40 on line

Category: YouBoysInGreen Fanzine
Forum Name: Feedback/Ideas
Forum Description: Let us know what you think and any ideas?
URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=2049
Printed Date: 17 May 2024 at 9:24pm

Topic: 40 on line
Subject: 40 on line
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2008 at 12:44pm
40 users, 33 guests on line., that's a fair few guests

Posted By: seaniemac
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2008 at 1:15pm
A lot of those guests are yahoo spiders indexing the websites pages for their nature search results page GerK.
If you click on active users if will show you what everyone is looking at.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2008 at 1:18pm
Never knew that, good man seanie

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2008 at 7:02pm
so it was just spiders after all..ah well

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2008 at 11:35am
loads of these feckin spiders on all the time now . how do they work ? is it people searching for stuff on the irish team and being directed here by yahoo ?

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2008 at 5:17am
Loads of spiders lately, another horse load this morning!

yeah Rog they are indexing the forum pages for when people do searches

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2008 at 10:59am
When you click on active users, I presume the spiders are the robot yahoo ones.

If a guest is mac os or PC whatever; I take they are real people?

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2008 at 2:26pm
spiders everywhere, 87 on line
Come on hit the 100

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2008 at 3:04pm
Jaysus, why has this happened all of a sudden?

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2008 at 3:17pm
they're watching you HM, they're gonna get ye!

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 5:23am
It's to do with the amount of impressions and also links, so that link to cultzeros will help ybig get indexed and therefor ybig will show up on the nature search results when someone types in stuff like 'gary breen, ybig', the forum tshirt topic will be the first natural result.
(Not a geek lads, I work for Yahoo, or will for two more weeks anyway.)

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 6:17am
good man seanieThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 9:51am
We'll hit that 100 mark today i reckon!

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 9:56am
There was 159 online there about 30 minutes ago.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 10:01am
its goen a bit daft alright all these spiders

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 10:02am
only about 25 of these last ones were spiders lads! the site was mentioned on liveline so a load of people have logged on since.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 10:10am
yeah, theres 79 online there,  27 yahoo spiders, 11 members and the rest are all guests looking at the Dave Langan topics, quality.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 10:33am
Deadly Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 10:46am

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 10:47am
ah very good indeed !

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2008 at 5:33pm
the site got 700 unique individual hits by 6pm, just for today Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2008 at 6:46am

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2008 at 6:14pm
Where are they all now??

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2008 at 6:26pm
our resident nerd seaniemac is checking out for us what they are doing here all day so will let you know when he gets back to me!

Date Posted: 26 Mar 2008 at 6:28pm
"Resident Nerd", quality

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2008 at 3:52am
robot nerd and resident nerd , are they mates ?

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2008 at 6:34am
'Resident nerd?!' Geek screw you guys, I'm taking my commodore 64 with me and going over to foot.ie. Tongue

Work for the company indexing the pages on the forum so that's why I'm finding out about the spiders for you. In this company, there's a lot of techy nerds so asking them, then I'll try translate it into normal english and not their techy language for ye guys

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2008 at 6:52am
english eh? i'm not too hot on that subject either seanie !

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2008 at 1:00pm

Count

Sent you on the email from the techies. Basically the main points of it are -

the site was added to the list of sites crawled by yahoo last year but it is possible that you are only noticing them now.

The main benefit is that Yahoo Search then indexes the content on the site if it deems it fit, and may show ybig pages when users search for phrases relevant to the site, so for example do a search for seaniemac, ybig is no 7 in the search results, mcgoldrick2284 has four search results, first two for ybig and other two for oxfordshireforum.

Type in 'Gerkeano' and it has four results on yahoo, first two for this website and Ger, you are also a 41-year old female from Kiltyclogher Co Leitrim LOL

This, in turn drives traffic to his site, and may well also increase visibility

The forum software ybig use don't allow you to filter out web crawlers or robots from the sites users list.

You can block them but it isn't recommended if you want to remain visible to potential users, and increase your user base so for example if someone heard the liveline show but forgot the url, they could stick you boys in green in and it would show up as it does now in position one!

That's it, the email is a lot longer

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2008 at 1:59pm
Think i get the jist of that Seanie...

Good work

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2008 at 4:02pm

our resident nerd seaniemac is checking out for us what they are doing here all day so will let you know when he gets back to me!

SO WHAT TITLE DO YOU HAVE COUNT?

Date Posted: 27 Mar 2008 at 5:18pm
good work SeanieThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2008 at 3:05am
so if somone did a search for roger milla there is as good a chance they would get directed here to my ramblings as opposed to any sites about the great man himself ? right ?

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2008 at 5:07am

nope, it will give the results for the great man himself.

However, if you type in rogermilla (all one word as is the case with you), a search engine will ask the following on top of the results

We have included http://uk.wrs.yahoo.com/_ylt=A1f4cfXUwOxHj2MAtHdLBQx./SIG=1593hr488/EXP=1206784596/**http%3A//uk.search.yahoo.com/search%3Fei=UTF-8%26rd=r1%26fr=yfp-t-501%26p=roger%2Bmilla%26SpellState=n-971291064_q-xURevuBzYV6ERJHBGjV6dwAAAA%2540%2540 - roger milla results - Show only http://uk.wrs.yahoo.com/_ylt=A1f4cfXUwOxHj2MAtXdLBQx./SIG=13bgjf8pn/EXP=1206784596/**http%3A//uk.search.yahoo.com/search%3Fei=UTF-8%26rd=r1%26fr=yfp-t-501%26p=%252Brogermilla - rogermilla

On yahoo, if you click on show only rogermilla, you, and ybig, are in third place.

On google, when you search for rogermilla, foot.ie is in position 8 and ybig are in position 10 but if you just narrowed it down to results from Ireland on both google and yahoo, it would be all foot and ybig forum results showing up.

Geek
here's the rest of the day
11-12 double Irish
12-12.30 indoor soccer
12.30-1.15 lunch
1.15-1.45 geography
1,45-2.30 economics
2.30-3.00 english
3.00-3.30 maths

No mitching now lads

Date Posted: 28 Mar 2008 at 8:06am
tremendous stuff seanie ! you make nerds look cool

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 3:54pm
this site is 1 hour behind proper time?

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 3:59pm
Count is on his stags Brianie, it'll be sorted when he's back...you'd think he'd sort it from over there....lazy bastid Thumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 4:02pm
didnt know that HM, hope he had agood time cheers

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 4:10pm
Check out the whatever section to see where he was staying Brianie.....i'm sure he had a great time Big%20smile

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 4:14pm
was it that gay hotel!  with all that crac sorry craic?

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 4:15pm
You know it!

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 5:01pm

You know it!

no mate not my scene

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 5:03pm
You're on the wrong forum then Brianie Heart

Date Posted: 30 Mar 2008 at 5:07pm

You're on the wrong forum then Brianie Heart
im missing something hereWink

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2008 at 3:36am
come out of the closet brianie , you know it makes sense ! Wink

Date Posted: 31 Mar 2008 at 4:46am

come out of the closet brianie , you know it makes sense ! Wink

Ha HAAngry

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 9:18am
116 Wacko

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 10:43am
auld search spiders again, guess the more popular this site becomes the more they will crawl it so it's a good measure of the popularity of the site. 

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2008 at 5:21pm
It works to our benefit too, I was talking to someone in marketing about the site, and said look how many people are using the forum - there was 47 she was very impressed..had a quick look 3 memebrs and a whole bunch of spiders...go on the spiders yah good things

Posted By: theworm2345
Date Posted: 06 Apr 2008 at 8:04pm
My site had 218 earlier today, 184 of them were Spiders

http://www.globalsportsarchive.com/competitions/soccer/" rel="nofollow - League of Ireland archive with reports back to 91/92 (goalscorers for First Division) now online, plus Twitter: twitter.com/StattoLOI

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2008 at 3:03am
what is your site worm ?

Posted By: theworm2345
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2008 at 10:01am
http://www.footballclips.net/forum - www.footballclips.net/forum

We used to be doing better but we've had a few crashes and are now reeling a bit

http://www.globalsportsarchive.com/competitions/soccer/" rel="nofollow - League of Ireland archive with reports back to 91/92 (goalscorers for First Division) now online, plus Twitter: twitter.com/StattoLOI

Date Posted: 12 May 2008 at 1:19pm
If we were to put in a topic which was headlined with something that is searched for every minute of everyday i.e. Porn, One night in Paris etc.. Would that bring all the spiders back again?

Posted By: Donal Cullen
Date Posted: 12 May 2008 at 1:20pm
Originally posted by McGoldrick2284 McGoldrick2284 wrote:

If we were to put in a topic which was headlined with something that is searched for every minute of everyday i.e. Porn, One night in Paris etc.. Would that bring all the spiders back again?

Something like Wank.com, McG? Whenever I go there I am re-directed to the official Shamrock Rovers page.

Date Posted: 12 May 2008 at 1:23pm
Originally posted by Donal Cullen Donal Cullen wrote:

Originally posted by McGoldrick2284 McGoldrick2284 wrote:

Something like Wank.com, McG? Whenever I go there I am re-directed to the official Shamrock Rovers page.

Haha wait til the lads get a hold of that...

Donal you're the man to start a topic so i have now given you the challenge!

Can you rise to it?Embarrassed

Date Posted: 12 May 2008 at 1:30pm
How about

FREE BEER AND KABABS

NAKED WOMEN TALK SOCC....FOOTBALL

OPRAH JOINS YBIG

NAKED FOOTBALLERS (for the women and the gays)

TRAPPATTONI'S COLUMN (exclusive to YBIG)

YOU HAVE BEEN DIRECTED TO THIS SITE BECAUSE YOU ARE SAD AND NEED FRIENDS

SCORE WITH A PORN STAR

Date Posted: 13 May 2008 at 9:33am
you are our one millionth visitor , please leave your credit card number here and we will deposit 1,000,000,0000,000 shekels to your account   

Date Posted: 16 May 2008 at 11:01am
Very odd goings on in the active users...

Instead of spiders they have all changed to XP users etc. and are apparently writing new posts Confused

Date Posted: 09 Jul 2008 at 5:30pm
106 viewing Ireland Forum - spiders at work no doubt

Date Posted: 25 Jul 2008 at 10:06am
141 active users WTF?

Date Posted: 26 Jul 2008 at 5:56am
Just discovered the answer. When I leave to get a cuppa, my wife takes over the puter and she is there all night. So I watch DVD's and then go to bed. Meanwhile, all the time, I am still logged on to YBIG. Now that that is out of the way I think I'll look into this Iraq thing and try and solve that.