URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=26584
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 2:26pm

Topic: FAO maths nerds
Subject: FAO maths nerds
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2011 at 1:12pm
Cant find the thread from last year but can someone tell me the percentage I have going into my exam on wed please. I got 58% in one essay and 53% in another both together are worth 33%. How much % have I got altogether ?

Thanks

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2011 at 1:16pm
Well to start you have over 17% of the 33%

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2011 at 1:19pm

Over 17% or 17% ?

Posted By: ScruffyR
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2011 at 1:19pm
I would say ya have around 18%

"Football isn't a matter of life or death, it's much more important than that."

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2011 at 1:20pm

Over 17% or 17% ?

Over. If you had of got 50% in both your essays, you would have scored 16.5% out of the 33%, but you got more than 50% in both so it's more probably actually around 18-19%

Posted By: ScruffyR
Date Posted: 07 Jan 2011 at 1:21pm
18.315% to be percise

"Football isn't a matter of life or death, it's much more important than that."

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2011 at 1:21pm
you have 18.5% sasa

if 40% is need then you need to get 32.25 in your exal which will give you 21.5% to bring you to 40

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2011 at 1:22pm
Ok............ sh*tE

Thanks tho

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 5:40pm
Does anyone know the easiest way to convert nominal wages into real wages. Basically I want to take wages from a certain industry since 1988 and change them in lieu of inflation. Do I just divide nominal wages by the rate of inflation and then muliply by 100?

Posted By: c90
Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 6:35pm

Does anyone know the easiest way to convert nominal wages into real wages. Basically I want to take wages from a certain industry since 1988 and change them in lieu of inflation. Do I just divide nominal wages by the rate of inflation and then muliply by 100?

not sure if its wat your askin but if the rate of inflation is 4% just multiply the nominal by 1.04 ( likewise if it was 0.5% then multiply by 1.005)

have u got an inflation rate from '88 till now or do ye just have year on year rates ?

Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Lawrence Of Arabia, Elton John! Yiz can all go f**k yerselves

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 6:37pm
Originally posted by c90 c90 wrote:

not sure if its wat your askin but if the rate of inflation is 4% just multiply the nominal by 1.04 ( likewise if it was 0.5% then multiply by 1.005)

have u got an inflation rate from '88 till now or do ye just have year on year rates ?

Just have the average wage figure. No inflation figures at all. The figures are off the CSO website so surely they're adjusted for inflation?

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 6:42pm

Originally posted by c90 c90 wrote:

Just have the average wage figure. No inflation figures at all. The figures are off the CSO website so surely they're adjusted for inflation?
they would have to mention it somewhere in the figures if they were adjusted for inflation. O'wise id assume the were nominal for the given year

Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Lawrence Of Arabia, Elton John! Yiz can all go f**k yerselves

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 6:50pm
In 1988 the average wage stood at €372.06. Inflation in Feb 2013 stood at 1.10% So would that mean 1988 wages in todays value would be €409.27?

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 6:59pm
use the capital gains tax table for inflation, although it cuts off at 2007 i think it is

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 7:04pm

In 1988 the average wage stood at €372.06. Inflation in Feb 2013 stood at 1.10% So would that mean 1988 wages in todays value would be €409.27?
no (afaik) 
that inflation is year on year so just the inflation from last year to this year. to work out that '88 wage now you would have to multiple the nominal by the inflation for every since '88. so it'd look like (372.06 x 1.01 x 1.02 x 1.05 etc)

also for your calculation above, say if 372.06 was the wage last year and you wanted it terms of this year then it would be (372.06 x 1.001) 

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 7:31pm

from the table below average annual inflation seems to be 2.5% from the years '88 to '13 so if assuming average wage in Feb '88 is €372.06 then that in todays money is €689.78 [ = (372.06) x (1.025)^25 ]

3 things to note, 
this is an eyeball guess on the average inflation as i cant zoom in or get the actual figure.
This is the CPI inlfation rate (consumer price index, theres another way to calculate inflation)
and finally i only moved into finance in september so i could be talkin through me hole Thumbs UpThumbs Up

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 8:44pm
Baldrick will know the answer

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 8:53pm

Baldrick will know the answer

Obviously, but it will be interesting to see him take the moral high ground in a maths argument

Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 15 Mar 2013 at 8:56pm
z

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 11:57am
Anyone any good at demand forecasting??

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 12:19pm
Can't access that.

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 12:25pm
Using annual data for 1935 to 1995, an estimate was made of the
demand function for cigarettes in the United States. The resulting
regression equation was estimated:
Log Q = -1.55 - 0.71 log P + 3.08 log A - 0.09 log I + 0.14 log Pc - 5.10 C
(-0.26) (1.18) (-0.89) (0.92) (-1.19)
Q = annual cigarette consumption.
P = average price of cigarettes.
A = total cigarette advertising.
I = per capita income.
Pc = average price of cigars.
C = a variable that equals 1 if the year under consideration is after
the American Cancer Society issues a report in 1953 linking
cigarette smoking with cancer and 0 otherwise.
The standard errors are shown in parentheses.
The value of R2 is 0.91.
(1) Interpret the estimated demand function for cigarettes.
(2) Conduct tests to determine the validity of the model.
(3) What implications do these results have for firms in the
industry?

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 12:29pm
Jaysus. I think I preferred when I couldn't read it.

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 1:13pm

I = per capita income.
The value of R2 is 0.91.
industry?

As much as I love maths, the model doesn't appropriately cater for changes in society i.e. recession and changes in human nature...no longer cool to smoke.

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 1:16pm
Originally posted by WindBag WindBag wrote:

I = per capita income.
The value of R2 is 0.91.
industry?

As much as I love maths, the model doesn't appropriately cater for changes in society i.e. recession and changes in human nature...no longer cool to smoke.
Do you know how to do this part by any chance?

Date Posted: 17 Apr 2013 at 2:31pm
Build a case to disprove it

How much did cigarette consumption drop after the smoking ban and see if you can see a graph and extrapolate this to 2014.
IMO a good guide would be looking at government policy..is Health, core to this plan? If so, have they stated that they will raise tax on cigarettes more?
To mathematically disprove, just get one of the variables critical to the equation and disprove it (highlight wide deviation percentage)
(i) Cigarette advertising..this is dropping exponentially around the world, just highlight the drop in numbers
(ii) Per Capita income has dropped dramatically in last 4 yrs
(iii) I cannot quantify a 'No Longer Cool' factor

But if I was I would go between 0-1....... 0 being Soccerc and 1 being Eire32...QED

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2013 at 11:46am
ConfusedConfused - my question was waaaayyyyyyy easier

Date Posted: 14 May 2013 at 4:49pm
A proposal to increase excise taxes on alcohol by €1 to save lives will raise the price of a unit of alcohol from €4 to €5 (assumption that all the tax increase is passed on to the consumers).  The increase in price will reduce the quantity consumed from 200m units to 180m units.  Graph the demand curve.  Calculate and explain the change in consumer surplus.

Would the change in consumer surplus be 190?

Area of rectangle = €1x 180m=180
Area of triangle = €1 x 20m (1/2) =10

Change in consumer surplus = area of rectangle + area of triangle

Am I doing it right?

Date Posted: 14 May 2013 at 8:08pm
Tell them to go and fook themselves as its expensive enough to drink in this country

Date Posted: 14 May 2013 at 8:17pm

A proposal to increase excise taxes on alcohol by €1 to save lives will raise the price of a unit of alcohol from €4 to €5 (assumption that all the tax increase is passed on to the consumers).  The increase in price will reduce the quantity consumed from 200m units to 180m units.  Graph the demand curve.  Calculate and explain the change in consumer surplus.

Am I doing it right?

how do they know how much it will reduce the demand by. What metric are they using to calculate the amount consumed on a hypothetical situation Wink

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 8:09am
Bump
Have an exam in 90mins and would like to know if I'm doing this correct? Anyone?

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 8:11am

Bump
Have an exam in 90mins and would like to know if I'm doing this correct? Anyone?

get off the fcuking forum and study and ring one of your classmates for the answer FFS

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 9:21am

Bump

get off the fcuking forum and study and ring one of your classmates for the answer FFS

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 9:23am

Bump

jesus christ, if you are coming to ybig for an answer to something on your course you are fcked.  how do you know someone on here could not totally take the piss out of you and give you a bullsh*t answer.  

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 9:55am
E=M see squared!

If baldy is asking instead of anwering, you are what the french call...proper fooked

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 1:12pm

Bump

jesus christ, if you are coming to ybig for an answer to something on your course you are fcked.  how do you know someone on here could not totally take the piss out of you and give you a bullsh*t answer.  

If your unable to solve the answer there is no need to take it out on me.  Maybe you should vent your frustration in some other way.Big smile

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 1:17pm
Ha ha hope you failed the exam :)

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 1:41pm

Whoa there, no need to get personal, attack the post not the poster!

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 1:47pm

Am I doing it right?

how do they know how much it will reduce the demand by. What metric are they using to calculate the amount consumed on a hypothetical situation Wink

principle of economics Baldy called elasticity of demand.

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 1:50pm

LOLEmbarrassed jaysus Podge he's not serious

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 1:52pm
For feck sake podge and sausy you need new batteries for your detectors there .

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 2:00pm

Hang on a minute now Sham, thats rumour and conjecture and there's no factual basis to that.

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 2:04pm

Hang on a minute now Sham, thats rumour and conjecture and there's no factual basis to that.
I apologise

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 2:08pm

Jaysus lads I'm takin the piss EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 2:14pm
Well rescued Podge  

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 2:27pm

Well rescued Podge  

Do you really think I meant it?

A haha and a smiley face usually mean it's a joke!

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 2:36pm

Jaysus lads I'm takin the piss EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed
too late PodgeEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 3:17pm

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 3:23pm
Let it go Podgey boy..let it go

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 3:53pm
Podge Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 3:55pm
agree fully podge

baldrick Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 4:56pm

agree fully podge

baldrick Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 5:27pm
Seany the answer to your question is 5. good luck in your exam Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 6:30pm

Seany the answer to your question is 5. good luck in your exam Thumbs Up

Had it already but thanks anyway

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 7:30pm
how did you get on seany. Nail it.

Date Posted: 15 May 2013 at 7:54pm

how did you get on seany. Nail it.

Don't like to tempt faith but not worried about failing anyway ha

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 4:43pm
Any Ybiggers any good and splicing two indexs together from the CSO?

I'm looking at the price of bar sales and want do get an index from 2002-2012 with 2002 with the base year.
Problem is the CSO have them in two different files, 2000-2008 is one file with the base year 2000 and 2005-2012 is another year, with the base being 2005.

How do I go about joining the two, e.g creating a new price index with 2002 as the base year (2002=100)

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 7:14pm

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 7:16pm
Can anyone explain the above please? Even though Income and prices have decreased during the period 05-12, bar sales have still fallen?

From what I've been thought in Economics is that when your income rises or something becomes cheaper you demand more of it?

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 7:18pm
Basically, spending in bars as a percentage of GDP has decreased dramatically over the last few years (while the price charged has only decreased a little) - not a big surprise.

Should you not be using GNP rather than GDP though, given the fact GDP includes multinationals profits, which have not suffered in the same way in the last few years as the general economy? The picture may be a little different if you do it that way. It depends on what you want the figures to show, though. If you want to paint a bleak picture, GDP is the way to go. If you want to point out that the vintners are a shower of greedy, moaning pricks, GNP is the way to go.

Date Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 7:21pm
What's the price index? Bar prices or the general rpi/CPI.

Basically, spending in bars as a percentage of GDP has decreased dramatically over the last few years (while the price charged has only decreased a little) - not a big surprise.

Should you not be using GNP rather than GDP though, given the fact GDP includes multinationals profits, which have not suffered in the same way in the last few years as the general economy? The picture may be a little different if you do it that way. It depends on what you want the figures to show, though. If you want to paint a bleak picture, GDP is the way to go. If you want to point out that the vintners are a shower of greedy, moaning pricks, GNP is the way to go.
Cheers Smile

I'd look at GNP if I had the time but I can't be bothered having to convert everything again to put it on a graph etc.

Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

What's the price index? Bar prices or the general rpi/CPI.
Bar prices

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2013 at 4:37pm

A figure of 1467299 measured in the unit, millions of dollars. I want to get the average level of wage per head of labour force. Have the population figures but how many 0's must I ad to the figure in order to be able to divide them?

Basically
Total Wages in 1990 were 1467299 measured at (millions of dollars)

Number of those employed were

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2013 at 4:56pm
Total wages in 1990 was thus 1,467,299,000,000. Total employment was 14,294,100.

So divide 1,467,299 by 14.294,100.

That's going to give a figure of $102,650. You sure the figures you have to begin with are right?

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2013 at 5:28pm

Total wages in 1990 was thus 1,467,299,000,000. Total employment was 14,294,100.

So divide 1,467,299 by 14.294,100.

That's going to give a figure of $102,650. You sure the figures you have to begin with are right?

I'll check the links when I'm home.

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2013 at 6:48pm
Few of the lads are on the dole. thats the problem

Date Posted: 16 Oct 2013 at 6:52pm
http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2/series/CAWTOT/downloaddata?cid=27286" rel="nofollow - http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2/series/CAWTOT/downloaddata?cid=27286
Source for wages and salary here SuperDave

Have the employment figures saved of the laptop
1990  14,294,100
1991  13,931,700
1992   3,874,200
1993  13,808,300
1994  13,953,900
1995  14,062,400
1996  14,303,500
1997  14,780,800
1998  15,203,700
1999  15,566,900
2000  16,024,300
2001  16,220,000
2002  16,180,800
2003  16,200,100
2004  16,354,800
2005  16,592,200
2006  16,821,300
2007  16,960,700
2008  16,893,900
2009  16,151,100
2010  16,063,500
2011  16,237,300
2012  16,560,300

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2013 at 9:35am
Any idea?

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2013 at 4:10pm
Yeah, it seems the annual figure I posted earlier is correct. Just over $100,000 average. That is probably right, given the number of unemployed and economically inactive people, also having regard to the fact California is a rich state.

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2015 at 12:15pm

Probably better off posting in the thick thread but anyway.

On average in 2013 €1=$1.3281

Would that mean €1=€0.67?

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2015 at 12:43pm

Probably better off posting in the thick thread but anyway.

On average in 2013 €1=$1.3281

Would that mean 1=0.67?

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2015 at 12:46pm
How appropriate the sig under his posts are LOLLOL

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2015 at 12:49pm

How appropriate the sig under his posts are LOLLOL
LOLEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 01 Dec 2015 at 4:03pm
1/1.3281 = 0.752955

Posted By: Bohsfan84
Date Posted: 01 Dec 2015 at 5:34pm
I passed maths in college by the skin of my gooch.

I'm excellent at accounting and finance strangely enough.