Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 3:45pm
Just Buy FishTongue

Posted By: Daz
Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 4:01pm

Anyone here do a bit?Time to get the rods out and catch some pikeThumbs%20Up

you know i do ger

YBIG - Where everyone is a fooking expert :)

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 4:08pm
Time to dust down the pike rods and get out DazThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 4:13pm
Is there any Justice in Shark fishing?

Posted By: deisedevil
Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 4:57pm
love the sea fishing but have tried a bit if pike and trout fishing but not to much of it down here. there was a great lake for pike just out the road from me but the polish lads cleaned it outThumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 5:13pm
Originally posted by deisedevil deisedevil wrote:

love the sea fishing but have tried a bit if pike and trout fishing but not to much of it down here. there was a great lake for pike just out the road from me but the polish lads cleaned it outThumbs%20Down

coonts

ive heard storys about foreign lads being dealt with

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 5:15pm
ya but them fcukers go fishing all night not easy to catch them at it

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2010 at 5:22pm

ya but them fcukers go fishing all night not easy to catch them at it

well there was a pole tied to the number 1 marker

because he was caught with a bucket off fish

Posted By: The Scientist
Date Posted: 15 Mar 2010 at 9:47pm
BET YOU EMPLOY SOME OF THOSE POLISH ****S DEVIL??

Mother Theresa in skins!!

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2010 at 3:32am
fly fishing- freshwater and deep sea angling Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2010 at 3:46am
Originally posted by The Scientist The Scientist wrote:

as far as i know the 4 polish lads who work for me have no interest in fishing, ya fcuking gobsheen,
hows that facebook campaign to keep you in australia goingClap

Posted By: Tash Kent
Date Posted: 16 Mar 2010 at 5:10am

Tis the sport with most fatalities fishing, not sure what the numbers are like when you remove the amount of fish that die.LOL

Philip Greene RTE Radio Legend
10 Seconds Gone Here In Limerick And No Score.

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2010 at 2:49pm

Originally posted by The Scientist The Scientist wrote:

as far as i know the 4 polish lads who work for me have no interest in fishing, ya fcuking gobsheen,
hows that facebook campaign to keep you in australia goingClap

They might if ya released them from the cells every so often.........

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 9:22pm
BUMP

Bit of pike fishing this Thursday Thumbs Up

Posted By: harry
Date Posted: 08 Jan 2012 at 11:09pm
Cant wait for tue week the start of the salmon seasonSmile

Date Posted: 09 Jan 2012 at 1:31am

Anyone here do a bit?

Time to get the rods out and catch some pikeThumbs%20Up

Lough sheelin, Lough ramour are places i go in cavan

Closer to home Whitewood lake is a serious spot when things fall into placeClap

Date Posted: 09 Jan 2012 at 3:33am
Originally posted by daboi89 daboi89 wrote:

Anyone here do a bit?

Time to get the rods out and catch some pikeThumbs%20Up

Lough sheelin, Lough ramour are places i go in cavan

Closer to home Whitewood lake is a serious spot when things fall into placeClap

Was up in Ramor last week. Lasted an hour and a half cause the rain was that bad. Good few out though at the little inlet beside the carpark. Looks like a decent spot. The roach were all over the little pool where the boats are

Is whitewood a small lake where the record Irish pike is?

Date Posted: 09 Jan 2012 at 6:22pm
Havent been in Ramor in a while..  Landed a monster on the concrete area where the blackwater enters the lake.  in about 1 metre of water.

Whitewood has some Massive Pike in it alright.. Not sure about the record tho?Ermm

Ervey Lake and Mullagh lake are 2 I havent fished but are from what ive heard they have some serious specimens 

Posted By: Black Knee Stevie
Date Posted: 10 Jan 2012 at 5:47pm
Must get out to do a spot myself this year. Never got out last year at all Thumbs Down

It is not just a simple game, it is a weapon of the revolution

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2012 at 9:34pm
any big ones caught this week ?

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2012 at 1:07pm
I didn't get out Harry, next week hopefully

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2012 at 5:00pm

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2012 at 5:54pm

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2012 at 12:24am

All going well the rod will be brought out tomorrow for a bit of salmon fishing Smile

Posted By: Black Knee Stevie
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2012 at 10:13pm
Any bites the week? 
Definitely going out someday this week, f**k all else to be at.

It is not just a simple game, it is a weapon of the revolution

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2012 at 10:42pm
No was heading out today but had a wee bit too much to drink last night, had great intensions do Beer 

Posted By: Gem
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2012 at 10:46pm
What do yous be catching this time of year?

Love salmon season, my uncle goes to Ballina every week and sends some back with any of the family coming to Dublin, amazing stuff can't wait for May

Posted By: M.50
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2012 at 10:51pm
River Boyne flows next to my gaff, some cracking fishing spots around http://yoursmiles.org/t-fish.php?page=5" rel="nofollow">

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2012 at 11:10pm
Originally posted by Gem Gem wrote:

What do yous be catching this time of year?

Love salmon season, my uncle goes to Ballina every week and sends some back with any of the family coming to Dublin, amazing stuff can't wait for May

Get a salmon this time of year and you will cherish it for a long time... nothing beats itSmile 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 8:22pm
second day out fishing after coming back from poland and bang a nice salmon of about 6/7 lb Smile

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 8:24pm
fcuk my first time trying to upload a pic and well it did not work out! 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 8:38pm
Originally posted by harry harry wrote:

second day out fishing after coming back from poland and bang a nice salmon of about 6/7 lb Smile

where ya fishing?whats the price of a License/day pass  these days?

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 8:52pm
€100 national salmon licence does for the year, no day passes here( Upper Blackwater Anglers) just a €25 annual membership feeThumbs Up might be a bit more for 'non locals',
Have the pics uploaded from phone to laptop (again first time) i can copy them but can not paste them on hereConfused anyway i shall be learning Smile

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 9:02pm
Thats good value, used to be about 25€ for a day pass last time i fished the Moy,God i miss home for the fishing, 450€ for the year here,for stocked coarse lakes, and you have to pass a test in German to get a license,what did you catch it on?

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 9:07pm
On worms 4th or 5th cast out up a good old fight, fished hard for an hour or so afterwards and not a touch

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 9:16pm
Nice, would love to catch a Salmon on a fly, heard its the fight of a lifetime!

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 9:23pm

Nice, would love to catch a Salmon on a fly, heard its the fight of a lifetime!

Ya caught a couple of them on fly the last couple of years by mistake! fishing for trout and ya some fight seems like an eternity before they come to the bank/net

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2012 at 11:56pm

Thats good value, used to be about 25€ for a day pass last time i fished the Moy,God i miss home for the fishing, 450€ for the year here,for stocked coarse lakes, and you have to pass a test in German to get a license,what did you catch it on?

Shocked

Have to dust down the rods asap and get down to somewhere like Rathbeggan Lakes for a few tench and roach

Posted By: armahibee
Date Posted: 25 Jun 2012 at 3:21am
Straight on the plane after italy game, picked up the fishing rod and away to donegal, on the owenea!!! No salmon, usual enuff occurrence for me, back in my own bed tonight for the first night in 3 weeks, no chance if sleep.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2012 at 7:01am

Shocked

Have to dust down the rods asap and get down to somewhere like Rathbeggan Lakes for a few tench and roach

Head to the blackwater in Navan/Kells. I know a gem of a spot for Tench thats free

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2012 at 9:40am
Reckon Tench is the only Freshwater species ive never caught, usually head home for a week of Pike fishing in February, Lough Derravaragh,Cavan lakes  and a bit of dead bating in the Grand Canal.

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 10:21am
Looking for an old  Pike  bait for a while now?, Think it was called a Voblex,got one in Rorys tackle shop years ago, it was lethal, Green head, gold blade and red over the  treble hook,tried a few online shops too, no luck.

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 1:05pm
Tench are cracking fish Salzburg.
Was out last week.
No pikeCry
Couple perch was all

Posted By: MJD
Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 1:57pm

Was out last week.
No pikeCry
Couple perch was all

Lough Sheelin in Cavan. Known for its brown trout but there's Pike all over the place too.

17 International Caps
16 International Goals
COYFIG

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 2:05pm

Looking for an old  Pike  bait for a while now?, Think it was called a Voblex,got one in Rorys tackle shop years ago, it was lethal, Green head, gold blade and red over the  treble hook,tried a few online shops too, no luck.

Lethal Stuff

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 2:18pm
Is pike eaten that much in ireland? i know its a delicacy in germany. they re meant to be a dirty bastard of a fish as they d eat anything.one of the lads thats big into fishing said you could sky in your pubes and thry d still eat them

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 2:30pm

Was out last week.
No pikeCry
Couple perch was all
Your fishing skills are pathetic,that perch was smaller than a baby's hand

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:01pm

Lethal Stuff

Thats the Boy!!!
Where did you get that man?

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:05pm

Is pike eaten that much in ireland? i know its a delicacy in germany. they re meant to be a dirty bastard of a fish as they d eat anything.one of the lads thats big into fishing said you could sky in your pubes and thry d still eat them

I knew an aul wan at home who used to eat them,their full of bones but are supposed to taste like Chicken, there on the menu in an Austrian restaurant here, but i wouldnt be eating them, love them too much, would always return them alive unless i caught a Monster big enough to stuff and put on the wall in the Local boozer.

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:10pm

Was out last week.
No pikeCry
Couple perch was all

Usually do dead baiting in the winter and spinning for Pike in the summer,seen a nice sized fella in a lake last week, wet the appetite again, spinners are dirt cheap here, half the price they are at home but i cant find the aul Voblex,would love to catch a Tench, what Bait do Tench go for?

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:12pm
@Salzburglilly

One in the foto isnt mine, but have one from years ago.. its missing the green head tho . There hard to find these days and are collectors items.

Odd one pops up on ebay now and again but I get Copys nowadays

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:17pm

@Salzburglilly

One in the foto isnt mine, but have one from years ago.. its missing the green head tho . There hard to find these days and are collectors items.

Odd one pops up on ebay now and again but I get Copys nowadays

2nd one from the top looks the nearest to the real deal, remember they came in a size 10 and 12, one of the most most effective baits ive ever seen,its a bit of a mystery why they stopped making them?

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:21pm
The Company that produced them went Bust AFAIK. Yea the 2nd one down is Just The job and ya cant go wrong for 3 Sterling

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:27pm
Aldi selling fishing gear this week

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:34pm

Seen That. Few Cheap bits of Clothing

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:40pm

Was out last week.
No pikeCry
Couple perch was all

Usually do dead baiting in the winter and spinning for Pike in the summer,seen a nice sized fella in a lake last week, wet the appetite again, spinners are dirt cheap here, half the price they are at home but i cant find the aul Voblex,would love to catch a Tench, what Bait do Tench go for?

It was a scorcher of a day and I was dead baiting.  Should be spinning in weather like that but don't like spinning from the bank.

For tench, ideally you need to pre bait with crumb, maggots, hemp seed, corm etc
Sweetcorn, worm or maggot as bait

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 3:58pm

is there an online link to see what they have?

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 4:18pm

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/offers_week32Sunday12.htm" rel="nofollow - http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/offers_week32Sunday12.htm

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 5:34pm

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/offers_week32Sunday12.htm" rel="nofollow - http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/offers_week32Sunday12.htm

Looks decent enough,reckon ill ring home  and get that bag,  i got a scales from Lidl about 7 years ago and its still grand.

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 6:29pm
Some good deals on here!!   http://www.sportsdirect.com/fishing" rel="nofollow - http://www.sportsdirect.com/fishing

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 6:30pm
BSM has an Olympic gold in it.

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2012 at 8:12pm

BSM has an Olympic gold in it.

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 10:26pm
a handy one from the Blackwater, sorry about the pic my first time posting one!

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 10:29pm

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 10:31pm
Was out for 9 hours today, 1 carp and lost something Big! ;( seen some guy bring in a Wels catfish! Serious Species!!

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 10:32pm

i got a salmon and lost 2 more trying my best to post the pics but failing miserably!

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 10:59pm
Smile

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 11:16pm
Nice fish, you get him on a flying Condom?

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 11:21pm
no got him on worms, went spinning after but no good
river full of salmon all of a sudden saw about 10 this eve and was only out for an hour, went fishing 3 or 4 mornings and evenings this week and did not even see a fish!

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 11:27pm
Literally just back from a week on the owenea..seen a few grilse earlier in the week nowt during second half..just a few nice brownies for the pan. should get a grt run with a bit of rain next week..river il be teaming, nice fish you got.

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 11:41pm
was going to head down with the fly rod before work in the morning but its absolutely pelting here at the moment so the river will prob be in flood again Cry

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 11:56pm
Sounds like u wud do best sticking with the worm...weathers hasn't being helpful at all this season.

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2012 at 10:02pm
another for the pan!

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2012 at 10:31pm
Originally posted by harry harry wrote:

another for the pan!

2-3 lb?

Date Posted: 18 Aug 2012 at 11:14pm
4.5lb on worm in high water, hopefully no rain tonight and river should be in good order tomorrow

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2012 at 8:19pm
Anybody ever caught a Catfish?heading out to a Carp lake on Sunday, supposed to have a few of them about.

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2012 at 9:30pm
Mackrel been in last few eeks in Galway. Salthill, Barna and Spiddla packed every night with fishers.

Tried it last week with one of my mates and nearly ended up in the bay myself when i casted the line out

Date Posted: 27 Aug 2012 at 9:47pm
Originally posted by Guf10 Guf10 wrote:

Mackrel been in last few eeks in Galway. Salthill, Barna and Spiddla packed every night with fishers.

Tried it last week with one of my mates and nearly ended up in the bay myself when i casted the line out

Speaking of fish. Is the Roisin Dubh on tonight Guf? Those women protesters have probably retreated back their after being evicted from Eyre Square to the crusty haven of the Roisin and its €3 bavaria pints

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2012 at 3:40am
Heading out now in search of one of these bad boys!!

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2012 at 7:00am
you Mean this salz ?

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2012 at 10:44am

you Mean this salz ?

That would do grand right now, been out here for the last 6 hours, got 1 carp and i stuck a treble hook in a Duck! he was going mental the poor f**ker, his own fault for being too curious

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2012 at 10:01pm
Come back home loads of Salmon about!!!

Date Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 9:17pm
Watching yer man on River Monsters on ITV 4 now, hes always talking about a "MAN EATER" and does the research  but ive never seen him catch one Angry

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 1:07pm
Lads can anyone tell me if you would have to use different kinds of bait in the day than you would at night or does the same stuff work for both

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 2:49pm

Lads can anyone tell me if you would have to use different kinds of bait in the day than you would at night or does the same stuff work for both

What ya fishing for?

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 2:56pm
Just got the opportunity to go fishing in the last couple of days, dont know much about it Gerk but have been reeling in all sorts in the 2 days ive been at it, big ones little ones and some look like they are from different parts now ive been told it would be off season and would not catch anything but surprise surprise. Have been using codding what ever that is was told its great for getting bites

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 3:01pm

Just got the opportunity to go fishing in the last couple of days, dont know much about it Gerk but have been reeling in all sorts in the 2 days ive been at it, big ones little ones and some look like they are from different parts now ive been told it would be off season and would not catch anything but surprise surprise. Have been using codding what ever that is was told its great for getting bites

Posted By: Hoosay
Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 3:02pm

I wouldn't be an expert by any means Daithi, but if the bait you're using is getting results then carry on using it. Just be careful not to overfish or you might find your chances of future success being greatly diminished.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 3:13pm
Good advice Hoosay, i've already had to put up with 2 lads trying to move in to my spot and steal my success though, think they are angries too.

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 3:18pm
Angry nordiesAngryThumbs Down

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 3:33pm

Angry nordiesAngryThumbs Down
Indeed Gerk, thinking of a bit of beach casting this afternoon or maybe head out on 1 of those galway contraptions, anyway hope they are still biting.
btw i was slow replying to this thread because im been inundated with pm's for some other thread

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 4:24pm
We are going to need a bigger boat

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 4:30pm

Fishing as a team is usually more successful as the co-operation between team members ensures a consistent approach to casting, trawling and finally pulling in the line as the hooked fish bite

Date Posted: 19 Nov 2012 at 4:43pm

Fishing as a team is usually more successful as the co-operation between team members ensures a consistent approach to casting, trawling and finally pulling in the line as the hooked fish bite
Completely agree soccerc and my first mate will concur, lets call him GAAb as he would rather remain anonymous, but without his brain i could not have landed as many bites as i have up till now his work in this has been invaluable Clap

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 12:07am
fcking poacher turned gamekeeper tonight not happy Angry

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 12:08am
Ya must have gone over your quota Daithi

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 12:17am

Ya must have gone over your quota Daithi

LOL well over and above