URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=24739
Printed Date: 19 Mar 2024 at 7:31am

Topic: Sunderland Thread
Subject: Sunderland Thread
Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 10:31am
Were an absolute disgrace today.......let Bruce down big time, no heart, no fight, no brains, nothing.  Players should re-imburse their fans for that excuse for a performance.

Delighted for Hughton though. Clap

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 10:34am

Were an absolute disgrace today.......let Bruce down big time, no heart, no fight, no brains, nothing.  Players should re-imburse their fans for that excuse for a performance.

Delighted for Hughton though. Clap
Delighted for the man, Just shows how much the players are behind him, They fought to the final whistle(derby or not).

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 10:54am
At 4-0 Sunderland just ran around trying to injure the Newcastle players. For a 10 minute period Cattermole was a disgrace with his tackles. Bruce thankfully gave him the hook after it.

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 11:28am
Serves the ****s right. What ever happened to SundIreland

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 11:43am
I forgot about Double Maxim and his crew.

Posted By: The Big Club
Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 12:30pm
Superb win for us hopefully will shut the hughton anti brigade up, man is a legend IMO great manager working with limited resources compared to previuos managers who have done a worse job.

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 12:43pm
Absolutely gutted and ashamed to call myself a Sunderland fan after watching that Angry Bruce cant be spared from criticism he"s after spending a fortune since he"s taken over....No fight or passion in a derby match Ermm Thinking about heading to watch them away to Chelsea after that result it could be put on the back burner!!!

Posted By: The Rovers
Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 1:01pm
Great win for newcastle, glad for hughton aswell, has done a terrific job, cant see why there is an anti hughton brigade up there at all. Great hat trick for nolan, his sisters will be delighted.

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 2:02pm
SAFC were dreadful today and a disgrace to the shirt.

Bruce needs to take a good look at himself 4 5 1  nonsense yet again.

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 2:03pm

What ever happened to your support of Arsenal & the Gers and do you actually attend any Shels matches !

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 2:24pm

What ever happened to your support of Arsenal & the Gers and do you actually attend any Shels matches !

No i dont go. Shels matches are on Sky in 3D now a days so theres no point in going

Posted By: magnumpi
Date Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 2:59pm
shame hughton has to manage the club with the scummiest, most fickle fans in england. wishhim well as a manager, but not with the barcodes.

Posted By: Wearside Bhoy
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 2:24am
Shocking performance the pressure is right on Bruce now.

TJ Doyles,Sunderland probably the best Irish pub in the world.

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 11:21am
hughton should be offered a new contract now!! Clap

Date Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 12:08pm
Originally posted by Mr.Mojo Risin' Mr.Mojo Risin' wrote:

hughton should be offered a new contract now!! Clap

Got a lot of time for CH done very well in difficult circumstances.

Posted By: Jonesy
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2010 at 5:10am
We will bounce back but Stoke and Kenwynne Jones are going to be right up for it on Saturday.

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Posted By: AKOT
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2010 at 4:04pm

4 irish lads from mayo went over 1 lad of 20 from mayo got stabbed and died this morning  Cry

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2011 at 9:59am
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0216/sunderland.html - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0216/sunderland.html
how are they doing this?

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2011 at 11:40am
wages must be chronic...I assume the Darren Bent sale isn't included in those figures.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2011 at 12:52am
Lee Cattermole has broken his back. Thumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2011 at 2:05am
Originally posted by Wearside Bhoy Wearside Bhoy wrote:

Lee Cattermole has broken his back. Thumbs%20Down
OuchOuchpainful stuff

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2011 at 2:50am
That will keep him from chalking up a few yellow cards so!

Posted By: Wild Rover
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2011 at 7:54am
Originally posted by colemany2k colemany2k wrote:

wages must be chronic...I assume the Darren Bent sale isn't included in those figures.

Nowhere near the loss of Man U L/pool Newcastle Villa etc.

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2011 at 3:27pm
Originally posted by Wild Rover Wild Rover wrote:

Originally posted by colemany2k colemany2k wrote:

Nowhere near the loss of Man U L/pool Newcastle Villa etc.

Exactly a drop in the ocean compared to some.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2011 at 1:18am

An urban myth about Catts.

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2011 at 12:47am
Originally posted by Jonesy Jonesy wrote:

An urban myth about Catts.

Turner fecked again. Thumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2011 at 3:51am
Catts could be back for the Arsenal match.

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 29 May 2011 at 1:04am
I would be pleased with the rumoured double swoop from Brum of Seb Larsson and Roger Johnson. Thumbs UpClapThumbs Up

Date Posted: 29 May 2011 at 3:58am
I would love SAFC to sign Kevin Doyle and Charles N'Zogbia.

Date Posted: 29 May 2011 at 4:39am
Looks like SAFC target David Vaughan is off to Ibrox.

Date Posted: 30 May 2011 at 12:08pm

I would be pleased with the rumoured double swoop from Brum of Seb Larsson and Roger Johnson. Thumbs UpClapThumbs Up

Seb Larsson is loking nailed on now. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 30 May 2011 at 2:46pm
whats the craic with westwood ?

Date Posted: 31 May 2011 at 11:14am
3 SAFC pre matches in Germany I fancy that a bit of serious drinking

Date Posted: 31 May 2011 at 12:44pm

Good signing Smile

I would love to see N'Zogbia here , Johnson and a fit Turner at centre half would be awesome!!
We need two strikers i feel one big name and one up and coming younger striker would be grand , we need to push on next season!!

Date Posted: 31 May 2011 at 1:04pm

Good signing Smile

I would love to see N'Zogbia here , Johnson and a fit Turner at centre half would be awesome!!
We need two strikers i feel one big name and one up and coming younger striker would be grand , we need to push on next season!!

Charles N'Zogbia would be a quality signing. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 10:45am
Looking forward to the Hibs trip now that its definite. Approve

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 1:02pm
Opinion on Jordan Henderson lads ?

Posted By: Siralex
Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 1:54pm
Jordan Henderson is a top quality talent - bg fulls of potential.  Is a young player who is brilliant with teh ball at his feet and who still has loads to learn about the game...particularly how he should work when not on the ball.

But it's in the balance on whether he fills that potential as it is with any player who shows class at a young age.

It all depends on what his next move is.  If he goes to a club with a manager who doesn't specialise in developing players then his career could easily stall (as it does with MOST players at this stage)...or he could go to a club with a manager who thrives in developing players and he could fulfill his potential.

Anything could happen for him from now on. He needs a great manager..if he moves.

If I keep writing enough hagiographic articles on Man Utd, they might give me a job

Date Posted: 02 Jun 2011 at 3:40pm
I really rate Jordan Henderson but hes not the finished article. He loves playing for Sunderland as he is Wearside born and bred. The boys got a great future and is level headed and committed eg stays behind for extra training.

I have a feeling that when the big kick is upon us in August Hendo will still be a Sunderland player I certainly hope so.

Date Posted: 03 Jun 2011 at 3:39am
Hopefully its all just paper talk like the rumours about Gyan leaving.

Date Posted: 03 Jun 2011 at 4:48am
Is there any talk of players actually signing for Sunderland rather than players leaving?

Date Posted: 03 Jun 2011 at 5:05am

Is there any talk of players actually signing for Sunderland rather than players leaving?

We've been linked with Westwood C N'Zogbia D Gibson W Brown Figueroa Robbie Keane (yet again ) Crouch Vaughan Adam and Seb Larsson.

Date Posted: 03 Jun 2011 at 1:51pm
SAFC have rubbished both the Hendo & Catts bids.

Date Posted: 03 Jun 2011 at 7:00pm
Looks like the gibson & brown buys from man u are a non starter

Date Posted: 04 Jun 2011 at 8:25am

Looks like the gibson & brown buys from man u are a non starter

£12 million for the pair was the rumour!! No thanks.....

Date Posted: 05 Jun 2011 at 5:48am
We've been linked with Brums Craig Gardener is the local press this morning.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2011 at 12:48pm
£15m for hendo i still would not take it

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2011 at 1:06pm

£15m for hendo i still would not take it

£15 million for Henderson is a serious price!! I would take it fact , £15 million for an academy graduate is great for the club!! Colback could replace him in time

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2011 at 3:06pm
dont want to be seen as a selling club

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2011 at 3:44pm

dont want to be seen as a selling club
Well until Sunderland start winning trophies it's unfortunately a case of tough sh*t.

Date Posted: 06 Jun 2011 at 3:45pm
Everyclub has a certain "selling club" rep with some being bigger and some being smaller than others!!

Bruce needs to buy versatile players and keep bringing in a few players a season on loan , its not ideal but it lowers costs....

GK sitchy is grand , we need atleast one new Defender esp at Centre Half , one out and out Winger and one creative goal scoring Centre Midfielder and two Strikers one to partner Gyan and one younger striker who can make an impact off the bench....

Funny thing is if we got N'Zogbia , Danns or Johnson and i believe signing someone like Demba Ba is a must because he knows how to score and he is also big and strong , i would love to see him at Sunderland and one or two more players we would be fighting for top 8!!! Crouch , Brown etc etc are not what i want at the club....

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 12:37am
Talking about £20 mill for Jordan Henderson now .

Can't see the Peter Crouch deal happening don't want him anyway given that he's already turned us down.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 5:54pm
Been on SSN Henderson set for medical at Anfield tomorrow. Deal worth £20 mill David NGog coming to Sunderland as part of the deal.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 5:56pm

Been on SSN Henderson set for medical at Anfield tomorrow. Deal worth £20 mill David NGog coming to Sunderland as part of the deal.
Enjoy LOL

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 6:02pm
I wish Hendo well but he's far from the finished article.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 6:09pm
Agreed.

Liverpool are taking a big big chance paying 20 Mill for the lad but time will tell like the Carroll transfer.

Where in the squad do you want to see that money re-invested now lads ?

Posted By: Gavintheslob
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 6:39pm
cant believe we are spending 20 million on this lad, how in the hell is he worth 3 million less then suarez, havent seen that much of him but what i have seen i havent been impressed, there goes a big chunk of our transfer budget on an unproven player

Its very frustrating being a Slob

Posted By: Emerald
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 7:32pm
Clap Well done Sunderland, you've matched the Geordies in the "Let's rip-off LFC" competition. In fact you've surpassed them, fair play. Quinny will be laughing all the way to the bank. LOL Clap Thumbs Up

Posted By: walsheman
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 8:23pm
its not about 11m then ngog aswell?if it is,it aint so bad

Going To The Euro's,Poland and Ukraine 2012 HO HO!!!!

twitter.......@walsheman

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:00am
Originally posted by Carmody 10 Carmody 10 wrote:

Agreed.

Liverpool are taking a big big chance paying 20 Mill for the lad but time will tell like the Carroll transfer.

Where in the squad do you want to see that money re-invested now lads ?

Charles N'Zogbia  Seb Larsson Roger Johnson and Kevin Doyle for starters.

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 3:06am
Originally posted by walsheman walsheman wrote:

its not about 11m then ngog aswell?if it is,it aint so bad

I would be hugely surprised if it was 20million + N'gog. Mad and all as it sounds N'gog is probably 7m of that deal and i would also think there is add ons etc and it will rise to the value of 20m over time....

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Posted By: MintBerryCrunch
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 3:09am
Ngog 7million

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 3:43am
Originally posted by MintBerryCrunch MintBerryCrunch wrote:

Ngog 7million

7 million for ngog lads would ye stop

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 5:10am

Ngog 7million

7 million for ngog lads would ye stop

7 million stmps maybe

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 5:12am
Henderson since he is very young can really only improve and will have a decent sell on value.
I can only see LFC sanctioning the purchase of young players so they can sell for whatever reason.

I dont know too much about Hernderson myself I know he is not worth 20mil but is he any use?

Posted By: heyirish
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 5:28am

Ngog 7million

Well if Andy Carroll is worth 35m. N'gog is only 20/21 and I bet there is a value of around that on ngog as part of the transfer

Whether he is worth it is a different argument

karl pilkington to doctor when getting prostate examined: jesus thats high up that is, fcuking hell, right you're touching a lung now

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 6:32am
I see us spending so much on these young players because if for whatever reason it doesn't work, they are still worth a fair few quid to us. Henderson i do not know much about, but if he can be half decent, at that age, then we would still get maybe 12m back for him or something. It's a gamble but at least we are getting our men. Think Aquilini is a good example of how these owners are working, we won't sell for less than 16m which is only a few million less than we paid for him and he was a massive flop

Posted By: Justice No. 1
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 10:19am
Originally posted by Emerald Emerald wrote:

Clap Well done Sunderland, you've matched the Geordies in the "Let's rip-off LFC" competition. In fact you've surpassed them, fair play. Quinny will be laughing all the way to the bank. LOL Clap Thumbs Up

LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Posted By: farfar
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 11:02am
hopefully the bid for gibson is accepted

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 11:32am
SSN news have confirmed that SAFC have bid £12 mill for O'Shea Gibson & Brown.

I would be happy with the first two.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 11:39am
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_6971322,00.html - http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_6971322,00.html

Not a chance in hell of getting O'Shea. Gibson and Brown are defo gone!

Posted By: Mick_G
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 11:41am

Be surprised if O'Shea was sold and for so cheap aswell Gibson and brown worth 12million but O'Shea is surly worth more then that ????

f**kin madness that Henderson is sold for 20mill and Andy Carrol 35mill and jet jos is worth 4 million the mind boggles

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 11:45am
The deal for Henderson is worth 15 million....

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 11:47am
Originally posted by Mick_G Mick_G wrote:

Be surprised if O'Shea was sold and for so cheap aswell Gibson and brown worth 12million but O'Shea is surly worth more then that ????

f**kin madness that Henderson is sold for 20mill and Andy Carrol 35mill and jet jos is worth 4 million the mind boggles
Sure O'Shea isn't English!

The way SSN are reporting it they seem to know that two are definetley Brown and Gibson and that they believe the third is O'Shea.
My guess the third player is Johnny Evans and not O'Shea.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 11:50am

Originally posted by Mick_G Mick_G wrote:

Sure O'Shea isn't English!

The way SSN are reporting it they seem to know that two are definetley Brown and Gibson and that they believe the third is O'Shea.

Honestly do if you were a manager why on earth would you buy an English player when you know your paying twice the price dor him because he's English ??????

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 11:51am
Great move for Gibson hope he grabs it with both hands

Posted By: MintBerryCrunch
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 12:20pm
Rumours are rife on United forums its O'shea, hope it aint so Cry!

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 12:47pm
Not a chance Fergie will sell O'Shea IMO

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:25pm
Johnny Evans is the third player,not John O'Shea.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:29pm

Exactly what I said.

O'Shea is valued at 10 million at least by United.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:35pm

Exactly what I said.

Lets get this on twitter Clap

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:43pm

Exactly what I said.

Lets get this on twitter Clap

Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:49pm
United supposed to be interested in Raphaël Varane a French centre back which would back up the theory its Evans. Can't see Ferguson selling O'Shea, United are light enough in the full back department.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:51pm
Well United have Rio,Vidic,Smalling and now Jones so theres no room at the inn for Evans now I think.

Posted By: Dunne23
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:51pm
I reckon Jones is in to replace Evans, though I wouldn't mind O'Shea going if he was guaranteed a starting place.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 1:57pm
if united get sunderland to pay wes browns bus fare up there its a great deal for united, he would struggle in the championship, one of the poorest united players of recent times

Posted By: MacMathuna
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 2:01pm
Originally posted by packiesglove packiesglove wrote:

if united get sunderland to pay wes browns bus fare up there its a great deal for united, he would struggle in the championship, one of the poorest united players of recent times
thought u were talking about O'shea there before edit LOL
yapster in desguise i thoughtAngry

Sinne Fianna Fáil atá fé gheall ag Éirinn.

Posted By: Siralex
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 2:12pm
The Sunderland bids are for Brown, O'Shea and Gibson.  But that's all it is - a bid.

While Brown is likely to be on his way now...I'd be surprised if Gibbo and Sheasy were sold.  But what I'm most baffled about is some posters on here thinking it'd be ok to shift Jonny Evans who Alex Ferguson described just two months ago as "the future". 

If I keep writing enough hagiographic articles on Man Utd, they might give me a job

Posted By: SteviesGranny
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 2:18pm
Originally posted by Siralex Siralex wrote:

The Sunderland bids are for Brown, O'Shea and Gibson.  But that's all it is - a bid.

While Brown is likely to be on his way now...I'd be surprised if Gibbo and Sheasy were sold.  But what I'm most baffled about is some posters on here thinking it'd be ok to shift Jonny Evans who Alex Ferguson described just two months ago as "the future". 

Whats the breakdown of the fees for each player do you know?

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 2:52pm
Originally posted by Siralex Siralex wrote:

With Jones (assuming he will sign) and Smalling there now,would you not think Evans would be surplus to requirements?I know Jones can play in midfield too but I would have thought that this is the end of Evans (not that I would personally get rid of him).

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 3:20pm
Isnt Brown on k£50 a week at united, surely Sunderland aint gonna match that

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 4:40pm
Theres a surprise Darren Bent and Jordan Henderson have the same agent. Angry

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2011 at 12:57am
South Korean striker Ji Dong Won is being linked with SAFC. Decent international record six goals in eleven matches.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2011 at 2:18am

Theres a surprise Darren Bent and Jordan Henderson have the same agent. Angry
dawg getting paid bigtime

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2011 at 3:13am
theres few poor agents

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2011 at 3:22am

South Korean striker Ji Dong Won is being linked with SAFC. Decent international record six goals in eleven matches.

His brother Ji Dong Lost is fookin useless Embarrassed

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2011 at 11:29am
Seems like Darron Gibson wants to sign for us. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2011 at 3:42am
Local paper over here seems confident that SAFC will buy Charles N'Zogbia for £9 mill + I would be happy with that.

Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 12:35am
Craig Gordon being linked with Celtic on local radio this morning.

Posted By: Dunne23
Date Posted: 13 Jun 2011 at 5:18am

Craig Gordon being linked with Celtic on local radio this morning.

Really can't see that happening, Sunderland would be looking big money for I reckon.