home page

Category: YouBoysInGreen Fanzine
Forum Name: Feedback/Ideas
Forum Description: Let us know what you think and any ideas?
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=2601
Printed Date: 17 May 2024 at 11:39pm

Topic: home page
Subject: home page
Date Posted: 31 May 2008 at 4:46pm
do any of yis go to the home page or do you go straight to the forum?

Date Posted: 31 May 2008 at 4:58pm
9/10 straight to forum Bob

Date Posted: 31 May 2008 at 5:35pm
does anyone read the latest news?

Posted By: Donal Cullen
Date Posted: 31 May 2008 at 5:38pm
I have both pages (the forum and the YBIG) as favourites and check both regularly. However this is the one I mainly go to.

Date Posted: 31 May 2008 at 8:00pm
straight to forum , do not pass go , do not collect fcuk all

Date Posted: 31 May 2008 at 9:14pm
Good night Roger yeah?

Straight to the forum Bob first of all and then to home page if something is linked on the forum to home page

Date Posted: 31 May 2008 at 10:09pm
As I suspected (serious detective work there) there is nothing to attract regular users to the home home page, so to rectify said problem any suggestions????

Now please understand myself, Ger and Dave are f**king busy enough with our own jobs so any suggestions have to be relevant to the amount of time we can commit to.

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2008 at 4:46am
yeah send a few suggestions on lads!

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2008 at 9:22am
How about instead of heaving two SUSCRIBE tabs on the site you could use one as a direct link to the forum with the latest posings shown. You could also add a link which would either divide the screen in two (left Forum, right YBIG) or a smaller box which you can use the forum in and still have access to the site. Similarly, you could do the same for this forum with a link to WHAT ON THE YBIG SITE NOW. That and the nude woman of the day would be great!

Date Posted: 01 Jun 2008 at 12:59pm
 why dont you link some news feeds in ? also have a look at what the kerrydalestreet lads do , loads of links to the latest articles , although that might be a little time consuming...

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2008 at 8:25am
can you put a link of some sorts on the forum that takes you to the home page/link to news stories??
actually, think that's what roger is saying already

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2008 at 9:05am
put naked women on the homepage.simple

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2008 at 9:20am
As per my previous suggestion, merge chatsoccer sites with ybig?

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2008 at 10:42am
interesting soccerc...

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2008 at 6:42am
lads what about we put some opinion pieces up on the homepage , it will be weeks before the next YBIG and i bet donal , FW , myself and a few more could knock up a few articles on Irish football solely for the homepage which might attract a few readers.  theres load of topics to write about and if people know that there will be a piece or two every week then they willl check more often

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2008 at 4:11am
not to mention a percy rant or two , that would surely get the punters signing on...

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2008 at 6:52am
Interesting, Roger. But we need a link on the forum page which will highlight a feature on the actual site. Maybe a Half and half page which will show both. Don't mind doing a piece or two for the site but I am running out of Colleen is a slapper poems....

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2008 at 7:01am

there is a celtic site called etims.net and they do regular opinion pieces from about 20 regular contributers , they get a lot of hits , have a look on it and you can see the kind of stuff would be easy to produce from a republic of ireland aspect , reminisces of great games , sl*gging the manager , praising certain players , financial stuff etc etc

Date Posted: 18 Jun 2008 at 12:27pm
yeah great idea lads, would be quality as would help me update the site when im mad busy or whatever... Bob Hoskins can stick them on the homepage aswell from the forumThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2008 at 10:41am
lads have you had a think about this , want some articles submitted ?

Date Posted: 04 Jul 2008 at 12:05pm
defo Roger, would be great for the site + readers!

What about sticking them up here in this thread for the moment while we sort something out and I will copy them up for the meantime?

Any ideas?

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2008 at 1:11pm
quite a few ideas count !!
donal , can you knock up something too ?
anyone else fancy an article?

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2008 at 6:04am

quite a few ideas count !!
donal , can you knock up something too ?
anyone else fancy an article?

Don't really know what you would like RM but I can do a piece on Irish soccer history or a stats piece or maybe a piece on the current side. Don't really know. Am beginning to feel like Stephen Ireland and need a bit of direction in my life. I've got the razor in my hand as I writeLOL

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2008 at 6:15am
good stuff lads, even small pieces are perfect aswell, all of them dont have to be novels!

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2008 at 2:19am
deffo a historical piece donal , a spotlight on a pre or postwar player maybe ? thats your forte!

I will have my piece knocked up by friday.

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2008 at 6:27am
Fair play lads, fair play

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 07 Jul 2008 at 9:26am
I found a piece on my laptop which i had half-written a year or two ago that was supposed to be a rant for a YBOG issue but actually turned into more of a trip down memory lane. I'll finish it off by the end of the week and post up here.

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2008 at 11:24am
good man BillybobThumbs%20Up

Posted By: Percy
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2008 at 4:21pm
scrap the news bit .... nobody reads through it i'd say... it all appears in the forum anyway

have a link on homepage to a MOANZONE

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2008 at 5:28pm
you willing to add to it Percy, your daily moanyhole blog?

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2008 at 6:13pm

you willing to add to it Percy, your daily moanyhole blog?

FFS, it's enlightenment we seek, not fcuking depressionSmile

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2008 at 9:48am
hows the articles coming along lads?

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2008 at 9:49am
Slowly. Will have a bash tonight

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2008 at 8:25am
hows the articles coming along lads?

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2008 at 9:24am
rushed off me feet here at work count , will get it done soon !

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2008 at 9:28am
Slowly. Will have a bash tonight.

Date Posted: 16 Jul 2008 at 9:37am
Will try get a piece done before end of the week.....

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2008 at 6:24am
my article is coming along lads , about half way through

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2008 at 8:16am
right , Done!!

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2008 at 8:22am
good man Roger, send it on to contact@youboysingreen.ie Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2008 at 2:45pm
Got a good chunk done there so will try finish on company time tomorrow.

Date Posted: 17 Jul 2008 at 5:26pm
good man Billybob, Rog is up there now on homepage

Posted By: gouldinho
Date Posted: 18 Jul 2008 at 9:58am
How about a bit where ireland supporters can send in pictures of their irish supporting wifes and girlfriends!

Date Posted: 18 Jul 2008 at 11:27am
go for it GouldinhoThumbs%20Up

We have a YBIG page 3 for the You girls in green each issue

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2008 at 11:58am
Holy tschittt! Completely forgot about itEmbarrassed and my publisher is due over today to see what the hell I have been up to. Sent you a piece on Ireland's managers some time ago, Count, will that do until I get out of trouble with my Southend-supporting friend? Could also send you the complete list of debut scorers which I have to hand.

Date Posted: 19 Jul 2008 at 2:48pm
yeah send on again Donal as cand find it in email, good man Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2008 at 6:19am
come on lads , i'm looking lonely up there on my own!

count i will knock up another one in the next week

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2008 at 6:26am
good man Roger! Thumbs%20Uptune in lads

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2008 at 4:56pm
Donals is up there nowThumbs%20Up
http://www.ybig.ie/news_detail.asp?id=501&SectionId=3 - http://www.ybig.ie/news_detail.asp?id=501&SectionId=3

Date Posted: 22 Jul 2008 at 10:01am
Good stuff Donal.

Eoin hand 20 losses out of 40 was a surprise, terrible record