URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=16986
Printed Date: 28 Apr 2024 at 5:48am

Topic: AIB Mortgage increase
Subject: AIB Mortgage increase
Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 8:58am
increase of .5% this month Cry, anyone else stung?

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:02am
cu nts,im with first active,only a matter of time b4 we are all stung

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:03am
f**kin disgrace

bail them out and get ass f**ked again

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:04am
Not with AIB.........but yeah only a matter of time before the others follow like sheep.  Ironic that this thread is currently just above the "Help the Count on Good Friday" wan......you're worse than a Roma Gypo at this stage Count........LOL

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:10am

Not with AIB.........but yeah only a matter of time before the others follow like sheep.  Ironic that this thread is currently just above the "Help the Count on Good Friday" wan......you're worse than a Roma Gypo at this stage Count........LOL

Cry

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:21am
Ironically if they do not increase the interest rates which are at a record low remember they would have to be bailed out even more.  The banks need to return to a situation where they can make money from loans and mortgages compared to what they are giving out on deposits.  

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:43am
Lads, it will go up again this year and then the ECB rate will go up aswell, so potentially it will go up another 0.75 by October !! Fix it while you can

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:46am
Originally posted by WindBag WindBag wrote:

Lads, it will go up again this year and then the ECB rate will go up aswell, so potentially it will go up another 0.75 by October !! Fix it while you can
ecb rate not expected to go up this year

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:50am
dont understand all this mortgage malarkey at all but how can they not pass on the decrease by the ecb but they can increase it when they feel like it?

Date Posted: 06 Apr 2010 at 9:56am
Basically they are nearly giving better interest on deposits than they are on lending money at this stage so they need to get back to sensible rates so they can make profits like any business. They had abandoned all the good principles of banking in a race to the bottom to see who can have the lowest interest rates. This was good for customers in the short term but we are seeing the result of it in the long term. 

During the 70s interest rates were at 13 per cent and above.  These are record lows we are living through now and remember the ECD purely only looks at inflation of the European economy and nothing else when it decides on its interest rates.  The difference between the ECB rate at the banks rate is effectively their profit after other costs etc. 

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 7:31am

Originally posted by WindBag WindBag wrote:

ecb rate not expected to go up this year

Thats why were in this recession, everyone expected certain things to happen, that didn't.

I'll put it simply, this time next year, you will DEFINITELY be paying a couple of hundred euro more on your Mortgage.

Do you disagree with that BSM ?

Posted By: IrishPride
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 7:34am
Originally posted by NeilMcD NeilMcD wrote:

Basically they are nearly giving better interest on deposits than they are on lending money at this stage so they need to get back to sensible rates so they can make profits like any business. They had abandoned all the good principles of banking in a race to the bottom to see who can have the lowest interest rates. This was good for customers in the short term but we are seeing the result of it in the long term. 

During the 70s interest rates were at 13 per cent and above.  These are record lows we are living through now and remember the ECD purely only looks at inflation of the European economy and nothing else when it decides on its interest rates.  The difference between the ECB rate at the banks rate is effectively their profit after other costs etc. 
NeilMcd Do you study economics?

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 7:39am
The trouble will come later when all the euro zone economies ( except the PIIGS) will need an interest rate rise to cool them down and the irish with the massive mortgages will get rogered..

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 7:52am
Originally posted by IrishPride IrishPride wrote:

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 8:00am
AIB Scum Thumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 8:35am

No, just common sense :)

Posted By: Chopper 76
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 8:40am

No, just common sense :)
do you want beans with that waffle? your a wannabe george lee FFSLOL

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 8:47am
I was bloody joking.   It was Kevin Myers a few weeks ago.  Myers is far too right wing economicaly for me and George Lee would be too far to the right also.  

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 9:08am
Che guevara too far to the right for you neil LOLWink

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 9:14am

I was bloody joking.   It was Kevin Myers a few weeks ago.  Myers is far too right wing economicaly for me and George Lee would be too far to the right also.  
where the fook do you get all the statistics from dude? ceefax?LOL

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 9:17am
Not bothering me. Feckers at Permo TSB had already done it.

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 9:42am
Originally posted by Chopper 76 Chopper 76 wrote:

Its called knowledge, you should try it out sometime   :)  

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 9:45am

Che guevara too far to the right for you neil LOLWink

Must watch CHE Part 1 I hear its pretty good.  I would class myself as left of centre probably.   Dont believe in communism or socialism, but social democracy. 

Anyway this thread is about the poor people who are stuck with big fck off mortgages.  Would not like to be in their shoes at the moment.   Luckily I could not afford to buy a house and did not buy one as a result but that does not mean I cant see past my own nose. 

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 9:56am

Originally posted by Chopper 76 Chopper 76 wrote:

Its called knowledge, you should try it out sometime   :)  
tried it once man it didnt agree with meLOL

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2010 at 2:55pm

the only non bailed out bank raise rates to maintain profitability, whats wrong with that???

also, rate are only going up for variable customers whose rates are not ecb linked. trackers are directly linked to ecb, not variable and fixed rates

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 7:05am

the only non bailed out bank raise rates to maintain profitability, whats wrong with that???

also, rate are only going up for variable customers whose rates are not ecb linked. trackers are directly linked to ecb, not variable and fixed rates

Nothing wrong with it all, 'cept it cost me before the bailed out banks caught everyone else.
Incidently, is there anything to stop anyone taking out a mortgage with an EU bank (say in Germany) that charges the standard rate above the ECB?

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 7:24am

Anyway this thread is about the poor people who are stuck with big fck off mortgages.  Would not like to be in their shoes at the moment.   Luckily I could not afford to buy a house and did not buy one as a result but that does not mean I cant see past my own nose. 

some families really bought into the dream alright , feckin huge mortgage 2 cars etc. they are the victims of this whole boom and will pay through the hole for it

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 7:51am

i take it you work for PTSB then Tom...LOL, Gillian bowler is a sl*g

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 9:02am
the height of the celtic tiger madness , bring in a glorified receptionist/trolly dolly to run a bank

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 9:56am

the height of the celtic tiger madness , bring in a glorified receptionist/trolly dolly to run a bank

LOL, there's your answer lads, birds fooked up the boom...........down with birds. Angry

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 10:21am

LOL, there's your answer lads, birds fooked up the boom...........down with birds. Angry

Indeed!

One of life's great mysteries:  

How is it that a woman can fit a seven inch vibrator into her half inch fanny, IN THE DARK........ but she's unable to fit an eight foot car into a fifteen foot parking space IN BROAD FU**ING DAYLIGHT?

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 10:25am
LOL, classic HOrnet.

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 10:28am
Hornet that's the funniest post I've ever read on this forum! Tea everywhere!

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 11:51am
He is back in form. Thought you had gone off the boil of Late Hornet, but thats a classic.  

Posted By: AidoM
Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 12:24pm
It's his best shingle one Wink .....................  gets coat Embarrassed

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 1:43pm

Nothing wrong with it all, 'cept it cost me before the bailed out banks caught everyone else.
Incidently, is there anything to stop anyone taking out a mortgage with an EU bank (say in Germany) that charges the standard rate above the ECB?

there is no "standard" rate over ecb. tracker loans track the ecb rate at a margin agreed when the loan is drawn. some lucky lucky people as low as .7% over ecb - ecb is 1% so 1.7% at present.

a variable rate depends solely on the banks cost of borrowing which are a function of expected rates in the future, the creditworthiness of the bank and the current base rate with an inbuilt profitability margin.

there is nothing stopping any eu bank offering mortgages here, generally they wont offer them due to differing laws in different countries egarding respossesions etc

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 2:13pm
gillian bowler is still a whore though

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 2:18pm
dont have an opinion either way citz, she should have walked after the anglo affair in my view though.

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 2:21pm
only messing with ya tom

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 2:25pm
Did she knock you back in Coppers on Sunday Citizen :) 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2010 at 3:04am
BOI increasing theirs from this morning.