URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=26131
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 9:20pm

Topic: FIFA World Cup - Qatar 2022
Subject: FIFA World Cup - Qatar 2022
Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 9:50am
Cant see this happening. Thge world cup will definitely have to be moved to the winter and that means at least a 2 month winter break with the season finishing in July. Playing it in summer is out of the question. Even with air conditioned stadiums teams will have to train in 50 degree heat. Fans will drop like flies. There would certainly be deaths from the heat. No alcohol outside of hotels either.  Its just ridiculous. Do you think its anyway possible FIFA and Qatar will see sense and say look this isnt realistic?Confused Can you imagine England fans in Qatar? LOL

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 9:54am

Mercury Engineering won't be happy if they decide to change it to the winter. How will domestic club competitions be altered to suit? I mean wouldn't there be a knock on effect for the following season?

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:02am
FIFA have made a complete arse of themselves again. You would expectr them to have looked into this all beforehand eh....Guess they were too busy counting their money!

Posted By: Justice No. 1
Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:03am
Remeber the ould fella saying he couldn't hack the heat in Orlando in 94 when we played Mexico. It was 120F. Qatar will be even hotter.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:21am

Sorry, am I missing something?  How can it not happen?  They won the bid!

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:25am

Trap on a wind up again

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:28am

Sorry, am I missing something?  How can it not happen?  They won the bid!

Well it can happen but jesus it will be a disaster. There will be deaths amongst fans if it goes ahead in summer.  So looks like it will go ahead in winter which means fooking up the whole footballing calendar worldwide.

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:30am

Cant see this happening. Thge world cup will definitely have to be moved to the winter and that means at least a 2 month winter break with the season finishing in July. Playing it in summer is out of the question. Even with air conditioned stadiums teams will have to train in 50 degree heat. Fans will drop like flies. There would certainly be deaths from the heat. No alcohol outside of hotels either.  Its just ridiculous. Do you think its anyway possible FIFA and Qatar will see sense and say look this isnt realistic?Confused Can you imagine England fans in Qatar? LOL

What kind of mindset is this, how are irish players fans  supposed to give their all in such a big occasion if they are drinking before games.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:33am
Originally posted by Ireland4ever Ireland4ever wrote:

What kind of mindset is this, how are irish players fans  supposed to give their all in such a big occasion if they are drinking before games.

The fans wouldnt be professional unless they were tanked going into the games.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:37am
there is no poxy way the World Cup would be moved to January, will you cop on Trap ffs

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:40am

there is no poxy way the World Cup would be moved to January, will you cop on Trap ffs

Sure what the f.airy you on about?? Blatter himself says that he wants to play in in winter.Confused

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:47am

Aye, Jerome Fatcheque said the same thing. At least there's plenty of time to sort it out.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 10:57am
of course it can happen. It'll be hot outside the stadiums but inside they are all air conditioned or whatever. This was apart of their winning bid so why change it now

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 11:42am
Holloway slaughtered fifa in his press conference today- quality- blatter saying now that some of the games might be outside of qatar! Why did blatter refer to footballers as actors today?

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 11:42am
apparently now games might be played in neighbouring countriesConfused

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 11:48am
It's a joke. They have no foootball history and now it seems the country isn't even suitable for staging the tournament. Blatter will be retired, relaxing on his Qatar yacht by the time this comes around anyway.

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 11:50am
I heard Qatar are going to buy an island in the Pacific and play games there but they wont have players they will have robots, and then the robots will fly to FIFA HQ with bags of money 

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 12:07pm

I heard Qatar are going to buy an island in the Pacific and play games there but they wont have players they will have robots, and then the robots will fly to FIFA HQ with bags of money 

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 12:37pm
Originally posted by Fr. Jessup Fr. Jessup wrote:

Heres Hoskins on the left:

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 1:58pm
ian Holloway sums this up nicely and funnily

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 2:36pm

So funny. He's a fookin legend! Would love to have a few pints with him. He should get sports personality of the year coz he has the best personality!Clap

Date Posted: 17 Dec 2010 at 2:45pm

So funny. He's a fookin legend! Would love to have a few pints with him. He should get sports personality of the year coz he has the best personality!Clap

He doesn't sit on the fence anyway. Same as Merson. I'd love a few pints with the both of them. There wouldn't be a fence in sight.

Date Posted: 18 Dec 2010 at 7:26am
Holloway = LegendClap

Date Posted: 18 Dec 2010 at 9:04am

Enough of these and FIFA will move it to January whether the clubs like it or not.

Posted By: n.iron
Date Posted: 19 Dec 2010 at 6:36pm

Sure what the f.airy you on about?? Blatter himself says that he wants to play in in winter.Confused
Use your head man.Your feets for dancing.What about .
Fans vacation (holidays)
Domestic leagues.etc
To name a few.Blatter is a clown if he said such a thing.

Date Posted: 20 Dec 2010 at 5:53am
lose lose either way, no chance i'll travel in the summer unless ireland qualify, would've went to the us or aus, winter tournament messes up the leagues and every holidays from work/college

plus no pubs/clubs - disaster, be popping over to bahrain for a night out

Date Posted: 20 Dec 2010 at 6:44am
Originally posted by n.iron n.iron wrote:

Use your head man.Your feets for dancing.What about .
Fans vacation (holidays)
Domestic leagues.etc
To name a few.Blatter is a clown if he said such a thing.

Why are you concerned with this? Not as if you'll be playing in itWink

To address your points: Platini and Blatter want to play it in January. Google it and see what you findWink

Date Posted: 20 Dec 2010 at 6:47am
fifa can deffo move it to winter, just another way of proving their power over the domestic leagues, its years away , its easily done to split the seasons , actually the standard might be higher as the teams will not be tired after a full season

Date Posted: 20 Dec 2010 at 6:50am
We're all part of Trappa's army
We're all off to Qatar
And we'll really sheikh them up
When we win the world cup
Coz ireland are the greatest football team

Doesnt have a great ring to it does it?

Posted By: traphasntaclue
Date Posted: 20 Dec 2010 at 10:55am
kilbane will struggle in the heat over there!

Date Posted: 20 Dec 2010 at 11:04am
Originally posted by traphasntaclue traphasntaclue wrote:

Date Posted: 20 Dec 2010 at 11:52am

Originally posted by traphasntaclue traphasntaclue wrote:

That's actually the funniest thing he's ever said LOL

You might as well retire C4L, you can only go downhill from here!

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 21 Dec 2010 at 2:43pm

Players' union FIFPro has backed the idea of staging the 2022 World Cup in Qatar in January in a bid to beat the humid Middle East weather.

The international players' union has backed calls to play the 2022 World Cup in Qatar in the the British winter instead of June and July - and claimed that players will be in better shape at that time of year.

FIFA president Sepp Blatter and general secretary Jerome Valcke have both thrown their weight behind moves to stage the tournament in January to avoid the heat problems.

Summer temperatures in Qatar can top 50 degrees C and players' union FIFPro said they are pleased at FIFA's willingness to consider changing the timing to winter.

Tijs Tummers, secretary of FIFPro's technical committee, said: "We will have to take a careful look at the international match calendar, but FIFPro does not foresee any insurmountable problems in this regard.

"Space will have to be made for the tournament, even though many countries already have a winter break.

"In Europe, competitive matches will have to be played in August and the second half of May and the first half of June. If you look at what happened last weekend with weather problems in Europe because of heavy snowfall, you could see this as an advantage rather than as a problem.

"And it might perhaps turn out that the players will be fitter at the start of a winter World Cup than was the case last summer at the World Cup in South Africa."

Tummers questioned the decision by FIFA to have awarded Qatar the tournament based on playing in the summer.

He added: "It is not sensible to award a World Cup in the summer to a country with an average temperature of 41C in June and July, a midday temperature of 50C and above all, extremely high humidity.

"Tourists are advised not to travel to Qatar in the summer months. Inhabitants of Qatar leave the country en masse during this period. The summer months in Qatar also do not provide suitable conditions for a festival of football such as the World Cup should be, including for the supporters.

"The organisers have guaranteed that the temperature inside the stadiums and at the training centres will be reduced to 27C by means of air-conditioning.

"That is all well and good, but it obviously does not fit in with ecological thinking, which we expect to be even more widespread by 2022."

Qatar bid chiefs have insisted that their air conditioning of stadiums and training grounds would be 'carbon neutral' as it would be based on solar energy

Date Posted: 21 Dec 2010 at 9:58pm
"Tourists are advised not to travel to Qatar in the summer months. Inhabitants of Qatar leave the country en masse during this period. The summer months in Qatar also do not provide suitable conditions for a festival of football such as the World Cup should be, including for the supporters.

The stupidity of FIFA is extremely hard to believe, it honestly is. The fact that Qatar even managed to be nominated let alone win this bid shows you what a corrupt bunch of ****s FIFA are.

Date Posted: 22 Dec 2010 at 2:32pm

lose lose either way, no chance i'll travel in the summer unless ireland qualify, would've went to the us or aus, winter tournament messes up the leagues and every holidays from work/college

plus no pubs/clubs - disaster, be popping over to bahrain for a night out
fine for loi fans - will be the tonic for the long off season

Date Posted: 22 Dec 2010 at 2:34pm
I may have to eat humble pie here.

Trap jnr. you make a decent pie?

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2010 at 4:41pm
Lads I just did a bit of research on Qatar there that you may or may not know but is totally shocking.

The size of Qatar is smaller than the area of County Cork and County Kerry combined.  Qatar has an area off 11,437 sq miles. This is less than these 2 counties combined!!!!  Qatar has only 1 city-Doha! Doha plans to have 6 stadiums! What a fookin joke!

It boggles the mind the corruption of FIFA. It has to be the worst decision EVER to award this corrupt, brutal regime the world cup.  Its absolute madness!

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2010 at 6:36pm

Lads I just did a bit of research on Qatar there that you may or may not know but is totally shocking.

The size of Qatar is smaller than the area of County Cork and County Kerry combined.  Qatar has an area off 11,437 sq miles. This is less than these 2 counties combined!!!!  Qatar has only 1 city-Doha! Doha plans to have 6 stadiums! What a fookin joke!

It boggles the mind the corruption of FIFA. It has to be the worst decision EVER to award this corrupt, brutal regime the world cup.  Its absolute madness!

Thanks for that TJ, but could you please amend that comparison to the size of Cork City, otherwise Johnny CCTV wont be able to understand it. I for one, am looking forward to the inevitable public thrashings/stonings of Aido M and Sligo Hornet should we qualify...

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2010 at 7:19pm
aidoM will be getting his knob chopped off for drinking in a public placeLOL

Seriously though this is a farce of biblical proportions. Imagine the chaos this world cup is going to generate.

Problems:

1. Country is not big enough to hold a world cup
2. Only 1 airport in Qatar
3. Only 1 city in Qatar
4. Massive massive shortage of hotel rooms
5. No infrastructurein place and any built will be almost without usage after the world cup e.g. secondary airports in the middle of nowhere
6. Doha to have 6 host stadiums in a small city!! Are u having a laugh!
7. Strict muslim laws allow no public displays of flesh e.g. wives/girlfriends, no alcohol outside of hotel, no pubs, sexual relations outside of marriage is illegal so forget bringing the girlfriend as you may not be allowed to room with her!
8. Never mind all the other strict laws, and harsh punishments!!

This is a farce! I cant get my head around the stupidity and blatent corruption of fifa with that heap of sh*te as head of it.  Its a disaster waiting to happen!

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 25 Dec 2010 at 7:34pm

Seriously though this is a farce of biblical proportions. Imagine the chaos this world cup is going to generate.

Problems:

3. Only 1 city in Qatar
5. No infrastructurein place and any built will be almost without usage after the world cup e.g. secondary airports in the middle of nowhere
7. Strict muslim laws allow no public displays of flesh e.g. wives/girlfriends, no alcohol outside of hotel, no pubs, sexual relations outside of marriage is illegal so forget bringing the girlfriend as you may not be allowed to room with her!

This is a farce! I cant get my head around the stupidity and blatent corruption of fifa with that heap of sh*te as head of it.  Its a disaster waiting to happen!

Howaya Trap, Happy Christmas, Few good points and it will probably be chaos but it's 2022, There will be plenty of time to build airports, hotel rooms, And in terms of number 7 on your list, Is that not a rule for people living in the country only ? Im probably wrong but thought that people on "holiday" etc. could consume girlfriends and alcohol wherever they wanted ?

Date Posted: 26 Dec 2010 at 7:03am
No as far as I know the law applies to all. Both residents and visitors.  Yes hotel rooms wil be built by slave labour as will a white elephant airport that will never be used after the world cup.  Railways will have to be built also but again these  are minor points.   Qatar is a TINY country. Way smaller than the Republic of Ireland. It is smaller than cork and kerry combined. Think about that. Imagine having to fit 12 world cup stadiums in that area! Now to make matters worse imagine only 1 small city in that area.  Imagine Cork City hosting 6 world cup stadiums coz thats the scale we're looking at! Imagine 12 sets of fans mingling together in this small city! Imagine the English with Turks, with Polish and Russians etc... all mingling together!  Qatars other 'towns' are literally fishing villages! Apparently Doha and these places are extremely boring for tourists. Now imagine no pubs/bars (a fans village hopefully will be built but who knows?)  This is a disaster in terms of feasibility and all logic! rumour has it Sepp hasjust added another 3 storeys onto his house.

Date Posted: 26 Dec 2010 at 7:10am

Originally posted by Carmody 10 Carmody 10 wrote:

Problems:

3. Only 1 city in Qatar

Howaya Trap, Happy Christmas, Few good points and it will probably be chaos but it's 2022, There will be plenty of time to build airports, hotel rooms, And in terms of number 7 on your list, Is that not a rule for people living in the country only ? Im probably wrong but thought that people on "holiday" etc. could consume girlfriends and alcohol wherever they wanted ?

Don't think so, sure weren't an English couple imprisoned not so long ago for holding hands in Dubai Was big news.

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2010 at 3:09pm

Problems:

3. Only 1 city in Qatar

Don't think so, sure weren't an English couple imprisoned not so long ago for holding hands in Dubai Was big news.
You can drink in certain  hotels and nightclubs.
Only one off licence in Doha.Which you need a permit to buy booze.
Arrested for public drinking and intoxication.

=disaster,ROI fans are exempt as you wont be their anyway.EmbarrassedWinkLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2010 at 6:18pm

Problems:

3. Only 1 city in Qatar

=disaster,ROI fans are exempt as you wont be their anyway.EmbarrassedWinkLOLLOLLOL

There is 1 nightclub in Doha in which you have to be staying in its attached 5 star hotel. No fans will be staying there. Being drunk in public=imprisonment. showing a bit of leg for women = deportation/imprisonment and abuse from natives. All in all sounds like a barrel of laughs.

Hows beaglehole these days n.iron? Has he any more decent players coming through that we can poach?

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2010 at 8:07pm

Problems:

3. Only 1 city in Qatar

There is 1 nightclub in Doha in which you have to be staying in its attached 5 star hotel. No fans will be staying there. Being drunk in public=imprisonment. showing a bit of leg for women = deportation/imprisonment and abuse from natives. All in all sounds like a barrel of laughs.

Hows beaglehole these days n.iron? Has he any more decent players coming through that we can poach?
  FO.

Date Posted: 28 Dec 2010 at 8:21pm

Problems:

3. Only 1 city in Qatar

Ok Smart ass  .I did not mention women .(FACT0) Just alcohol related.(FACT).
OH .I  Think Mr Beaglehole is doing a fine job.

And also please leave our players alone.You poaching BASDIDS.

Posted By: The Drifter
Date Posted: 28 Dec 2010 at 10:53pm

Problems:

3. Only 1 city in Qatar

FO.

i thought northern  ireland had  a forum by this stage....YBIG (we really would prefer red, blue and white)...no? so you'd prefer to poach off this website...fair enough...

My dream has always been to play for the Republic of Ireland - James McClean.

Date Posted: 29 Dec 2010 at 1:05pm
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DgJHuY_8yz0c&h=ca985 - http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DgJHuY_8yz0c&h=ca985

delighted for the gimp

Date Posted: 29 Dec 2010 at 1:08pm

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DgJHuY_8yz0c&h=ca985 - http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DgJHuY_8yz0c&h=ca985

delighted for the gimp

It's a wonder the fat ***t falling didn't cause an earthquake

Date Posted: 29 Dec 2010 at 1:10pm
what did the poor qataris do to attract all this attention from trap junior

Date Posted: 29 Dec 2010 at 1:18pm

what did the poor qataris do to attract all this attention from trap junior
They didnt give me a bribeOuchCryAngry

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2011 at 7:22am
I cant see this world cup going ahead in qatar. Its been clear from the start that its a total farce. They bought the world cup without thinking it through. The country is tiny, as i said smaller than cork and kerry combined. The weather is a joke so it has to be plyed in january and now they say 'Oh it will be a world cup of the gulf.Its like they ARE ONLY REALISING IT IS A FARCE NOW FFS. Its obvious they are improvising as they go along.  Like had they not thought of the fookin logistics and infrastructure until now?? So now they are dependent on other nations and their co-operation which may or may not happen seeing as it depends on other countries wanting the world cup and expense they would have to incur. Now one of the Qatar bid people is saying they dont want to share the world cup! This is the biggest fookin joke of all time!! 

Seriously lads imagine Cork and Kerry launched a world cup bid of their own. Imagine no fookin decent roads or cities. Imagine stifling heat. Thats what the Qatar world cup bid is like.  People dont understand how small this country is.

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2011 at 7:24am
I would actually really like to have a conversation with a fifa delegate that voted in favour of qatar and ask them what they based their decision on

Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 14 Jan 2011 at 7:28am
zz

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2011 at 7:31am

I would actually really like to have a conversation with a fifa delegate that voted in favour of qatar and ask them what they based their decision on

Do u really need to ask that question?

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2011 at 8:45am

According to the Wall Street Journal money might have had a little influence all right

http://topics.wsj.com/article/SB20001424052970203513204576047681613086452.html

• JANUARY 13, 2011

Qatar's World Cup Spending Spree

Working Within FIFA Rules, Emirate's Bid Committee Paid Celebrities, Expanded Soccer Academy

By http://topics.wsj.com/search/term.html?KEYWORDS=MATTHEW+FUTTERMAN&bylinesearch=true - MATTHEW FUTTERMAN

Qatar's winning bid to hold the 2022 World Cup was marked by a spending spree that included investments in the home countries of several executives who were responsible for choosing the host nation, according to internal documents from the emirate's bidding committee.

The spending sheds light on how FIFA regulations—outlined in the two-page rules of conduct for World Cup host-nation bidding—left the door open for hopefuls to open wallets to exert indirect influence on international soccer's small circle of decision-makers.

Qatar also paid soccer-world luminaries from France, Spain, Argentina and elsewhere who publicly endorsed its bid, according to Qatar bid committee documents and emails reviewed by The Wall Street Journal. Some were paid more than a million dollars in connection with the endorsements, said a person familiar with the situation.

The documents don't show that Qatar violated the rules set down for World Cup host-nation bidding by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association, or FIFA, which in December chose host nations for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups. Rather, they highlight how Qatar worked within FIFA's broad guidelines to win what was initially seen as a quixotic quest to host international soccer's marquee event.

FIFA bidding rules bar prospective hosts from promising favors or gifts to FIFA executives or their representatives. But the rules don't address whether would-be hosts can invest in the home countries of these executives, who, using secret balloting, determine the host of what is arguably the world's most lucrative sporting event.

FIFA's decision to award the World Cup to Qatar capped a scandal-plagued campaign that included allegations that the Qatar committee and Spain-Portugal's 2018 bid committee colluded to trade support from Africa for support from Spanish and Portuguese-speaking countries for the committees' respective bid years. The committees said the allegations weren't true. FIFA's ethics body didn't punish the bid committees, saying it didn't find sufficient grounds to warrant punishment.

An official speaking on behalf of the Qatar bid committee and its chairman, Sheikh Mohammed bin Hamad al-Thani of the Qatar royal family, said Qatar did nothing wrong throughout the bid process.

A FIFA representative said its regulations ensured a fair and ethical competition. "FIFA has established clear rules of conduct for the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cup bidding process, which are also public and available on FIFA.com," the body said in a statement. "The bidding process has been supervised by FIFA's Ethics Committee since the beginning and this Committee acted whenever necessary."

Qatar bid-committee documents outlined how the emirate expanded the activities of a Qatar-based soccer-training academy—Aspire Academy for Sports Excellence, also controlled by the Qatar royal family—into a total of 15 countries world-wide.

One bid-committee document from 2009 states plans to expand grass-roots soccer training in Nigeria and to "build a football academy in Thailand emulating the Aspire Football Dreams Academy in Senegal."

Both Thailand and Nigeria had representatives on FIFA's executive committee who, at the time the document was produced, could provide Qatar with two of the 13 votes it would need on Dec. 2, 2010, to secure hosting rights.

Thailand is home to executive committee member Worawi Makudi. According to people familiar with the FIFA's secret balloting, Mr. Makudi voted for Qatar in the final round.

In keeping with FIFA's rules on confidentiality, Mr. Makudi declined to confirm which country received his vote, but said it had nothing to do with the Thailand Football Dreams program referred to in Qatar's bid documents. "I don't know about this" Qatari plan to build an academy in Thailand, he said in late December, adding that Asian countries often send their best players to Qatar to train. "There is no deal about it at all."

According to the Qatar documents, in 2009, Aspire continued its work in 10 African countries through the Football Dreams program, three of which—Cameroon, Ivory Coast and Nigeria—were home to executive committee members. Executives from Ivory Coast and Cameroon didn't return messages seeking comment. The Nigerian executive declined to comment.

In all, six of the 15 countries singled out by Qatar for Aspire expansion—or 40%—were home to FIFA executives. Internationally, by comparison, FIFA's two dozen executive committee members account for about 12% of its 208 member associations.

Qatar says programs have been held in the countries discussed. The Thailand academy has yet to be built. In a statement, Phil Hall, chairman of a London-based PHA Media, which is representing Qatar2022, said the group is proud of Aspire's academies and programs across the world. "Inevitably some are in countries which are the home of executive committee members and many are not," he said. "At no time were they established to secure votes."

Many in the international soccer community were dubious that FIFA would bring its flagship event to Qatar, which has an average summertime high temperature of more than 100 degrees Fahrenheit and needed an estimated $50 billion in new infrastructure to host the event. Qatar's victory was criticized by Australian, U.K. and U.S. officials, whose bids for 2018 or 2022 were rejected though all received stronger scores for their technical or financial attributes from FIFA consultants.

Qatar officials say the criticism is a result of misconceptions and prejudices against the Middle East.  FIFA has said bringing the World Cup to new lands is central to its mission to expand soccer internationally.

Last week, FIFA President Joseph "Sepp" Blatter said due to the extreme temperatures he expects the 2022 tournament to be held in the winter, breaking with the 90-year tradition of holding the cup during international soccer's traditional off-season.

Confidential Qatar committee bid documents reviewed by the Journal also show that on one occasion, Qatar bid officials and their advisers discussed circumventing a FIFA request, made in a letter to bid committees, not to hold high-profile events during the FIFA World Cup.

In a Jan. 4, 2010, strategy meeting, several top bidding committee executives discussed the need to improve Qatar's standing within the world soccer community by helping South Africa's poor during the 2010 World Cup there. "If FIFA regulations prevent these initiatives then a way has to be found to do these under a different name (e.g. through the embassy or as the State of Qatar)," minutes from the meeting state.

Qatar2022 spokesman Mr. Hall described the minutes as "an expression of strategic thought" and denied the committee attempted to circumvent FIFA rules. "We did not want the projects we planned to support to suffer because they may have been thought to be in contravention of FIFA rules," Mr. Hall said in a statement. "We subsequently concluded that any help from any Qatar organization could be misconstrued and they were NOT followed through."

FIFA regulations don't limit how much prospective bidders can spend. But a 2010 budget document reviewed by the Journal shows Qatar's bid committee had budgeted $43.3 million for marketing and event-related spending for that single year, a figure that hadn't previously been made public.

Qatar declined to disclose its total expenditure for the bid.

By comparison, the Australian government, which financed that country's effort, put its overall tab at $45 million for two years. U.S. bid officials said their campaign cost about $10 million, not counting in-kind contributions for such items as legal services and office space. A spokesman for Russia's successful 2018 bid said the country spent about $30 million, half from private sources and half from the government.

To talk up Qatar's quest, the nation hired an international slate of "bid ambassadors," including French star Zinedine Zidane, according to bid-committee documents. The endorse- ments were important, FIFA officials say, because they helped Qatar establish its legitimacy within FIFA and connections to executive committee members. 

The FIFA rules on cup bidding don't address such payments. The U.S. and U.K. bid committees said they didn't pay celebrities who endorsed or worked on behalf of their bids.

A 2009 document called "Scope of Work for Zinedine Zidane," one of several ambassador documents reviewed by the Journal, proposed paying Mr. Zidane €900,000 ($1.17 million) for a series of appearances and €5,000 for each interview. Mr. Zidane received $3 million in all for his endorsement, a person familiar with the Qatar bid said.

In Qatar's public bid brochure, published last year, Mr. Zidane is quoted saying that what the youth of the Middle East are missing "is an event like the World Cup."

Mr. Zidane couldn't be reached for comment through representatives. A spokesman for Qatar said: "These were confidential arrangements and thus I am unable to comment except to say the figures do not accurately reflect what our ambassadors were paid."

—Wilawan Watcharasakwet in Bangkok contributed to this article.Printed in The Wall Street Journal, page D6

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2011 at 12:57pm
so to summarize:

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2011 at 8:54am
I wonder could we sell them some of ours...

Qatar have developed artificial clouds to provide shade for stadiums and training grounds at the 2022 World Cup.

The extreme heat in summer months in the Middle Eastern country has led to concern about conditions at the tournament, with some suggesting it should be played in the winter.

Qatar say they will air condition the stadia via solar power and now scientists at Qatar University have designed the 'cloud' which can be produced at a cost of US dollars 500,000 each.

Saud Abdul Ghani, head of the mechanical and industrial engineering department, told Gulf News the 'clouds' are made from a lightweight carbon structure carrying a giant envelope of material containing helium gas. Four solar powered engines move the structure via remote control.

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2011 at 12:21pm

I wonder could we sell them some of ours...

Qatar have developed artificial clouds to provide shade for stadiums and training grounds at the 2022 World Cup.

The extreme heat in summer months in the Middle Eastern country has led to concern about conditions at the tournament, with some suggesting it should be played in the winter.

Qatar say they will air condition the stadia via solar power and now scientists at Qatar University have designed the 'cloud' which can be produced at a cost of US dollars 500,000 each.

Saud Abdul Ghani, head of the mechanical and industrial engineering department, told Gulf News the 'clouds' are made from a lightweight carbon structure carrying a giant envelope of material containing helium gas. Four solar powered engines move the structure via remote control.

Is this for real? I know Mercury engineering came up with the ingenious air-conditioning solution for the stadiums but the above story sounds cuckoo!

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2011 at 2:38pm
Here's their cloud. They'd need to be pretty confident that it wouldn't fall out of the sky and kill the 50,000 people in the stadium.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/9435268.stm - http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/9435268.stm

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 6:55am
UFO spotters will have a field day

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2011 at 9:29am
The way the political situation is in the Arab countries I wouldn't be surprised if the World Cup is moved to another safer and 'ready to host the world cup' country. Although it is ages away yet.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2013 at 9:35pm
Artists impression of Al-Gharafa stadium

2 March 2013 Last updated at 20:25 GMT

Medical reports could see winter Qatar World Cup, says Fifa

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21644726#dna-comments" rel="nofollow -
- -

The http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-15202695" rel="nofollow - 2022 World Cup in Qatar could be moved to winter if medical reports show summer temperatures in Qatar would be dangerously high, a senior Fifa official has admitted.

Football's world governing body has always maintained that Qatar would have to make the request to move the tournament.

But speaking at the meeting of the International Football Association Board - the body that governs the laws of football - in Edinburgh, general secretary Jerome Valcke became the first senior Fifa official to say the event could be moved if they receive strong medical advice that it needs to do so.

He said: "Maybe the Fifa Exco [executive committee] will say based on medical reports or whatever: 'We really have to look at playing the World Cup not in summer but in winter.'"

The idea to move the competition away from its traditional start date in June http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/16004787" rel="nofollow - - when temperatures in the Middle East can reach 50C - has previously been backed by http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/16004787" rel="nofollow - Uefa leader Michel Platini and http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/9310671.stm" rel="nofollow - world footballers' union FIFPro.

Fifa president Sepp Blatter's position has given varying views on the issue. In January 2011 he said he http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/9297416.stm" rel="nofollow - expected the competition to begin in the winter, but he then http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/9387891.stm" rel="nofollow - backtracked on that comment a month later.

To allay possible health fears, officials from the emirate have also said that they intend to use air-conditioned stadiums and are researching http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/9435035.stm" rel="nofollow - the potential to create artificial clouds.

It has previously been argued that any decision on moving to a winter date would have to be made by 2014 in order to give national leagues and competitions sufficient time to reorganise their calendars.

However, Valcke believes that the timeframe for any decision could be extended to 2015.

"I am not saying that the case is closed but what I'm saying is as long as we have not fixed the international calendar all alternatives are open," he continued.

"I can tell you there is no working group within Fifa thinking and working on what it means to move the World Cup from summer to winter for the time being.

"The international calendar has been agreed for 2015 to 2018, meaning that we kept open all potential for the period 2019 to 2022. We have time.

"I think it would be good to have a final decision about when this World Cup will be played and have an agreement between all the football family, but it's in 2022, nine years, and we have two World Cups to organise in Brazil and Russia, so there is some time."

Posted By: c90
Date Posted: 02 Mar 2013 at 9:40pm
any excuse to watch this LOLClap
the turkeys LOL

Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Lawrence Of Arabia, Elton John! Yiz can all go f**k yerselves

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2013 at 9:50pm
Or they could just build stadiums with roofs on them and let the AC do the work Confused

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2013 at 10:02pm
Ah it'll be grand

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2013 at 10:12pm
Winter or summer, air con or no air con. honestly, are we really that concerned?!

all i want to know is will they let us drink pints out there

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2013 at 10:17pm

Winter or summer, air con or no air con. honestly, are we really that concerned?!

Seeing as budweiser is one of fifas main sponsors what do you think

My only gripe will be that there won't be anything else but that pisswater allowed in qatar.

Date Posted: 02 Mar 2013 at 10:20pm

Seeing as budweiser is one of fifas main sponsors what do you think

My only gripe will be that there won't be anything else but that pisswater allowed in qatar.

In 50 degree heat Coleman, you wont be complaining

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2013 at 11:58pm

English FA have come out and said it should be moved to the Winter. Knew the spinless c*nts wouldn't come out and say Qatar is unsuitable full stop Thumbs Down 

Be interesting to see what The US and Austalian FA's do if it is moved give that they all bidded for a WC to be held in June.

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2013 at 12:52am
If Israel where to qualify for this will they be allowed to compete??

Posted By: Dukla
Date Posted: 10 Aug 2013 at 2:09am

If Israel where to qualify for this will they be allowed to compete??

Qatar have already said they will be allowed to play, but they wont qualify in anyway. Sure all of their young men will be too busy defending the land that was given to them by God himself from those Arabs in the West Bank in anyway.

Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 10 Aug 2013 at 1:09pm
You would swear they didn't know about the climate over there and that it was a surprise. Should never have got the World Cup based on climate alone. 

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2013 at 1:32pm
FIFA have just released a statement:

''The concerns over the climate for the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup are incorrect and illinformed.  Due to the much anticipated global warming that is due to occur in the latter half of this decade the gulf stream will be thrown off its course and the whole of the northern hemisphere will be cooled an average of 20 degrees celcius thus reducing the average summer temperature in Qatar to a pleasant 21 degrees. We anticipate a successful World Cup in Qatar and a great festival of no alcohol, strict living and beheadings.''

Prof. Ricardo Di Bribe Accept,
Fifa Medical and Climate Bureau,
Switzerland.

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2013 at 3:33pm
The cheques must have all bounced

****head says now it may have been a mistake giving this too them

Posted By: Flanno7hi
Date Posted: 10 Sep 2013 at 4:11pm
Never mind the AC in the stadia. They will need to dig an amazing tunnel system fo us pasty uefa lads to stay out of the 50C sun.

There'll be no drinking in the square, booting a ball around at this one.

f**king madness.

What's the pickpocket situation like there? I guess BSM might know?

Date Posted: 10 Sep 2013 at 8:44pm
One of the host cities isn't even built yet! 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lusail

And no, I don't mean the stadium isn't built yet, the CITY doesn't even exist yet!

Date Posted: 19 Sep 2013 at 11:00pm
UEFA members have back the proposal to move it to the winter  Thumbs Down 

Hope the Aussies,Yanks and Koreans  sue the f*cking hole off FIFA. They bidded on the premise that the WC was to be held in June/July as did Qatar. Qatar evidently aren't capable of doing so due to the weather conditions so should be stripped of the tournament and a re-vote between the USA,Aus and Korea should take place.

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 19 Sep 2013 at 11:18pm
Yeh I don't get this. There's been all this talk about switching it to the winter and FIFA say things like it definitely can't be held in the summer in Qatar and the Premier League opposing it. FIFA say well there's nothing else we can do, it can't be held in the summer yet the Premier League or any other association haven't come out and say well yeh there is, you could take the f**king thing off Qatar!! They won the vote for a summer World Cup and can't deliver on it. Therefore it should be between the other countries who were involved and who can deliver a summer World Cup. Why does no one come out and say this??? There seems an acceptance that it has to be in Qatar no matter what. 

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 12:47am
Has an April-May tournament being examined, as a sort of compromise solution?

The 50c is a nice headline figure, but it rarely hits it. Even in Kuwait the max temperature in high summer is rarely above 45c. And as most games will be played at night anyway, it won't be 50 at ko. Rovers played in Belgrade in 35c and won, so something in the 35-40c range is playable, and watchable.

Playing there in April-May is cooler, and easier for other leagues to accept. They can either finish their leagues earlier, or work around them, as happens in rugby.

VAR: Cutting the crap out of football.

Posted By: HateHenry
Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 1:27am
rugby???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
??

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 7:07am
Until Blatter and his cronies refund the extra storey's on their houses the WC will be in winter

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 9:00am

I agree it is something FIFA should have thought about before awarding the World Cup to Qatar but it is 9 years away.

Most leagues should be able to organise something so it doesn't affect them so much.

The Majority European leagues have winter breaks anyway, all they have to do is perhaps start season month earlier say Early July and then finish them in later mid/late June.

If the EPL followed suit they shouldn't have any issue

Posted By: jinky
Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 9:13am
The last world cup was played in winter so don't see the problem

tir gan teanga ,tir gan anam

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 9:45am
It was nearly 50C (120F) in Orlando in 94 when we played the Mexicanos.
Horrible experience on and off the pitch.
500 Irish fans carried out of there that day.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 9:52am
Why do people have a problem with this? How does it affect ye???

The clubs should be annoyed alright but the ordinary Joe??

Posted By: scottyccfc
Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 10:11am
Originally posted by jinky jinky wrote:

The last world cup was played in winter so don't see the problem
I fear you are missing the point!

Hometown football, cant beat the feeling...

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 10:14am

Well if they decide to have it in november or january its a bit of a pain for most people
World cup should always be june/july. 
It was a decision made by Fifa on money purposes solely. They should feel the full force of all european leagues who I hope refuse to release players

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 11:27am

That country is not suitable for tourists. Too strict a regime for people to have fun. Plus getting holidays in January is a pain for fans. Its going to be a sh*te world cup in a sh*te country. Its only there because of bribes.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 11:36am

I was there as a 9 year old, still with me to this day how horrible that day was heat was unbearable.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 12:43pm

I was there as a 9 year old, still with me to this day how horrible that day was heat was unbearable.

FIFA telling the fans to drink loads of water.
Water taken off the fans entering the stadium and told you can buy water inside.
I know Anericans are fat obese kunts but Coca-Cola is not water.
As you know caffeine de-hydrates.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 12:50pm
Play the tournament at night instead of during to winter??

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/world-cup-qatar-2022-fifa-2287808" rel="nofollow - http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/world-cup-qatar-2022-fifa-2287808

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 12:56pm
Caffeine does not dehydrate as much as you take in, though, not even close. You have to drink something like 8 cups of regular coffee before it dehydrates you 1 cup of water more than drinking 8 cups of water would.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 12:59pm

Play the tournament at night instead of during to winter??

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/world-cup-qatar-2022-fifa-2287808" rel="nofollow - http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/world-cup-qatar-2022-fifa-2287808
What is this the Vampire World cup...don't think that would be an option

but saying that what be the time difference

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 1:02pm
Glad to hear the aussies are suing for costs

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 2:20pm

Caffeine does not dehydrate as much as you take in, though, not even close. You have to drink something like 8 cups of regular coffee before it dehydrates you 1 cup of water more than drinking 8 cups of water would.

How much caffeine is in a gigantic American sized bucket of Coke ????

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 2:53pm
Even less than a gigantic American sized bucket of coffee. Coke is not full of caffeine. Quite a small amount honestly.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 3:12pm

Even less than a gigantic American sized bucket of coffee. Coke is not full of caffeine. Quite a small amount honestly.

So what gives you that buzz ?

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 3:16pm
I am still very optimistic Qatar will be stripped of the World Cup.  Alot of years yet for the dirty politics to become public and everyone will know how shambolic the decision was based on bribery and when it does it's bye bye Qatar.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2013 at 3:16pm
Google tells me there is 30-35mg of caffeine on 12oz of Coke.
Slightly less than an expresso.