URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=18760
Printed Date: 24 Apr 2024 at 2:39pm

Topic: Rue Bobby Sands
Posted By: gregpent
Subject: Rue Bobby Sands
Date Posted: 28 May 2010 at 1:12pm
Visited it today. Its next to Saint Denis stadium. Next time we're playing France good to know.

IrelandAway.com

Posted By: conor253
Date Posted: 28 May 2010 at 2:12pm
When he died, the Iranians changed the name of the street that the British embassy was on in Tehran from Winston Churchill Boulevard to Bobby Sands Street to piss off the Brits!

Posted By: gregpent
Date Posted: 28 May 2010 at 2:22pm
yep, friend of mine is going to do a documentary about all the streets named after him around the world. France now hosting the euro's in 2016. I'm sure we'll be on this street in the future, in better circumstances!

IrelandAway.com

Posted By: mise6.8.73
Date Posted: 28 May 2010 at 3:36pm
Revenge ..is a dish best served cold!Evil%20Smile

Fai l To Pepare,Prepare To Fai l.

Posted By: Johnnybhoy
Date Posted: 28 May 2010 at 4:55pm
This is a real eye opener of a video, shows the international reaction when he died

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5DO71o2LrjY

Posted By: filthymcnasty
Date Posted: 29 May 2010 at 12:53pm
God Bless Bobby Sands.

Going Green on November 14!!

Date Posted: 29 May 2010 at 1:04pm
What exactly has this got to do with the Ireland team ?

Date Posted: 29 May 2010 at 1:35pm
He's saying next time were in France on an Ireland trip maybe we can congregate here I think

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 29 May 2010 at 1:56pm
its a bit ironic that it rhymes with Hands

Date Posted: 30 May 2010 at 8:02am

He is an icon around the world..

That song in the link is unappropiate.

Posted By: criostoir Óg
Date Posted: 30 May 2010 at 8:03am
Originally posted by horsebox1977 horsebox1977 wrote:

He is an icon around the world..

That song in the link is unappropiate.
I can see where the person was coming from with it...but its inappropriate you're right. One thing I hater about youtube when people feel the need to make 'videos' to go with songs from the first 10 images that come up on google; or make videos such as that with information they got off wikipedia...absolute waste of internet space!

What happens on away trips, stays on away trips...except syphilis!

Posted By: flipper
Date Posted: 31 May 2010 at 5:02am
Its in the whatever forum. What the f**k do cheese toasties and film reviews have to do with the Ireland team

Date Posted: 31 May 2010 at 5:11am
Originally posted by flipper flipper wrote:

Its in the whatever forum. What the f**k do cheese toasties and film reviews have to do with the Ireland team

It wasnt originally

Date Posted: 31 May 2010 at 12:49pm
Originally posted by filthymcnasty filthymcnasty wrote:

God Bless Bobby Sands.

Date Posted: 14 Jun 2014 at 10:45pm
John Sands - Bobby's father passed away today.

Posted By: new york
Date Posted: 14 Jun 2014 at 11:32pm
It was a complete waste of life. Basically it is a stupid form of protest if truth be told. A lot of innocent people lost their lives due to rioting after each striker died. Cry

Posted By: sweeper
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 12:43am
Well when you grow up we'll be able to tell you all about it. I knight you Sir nieve.

Posted By: Madferret
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:23am
Originally posted by new york new york wrote:

It was a complete waste of life. Basically it is a stupid form of protest if truth be told. A lot of innocent people lost their lives due to rioting after each striker died. Cry

You're a complete waste of life.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:31am
Why did they rub their sh*t on the walls?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:41am
Don't feed the trolls.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:42am

They were hoping to bring the like of you up one day to lick it all off... But you wore you're tongue out on Maggie.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:44am
TAL

Posted By: Northerner
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:56am
Originally posted by Madferret Madferret wrote:

<span style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">They were hoping to bring the like of you up one day to lick it all off... But you wore you're tongue out on Maggie.</span>

They and many others died for nothing. There was no freedom fighters or heroes, only murdering scumbags who murdered innocent Irishmen and women.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:57am
Originally posted by Northerner Northerner wrote:

<span style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">They were hoping to bring the like of you up one day to lick it all off... But you wore you're tongue out on Maggie.</span>

They and many others died for nothing. There was no freedom fighters or heroes, only murdering scumbags who murdered innocent Irishmen and women.

Nibble nibble nibble including the security services nibble and the Crown nibble nibble.

DAMNIT, I don't want to have this debate. Sorry.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:58am

I'm surprised they had so much sh1t to rub on the walls being on hunger strike. How is that?

Posted By: armahibee
And to think if only unionists hadnt got in a twist over one man one vote.

Nibble nibble nibble including the security services nibble and the Crown nibble nibble.

DAMNIT, I don't want to have this debate. Sorry.

All guilty and all with dirty secrets.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:01am
Originally posted by armahibee armahibee wrote:

And to think if only unionists hadnt got in a twist over one man one vote.

They should've let Ulster declare independence like Scotland perhaps?

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:07am
They should have let every citizen have a vote perhaps?? Would have saved a lot of hassle.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 9:29am

They were oppressed.
They are not oppressed any more. They gained freedom and they are close enough to equality.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:17am
RIP John, father of Ireland's bravest

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 11:32am
The fact of the matter is that each hungerstriker chose to end their own lives sadly.  Also that Dirty Protest was their own choice as well. They created the conditions they lived in but tried to tell the world it was part of the torture they were enduring if truth be told. 

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 12:03pm

The fact of the matter is that each hungerstriker chose to end their own lives sadly.  Also that Dirty Protest was their own choice as well. They created the conditions they lived in but tried to tell the world it was part of the torture they were enduring if truth be told. 

But you're not telling the truth you clown.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 12:10pm

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 12:26pm
TJ' s alter egos have gone downhill a lot lately.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 12:49pm
RIP John Sands

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 12:51pm
The fact is that the prisoners smeared their own sh*t on their prison walls.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:00pm

The fact is that the prisoners smeared their own sh*t on their prison walls.
This was done in response to the beatings they were recieving when they had to slop out from so called prision staff and it worked, even though the conditions were bad for the political prisioners it was another win in the day to day battle in the H block

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:12pm
No it was not daithi, prisoners lost their lives & others suffered health issues for the rest of their lives, innocent people lost their lives outside the prison.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:15pm
Oh suffering divine jaysus

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:20pm

No it was not daithi, prisoners lost their lives & others suffered health issues for the rest of their lives, innocent people lost their lives outside the prison.

Keep your ignorance off this thread.

Posted By: EastStandMan
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:21pm
RIP John Sands . 

Shamrock Rovers - lovin the buzz .

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:30pm
So Horse the prisoners did not lose their lives?

Posted By: Just saying like
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:31pm
Anybody answering NY on this or any other thread is a clown.  Maggots like him need dead tissue to feed on so your brains are perfect for him.

I don't know what more we can do in terms of being open and transparent - John Delaney

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:33pm
Just wondering if it was loyalist prisoners instead of republican prisoners in all this would the views change in some of the posters on here?    Be objective please,

Posted By: irish boogie
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:43pm

How many people died in the riots after each Hunger Striker Died ? I wasn't aware any died but couldn't be sure so I presume you have the stats / facts ?

Thank You Torun and Tyskie

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:44pm
Originally posted by irish boogie irish boogie wrote:

How many people died in the riots after each Hunger Striker Died ? I wasn't aware any died but couldn't be sure so I presume you have the stats / facts ?

Google it.

Posted By: irish boogie
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:48pm

Originally posted by irish boogie irish boogie wrote:

Google it.

No need to if you have the facts , you hardly wrote a statement like that without having facts to back it up , if I google it I'd probably end up on Wikipedia or is that your source of info?

Thank You Torun and Tyskie

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 1:54pm
It was a complete waste of human life.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:11pm

It was a complete waste of human life.

you are a complete waste of human life

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:14pm
Your joined date is apt.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:21pm

Your joined date is apt.

I don't think you understand the concept of April fool's day but that doesn't surprise me considering the idiotic postings you have so far.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:27pm
I have posted the truth.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:31pm

I have posted some absolute and utter shoite all over this forum.
Fixed

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:35pm
now now doc LOL

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:41pm

now now doc LOL
Wink LOL

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:43pm
fair play to ya doc you don't lack a sense of humour at least Cool

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:55pm
I do like to prescribe a little bit of laughter every now and then but like some medicines it is not to everyone's taste

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 2:56pm
I hear you on that one Thumbs Up

Posted By: StephenHendrick
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 9:53pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOdmRDS-7ZE" rel="nofollow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOdmRDS-7ZE

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:03pm

The chap never heard of Ireland before.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:10pm

Awful post Thumbs DownThumbs Down

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:18pm

Genuine question.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:20pm

WTF

Don't tell me you never wondered why they actually did it.

Daithi cleared it up for us

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:34pm
Even if it was Georgia Salpa's sh*t smeared all over the wall, I would be out of there in a nanosecond.

Posted By: Tippbiffo
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:49pm
Did criminals in the southern prisons ever go on hunger strike?

Posted By: FranDaMan
Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:52pm

Does that include Michael Collins and all those who fought the British prior to 1921?

Are ya a lady burd or a dirt burd?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 10:57pm
Originally posted by Tippbiffo Tippbiffo wrote:

Here we go again, the bug thicko from Tipperary commenting on something he knows nothing about.

Schtick to hang sangwiches

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 11:09pm

Here we go again, the bug thicko from Tipperary commenting on something he knows nothing about.

I'm just asking if it was a nationwide hunger strike by all criminals in both countries or was it just criminals in Northern Ireland who took part?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 11:11pm
Prisoners is the word you're looking for, and you know it.

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 11:19pm

Prisoners is the word you're looking for, and you know it.
Prisoners...criminals....detainees.....what's the difference?

Date Posted: 15 Jun 2014 at 11:49pm
Political prisoners.. freedom fighters... 

Criminals? 

What are you smoking?

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:03am
Originally posted by StephenHendrick StephenHendrick wrote:

Political prisoners.. freedom fighters... 

Criminals? 

What are you smoking?
political prisoners....freedom fighters?.....I ain't the one smoking the romantic spliff

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:06am

I'm just asking if it was a nationwide hunger strike by all criminals in both countries or was it just criminals in Northern Ireland who took part?

As Horse says, stay away from issues of Irish National History of which you show complete ignorance. 
Thankfully Tipperary as a County has produced many high-calibre Republicans over the years like Seán Treacy, Dan Breen & Seán Hogan in addition sadly to lamentable ham-sandwiches like Michael Lowry & TippMongo

http://www.historyjournal.ie/the-war-of-independence/52-war-of-independance-topics/79-irish-republicanism-and-the-hunger-strike.html

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:07am

What a complete and utter fckin Clown  you are

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:17am
At least his username is accurate

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:20am

As Horse says, stay away from issues of Irish National History of which you show complete ignorance. 
Thankfully Tipperary as a County has produced many high-calibre Republicans over the years like Seán Treacy, Dan Breen & Seán Hogan in addition sadly to lamentable ham-sandwiches like Michael Lowry & TippMongo

<span style="line-height: 1.4;">http://www.historyjournal.ie/the-war-of-independence/52-war-of-independance-topics/79-irish-republicanism-and-the-hunger-strike.html</span>

sean hogan, dan breen, sean treacy and dinny lacy were all republicans in the tipperary area during the war of independence but I never recalled them going on hunger strike?

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:21am

At least his username is accurate
It does not do him enough justice LOL

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:22am
So shooting Brits is grand, protesting at prison conditions is moody?

He is Karl Pilkington in the LOI section and Karl Marx outwith it

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:24am

<span style="line-height: 1.4;">http://www.historyjournal.ie/the-war-of-independence/52-war-of-independance-topics/79-irish-republicanism-and-the-hunger-strike.html</span>

sean hogan, dan breen, sean treacy and dinny lacy were all republicans in the tipperary 8area during the war of independence but I never recalled them going on hunger strike?

So no Irish replubicanswent on hunger strike before partition?

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:30am

sean hogan, dan breen, sean treacy and dinny lacy were all republicans in the tipperary 8area during the war of independence but I never recalled them going on hunger strike?

So no Irish replubicanswent on hunger strike before partition?
this is the question I am trying to ask from the contributers of ybig all night.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:33am
http://www.irish-society.org/home/hedgemaster-archives-2/history-events/hunger-strikes" rel="nofollow - read this ya thick f**k

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:43am
I ask a question tonight that may relate to republician ideology and the aggressive responses that it got did not surprise me.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:46am
You don't know your nation's history, yet feel suitably well versed to preach about it! Ignorance is bliss

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:52am

I ask a question tonight that may relate to republician ideology and the aggressive responses that it got did not surprise me.

I am *not* a republican by any stretch but to call IRA prisoners "criminals" displays either a lack of even basic knowledge or a deliberate desire to provoke.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulsterisation" rel="nofollow - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulsterisation

Quote: "'Criminalisation' was meant to avoid any acknowledgement of political motivation and nature of the conflict and was partly motivated to change perceptions of the conflict from a colonial war to that of a campaign against criminal gangs."

It was a well known tactic and I can't help but think your description of the hunger strikers as criminals rather than prisoners or another appellation was deliberate. You can correct me if your innocence was genuine but I have a feeling it was not.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:53am

You don't know your nation's history, yet feel suitably well versed to preach about it! Ignorance is bliss
I'm just asking ye in the know of what I'm asking without ill will!

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:54am
Sweet merciful f**k! I really hope you are sterile

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:58am

Sweet merciful f**k! I really hope you are sterile

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:58am

I am *not* a republican by any stretch but to call IRA prisoners "criminals" displays either a lack of even basic knowledge or a deliberate desire to provoke.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulsterisation" rel="nofollow - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulsterisation

Quote: "'Criminalisation' was meant to avoid any acknowledgement of political
motivation and nature of the conflict and was partly motivated to change
perceptions of the conflict from a colonial war to that of a campaign
against criminal gangs."

It was a well known tactic and I can't help but think your description of the hunger strikers as criminals rather than prisoners or another appellation was deliberate. You can correct me if your innocence was genuine but I have a feeling it was not.
I can assure you my intentions are genuine

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 1:01am
I will die for my country but I will not sleep in a small cell with the smell of sh*t wafting all over the place, not even Georgia Salpa's.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 1:14am

against criminal gangs."

No problem. It's probably best to call them prisoners hence forth though, rather than criminals.

My knowledge of the area is relatively limited and I won't get into the substantive details of it because I don't know the answer to your original question but I just thought the use of the word criminals wasn't the best choice.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 1:21am

against criminal gangs."

No problem. It's probably best to call them prisoners hence forth though, rather than criminals.

My knowledge of the area is relatively limited and I won't get into the substantive details of it because I don't know the answer to your original question but I just thought the use of the word criminals wasn't the best choice.

I appreciate your response and in the very non belligerent way that you have dealt with my post.

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 1:39am
Tb, there is simply no way you don't know the difference between criminals and political prisoners in an Irish context. Even the Brits made and still make that distinction. Why do you think republicans have their own wings in prison, not have to work, get to bring in food etc?

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 11:36am
I had a read up on the sh*t smearing last night. They smeared it on the walls because if they left it in a pile it would have stayed smellier for longer. Whilst if they smeared it on the wall, it would dry out and lose the smell quicker.

I probably would have just taken the beating myself

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:30pm
Landon, you don't strike me as a man who would go to prison or take personal risks for your beliefs. Unless they change the bus timetable or something

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:35pm

Landon, you don't strike me as a man who would go to prison or take personal risks for your beliefs. Unless they change the bus timetable or something

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 12:36pm

Well I was going to add something along those lines but you know how aggressive people get when you speak ill of the rah LOL

Posted By: daffyp
Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 1:28pm

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 2:04pm

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2014 at 3:24pm
The only way a bus timetable change would affect Landon would be if it meant more buses on the road during his commute in his Jaguar.