URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=20932
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 4:23pm

Topic: Double Maxim ( the drink )
Subject: Double Maxim ( the drink )
Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 1:01am
I know this is unlikely but have any of you guys ever tasted this quality beer ?

If so what did you think ?

Posted By: samscafe
Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 1:29am
Yep, its no bad

Certain mods are complete wankstains

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 1:33am
Originally posted by samscafe samscafe wrote:

Yep, its no bad

Are you serious mate where did you drink it exactly, thanks.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 2:22am
From a bottle purchased from Sainsbury's

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 2:51am

From a bottle purchased from Sainsbury's

Which Sainsburys would that be

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 2:57am
are you a stalker?

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 4:25am

are you a stalker?

Of course not, I just know that not many Sainsburys stock DM and was curious to hear of one that did.

Posted By: Jonesy
Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 4:31am
Double Maxim is a quality beer. I prefer the draught version though the bottles and cans are different class as well.

Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 4:34am

are you a stalker?

Of course not, I just know that not many Sainsburys stock DM and was curious to hear of one that did.

no worries.

I'm sure I got it from Sainsbury's on Great Western Road, Glasgow.

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 4:42am

are you a stalker?

He'll be lurkin in the beer section lookin for whoever touchs his precious

Date Posted: 01 Aug 2010 at 5:11am
Originally posted by McGoldrick McGoldrick wrote:

are you a stalker?

He'll be lurkin in the beer section lookin for whoever touchs his precious

You've sussed me.

Posted By: Wearside Bhoy
Date Posted: 02 Aug 2010 at 8:39am
A tremedous drink is Double Maxim I'm hoping to sample some at the UK's biggest beer festival Earls Court London tomorrow.

Slainte

TJ Doyles,Sunderland probably the best Irish pub in the world.

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2010 at 8:40am
Wearside and DM, When are you boys coming over for a game?
Will you bring some of this drink with you if you do? Curious now.

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2010 at 11:49am

Hopefully coming over for a stag Oval being our base 15/10/10 w/end

Date Posted: 02 Aug 2010 at 11:06pm
If any of you are anywhere near  London in the next three days you should get yourselves down to the Great British Beer Festival and sample some Double Maxim. Clap 

http://gbbf.camra.org.uk/beers - http://gbbf.camra.org.uk/beers

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2010 at 12:06am
That O'Hanlon's Port Stout is a cracking scoop.

Date Posted: 03 Aug 2010 at 4:07pm
Originally posted by Jonesy Jonesy wrote:

Double Maxim is a quality beer. I prefer the draught version though the bottles and cans are different class as well.

Your round on Saturday Jonesy. Big%20smile

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2010 at 5:21pm
More like Wearside Bhoys shout.

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2010 at 1:00am

If any of you are anywhere near  London in the next three days you should get yourselves down to the Great British Beer Festival and sample some Double Maxim. Clap 

http://gbbf.camra.org.uk/beers - http://gbbf.camra.org.uk/beers

I was at the beer festival yesterday and the Double Maxim was class.

Some very good stouts particuarly by the O'Hanlons brewery ClapBig%20smileClap

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2010 at 4:13am

You lads are mad!

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2010 at 5:52am

You lads are mad!

Your so kind. LOLBig%20smileLOL

Posted By: PaddyBourke2
Date Posted: 06 Aug 2010 at 5:55am
why did you name yourself after a drink. its like someone signing up and callin themselves red bull or carlsberg.

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2010 at 5:57am
Originally posted by johnny ccfc johnny ccfc wrote:

why did you name yourself after a drink. its like someone signing up and callin themselves red bull or carlsberg.

Seemed like a good idea at the time and DM is very much associated with the city of Sunderland.

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2010 at 5:58am

Seemed like a good idea at the time and DM is very much associated with the city of Sunderland.
cool

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2010 at 9:46am

cool

I was drinking with some fellas from Cork before Sunderlands recent game in Limerick v Munster and the craic was mighty. ClapBig%20smileClap

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 12:41am

cool

I was drinking with some fellas from Cork before Sunderlands recent game in Limerick v Munster and the craic was mighty. ClapBig%20smileClap

Great people from Cork. Big%20smile

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 11:29am
On my second bottle of Double Maxim tosting Roy Keane and a fine result for Ipswich against the smoggies. Thumbs%20UpClapThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 11:36am
Keep the runnin commentary comin Maxim

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 11:49am
us corkonians are the best people in the world. especially when theres drink in us

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 11:50am
Broke open the third btl when Derby got their first goal v LeedsThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 11:53am
Fourth when peno went in !

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 12:00pm
Off to pub now for some draught Double Maxim in the company of Wearside Bhoy a Dublin born Millwall fan and a Cork fella

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 1:42pm
http://www.maximbrewery.co.uk/pumpclips/MaximBrewery-DoubleMaxim-pumpclip.jpg - http://www.maximbrewery.co.uk/pumpclips/MaximBrewery-DoubleMaxim-pumpclip.jpg

No doubt this is your screen saver DM.

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 1:45pm
Originally posted by Wearside Bhoy Wearside Bhoy wrote:

Would that be the oval on Abbey St? And lads the Russia game is on the 8th of October, someone on the forum will be able to get you tickets

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 2:28pm

Would that be the oval on Abbey St? And lads the Russia game is on the 8th of October, someone on the forum will be able to get you tickets

Yes its the Oval Charlie Chawkes place. Very kind offer about the tickets but unfortunately can't afford it. Funnily enough I've got a little piece in tonights footy echo which mentions our expeirence in the Oval for the Bohs game two years ago. Big%20smile

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2010 at 2:39pm
Off round Double Maxims place now to get stuck into his Jamesons and listen to some Horslips Thin Lizzy Christy Moore Hot House Flowers Damien Rice Rory Gallagher etc. Cool

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2010 at 12:04am
Too much Double Maxim and Jamesons yesterday.

I got ready for work this morning and I am off till a week tomorrow ! Big%20smileEmbarrassedBig%20smile

Date Posted: 08 Aug 2010 at 5:45pm

Too much Double Maxim and Jamesons yesterday.

I got ready for work this morning and I am off till a week tomorrow ! Big%20smileEmbarrassedBig%20smile

It was the Maximus 6%( Double Maxims stronger big brother ) that did you in SmileTongueSmile

Posted By: Gouldinho09
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2010 at 7:00pm
Did yiz play soggy biscuit lads?

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2010 at 2:14am
Originally posted by Gouldinho09 Gouldinho09 wrote:

Did yiz play soggy biscuit lads?

Is that a Shels/Gers game WinkBig%20smileWink

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2010 at 1:49am
You can gets get cans of Double Maxim in China & Denmark now.ClapBig%20smileClap

Date Posted: 16 Aug 2010 at 3:19am
Went on a Double Maxim drinking bender all day yesterday and my wife has sent me to Coventry !! Embarrassed

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2010 at 12:01am

Went on a Double Maxim drinking bender all day yesterday and my wife has sent me to Coventry !! Embarrassed

Where was the invite Confused

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 17 Aug 2010 at 12:49am
Double Maxim Dead

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2010 at 12:52am

Keep the runnin commentary comin Maxim

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2010 at 5:37am
Originally posted by Carmody 10 Carmody 10 wrote:

Double Maxim Dead

Have you ever tasted it ?

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2010 at 2:20pm

Double Maxim Dead

Looks like calm down hasn't.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2010 at 3:33pm
If anyone on here knows the Duffys of Goatstown ask them what they think of Double Maxim ale.

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2010 at 4:49pm
Bring a few tins over lads, I know the Oval bar well

Date Posted: 17 Aug 2010 at 4:51pm

If anyone on here knows the Duffys of Goatstown ask them what they think of Double Maxim ale.

Ill ask around

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2010 at 11:39pm

Bring a few tins over lads, I know the Oval bar well

Would love to not sure if the Airport staff will be so keen, Angry

Posted By: Carmody 10
Date Posted: 18 Aug 2010 at 11:43pm

Double Maxim Dead

No i havent to be honest just winding Double Maxim up with the name and all.

Would you recommend it Jonesy ?

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2010 at 3:57am

Double Maxim Dead

No i havent to be honest just winding Double Maxim up with the name and all.

Would you recommend it Jonesy ?

I would certainly recommend it and its potent stuff. ClapBig%20smileClap

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2010 at 3:59am
Wrap one in bubble wrap, stick it in a parcel and send one to me and ill be the YBIG guinea pig. Hell ill even pay for p+p lads!

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2010 at 8:53am

Wrap one in bubble wrap, stick it in a parcel and send one to me and ill be the YBIG guinea pig. Hell ill even pay for p+p lads!

You should get yourself over to the SOL and we will see you all right for some Maxims.

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2010 at 8:54am
cannot believe this has gone on for 4 pages

Date Posted: 19 Aug 2010 at 2:38pm

cannot believe this has gone on for 4 pages

Heading for five. Big%20smile

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2010 at 2:54am
Had nine pints of draught Double Maxim and a Jamesons last night.

Drinking to forget, looks like I'm going to lose my job in January 2011. Unhappy

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2010 at 5:48am

Drinking to forget, looks like I'm going to lose my job in January 2011. Unhappy

sorry to hear that DM Unhappy

Date Posted: 21 Aug 2010 at 7:21am

sorry to hear that DM Unhappy

Thanks bud. Clap

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2010 at 12:26am

Knew things were  bad at your place but not that bad.

Hope something comes up for you.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2010 at 5:51am

I'm in the same boat bloody Tories Angry

Posted By: Wearmouth
Date Posted: 25 Aug 2010 at 12:26am
Double Maxims big brother Maximus is even stronger at 6%, blows your head off,  had a couple of pints pre match last night.

Charlie Hurley a true legend

Date Posted: 25 Aug 2010 at 6:13am
Originally posted by Wearmouth Wearmouth wrote:

Double Maxims big brother Maximus is even stronger at 6%, blows your head off,  had a couple of pints pre match last night.

Too strong for me that Maximus. Wink

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 2:31am
Double Maxim THE north east brown ale now that Newcastle Broon is brewed in Yorkshire. Clap

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 4:37am

Double Maxim THE north east brown ale now that Newcastle Broon is brewed in Yorkshire. Clap

Really fascinating stuff

This topic should be a sticky and include all updates on the Double Maxim.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 4:38am

Really fascinating stuff

LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 4:53am

Really fascinating stuff

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 4:56am

Really fascinating stuff

Ok I know its only small BEER to you................................................

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 5:39am

Really fascinating stuff

Not a bad idea.

Posted By: getstuckin
Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 5:48am
The best drink at this years beer festival in London. 

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 5:49am
Originally posted by getstuckin getstuckin wrote:

Welcome aboard.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 5:51am

Welcome aboard.
Thanks - I heard some great things about this in TJ Doyles pub in Sunderland.  Have you ever been there?

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 5:52am

Welcome aboard.
Thanks - I heard some great things about this in TJ Doyles pub in Sunderland.  Have you ever been there?

Yes Best pub in Sunderland. ClapWinkClap

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 5:54am

Thought somebody might have known the Duffers on here. Confused

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 5:55am

Welcome aboard.

Yes Best pub in Sunderland. ClapWinkClap
I will have to call in sometime - maybe when I am on my way to the SOL?? one day.Tongue

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 6:38am

good jaysus we have another oneLOL

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 6:41am
yeah - but it is a great one!

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:16am
I might just go out for some fish n chips now washed downwith a couple of pints pf Double Maxim.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:24am

I might just go out for some fish n chips now washed downwith a couple of pints pf Double Maxim.

Let us know how it goes DM.
Truly enthralling stuff.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:34am

Truly enthralling stuff.

Not sure whether to have cod or Haddock. Big%20smileWinkBig%20smile

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:37am
this is a sticky for the day.Thumbs%20Up

Lads pour a few tins into a flask for McGoldrick

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:39am

this is a sticky for the day.Thumbs%20Up

Nice one Bob I might even have 3 pints now.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:41am

ClapClap

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:42am
go on DM get stuck in!! You better watch out for Mrs DM, have you had your passed signed.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:46am

go on DM get stuck in!! You better watch out for Mrs DM, have you had your passed signed.

Off out now I'm the man of the house. Big%20smile

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 8:49am
I will shop you up to mrs Maxim?? Enjoy though!!

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 10:04am

Truly enthralling stuff.

How was the fish n chips, not to mention the Double Maxim. 

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 10:52am

Truly enthralling stuff.

Just dandy. ClapTongueClap

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 11:34am

Truly enthralling stuff.

Thumbs%20Up great, see you at TJ Doyles. I'll have one too!

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 2:03pm

Truly enthralling stuff.

Sunday @ 12.00 sharp.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 2:06pm

Truly enthralling stuff.

spot on - you then going over sol or after  
Sunday @ 12.00 sharp.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 2:08pm

Truly enthralling stuff.

Sunday @ 12.00 sharp.

Dermot is putting the double decker bus on to the SOL from Doyles I'm on it.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 2:10pm

Truly enthralling stuff.

Sunday @ 12.00 sharp.

Have you got your buss pass?

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 2:13pm

Truly enthralling stuff.

Sunday @ 12.00 sharp.

Now now cheeky,  just a £1 will cover it.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 2:14pm

Truly enthralling stuff.

Sunday @ 12.00 sharp.

Now now cheeky,  just a £1 will cover it.
Have a good one ot two

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 2:41pm

Are Doyles showing the Celtic match on Sunday ?

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2010 at 12:40am
Taken from Shields Gazette ' Sunderland brewer Maxim Brewery has announced support for local play Good to Firm by donating some bottle of its famous ale Double Maxim to be consumed on stage '

Cast member Ray Spencer said about the kind gesture " Its a tough thing to be on stage having a beer, but having one as nice ad Double Maxim makes it that little bit easier " 

ClapThumbs%20UpClap

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2010 at 3:07am
TongueTongue

Taken from Shields Gazette ' Sunderland brewer Maxim Brewery has announced support for local play Good to Firm by donating some bottle of its famous ale Double Maxim to be consumed on stage '

Cast member Ray Spencer said about the kind gesture " Its a tough thing to be on stage having a beer, but having one as nice ad Double Maxim makes it that little bit easier " 

ClapThumbs%20UpClap
one for the maxim!

Date Posted: 28 Aug 2010 at 3:16am

TongueTongue

ClapThumbs%20UpClap
one for the maxim!

You fancy going to the play ?