URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=17759
Printed Date: 29 Apr 2024 at 3:47pm

Topic: Keiran Westwood
Posted By: shanny
Subject: Keiran Westwood
Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 7:24am

Wikipedia post I just read now:

"On 1 May 2010, Manchester United completed the pre-contract agreement to sign Westwood in the summer for a undisclosed fee. It is thought he will replace the aging Edwin Van der Sar and become the clubs long term number one."

Is there any truth to this?  I have no citation or outside confirmation (but it's damned exciting, if true).

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 7:28am
Cant trust Wiki.
Would doubt this being true.

Keiren Westwood
Personal information
Full name Keiren Westwood
Date of birth 23 October 1984 (1984-10-23) (age 25)
Place of birth /wiki/Manchester - Manchester , /wiki/England - England
Height 6 ft 2 in (1.88 m)
Playing position /wiki/Goalkeeper_%28association_football%29 - Goalkeeper
Club information
Current club /wiki/Manchester_United - Man Utd
Number TBA
Senior career*
Years Team Apps (Gls)
2003–2004 /wiki/Manchester_City_F.C. - Manchester City 0 (0)
2004 /wiki/Oldham_Athletic_A.F.C. - Oldham Athletic (loan) 0 (0)
2004–2008 /wiki/Carlisle_United_F.C. - Carlisle United 131 (0)
2008– /wiki/Coventry_City_F.C. - Coventry City 89 (0)
/wiki/Manchester_United - Manchester United

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 8:16am
no sign of this anywhere else...surely rubbish

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 8:22am
it's true lads, Dj rapper sensation Tim Westwood has signed up for the United Christmas party..aiiii

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 12:14pm
Ah lads, someone signs up and with his first post he posts something outreageous from wikipedia, hang your heads!

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 3:35pm
Originally posted by shanny shanny wrote:

Wikipedia post I just read now:

"On 1 May 2010, Manchester United completed the pre-contract agreement to sign Westwood in the summer for a undisclosed fee. It is thought he will replace the aging Edwin Van der Sar and become the clubs long term number one."

Is there any truth to this?  I have no citation or outside confirmation (but it's damned exciting, if true).
Hi Kieran!Cool

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 3:37pm

Why would United want to sign Westwood anyway ? He's no better than Kushcak or Foster.

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 3:38pm
Been removed from Wiki anyway

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 3:42pm
No it hasn't

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 3:46pm

Nothin re United there.
Only remnant is his career profile on the right of the page.

[ /w/index.php?title=Keiren_Westwood&action=edit&section=2 - edit ] Manchester City

Westwood started his career at /wiki/Manchester_City_F.C. - Manchester City where he never played a first team game and was released as he had /wiki/David_James_%28footballer%29 - David James and /wiki/Nicky_Weaver - Nicky Weaver in front of him.

[ /w/index.php?title=Keiren_Westwood&action=edit&section=3 - edit ] Carlisle United

Westwood then joined /wiki/Carlisle_United_F.C. - Carlisle United , becoming the understudy to /wiki/Matt_Glennon - Matt Glennon . Although he played in most cup games, in March 2005, when Glennon was injured, Westwood played some /wiki/National_Conference - Conference games for /wiki/Carlisle_United_F.C. - Carlisle before being replaced by the fit-again Glennon.

In the /wiki/2005-06_in_English_football - 2005-06 season , Glennon left Carlisle and they signed /wiki/Tony_Williams_%28footballer%29 - Anthony Williams as his replacement. It looked like Westwood would be the club's number two goalkeeper again, though he finally got his chance to compete for the number one shirt and he succeeded in taking his chance. He started 35 /wiki/Football_League_Two - League Two games in their title season and continued to be the club's number one goalkeeper. At the end of the /wiki/2007-08_in_English_football - 2007-08 season in /wiki/Football_League_One - League One , Westwood was named in the /wiki/PFA_Team_of_the_Year - PFA Team of the Year and also won all of the club's Player of the Season awards.

[ /w/index.php?title=Keiren_Westwood&action=edit&section=4 - edit ] Coventry City

On 18 June 2008, Westwood signed a three year contract with /wiki/Football_League_Championship - Championship club /wiki/Coventry_City_F.C. - Coventry City for an undisclosed fee. #cite_note-1 - [2] Westwood was named in the /wiki/Football_League_Championship - Championship /wiki/PFA_Team_of_the_Year - PFA Team of the Year for 2009 after many excellent displays for /wiki/Coventry_City_F.C. - Coventry City in his debut season at the club. He was also awarded the South Wales Supporters' Club's Player of the season award for 2008/2009.

[ /w/index.php?title=Keiren_Westwood&action=edit&section=5 - edit ] International career

On 17 May 2008, Westwood was called up by the Republic of Ireland to attend their training camp in /wiki/Portugal - Portugal after impressing against /wiki/Leeds_United_F.C. - Leeds United in a championship match.[ /wiki/Wikipedia:Citation_needed - citation needed ] Three days later he made his debut as a second half substitute in a practice match against Portuguese club Lagos, replacing /wiki/Joe_Murphy_%28footballer%29 - Joe Murphy after 66 minutes. #cite_note-2 - [3]

Westwood made his first appearance for Ireland in a friendly against Nigeria in May 2009. #cite_note-3 - [4]

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 3:47pm
Originally posted by McGoldrick McGoldrick wrote:

Been removed from Wiki anyway

Keiren Westwood (born 23 October 1984 in http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manchester - Manchester , http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greater_Manchester - Greater Manchester ) is an http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England - English -born http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Ireland - Irish http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football - footballer who plays as a http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goalkeeper_%28association_football%29 - goalkeeper . He currently plays for http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coventry_City_F.C. - Coventry City , he will join Manchester United on 1 June 2010. He qualifies to play for the http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_of_Ireland_national_football_team - Republic of Ireland national team by virtue of an Irish born Grandmother. Keiren married his wife Danielle in Edinburgh in June 2009 in a Catholic ceremony. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keiren_Westwood#cite_note-0 - [1]

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 3:48pm
Still in the very first paragraph at the very top of the page McG

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 3:49pm

My sincere apols

Date Posted: 01 May 2010 at 4:09pm
WOOOOOOOOOO!

I win.

Date Posted: 04 May 2010 at 12:33pm
he conceded 4 last week

Posted By: Belfast Green
Date Posted: 04 May 2010 at 2:48pm
Voted Coventry player of the year by the http://www.coventrytelegraph.net/coventry-city-fc/coventry-city-fc-news/2010/05/04/keiren-westwood-wins-coventry-city-s-player-of-the-year-award-92746-26371143/ - supporters and the players .

http://www.coventrytelegraph.net/coventry-city-fc/coventry-city-fc-news/2010/05/04/keiren-westwood-wins-coventry-city-s-player-of-the-year-award-92746-26371143/ -  

http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/" rel="nofollow - http://oneteaminireland.blogspot.com/

Date Posted: 05 May 2010 at 6:56am
Coventry chairman was talking about the future of the club on SSN yesterday after sacking Chris Coleman, and mentioned they need to improve finances to keep the Kieran Westwood's of this world, only player he mentioned in the interview

Date Posted: 05 May 2010 at 7:04am
Originally posted by Ireland4ever Ireland4ever wrote:

Ah lads, someone signs up and with his first post he posts something outreageous from wikipedia, hang your heads!
yeah think shanny caught himself a few fish alright

Date Posted: 05 May 2010 at 8:53am
He could do with a move to the EPL, but there aren't many clubs who obviously need a keeper (other than Arsenal, can't see him going there). Newcastle would be one, if they decided Harper was not good enough, Birmingham another if City don't lend them Joe hart, as has been reported. Other than than, he could be looking at going to an EPL club and sitting on the bench, if that were the case he would be better off staying put.

Date Posted: 29 Jan 2011 at 9:14am
Good test for him today against 2 talented strikers in Philips and Zigic. Made a great save from a header from Philips a few minutes ago

Posted By: Donal Cullen
Date Posted: 01 Feb 2011 at 9:18am

I see Steve Oggie has said on the BBC this morning that he thinks Westwood cane become on of the greats. Lets hope so.

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 5:55pm
Just had a look to see how Locke has been rating him every week in his thread, couldn't find any ratings from all the Sheffield wednesdsy games he watched on his android box this season

Posted By: Locke
Date Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 7:12pm
You won't find any ratings for any player all season

Ivan Locke: "I'm not going to turn back. I have made my decision."

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 7:25pm
According to stats their performances have been pretty much equal, Westwood just edges it but not by much.

http://www.whoscored.com/Players/12965/Show/Keiren-Westwood" rel="nofollow - http://www.whoscored.com/Players/12965/Show/Keiren-Westwood

http://www.whoscored.com/Players/22295/Show/David-Forde" rel="nofollow - http://www.whoscored.com/Players/22295/Show/David-Forde

I'd go with Forde as he's never let us down.

Date Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 7:39pm

According to stats their performances have been pretty much equal, Westwood just edges it but not by much.

http://www.whoscored.com/Players/12965/Show/Keiren-Westwood" rel="nofollow - http://www.whoscored.com/Players/12965/Show/Keiren-Westwood

http://www.whoscored.com/Players/22295/Show/David-Forde" rel="nofollow - http://www.whoscored.com/Players/22295/Show/David-Forde

Forde cost us against Sweden with an awful error...and every game he has a panic attack moment.

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 11:48pm
Originally posted by Locke Locke wrote:

Forde cost us against Sweden with an awful error...and every game he has a panic attack moment.

Get out of it, one mistake in the last campaign and your all over him? Sure Westwood shipped 6 past him against Germany last time around too, and some of them were saves he could/should have saved / atleast done better with.

Whats your problem coming on here and sh*tting all over the players?

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 6:49am
Westwood couldn't have done a thing about the six Germany got ffs.
Forde has done better than I could have every foreseen...but he is a liability.

Posted By: valo88
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 9:33am

Are you serious? 2nd and 4th goals were completely on him. His positioning was woeful! What was he doing on the edge of his box for both?!? Should have been holding his line.

The 6th was also bad, a good shot stopper would have got something to it.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 10:23am
Originally posted by valo88 valo88 wrote:

Are you serious? 2nd and 4th goals were completely on him. His positioning was woeful! What was he doing on the edge of his box for both?!? Should have been holding his line.

The 6th was also bad, a good shot stopper would have got something to it.

I wouldnt agree but its all about opinions.
I just think Westwood is #1...Given cant be viewed as a long term soloution he is what 38 and Forde isnt far behind...we should be bedding KW in till someone like a Lawlor steps up. I just dont see why he isnt even considered(KW)...when there is talk of Forde being dropped why would you replace him with a sub gk.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 10:53am
When Westwood finally gets his chance it won't be long before you are looking for him to be replaced, Locke you are like a broken record at this stage same old drivel and it's boring to read, do you not get a bit bored writing it?

You have discussed other players how well they are doing this season who are in the epl yet you have never commented on how well Westwood has done this season not once! Calling your bluff on all these times you've seen him play for Wednesday this season.

I have no doubt he is a good GK but he shouldn't be thrown into a game of this importance and there is no way Martin will do it so let's just move on.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 11:41am
I doubt Locke has watched KW once this season.

Usual tripe, ruining the forum.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 11:44am

I doubt Locke has watched KW once this season.

Usual tripe, ruining the forum.

What ever makes you sleep easier.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 12:07pm
My main concern is the amount of tripe you write on this forum and get away with it.

It's trolling, the amount of good posters that don't post any more is a concern.

You don't even go the games FFS

Posted By: Gashley Grimes
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 12:07pm
I saw Westwood in Hillsborugh v Boro in February he is in superb form.

Pal from Wednesdayite rates him as highly as any keeper that has been at the club.

Forde has been superb for the last few years but even Shay wants a game this weekend.Smile

Interesting decision for MON.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 1:11pm

My main concern is the amount of tripe you write on this forum and get away with it.

It's trolling, the amount of good posters that don't post any more is a concern.

The thing is Im not your concern...you bore the hell out of me, but I ignore you..why you fell the need to engage me is silly now at this stage..you pull posters a every opp you get.
    Listen if the mods feel Im dragging this forum down they have my perrmission to disable my account. And you can go about your business of policing this forum.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 1:26pm
Thing is Locke you have been banned yet you came back again. You just love knocking players all the time, if you just admit you haven't seen Westwood this season then you can save yourself!

Posted By: KING-CON
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 1:47pm
Only Boro have conceded less than Sheffield Wednesday in the Championship this season and I don't think Wednesday have a super defense. Those whoscored ratings arent really useful when it comes to comparing goalkeepers. Liverpool were linked with Westwood in Jan. 

Forde will be very lucky to be Championship keeper next season if Millwall don't pull off an unlikely escape. He has played really well for us but is a liability who will put our already shaky defense under more pressure.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 1:51pm
Originally posted by KING-CON KING-CON wrote:

Only Boro have conceded less than Sheffield Wednesday in the Championship this season and I don't think Wednesday have a super defense. Those whoscored ratings arent really useful when it comes to comparing goalkeepers. Liverpool were linked with Westwood in Jan

Forde will be very lucky to be Championship keeper next season if Millwall don't pull off an unlikely escape. He has played really well for us but is a liability who will put our already shaky defense under more pressure.

To play second-fiddle to Simon Mignolet like he did for 3 years at Sunderland? Seriously. LOL

He's had a mighty fine season but he's not that good.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 2:01pm

The thing is Im not your concern...you bore the hell out of me, but I ignore you..why you fell the need to engage me is silly now at this stage..you pull posters a every opp you get.

Listen if the mods feel Im dragging this forum down they have my perrmission to disable my account. And you can go about your business of policing this forum.

You piss loads of people off on this forum not just me, you constantly post complete rubbish, every single day. You don't have an ounce of credibility.

As you said yourself you don't even to go to the games, so why are you even posting on the forum.

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 2:18pm

You piss loads of people off on this forum not just me, you constantly post complete rubbish, every single day. You don't have an ounce of credibility.

As you said yourself you don't even to go to the games, so why are you even posting on the forum.

I gave up going to games under Trap... I have been back since he left.
Even if I never went to see a football match live how does that make my feelings on the game less valid than yours?

Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 3:04pm

He has an android box and watches all of our players at home each week, even the championship ones complete and utter spoofer who ruins good football discussions daily

Posted By: KING-CON
Date Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 4:14pm

Originally posted by KING-CON KING-CON wrote:

Only Boro have conceded less than Sheffield Wednesday in the Championship this season and I don't think Wednesday have a super defense. Those whoscored ratings arent really useful when it comes to comparing goalkeepers. Liverpool were linked with Westwood in Jan

To play second-fiddle to Simon Mignolet like he did for 3 years at Sunderland? Seriously. LOL

He's had a mighty fine season but he's not that good.

I'm not making it up.   http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/keiren-westwood-snubs-liverpool-transfer-4909877

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2015 at 7:38pm

Bump.

You were banned for a reason and now you are back, pissing people off with your usual tripe.

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2015 at 7:39pm
Westwood made a superb save yesterday. Really top class.

Posted By: Dougal
Date Posted: 12 Apr 2015 at 7:48pm
He is a great keeper.

Sorry Ted, I was concentrating too hard on looking holy.

Date Posted: 12 Apr 2015 at 9:06pm
Did you watch the match on your android box Dougal?

Date Posted: 13 Apr 2015 at 4:57am
The goal he conceded was pretty poor mind, the most unconvincing parry of the ball you'll ever see.

On the flipside he made a great reactionary save. Mixed afternoon for him it's safe to say it was.

Date Posted: 13 Apr 2015 at 10:31am

The goal he conceded was pretty poor mind, the most unconvincing parry of the ball you'll ever see.

On the flipside he made a great reactionary save. Mixed afternoon for him it's safe to say it was.

Hardly... Pushed the ball out wide and was unlucky that none of his defenders were there to clear it, not as is he knocked straight back in front of himself for someone to tap in.

Date Posted: 13 Apr 2015 at 11:57am

Hardly... Pushed the ball out wide and was unlucky that none of his defenders were there to clear it, not as is he knocked straight back in front of himself for someone to tap in.

The shot was weak as piss. Why am I not surprised you've jumped to kiss someones ass if they have a bad moment LOL

Date Posted: 13 Apr 2015 at 12:45pm

The shot was weak as piss. Why am I not surprised you've jumped to kiss someones ass if they have a bad moment LOL

I could just as easily say why am I not surprised you're jumping on a players back just because they haven't executed something to perfection? It wasn't the perfect save, ideally he would have put it out for a corner, but to call it "the most unconvincing parry you'll ever see" is ever so slightly exaggerated. In most cases someone would have been there to clear it away easily, he pushed it wide enough that you wouldn't expect the opposition player to get there first and rifle it into the roof of the net.

Posted By: amccarten313
Date Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 3:25am
why are there 2 threads on him?

Date Posted: 24 Apr 2015 at 5:35pm
Voted fans player of the year for Sheff Wed.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 2:21pm
named in PFA championship team of the year. 

Surely MON will notice this.

Posted By: TheMightyQuinn
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 2:40pm
Has he not been named to this team in the past? Disappointed he's never kicked on and secured a full time gig in the top flight.

You'll not see nothing like the Mighty Quinn

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 3:17pm
3 Ireland players in the team

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 3:26pm
How can Bamford be Championship player of the year yet not make the Championship team of the year? Very illogical. Should have went to Murphy. Congrats to Westwood, Keogh and Murphy.

Posted By: Mullingar
Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 5:04pm
One could be voted for by players the other the press

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 5:30pm
Originally posted by TheMightyQuinn TheMightyQuinn wrote:

Has he not been named to this team in the past? Disappointed he's never kicked on and secured a full time gig in the top flight.

Mignolet was ahead of him at Sunderland, plus he had a bout of flu prior to playing Man City a few seasons back and didn't play when he was down to start and Mignolet ended up playing with a broken nose or something along those lines so he royally f**ked up his chance of being Sunderland's number 1.

Good keeper, should now be our number 1.

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2015 at 3:08pm
Amid all the delight with the German victory, and the disappointment of the Poland game, only briefly noticed that Rob Elliot (& not Westwood) was called up for the Poland game to replace Given. 

What exactly is the craic here then, is the only fella playing every week gone to Ireland's number 5 ? Is there a fallout, has he retired, will he not play for MON, or is it just that MON won't pick him ? 

Surprised there hasn't been much of a reaction over this, if Trap had pulled a similar stunt, the Trap out lads would have had a field day. As for Given, Longs goal V Germany would never have happened had he (or for that matter Forde) been on goal, neither of them can simply kick the ball as far, or as accurately as Randolph or Westwood. 

I still think this decision to persist with Given will bite us in the arse, should he return for the playoffs. He was extremely flat footed again for Ozil's disallowed goal, he didn't budge when Muller hit one just wide (low, and to the corner) in the first half, an accident waiting to happen. 

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2015 at 3:17pm

Amid all the delight with the German victory, and the disappointment of the Poland game, only briefly noticed that Rob Elliot (& not Westwood) was called up for the Poland game to replace Given. 

What exactly is the craic here then, is the only fella playing every week gone to Ireland's number 5 ? Is there a fallout, has he retired, will he not play for MON, or is it just that MON won't pick him ? 

Surprised there hasn't been much of a reaction over this, if Trap had pulled a similar stunt, the Trap out lads would have had a field day. As for Given, Longs goal V Germany would never have happened had he (or for that matter Forde) been on goal, neither of them can simply kick the ball as far, or as accurately as Randolph or Westwood. 

I still think this decision to persist with Given will bite us in the arse, should he return for the playoffs. He was extremely flat footed again for Ozil's disallowed goal, he didn't budge when Muller hit one just wide (low, and to the corner) in the first half, an accident waiting to happen. 

I've said this in numerous threads now over the years posting on YBIG but I've suspected there's been a major fallout dating back from the FA Cup tie with Sunderland where he refused to play with a cold despite the fact Simon Mignolet had a broken cheekbone - It's pretty obvious, KW has not started a single competitive match for either Sunderland (When MON was in charge) or Ireland (Since he took over) since.

The fact he played Sheff Wed's last game and played today also proves he wasn't injured over the Int. Period and it was pure spite to not call him up but call up David Forde. 
It's just made been so obvious there's something happening behind closed doors given all the evidence.

Posted By: CoffeeBean
Date Posted: 17 Oct 2015 at 6:21pm
It is plain as day that O'Neill has a beef with Westwood great professional that O'Neill is.  Given will play in the play-offs along with Whelan as O'Neill is a stubborn man. The sight of Given in goal makes me mad but even madder at O'Neill cos he picked him. Our set-up is a sad joke!!