URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=21855
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 5:01pm

Topic: John Egan
Subject: John Egan
Date Posted: 21 Aug 2010 at 3:04am
Hoping to see Sunderlands Cork born centre half John Egan when SAFC Youths play Watford Academy team @ the Academy of Light this morning.

I will let you know how he does.

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2010 at 3:19am
Ask him if he has tried Double Maxim yet.

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2010 at 3:20am
Originally posted by McGoldrick McGoldrick wrote:

Ask him if he has tried Double Maxim yet.

Wrong section but funny. Big%20smile

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2010 at 7:23am
Been  to the game and it was a cracking match ended up 4 2 to SAFC.

John Egan had a sound game. ClapThumbs%20UpClap

Posted By: Wearside Bhoy
Date Posted: 22 Aug 2010 at 3:35am
I have seen John Egan play on four occasions and he has impressed me each time.

TJ Doyles,Sunderland probably the best Irish pub in the world.

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2010 at 7:11am
Cheers to the Sunderland Lads keeping us Updated on this lad ,He comes from Great Stock As his dad is One of the all Time gaelic footballing greats

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2010 at 7:40am

Cheers to the Sunderland Lads keeping us Updated on this lad ,He comes from Great Stock As his dad is One of the all Time gaelic footballing greats

Yes it was funny the local repoter at yesterdays match was trying to enlighten me about John senior and before he had a chance to say anything I came out with the auld fellas GAA success !

The look on the journos face was priceless Big%20smile

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2010 at 9:13am
Fair Play to the Local Reporter though wearside He had Done His homework. Check out John egan senior on Youtube . quality

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2010 at 10:00pm

Fair Play to the Local Reporter though wearside He had Done His homework. Check out John egan senior on Youtube . quality

Just have and your right bud.

Posted By: Drummerboy
Date Posted: 24 Aug 2010 at 3:08am
Saw this lad play against Ukraine recently and his looks a decent prospect.

Date Posted: 24 Aug 2010 at 9:27am
wouldnt bother lads hes from cork ha.

Posted By: Wearmouth
Date Posted: 25 Aug 2010 at 12:31am

What a silly comment and Egan also has Kingdom blood in him. Wink

Charlie Hurley a true legend

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2010 at 2:09pm
Saw John Egan have a quality game for the SAFC Academy team in a 3 0 win v Nottingham Forest on a rainy Wearside afternoon today. Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2010 at 2:23pm
Was a disgrace taht trap left him out of the last squadWink

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2010 at 2:35pm

John Egans parents were great craic.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2010 at 1:00am
The SAFC Academy coaching staff really rate young John.

Posted By: Aldos Tash
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2010 at 11:48am

Sure its all about the stock you come from and seeing as Kerry have yet to produce an international bar a granny rule or two, i am willing to accept this man as a KerrymanEmbarrassed
Wink

Is fearr Gaelige bhriste na Bearla cliste

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2010 at 12:27pm
Originally posted by Aldos Tash Aldos Tash wrote:

Sure its all about the stock you come from and seeing as Kerry have yet to produce an international bar a granny rule or two, i am willing to accept this man as a KerrymanEmbarrassed
Wink

Up the Kingdom !

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2010 at 2:29pm
Great prospect John Egan, the Academy coach Kevin Ball really rates him.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2010 at 4:46am
What position Maxim?  What's his strengths/weaknesses?  Have heard good reports about him meself.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2010 at 6:08am

What position Maxim?  What's his strengths/weaknesses?  Have heard good reports about him meself.

Central defender strong good in the air and passes the ball well.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2010 at 1:48pm

I've seen young John play five times and he's been impressive each time.

Posted By: sheaoccfc
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2010 at 3:11pm
He was on the Greenwood side which won the FAI u17  cup a few years back.

City till i die !!!!!!!!!

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2010 at 2:07am
Originally posted by sheaoccfc sheaoccfc wrote:

He was on the Greenwood side which won the FAI u17  cup a few years back.

Did you see him play ?

Date Posted: 05 Feb 2011 at 2:33am
John came on for his first ever reserve game for SAFC last week for the final thirty five mins.

I'm hoping to take in the ressies match v Blackpool this week so I will report back on here if young Egan features.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2011 at 12:10am
John scored for the reserves in a 1 1 draw with WHU yesterday after being out for three games with a minor injury.

Date Posted: 09 Mar 2011 at 2:54am
great stuff , looking forward to when he makes the breakthrough

Date Posted: 10 Mar 2011 at 12:36am

great stuff , looking forward to when he makes the breakthrough

We will keep you heads up with young John. Thumbs%20Up

Posted By: wrestler313
Date Posted: 10 Mar 2011 at 6:31am
well done always good to see young lads coming through

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2011 at 7:51am
Egan played a full game against Man U reserves last night the full match is repeated on MUTV at 19.30 tonight.

Posted By: Tweetering
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2011 at 10:46am
Captain of the youth team..

http://www.safc.com/page/AcademySquadProfiles/0,,10281%7E1695274,00.html - http://www.safc.com/page/AcademySquadProfiles/0,,10281~1695274,00.html

Posted By: stokes
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2011 at 1:17pm
Included in the under 19 squad today. Very strong defensive options for us at this level with duffy, mcginty, o brien, devine , Williams and doherty so he may find it difficult to be first choice.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2011 at 1:08am
Originally posted by stokes stokes wrote:

Included in the under 19 squad today. Very strong defensive options for us at this level with duffy, mcginty, o brien, devine , Williams and doherty so he may find it difficult to be first choice.

JE played a full game in the 0 0 draw v Cyprus last Saturday and also played the full 90 for SAFC Youths in a 2 0 defeat v Man U yesterday.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2011 at 4:12am
Great stuff anyone know how the under 19s got on in there second friendly against the cypriot club side?

Date Posted: 03 May 2011 at 11:21pm
John Egan achieved a Youths Championship medal after SAFC drew 0 0 with Leeds to clinch the title.

Although John is currenrly out injured with a broken nose he has played his part for the team by making seventeen appearances.

Date Posted: 08 May 2011 at 2:06am
John played a full 90 mins in the Youths 2 0 victory over Man City yesterday. His first game back after his broken nose.

Date Posted: 28 May 2011 at 2:29am
John Egan played a full 90 mins for Ireland u19s v Ukraine on thursday. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 28 May 2011 at 3:02am

John Egan played a full 90 mins for Ireland u19s v Ukraine on thursday. Thumbs Up
and what about the other 10 players?? What was the score?

Date Posted: 28 May 2011 at 3:04am
O O need to beat Italy tomorrow to qualify for Euros.

Date Posted: 29 May 2011 at 12:00am
Anyone know if the Italy match is on tv or any links to it ? Thanks

Date Posted: 29 May 2011 at 4:01am
SAFC Youths coach Kev Ball talking about John Egan : -

"I have to say that John has been a massive influence for us this year. He is a great lad a great footballer and hopefully he will have a long career in the game. "

Posted By: sonofakeano
Date Posted: 30 May 2011 at 4:31am
Part of the defence that conceded 0 goals in this terrific qualifying campaign! Great stuff!

Date Posted: 30 May 2011 at 7:08am
Originally posted by sonofakeano sonofakeano wrote:

Part of the defence that conceded 0 goals in this terrific qualifying campaign! Great stuff!

Loking forward to watching them in Eurosport in July. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 5:05am
Well said young JE  : "I think playing for your country is the biggest honour you can get. Clubs pay the bills but playing for your country is something you do for yourself family and everyone in the country.
When you pull on that green shirt you are doing it for everyone that lives in Ireland and everyone you've ever known. Its a big thing you have to be proud of where you're from. I love it and so do the other players in the squad "

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 10:44am
This boy could go all the way and has a great attitute.

Posted By: traphasntaclue2
Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 2:00pm
would have him in senior squad ahead of mcshane already

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 2:28pm
Far too early to be considering him for senior inclusion, let him keep progressing at club level and see what happens.  Like his comments on international duty though, good lad, made of strong stuff like his oul lad.

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 2:40pm
Originally posted by traphasntaclue2 traphasntaclue2 wrote:

would have him in senior squad ahead of mcshane already

Your like a young Billy Connolly..

Posted By: Absolutely Use
Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 2:51pm
Will he go out on loan this season, get some game time

Say nothing till you hear more

Posted By: MacMathuna
Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 4:08pm
Seemed to do alot of slide tackles during euro championship, de all came off to perfection bt u couldnt be doing it the whole time at senior level with the likes of ronaldo, nani etc.

Sinne Fianna Fáil atá fé gheall ag Éirinn.

Posted By: Drummerboy
Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 4:50pm
Sounds like a young Paul McShane. Tongue

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2011 at 5:56pm
Originally posted by Drummerboy Drummerboy wrote:

Sounds like a young Paul McShane. Tongue

Exactly its crazy how people on here hate Mcshane.He captained united youth team to win the Fa youth cup. At the age of 19 he played a full season in the championship with brighton and was their player of the year. 

I hope Egan is a great player but what is the chance that he will play a full season in the championship this season like mcShane did at the same age? McShane has a great attitude dont think anyone could argue with his will to win

Posted By: Wild Rover
Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 5:40am
John was an unused sub for a strong SAFC side at darlo last night

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 6:52am
Steve Bruce seems to rate young John.

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 7:22am
Originally posted by Wearmouth Wearmouth wrote:

Steve Bruce seems to rate young John.

Seeing as Bruce rates him , there is no reason why this time next year Egan cant be a regular in the Irish Senior Squad if he gets his chance with Sunderland and takes it

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 7:30am
I doubt it, at best he'd be fifth choice centre half behind Dunne, St Ledger, O'Shea, Clark, and probably Wilson. Promote him to the U21s and let him settle there, then to the seniors

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 9:28am
under 21s is fair craic

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 9:44am
Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

I doubt it, at best he'd be fifth choice centre half behind Dunne, St Ledger, O'Shea, Clark, and probably Wilson. Promote him to the U21s and let him settle there, then to the seniors

Trap use's O'Shea as a right back mainly , Clark is seen as a left back for the short-term with a view to being the main man at the heart of our defence once Dunne is retired , Wilson is a full back or midfielder??! Egan gets 10 or 15 games with Sunderland this season or gets a loan move to a Championship club i can see him getting promoted to the senior squad within a year imo

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 9:46am
does'nt seem to be that tall for a centre half, that would be my only concern with egan, maybe he is deceptively tall, but didnt look it at the under 19s

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 04 Aug 2011 at 11:15am
Not that tall alright but looks very strong. 

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2011 at 10:55pm

does'nt seem to be that tall for a centre half, that would be my only concern with egan, maybe he is deceptively tall, but didnt look it at the under 19s

John is six fot.

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2011 at 2:14am
I was talking to the Sunderland Echo journo at Hibs yesterday and he thinks John Egan will end up on loan to a championship club this season.

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2011 at 1:20pm
Originally posted by Wearside Bhoy Wearside Bhoy wrote:

I was talking to the Sunderland Echo journo at Hibs yesterday and he thinks John Egan will end up on loan to a championship club this season.
I'd look forward to seeing him play in the championship, he looked very good at u-19 level.

Posted By: Jonesy
Date Posted: 07 Aug 2011 at 1:51pm
hopefully a good career ahead for John

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2011 at 8:59am
Originally posted by Jonesy Jonesy wrote:

hopefully a good career ahead for John

Theres every chance.

Date Posted: 11 Aug 2011 at 1:48am
John played a full ninety minues in Sunderland Reserves 3 0 Tote Cup final victory over Walsall last night. JE set up the crucial second goal for Tounkara with a quality pass. 

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2011 at 1:42pm
JE  played a full 90 minutes for the reserves v Chelsea yesterday.

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:25am
He is on the bench today for Sunderland at OT. 

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 9:54am
thats good tosee

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 10:13am
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

McClean & Meyler too apparently

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 10:16am
Originally posted by tonyjaa tonyjaa wrote:

McClean & Meyler too apparently

...and Westwood starts

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2011 at 10:31am
6 Ireland players featuring in Villa/Norwich too , good stuff

Date Posted: 06 Nov 2011 at 2:54am
Young John has been getting rave reviews for SAFC reserves this season.

Posted By: jackshat
Date Posted: 06 Nov 2011 at 5:12am

He must be doing ok if he is keeping Laing off the bench. 

It's Jack Shat

Date Posted: 07 Nov 2011 at 12:11am

He must be doing ok if he is keeping Laing off the bench. 

Everytime I have seen John for the Youths/Reserves he's played well.

Date Posted: 09 Nov 2011 at 2:26am
JE MOM for SAFC ressies v Bolton last night and he captained the side.

Date Posted: 10 Nov 2011 at 12:29am
I had some good craic on with John and his parents at the SOL recently and they are lovely people. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2011 at 4:36pm
John was outstanding for SAFC reserves tonight. ClapClap

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2011 at 4:37pm

John was outstanding for SAFC reserves tonight. ClapClap

Good to hear. How did Meyler & McClean play?

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2011 at 4:41pm

I had some good craic on with John and his parents at the SOL recently and they are lovely people. Thumbs Up

Hope you told his da that he is one of my favorite players of all Time DM?

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2011 at 4:41pm
Both played well my mate mate who never misses a home SAFC reserve game says McClean has been quality every game he has seen him play this season.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2011 at 4:42pm

No but I said that my dad idolised himself and Bomber Liston. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2011 at 4:44pm

No but I said that my dad idolised himself and Bomber Liston. Thumbs Up

Absolutely , they were the toshack and Keegan of GAA

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2011 at 5:12pm
I always remember childhood memories of driving through Ireland and my dad looking to stop at the nearest pub/hotel to watch the Kingdom play. My ma was never so keen god rest her.

Date Posted: 17 Nov 2011 at 1:14am
Egan had a superb game last night.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2011 at 1:36am
John Egan potentially the next Charlie Hurley according to the winning letter in last nights Footy Echo. Cool

Date Posted: 21 Dec 2011 at 1:58am
JE was man of the match for SAFC reserves last night.

Niall Quinn is god

Date Posted: 21 Dec 2011 at 2:02am
Originally posted by Wild Rover Wild Rover wrote:

JE was man of the match for SAFC reserves last night.

great to hear, keep us posted on this fella lads Clap 

Posted By: TheBeachBoysReunion
Date Posted: 21 Dec 2011 at 5:02am
The Sunderland fans are mighty boys for giving us the progress on Egan, Meyler and McClean.

Date Posted: 23 Dec 2011 at 12:56am
Originally posted by TheBeachBoysReunion TheBeachBoysReunion wrote:

The Sunderland fans are mighty boys for giving us the progress on Egan, Meyler and McClean.

No problem and I will continue to do so.

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 10:25am
JE captained SAFC reserves to a 2 0 win over Arsenal reserves in London this afternoon.

Posted By: davekoolhill
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 11:53am
Well done John, keep up the good work. 

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Posted By: mully_85
Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 12:00pm
maxim, do u have any idea if john is close to making the breakthrough into the first team? or is it too early. is he highly rated by the coaching staff?? 

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2012 at 2:22pm
Originally posted by mully_85 mully_85 wrote:

maxim, do u have any idea if john is close to making the breakthrough into the first team? or is it too early. is he highly rated by the coaching staff?? 

I know the reserve team coach Keith Bertschin rates him highly hence making him captain, but of course KB is a Steve Bruce appointment so not sure what will happen. Maybe John Egan will go out on loan to a championship team with Michael Turner getting fitter and Matt Kilgallon doing so well.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2012 at 2:02pm
Gone to PALACE on loan

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2012 at 4:39pm
Originally posted by Absolutely Use Absolutely Use wrote:

Gone to PALACE on loan

Hopefully the month loan will go well for him.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2012 at 4:57pm
i will check him out and report back , otoole are you doing any palace games this season ??

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2012 at 4:59pm
Tuesday, 31 January 2012
npower Championship
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/crystal_palace/default.stm" rel="nofollow - Crystal Palace v http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/b/brighton/default.stm" rel="nofollow - Brighton , 19:45

this could be the one , hopefully john will feature

Posted By: BaileNuisBhoy
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2012 at 6:09pm
Class act from what i saw of him in the summer.. Future Irish Captaen

Posted By: turbo10
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2012 at 8:58pm
It could be a great move for him especially with Palace in the League Cup semi v Cardiff