URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=26667
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 4:01pm

Topic: Whats your tipple?
Posted By: billybob
Subject: Whats your tipple?
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 4:54pm
Guinness all the way for me or a nice bottle of Red (oak aged for the vanilla taste mmmmmmmm).

Was at a party on Sat and a few of them did Stuntmans

Tequila, Salt & Lemon

Snort Salt
Drink Tequila
Squirt lemon in eyeLOL

and then receive a slap in the face by your mateOuch

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 4:55pm
bud all the way, followed by vodka and lucozade

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 4:56pm
Guinness in a pub

Red Wine at home

Quality German or Czech lager at home if no wine in stock ( Lild haven't done a €3 Saturday special for a while)

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 4:56pm

Few Nordies i work with have a carbomb..is it a jager dropped into a pint of guinnes and knocked back in wan?

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 4:57pm
used to drink Bulmers, Heineken but a few months back Ive been drinkin guinness. Find my hangovers are much worse though.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 4:57pm
Paulaner
Coors light
Miller bottle
Guinness
Bulmers.

I'd ususally end up drinking all them on a night out - cant stay on the same drink all night.

Always drink Red wine at home.

Posted By: The Lurker
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 4:58pm
Guinness and Tequila for me

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:00pm
Guinness if i'm havin a quiet few,
Heineken/Carlsberg on a night out,
Cans of Karpackie pre-pub,
Bottles of Miller/Brahma at home!!

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:00pm

will also drink Carlsberg in  the unlikely event of their being no Heineken. When at home I'll get the odd bottle of ''foreign'' beer to try out such as Staropramen etc....

Posted By: criostoir Óg
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:05pm
Originally posted by billybob billybob wrote:

Few Nordies i work with have a carbomb..is it a jager dropped into a pint of guinnes and knocked back in wan?

Measure of whiskey and a measure of baileys, dropped into a pint glass half filled with guinness, have to drink it before it curdles Clap

My mate and I were in Belfast City Airport last year and he said in a west belfast accent, 'cant wait to introduce london to the car bomb', got  a queer look from the fella next to us LOL

What happens on away trips, stays on away trips...except syphilis!

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:07pm
Normally drink Heineken now, don't really get a hangover from it. Carlsberg and Bulmers were killing me!
Fond of the Captain too.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:11pm
Originally posted by Críostóir Óg Críostóir Óg wrote:

Measure of whiskey and a measure of baileys, dropped into a pint glass half filled with guinness, have to drink it before it curdles Clap

My mate and I were in Belfast City Airport last year and he said in a west belfast accent, 'cant wait to introduce london to the car bomb', got  a queer look from the fella next to us LOL

Thats it...fookin sick!!

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:11pm
my bumhole has barred me from drinking Guinness - if it's a lager than Budvar is your only man

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:16pm

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:19pm
Originally posted by Críostóir Óg Críostóir Óg wrote:

Billy Connolly in the 70's went to Belfast and the 1st shop he saw "Bomber Jackerts half price" LOLLOL

Love that gag.

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:23pm
Heineken in the pub but you cant beat a few cans of Fosters if youre staying in. Its the only can of beer that will hold a head in a pint glass (and Ive tried them all to find that out).

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:25pm

Coors Light. Lovely pint with an unfortunate name.

Posted By: Ginzo
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:33pm
cans- karpackie
pints- heineken
spirits- captain morgans

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:35pm
Originally posted by Ginzo Ginzo wrote:

cans- karpackie
pints- heineken
spirits- captain morgans
Jaysus

Posted By: Ginzo
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:37pm
Originally posted by IrishPride IrishPride wrote:

Originally posted by Ginzo Ginzo wrote:

cans- karpackie pints- heineken spirits- captain morgans

Jaysus

Its unreal,and its cheap as well as being 5%. A great way to start the night

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:39pm
Pub always Guinness
Home Cherbourg imported Red WineThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:41pm
It was vodka and lucozade but now I drink smirnoff ice and jager bombs. I like vodka and cranberry too with a squeeze of lime. Absolutely hate wine and whiskey.

Posted By: sledgehammer
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:45pm
Karpackie is amazing stuff pre night out absolute Rocket Fuel. In a pub though will always go for a Guiness. Spirits would go for Captain and Coke or Southern Comfort and red lemonade

Up there for thinking. Down there for dancing

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:49pm
Coors pints in a boozer- Bottles of miller at home
Jager bombs in night clubs

Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 5:51pm
Buckfast.

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 6:09pm
Guinness or Heineken. Heineken if on a session!

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 7:48pm
Used to drink Bud, then Heineken but for the last year or so it's been Carlsberg for me. I go on the odd Guiness buzz for a few weeks.

Cans, I'll buy whatever, pushed for money I'll buy Dutch Gold (the beer of kings), if not then Heineken or Carlsberg.

Posted By: billybunter
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 8:16pm
jack and coke. bottles of amstel light or carlsberg to hydrate.

Posted By: JH91
Date Posted: 11 Jan 2011 at 8:20pm
Southern Comfort and lime.
Face on your one when asking for this over in Scotland.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 1:04am
Guiness in the pub, Becks at home and always a bottle of white wine on Sundays .Big%20smile

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 2:40am
Heineken the preferred choice, but pretty flexible with beers.As long as it's not Bud or any of the lite sh*te.
Shorts would be a straight Whiskey, no ice.Usually Tullamore.

Posted By: Lyd17
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 2:52am
Is it just me or are more lads drinking wine nowadays?? Thought it was a bit of a girlie drink but it appears to be getting more popular with the men
Strange

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:05am
Red Wine Heart

However I wouldnt head down the local and start drinking wine Dead

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:13am
Pub in Ireland Guinness
Pub in London Guinness if I know it won't be manky otherwise Stella/Star/Kronie/Grolsch
Later in the night JD and coke until it gets messy and then I'll have whatever shots anyone wants to give me.
At home whatever beer is good value in the supermarket but never Carling or Fosters or any weak as piss sh*te.
I'd generally only drink wine with food.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 5:00am
Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

Pub in Ireland Guinness
Pub in London Guinness if I know it won't be manky otherwise Stella/Star/Kronie/Grolsch
Later in the night JD and coke until it gets messy and then I'll have whatever shots anyone wants to give me.
At home whatever beer is good value in the supermarket but never Carling or Fosters or any weak as piss sh*te.
I'd generally only drink wine with food.
Love that stuff

Anyways

Home
Tins of Carling, Carlsberg
Bottles of Peroni or Miller
Used to like Russian stuff Baltika but aint seen it in a while

C/O days with the lads
What ever is best value 12 pack or whatever tins we can get our hands on 

Before heading out(& my now usual drink to sup on way to Dublin for games)
Half bottle of Bucky, 4 cans of Carling or Harp or if no cans a 4 pack of Peroni

If in local -
Pints of Carlsberg and occassionally Guiness
Vodka/Barcardi+white
Jaggerbombs
Irish Mist or JD depending on the mood

If in clubs-
Miller, Vodka+white(if in rounds then red bull) then Jaggerbombs & a good few Sambuca's

In short if its alcohol theres a good chance I'll drink it LOL

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 5:02am
Cans - Strongbow
Pub - Pint bottles of Bulmers usually moving onto spirits (vodka, southern comfort, captain morgans)

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 5:10am
Pints - Smithwicks or Bulmers
Cans - Usually hate 'em all, although my bro occasionally brings me back a case of John Smith's draught from Sheffield, which is alright. (I'm waiting to try out some DM!)
Bottles - Erdinger, Leffe or Stella Artois
Wine - almost anything Red and like Brainie, I'm one of Carrefour's best customers in Cherbourg.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 5:14am
At home - usually bottles of something nice and German - Edinger, Franciskaner, Spaten or Warsteiner. Heineken bottles sometimes if i'm going to nearest offy.

Out - Pints of Carlsberg or Heineken - although been getting into Smithwicks recently.

Not a big fan of spirits but like a whiskey every now and again and jaegerbombs when in a club.

A bottle of wine in the house or with food is always good as well - Chablis is the balls !

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 5:16am

Pints - Smithwicks or Bulmers
Cans - Usually hate 'em all, although my bro occasionally brings me back a case of John Smith's draught from Sheffield, which is alright. (I'm waiting to try out some DM!)
Bottles - Erdinger, Leffe or Stella Artois
Wine - almost anything Red and like Brainie, I'm one of Carrefour's best customers in Cherbourg.

He ever bring you the ale made in Sheffield - Wards Ale?? Only tried it as they used to sponsor the Blades but got to love the stuff when was there for university. Used to bring loads back home with me. Shame they went bust

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 5:44am

He ever bring you the ale made in Sheffield - Wards Ale?? Only tried it as they used to sponsor the Blades but got to love the stuff when was there for university. Used to bring loads back home with me. Shame they went bust

Nope, missed out on that!

I have to say one thing about the English - they're oft derided for making some terrible beers, (and for years I was deluded that they were all crap) but they make some really fine ales, which are badly lacking over here. Fullers, Bishop's Finger, Bateman’s, Hook Norton’s Old Hooky to mention but a few, that I've tried and liked.
It's one of the true pleasures in life that I look forward to whenever I visit England.

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 6:27am
Carlsberg from the tap. Whatever from a can really, usually go cheapest option

Posted By: Karnage
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 6:44am
i like Hand Shandy's!

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 7:00am
Originally posted by Karnage Karnage wrote:

i like Hand Shandy's!

At least you always get a good head on it Dead

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 7:24am

Draught Miller for most of the year, but i drink Guinness a bit during the winter (it's too heavy for all day sessions in beer gardens etc).

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 7:42am
Pints of Fosters in a pub or Brandy and Redbull in a nightclub.

Posted By: Karnage
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 8:13am
Originally posted by SteviesGranny SteviesGranny wrote:

Pints of Fosters in a pub or Brandy and Redbull in a nightclub.

brandy and redbull you sicko what kind of an idiot drinks that

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 1:09pm
Brandy and Red Lemonade when i cant drink anymore pints! Sounds horrible but it does taste nice!!

Posted By: AKOT
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 1:44pm
Bulmers for me

And me thinking you all drink double maximWink 

Posted By: Plastic Bari
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 1:52pm
Guinness most of the time.
Heineken if its a major piss up.
Captain Morgans and coke in the club or Double Vods and red bull!!!

Also not  very often a double vodka and blue wicked in pint glass Embarrassed

Twitter @VonBarracuda

Posted By: dublin-hammer
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 2:17pm
bud for the first few
then onto the bulmers
followed by the double jd and cokes!

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests... More drink!

Posted By: devondudley
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 2:25pm
pints- carlsberg
spirits- whiskey and coke, mount gay rum is the balls too.
bottles- tesco's finest sol beer

But fumble in a greasy till

And add the halfpence to the pence

And pray to shivering prayer, until

You have dried the marrow from the bone.

W. B. Yeats, September 1913

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 2:36pm
pints -- guinness
short  vodka/whiskey

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:11pm
Carlsberg from the tap. Don't touch spirits apart from one or two Brandy's at xmas.

Whatevers going cheap for cans at home

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:12pm

pints -- guinness
short  vodka/whiskey

and not forgetting your fav in Armenia

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QVdhZwK7cS8 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QVdhZwK7cS8

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:15pm

Carlsberg from the tap. Don't touch spirits apart from one or two Brandy's at xmas.

Still waitin to hear bout wot ya did at that wedding!!   

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:19pm

The very reason I don't touch themEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:39pm
When jungfellas we used to knock a few of thes back before a night out.

Old school flavoured Vodka

Posted By: clody
Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:50pm
vodka vodka vodka Heart (mixed with whatever coke usually)

oh how i would love a drink right now!

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:54pm

Double whiskeys for Sham in Macedonia Clap

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 3:58pm
Originally posted by trapped trapped wrote:

Double whiskeys for Sham in Macedonia Clap

be a lot better than Horsebox spiking me chilli sauce in ZilinaLOL

Date Posted: 12 Jan 2011 at 4:20pm

aye its hard to beat a pint of milk alright

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:36pm
bump

Have tastes changed? 

Currently 

Guinness - if quiet few or early doors (establishment depending)
Heineken - if on lash/Odd Paulaner/Peroni if on draught and back up is Carlsberg
Round a night off with JD and Coke

Guilty pleasure/Puff sup - Vodka, Soda and Lime or a baileys if at home and nobody watchin LOL

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:41pm
I am moving away from Tuborg. I usually get a wheat beer for my first drink (Erdinger, Paulaner, Schneider Weisse) and O'Briens have been selling 4 cans of Miller for €5.

Im getting tired of Tuborg and it is priced at a scandalous 7.50 for 6.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:46pm
Guinness all night as long as its half decent
If its not any beer
Finish myself off on Jagerbombs or Jameson with ice   

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:47pm
My Stella levels have dropped a unprecendented all time low. I have barely 2 cases left if Lidl don't do an offer soon

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:51pm
Haven't had a pint of Guinness in about 2 months, have fallen in love with Pale Ale Heart

Posted By: Shamrock
Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:52pm
Carlsberg Beer

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:53pm
Leffe. Gotta love the Belgians

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:53pm
Guinness down the local .
Smithwicks or Erdinger at home .
Paulaner in town.
Schneider Weisse if in a padded room . Yum

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 8:59pm

Clap Amazing stuff!owe you a few pints Ste!

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 9:01pm
The problem with those German beers is that they are too strong.

5/6 pints and you're off your gord.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 9:04pm
Guinness is my main tipple. Finish the night off with vodkas and red bull/ or white lemonade
Have started drinking Kronenbourg but @ 5.50 for 500ml it's very expensive.Still it's nice than the usual Heino/Bud/Carlsberg dishwater draught
When abroad always the local lager

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 9:08pm

Love the Belgian beers myself,was over there a few weeks ago and never drank the same beer twice.Very cheap as well and all served in the proper glasses.

Of course they're  expensive here,I payed 8.65e for 4 330ml bottles of Leffe yesterday.

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 9:16pm

The problem with those German beers is that they are too strong.

5/6 pints and you're off your gord.

Yeah they smash ye . Great bunch of lads..

Posted By: Shamrock
Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 9:17pm
Originally posted by kimbap kimbap wrote:

served in the proper glasses.

I f**kin hate were your given your drink in the wrong type glass. Anyone else find that annoying?

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 9:23pm
Originally posted by Shamrock Shamrock wrote:

I f**kin hate were your given your drink in the wrong type glass. Anyone else find that annoying?

Very much so.

It's like getting a bowl of soup on a plate.

I love the tall Erdinger\Paulaner glasses.

Posted By: kimbap
Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 9:30pm
Was in a bar in Brugges recently.They had a massive menu of beers,a few hundred.Each one was served in its own glass.Brilliant..

And people reckon the Irish love their beer? The slop we drink from warm glasses,still with dishwasher stuff on them is unbelievable

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 9:42pm
The belgians know their beer alright. What we drink is absolute crap in general. If yis ever see a beer in an offy called Trappistes Rochefort 10,  ignore the price and get a bottle. It's a trappist 'quadropele'  and consistently ranked amongst the best in the world. Unreal. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 7:49am
Originally posted by Shamrock Shamrock wrote:

Got a pint of Carlsberg in a jaysus Bulmers glass on Saturday night. I was disgusted.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 8:18am
Stout

Followed by Jameson and red bull for the remainder of the night

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 8:36am
Anyone try Blue Moon lately? American beer

Lovely

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 8:39am

Lovely

Rotten.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 8:59am

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 9:11am

Lovely

i had one when i came down off the volcano in hawaii and it tasted like the greatest beer i ever had, tried it again recently... what AM said.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 9:16am

Love the Belgian beers myself,was over there a few weeks ago and never drank the same beer twice.Very cheap as well and all served in the proper glasses.

Of course they're  expensive here,I payed 8.65e for 4 330ml bottles of Leffe yesterday.

6 euro here for 4 bottles too. Not too bad IMO , as it's a tasty one. 
And yeah, the proper glasses and the abundance of choice in Belgium is fantastic. Love heading over there

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 9:25am
For a few Pints- Guinness
Session- Heineken
At home- a cheap 20pack of bottles with a few nicer ones mixed in and a few bottles of Sauvignon Blanc ( preferably from New Zealand)

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 9:34am
I normally start off on the right 1 for a few minutes and then alternate between left and right 

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 9:51am

Lovely

Rotten.

According to a mate of mine, if you drink it with a slightly burnt slice of
orange its meant to improve the taste. Havent tried it myself but he swears by it.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 9:53am
Originally posted by dundon13 dundon13 wrote:

Lovely

Rotten.

orange its meant to improve the taste. Havent tried it myself but he swears by it.

I've seen bars putting a slice of orange into it. Thats a fooking cocktail where I come from Wink

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 9:55am
Erdinger is unreal but as has been said, you wouldnt want to be drinking it all day or you'd be absolutely cabbaged.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 9:56am

Guinness when in Ireland.

But love my German, Czech, Belgian beers when in Rome so to speak.

Would never drink laaaaaager in Ireland, Jesus Christ.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 10:03am
Furstenberg......

Strawberry Witch - Pint of Furstenberg topped up with a Pernod and Black....

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 10:05am

Furstenberg..........
Still get headaches even thinking about Furstenberg.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 10:07am

Furstenberg..........
Still get headaches even thinking about Furstenberg.

You can get it in bottles in Tesco if you feel the need....

Posted By: irish_goat
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 10:20am
Metalman pale ale from Waterford, lovely stuff. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 10:24am
"excuse me barkeep could i trouble you for a fresh slice of orange lightly burnt" LOL

Posted By: Stretchryan
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 10:31am
Erdinger and Lagavulin 16 yr single malt

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 10:53am

Lovely

Rotten.

I've seen bars putting a slice of orange into it. Thats a fooking cocktail where I come from Wink
men putting bloody fruit into bottles necks ffs

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 2:19pm

Lovely

Rotten.

men putting bloody fruit into bottles necks ffs

Mexicans put fruit in to keep out the flies Irish people thinks it enhances the drink

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2014 at 2:22pm
Guinness or harp for me depending on mood have to say and both are top class in my bar
Also cud drink Jameson with a drop ofwater all day long
Am also partial to a jäger or two as some may know on here