship card?

If not, I can e mail it to you

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2011 at 12:54pm
That's a great start, already have a few quid on my card and going up to sell a few lines in Celtic tonight Clap

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2011 at 12:55pm
Everybody who got a few tokens in Gasworks should donate a few quid..

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2011 at 3:04pm

That's a great start, already have a few quid on my card and going up to snort a few lines in Celtic tonight Clap

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2011 at 12:30pm

That's a great start, already have a few quid on my card and going up to snort a few lines in Celtic tonight Clap

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2011 at 12:31pm
Eh, lads, the other teams are doing some serious donating here!

From Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000654056079 - Neil Dymock
For the May games, between Wales and Scotland and Scotland and the Republic, Scotland and Wales will be donating £500 a piece to the Welsh Children's Hospice, Ty Hafen, while also making a donation of £1000 a piece to a Republic of Ireland Children's Charity, yet to be confirmed. This will bring the charitable donations from the tournament to over £5000.

• http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000654056079 -
    http://www.facebook.com/# -
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000654056079 - Neil Dymock
    Scotland and Northern Ireland also donated £500 a piece to the Northern Ireland Charity Shine A Light, who provide holidays for children suffering from cancer and a presentation was made before the fans game on Wednesday.

• http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000654056079 - Neil Dymock
  • A special thanks to all the Republic of Ireland and Wales, players, management and fans and the five Scottish spies who helped raise 165€ on Tuesday for the Republic of Ireland nominated charity for this week, Headway. I will be transferring the money over the weekend.

• -------------

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2011 at 2:11pm
    €1000 from the team is only a target Mark, we can well exceed this if everyone gets all their mates, family and work friends to through a few quid towards a great cause Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2011 at 5:11pm
    donated today we are going well over €500 Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2011 at 1:50pm
    Just floating an idea...what about holding a YBIG pub quiz some night to raise some funds??

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2011 at 3:00pm
    Great Idea Eric, Murrays again this year LadsThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 12 Mar 2011 at 6:58pm
    great work lads, keep it going as nearly there ClapClapClapClap

Fundraising target: €1,000.00
    Money raised off-line: €0.00
    Money raised on-line: €531.88

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2011 at 9:26am
    keep forgetting to hustle callers for donations still have €50 on the card from three names.

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2011 at 10:19am
    There was an 'Anonymous' donation of €30.

If the donor would like to PM me I'd appreciate it as I'd like to say thanks.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 4:06pm
    BUMP
    http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/02/09/carling-fans-nations-cup-headway-selected-as-repub/ -
    Tom and some run in steal the show

Posted By: davekoolhill
    Date Posted: 22 Mar 2011 at 5:21pm
    lads, do you think there would be a possibility of getting one of the players involved in promoting this great cause?

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Posted By: davekoolhill
    Date Posted: 23 Mar 2011 at 8:11pm

What about making a small video to be played at the stadium for the home games.

We could do like an  irish sing song or something with the volunteers of headway. It would also help the fans learn the words to songs.

I know celtic fans did it for a charity also with their version of 'Just can't get enough'.  - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljBbMJhEyPc - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljBbMJhEyPc

Could we do something similar. I could probably get hold of a HD professional cam.

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2011 at 6:26pm
    Lads, anyone want to do a match report from the last game and stick up the results of the scots vs norn iron game so we can update the blog on the home page for the next round of matches?Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2011 at 12:22pm
    Finally the envelopes arrived and the photos will be posted tomorrow so you will all have them delivered Monday.

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2011 at 12:33pm
    Thanks Soccerc

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2011 at 12:34pm
    I wonder would the FAI put forward a season ticket to raffle?

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2011 at 8:57am
    You should all have received your photo(s) today in the post.

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2011 at 3:49pm

You should all have received your photo(s) today in the post.

Great stuff soccerc, received today and are absolute quality ClapClapClap

Posted By: Crapattoni
    Date Posted: 18 Apr 2011 at 4:38pm
    Great stuff

Posted By: The Jerk
    Date Posted: 18 Apr 2011 at 4:45pm
    good stuff lads

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2011 at 6:20pm
    Thanks soccerc much appreciated, got it framed today

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2011 at 12:12pm

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 11 May 2011 at 5:41pm
    Bump lads, fans game around the corner so will need to have sponsorship cards in Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 15 May 2011 at 8:11am

Bump lads, fans game around the corner so will need to have sponsorship cards in Thumbs Up

Lads, everyone who is named in the squads to face Wales and Scotland will need to have their filled out sponsorship cards with them and money collected before the games so we can present a cheque to Headway. Thumbs Up

Everyone is expected to raise as much as they can but at least 50 euro towards the cause Clap

If you dont have a sponsorship card, send me a pm Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 17 May 2011 at 6:50am
    Can someone mail me the sponsorship card please? pm me for email.

Date Posted: 17 May 2011 at 3:29pm
    here ye go lads, print this out for next week if you dont have one already Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 26 May 2011 at 9:05am
    Lads, if there are fellas who played in the Wales match that arent around this weekend, can you get in contact with me about your HEADWAY form if you raised any money Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 30 May 2011 at 3:45am

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Lads, Another €472 raised there by the ROI fans team, well done to all who have contributed so far, great stuff  ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

TOTAL RAISED SO FAR - €1073.88

Fellas who still have loot and forgot it on the day can you PM me Thumbs Up

On another note, fair play to the Scottish fans who raised over £2000 pounds for the Jack and Jill Foundation here. They did the same for charities in the North and in Wales, unbelievable achivement, great bunch of lads too. ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap 

Date Posted: 31 May 2011 at 6:49am
    I've me card and loot for €135.

Socccerc how do we get the money to you?

Date Posted: 31 May 2011 at 4:56pm

I've me card and loot for €135.

Socccerc how do we get the money to you?

im transferring money to them through paypal now Thumbs Up, will you do the same with the €135
    http://www.headway.ie/support/donate.html -
    http://www.headway.ie/support/donate.html

TOTAL RAISED SO FAR - €1208.88

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2011 at 5:32pm

Hi Count,

Thank you for the email and support – it is much appreciated.

Delighted we won.

Please let me know if there is anything we can do to help in the future.

Kieran

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Hi Count,

Kieran forwarded me on your email. That is brilliant news on the winning and fundraising fronts!  Congrats to all the team and supporters on both.

I will put a THANK YOU and pics up on the Headway website shortly.

Best wishes for now,

Ruth

Brain Injury Information & Support Worker

Headway

1-3 Manor Street Business Park

Shea's Lane (off Manor St), Dublin 7

ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 5:01pm
    Up on the Headway site lads, well done again to all who contributed ClapClapClap
    http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/06/07/you-boys-in-green-soccer-fans-collect-120888-for-h/ -
    http://www.headway.ie/news/2011/06/07/you-boys-in-green-soccer-fans-collect-120888-for-h/

You Boys in Green soccer fans collect €1208.88 for Headway (so far!)

7 Jun 2011

The Carling Nations Cup fans soccer competition between the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales resulted in a win for the Irish Fans. The competition also produced a great result for Headway! This is because the Irish fans named Headway as their chosen charity and have collected a fantastic sum of €1208.88 for us, so far.

The Irish fans wrapped up the tournament with a good 3-1 win over the Scots. For more on You Boys in Green's great win, see ../republic-of-ireland-win-carling-fans-cup-for-headway.3.814.news.html - www.ybig.ie !

A big, big thank you to all at ybig.ie for their fantastic efforts on Headway's behalf and congratulations to you on winning the Carling Nations Cup fans soccer competition. You did us proud.

A special "Thank you" must go to David Byrne for coordinating the collection, and to John Barrington, again, for nominating Headway as YBIG's charity for the competition.

Ireland Fans SquadIreland Carling Cup Fans Squad

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 5:18pm

International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1