URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=23827
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 4:29am

Topic: Niall Quinn
Posted By: Jonesy
Subject: Niall Quinn
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 6:30am
Happy 44th birthday today big fella. A legend on Wearside.

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 7:02am
A gent Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 8:27am

A giant Thumbs%20Up

Fixed that for you McG. He must have been a nightmare for centre halves.

Saw him a few weeks ago at a garage on the Naas Road. He made time to stop and chat to me and others about Sunderland, Ireland and football in general.

Top guy.

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 8:38am
Legend!Thumbs%20Up

Posted By: Justice No. 1
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 8:39am
Great Bloke

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 12:09pm
Thumbs%20Up

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 12:10pm
Enjoy

True gent.

Posted By: Stretchryan
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 1:36pm
A couple year back before he got involved with Sunderland you would meet him on the terrace at all the Tipp hurling matches. True gent

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 1:39pm
top manThumbs%20Up

Posted By: Mayo Mick
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 1:39pm
..he has some brilliant stories...would be a great man to go with for a few pints..

Posted By: irelandshirts
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 2:59pm
a very underrated footballer from what he started out as.left arsenal and got a first touch.they are his words not mine!!great goalscorer for ireland which gets forgotten about.briefly held the all time scoreing record.and as everyone before me has said- a smashing bloke and a gent.had a few pints with him after the germany game in 2002 and he has sum stories bout the irish team drinking!!top man.Clap

WWW.IRELANDSOCCERSHIRTS.COM

Posted By: willGUFC
Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 5:20pm
seems a nice lad

Date Posted: 06 Oct 2010 at 5:30pm
Originally posted by Mayo Mick Mayo Mick wrote:

..he has some brilliant stories...would be a great man to go with for a few pints..

The only pro footballer thats ever bought me pints on two separate occasions.ClapClapClap

Hope you had a good birthday big man. 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 9:24am
Came across this video last night. Some player in his day, under-rated maybe?? Unreal in the air

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KpJ0Guoh2c" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KpJ0Guoh2c

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 10:15am
Rubbish pundit and Sky should get rid of him as a pundit.  

Very good player for Ireland though and seems like a nice guy. 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 1:00pm

Came across this video last night. Some player in his day, under-rated maybe?? Unreal in the air

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KpJ0Guoh2c" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KpJ0Guoh2c

Check out the amount of perfect crosses the man city no 7 David Whyte delievers for quinns goals in that clip.Its the type of quality final ball lacking from a lot of modern wide men inc mcgeady.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 1:26pm
sh*te pundit and generally comes across as a creep.

Posted By: d13dave
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 1:34pm
i dont want to address the niall quinn agenda. niall quinn is a creep LOL one of dunphys finest moments

a very underrated clever player. not only was he good in the air he was creative with his head and chest

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 1:46pm
Have met Niall few times, my Dad used to be in FAI before retiring he was in my house a few times played football out the back with him when I was a young lad.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 1:49pm
Doesnt get the credit for being a good finisher all round. Injuries severely limited him in the last days in green but was a cracking player Clap

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 2:10pm
Originally posted by irelandshirts irelandshirts wrote:

Check out the amount of perfect crosses the man city no 7 David Whyte delievers for quinns goals in that clip.Its the type of quality final ball lacking from a lot of modern wide men inc mcgeady.

The game has evolved in the last 22 years. Most wingers nowadays cut inside or get to the bye line and pull the ball back. The rate of return for whipped crosses is very low. Also as most teams play with one out and out striker (and no target man) this is even lower.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 2:51pm
Originally posted by eire77 eire77 wrote:

The game has evolved in the last 22 years. Most wingers nowadays cut inside or get to the bye line and pull the ball back. The rate of return for whipped crosses is very low. Also as most teams play with one out and out striker (and no target man) this is even lower.
agreed about the change in style of the game but the actual art of crossing is dying out imo.most players now can't beat the first man with a corner never mind crossing on the run.whytes crosses were not aimless and he varied his delievery.shane long would eat those types of crosses for breakfast.

Posted By: Vaux
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 2:50pm

Rubbish pundit and Sky should get rid of him as a pundit.  

Very good player for Ireland though and seems like a nice guy. 

Nothing wrong with his punditry and a top man. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 2:52pm
agree with baldrick , dont enjoy him on sky at all .

top man though as evidenced by davey langans night among many other things

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 2:57pm

agree with baldrick , dont enjoy him on sky at all .

top man though as evidenced by davey langans night among many other things

I thought he was quality for the demolition derby at the wonga dome. Clap

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 8:52pm
Nice fella but not a fan of his punditry. Too nice.

Posted By: Eamon Numpty
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 8:58pm
Niall Quinn is a creep

''If you have passion, if you have conviction, if you believe the lies that you're writing , then you stand to make a great deal of money. Its a beautiful game. Thats why I love writing for the Star."

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 9:02pm

Doesnt get the credit for being a good finisher all round. Injuries severely limited him in the last days in green but was a cracking player Clap

This

Posted By: KING-CON
Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 9:14pm
I don't mind him as a pundit. You can tell he is more intelligent than at least 95% of them.

Date Posted: 27 Jun 2013 at 9:49pm
I don't mind his punditry but he isn't the best commentator!

I'll never forget his goal in Wembley. He became my hero that night, taking over from Packie!

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 2:44am
An Irish legend, shouldn't be let anywhere near a telly on match day though

Posted By: Fintan
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 6:13am
If Andy Carroll was bought for 35m, albeit by Liverpool, a few years ago I wonder what sort of money Quinn could have fetched.

I think they are comparable stylewise but Quinn's record can't be argued with.

Seems a really nice guy, despite his wilder younger years. (Hope for Stokes?)

He. Is the kind of fella i'd like to have as a brother in law.

Irish legend.

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 3:58pm

+1 awful pundit and commentator

Say no to Egg Chasing!!!

Date Posted: 28 Jun 2013 at 5:12pm
Just signed for Barcelona

Posted By: Dear Old Roker
Date Posted: 29 Jun 2013 at 10:46am
Originally posted by BaileNuisBhoy BaileNuisBhoy wrote:

+1 awful pundit and commentator

Amazed a skunk would draw that conclusion. EmbarrassedBig smileEmbarrassed

The Roker Roar will never die

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2013 at 9:54am

Looking forward to the book coming out shortly about the big man.

http://www.magiccarpetbook.co.uk/Pre-order.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.magiccarpetbook.co.uk/Pre-order.html

Posted By: eire77
Date Posted: 21 Sep 2013 at 11:07am
Book available now from Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0307589234

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2013 at 4:48pm
[QUOTE=eire77]Book available now from Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0307589234%5b/QUOTE" rel="nofollow - http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0307589234[/QUOTE ] 

Thanks for that pal. Cool

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2013 at 5:17pm
his book is a great read, very funny. (ghost written by Tom humphries). I enjoyed it more than cascarinos. Alot more intricate detail, and some great stories.

Posted By: Humpy Gussy
Date Posted: 23 Sep 2013 at 5:45pm
Tom Humphries!? He ghostwrote the new book you mean? Thought he'd be staying out of the limelight considering recent publicity. And surprised Quinn would want to associate himself with Humphries with such allegations hanging over him. Or am I missing something?

'Joxer Goes to Poznan' - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEjtiJ9udkM

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2013 at 5:50pm
Originally posted by Il Trap Il Trap wrote:

Tom Humphries!? He ghostwrote the new book you mean? Thought he'd be staying out of the limelight considering recent publicity. And surprised Quinn would want to associate himself with Humphries with such allegations hanging over him. Or am I missing something?

Book was written before any allegations were made.  

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2013 at 6:06pm
New book is written by SAFC fanzine editor Mal Robinson.

Date Posted: 23 Sep 2013 at 6:55pm
Some great stories in his first book
Recall one when with City
Someone ended up thru a window? Steve McMahon?

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 9:44am
Originally posted by Il Trap Il Trap wrote:

his first book, it must be about at least 6 or 7 years old id say. Highly recommended .

Posted By: savo01
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 12:21pm
Hell of a read but not as good as Cascarino's I think.  Reading a review of McGrath's book it cited how the Irish player all seemed to write honest, hard-hitting, worthwhile reads citing Cas, Quinn, McGrath, Townsend, Aldridge. 

Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 2:12pm
Quinn was down the Blue Haven on the weekend, singing songs about the Dubs Cool 

Dunno how to put the video up here from facebook.

Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 2:24pm
Originally posted by Mr.Mojo Risin' Mr.Mojo Risin' wrote:

Quinn was down the Blue Haven on the weekend, singing songs about the Dubs Cool 

Dunno how to put the video up here from facebook.

he was at the Etihad on Sunday during the final

Posted By: Mr.Mojo Risin'
Date Posted: 24 Sep 2013 at 6:23pm
Yeh it was either after that or on Monday. Not sure, but they're all wearing Dublin jerseys and Quinn is leading the singing.

Posted By: geordienation
Date Posted: 28 Sep 2013 at 10:33am
Originally posted by Mr.Mojo Risin' Mr.Mojo Risin' wrote:

Yeh it was either after that or on Monday. Not sure, but they're all wearing Dublin jerseys and Quinn is leading the singing.

I thought he supported Tipp. Embarrassed

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 1:00pm
Good to hear Niall being a patron of the Lionra organisation in the north east of England giving career coaching to Irish students at the regions Universities.

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2013 at 4:55pm
Any of you guys this side of the Irish sea go to Quinnys talk in at the Roker Hotel recently ?

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2013 at 5:03pm
For those living in the Wearside area Niall Quinn is Micky Horswills guest on his phone in programme on Sun Fm tonight.

Posted By: ftm
Date Posted: 04 Oct 2013 at 6:32pm
Thanks for the heads up.

Date Posted: 04 Oct 2013 at 10:05pm
I'd say Mother Teresa's book will be a good read?

Posted By: Wild Rover
Date Posted: 05 Oct 2013 at 10:00am

I'd say Mother Teresa's book will be a good read?

Is there really any need. Embarrassed

Niall Quinn is god

Posted By: Just saying like
Date Posted: 05 Oct 2013 at 10:06am
There is no pleasing lads on here.  The 2 Cork lads are being slated for being bad boys and poor Quinny is being slated for being Goody two shoes. 

Posted By: Bibi Baskin
Date Posted: 05 Oct 2013 at 10:24am
Say no more : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YNOBWAiuYAc

Wink

Date Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 9:35am
According to todays Indo Niall has got Dermot Desmond on board for Q Sats expansion in East Africa.

Date Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 12:04pm
Hes one shrewd cookie the Quinner no flies on him well in the heat of Africa there will be !

Date Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 6:51am
you wag DM

Posted By: gary rowell
Date Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 5:27pm

According to todays Indo Niall has got Dermot Desmond on board for Q Sats expansion in East Africa.

Quinnys nobodys fool when it comes to business. Clap

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2013 at 7:55pm
Good to hear Quinny on the sky coverage.

Date Posted: 15 Oct 2013 at 8:52pm
Quinner said their keeper was iffy in the warm up !

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 10:27am
Originally posted by Just saying like Just saying like wrote:

There is no pleasing lads on here.  The 2 Cork lads are being slated for being bad boys and poor Quinny is being slated for being Goody two shoes. 

This. Embarrassed

Date Posted: 18 Oct 2013 at 3:54pm

Hes one shrewd cookie the Quinner no flies on him well in the heat of Africa there will be !

Big smileWinkBig smile

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 12:33pm
Originally posted by Dear Old Roker Dear Old Roker wrote:

http://www.magiccarpetbook.co.uk/Pre-order.html" rel="nofollow - http://www.magiccarpetbook.co.uk/Pre-order.html

Waterstones & WH Smiths stocking this now.

Not sure about Easons ?

Date Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 6:56pm
Reflecting on Quinns playing career on prem lg world SS3 now.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2013 at 4:48pm

Originally posted by Dear Old Roker Dear Old Roker wrote:

Waterstones & WH Smiths stocking this now.

Not sure about Easons ?

Thanks for the heads up DM. Clap

Date Posted: 26 Oct 2013 at 12:47am
Quinner was saying on premier world that when he signed for Sunderland as a player he did not take a medical as they knew he would fail it.

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 9:29am

Quinner was saying on premier world that when he signed for Sunderland as a player he did not take a medical as they knew he would fail it.

In the last 2/3 months of his playing career at SAFC post match Quinny had to be helped out of the bath he was in that much pain.

Posted By: opa01
Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 5:29pm
Originally posted by gary rowell gary rowell wrote:

Quinnys nobodys fool when it comes to business. Clap

Would make a great FAI CEO, in my opinion, with all his contacts and backers.

Will no-one rid me of this turbulent priest?

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 6:09pm
IF Mick Mc gets the job I wouldn't be surprised if he had Quinn as part of his backroom team.

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 6:16pm

IF Mick Mc gets the job I wouldn't be surprised if he had Quinn as part of his backroom team.

What does he exactly have to offer? His analysis from his Sky commentating is dreadful and he was dreadful as interim Manager at Sunderland. Lovely bloke, a true gent had the pleasure of meeting him several occasions as a kid but we feel bad for the guy when we hear him trying to commentate a game he's just not a coach or anything.

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 6:23pm

What does he exactly have to offer? His analysis from his Sky commentating is dreadful and he was dreadful as interim Manager at Sunderland. Lovely bloke we feel bad for the guy when we hear him trying to commentate a game he's just not a coach or anything.

McCarthy imo trusts him,as a player he played in 3 major tournaments for Ireland,has over 90 caps and scored 21 goals for us.As Mick is a fairly hands on coach himself id say Mick would take the sessions but Quinn could be a good platform/sounding board between players/manager and vice versa.
As a player Quinn valued every call up and id say is respected by the players so id say he could bring alot to the backroom set up.

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 6:24pm
Quinn is a class act.

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 6:31pm

What does he exactly have to offer? His analysis from his Sky commentating is dreadful and he was dreadful as interim Manager at Sunderland. Lovely bloke we feel bad for the guy when we hear him trying to commentate a game he's just not a coach or anything.

McCarthy imo trusts him,as a player he played in 3 major tournaments for Ireland,has over 90 caps and scored 21 goals for us.As Mick is a fairly hands on coach himself id say Mick would take the sessions but Quinn could be a good platform/sounding board between players/manager and vice versa.
As a player Quinn valued every call up and id say is respected by the players so id say he could bring alot to the backroom set up.

I see what you're saying, I'd love him to take "The Gary Neville role" where you coach and analyse just it doesn't fit the bill for him 

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 6:44pm

I see what you're saying, I'd love him to take "The Gary Neville role" where you coach and analyse just it doesn't fit the bill for him 

No no, The Mother Theresa role Big smile

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 7:02pm
coyne you are talking sh*te

Date Posted: 29 Oct 2013 at 7:09pm
Originally posted by ftm ftm wrote:

coyne you are talking sh*te

And you're still drunk.

Date Posted: 30 Oct 2013 at 3:43pm

What does he exactly have to offer? His analysis from his Sky commentating is dreadful and he was dreadful as interim Manager at Sunderland. Lovely bloke, a true gent had the pleasure of meeting him several occasions as a kid but we feel bad for the guy when we hear him trying to commentate a game he's just not a coach or anything.

Quinny is a decent commentator. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2013 at 10:50pm
Quinny talking up the MON/Keano appt on sky tonight.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2013 at 12:24pm
Niall receives the freedom of Sunderland today off Sunderland city council. Clap

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2013 at 4:20pm
Just been talking to a girl who used to work at the S0L 2 years ago she was doing a 19 mile walk for childrens cancer anyway the Quinner sponored her for £100 a mile writing a cheque for £1900 ! What a guy.

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2013 at 4:35pm
Typical Niall I love the fella.

Posted By: Jarvisob
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2013 at 8:03pm

Just been talking to a girl who used to work at the S0L 2 years ago she was doing a 19 mile walk for childrens cancer anyway the Quinner sponored her for £100 a mile writing a cheque for £1900 ! What a guy.

That's absolutely quality.....Clap

Date Posted: 11 Nov 2013 at 8:45pm
Rumours that Niall is currenly in the Burton House pub.

Posted By: donegal dave
Date Posted: 11 Nov 2013 at 10:07pm
Niall a proper Legend.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 6:38am
Quinny on Sun FM in next 20 mins

Posted By: BDI
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 6:49am
Thanks for the heads up.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 7:01am
Has Quinny been on yet ?

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 12:03pm
Originally posted by ftm ftm wrote:

Typical Niall I love the fella.

This. Clap

Posted By: only1kilbane
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 4:37pm
Gent of a man who has always been really friendly anytime I have met him and remembers your name as well. Had a few beers with the big man during the years and always very honest and open.

Posted By: Fireball07
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 6:19pm
I love Niall- an inspirational figure both on and off the field... one of the people that really got me into the sport in the first place.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 6:24pm
Lads I was with in college said he was the nicest fella when Sunderland done a pre season in Ireland and played Galway.Dwight Yorke and Quinn who invited them back to the hotel, were on for the craic.Keane stayed in his room.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 6:28pm
As the Sunderland echos editor says a more fitting recipient of this honour we could not imagine

Posted By: Jarvisob
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 6:44pm
Never a bad word will you ever hear bout Quinn...when I met him in Dublin airport bout two years ago heading over to a SAFC match the first thing he wanted to know was that I was alright for tickets....always looking out for people.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 6:46pm
Originally posted by only1kilbane only1kilbane wrote:

Gent of a man who has always been really friendly anytime I have met him and remembers your name as well. Had a few beers with the big man during the years and always very honest and open.
spot on the big fella has always been great company when I've met him.

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 10:31pm
Originally posted by Jarvisob Jarvisob wrote:

Never a bad word will you ever hear bout Quinn...when I met him in Dublin airport bout two years ago heading over to a SAFC match the first thing he wanted to know was that I was alright for tickets....always looking out for people.
I met him st Sedgefield races and he was class got the pints in

Posted By: Mackem anth
Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 10:54pm
Niall Quinn is a legend on and off the field. The man is a true gent. What he has done for Sunderland Football Club and the north east in general shows what a top bloke he is.
One thing I will never forget was the time we were stranded at Bristol Airport when our flight got cancelled after Cardiff away.
Cut a long story short it was the last plane of the night and the majority on the flight were fans that were at the game. After realising we weren't going anywhere Niall who was on the flight stood up and told everyone to get off the plane and meet in departure gates. We all waited around for a good 10 mins or so until Niall came over to speak to us.
He's first words were " we've come as a team we will leave as a team I will get yous all home one way or another"
After about an hour or so of Niall making calls etc he then got us altogether and said he would pay for taxis for everyone. Bristol to Sunderland is a long way. He also said if anyone wanted to fly nxt day he would pay for hotels this included people who weren't fans on the flight.
The majority needed to be back so opted for taxis.
Can always remember the taxi drivers face when he asked where yous off to, to which we said Sunderland. After it finally sunk in Niall knocked on the window of the drivers door and said make sure they get home safe and handed over £400+. As if this wasn't a good enough jester to start with he then had another 10+ cabs to pay for. So off we went on a long journey home back to the north east.
I can't think of anyone else who would have done the same.
The guy deserves it he's a legend.
We all decided when we got reinbursed for the flight to donate it Nialls children's education centre hospital Sunderland.
LEGEND

Date Posted: 12 Nov 2013 at 11:02pm
A gent is right

Was annoying when that prick Dunphy was given airtime to label him a creep, without being challenged on it.