URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=15379
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 7:57pm

Topic: Film Reviews
Subject: Film Reviews
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:38am
Doesnt matter if its DVD or in the cinema ,

let us know your recomendations here but dotn give away twists or the ending Angry

if this is enough of a runner we might make it a sticky , any posts not film related will be deleted...

Havent seen any decent movies in ages myself except for avatar in 3D which i really enjoyed and will go and see again before it leaves the cinema..

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:40am
where the wild things are

apart from jim henson puppets was piss poor

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:43am
A prophet is a great movie.  Prison movie set in a french prison.  Its subtitled but dont let that put you off.     Great movie.  

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:44am
nice one lads , anyone seen this french gangster movie with beluccis husband ? supposed to be good stuff?

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:44am
High School Musical 1,2 & 3
Top notch films and well worth renting to watch on a saturday afternoon instead of the football

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:45am
Scum. On ITV4 tonight! Class film, especially the greenhouse scene LOL

Few films I have watched latelly
Spread: 5/10 - Aston Kutcher is a player. Not sh*te but nothing we haven't seen before. Bit of female nudity too
Zach and Miri make a porno: 7/10 - Kevin Smith film with Seth Rogen. some laugh out loud moments, especially when the bloke (Jay out of Jay and Silent Bob) pulls out of your wan too fast!
Observe and Report - 6/10 - Not as many laugh out load moments as above but Seth Rogen is funny as the Bi-polar security gaurd.
Mall Cop: 6/10 - Family film. Funny enough

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:48am
The Road is a tough watch. A better movie when you are out of the cinema than when you are in it, if that makes sense.  The viewing of it is not totally enjoyable but thinking about the movie is very rewarding.  

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:58am
A class DVD is The Prestige. You get about 3 watches out of this one no prolem. One of my favourites. 10/10

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 9:13am

A class DVD is The Prestige. You get about 3 watches out of this one no prolem. One of my favourites. 10/10

really enjoyed that one andy

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:11am
wanna see the prophet and that ganster flick mersine 1&2 with belluccis EX HUSBAND in it

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:12am

Is that the one with the magicians?? Quality flickClap

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:18am
Saw a film last night called Bad Liutenant with Nicholas Cage. I'm not usually a fan of his but he was excellent in this. A bit depressing, dark at times but some brilliant laughs! Defo reccommend it

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:19am

Saw a film last night called Bad Liutenant with Nicholas Cage. I'm not usually a fan of his but he was excellent in this. A bit depressing, dark at times but some brilliant laughs! Defo reccommend it

Con Air is the balls (as Q-Man would say)

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:21am

Con Air is the balls (as Q-Man would say)

I tought Nicholas Cage was good in Lord of War.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:26am
Lord of War is very enjoyable.
Seen Role Models the other night and really enjoyed it.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:29am

the head on cage in that film had me in tears especially when hes touching up ya wan who has drugs outside the club

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:45am

the head on cage in that film had me in tears especially when hes touching up ya wan who has drugs outside the club

It's so funny. Some really funny moments incluuding what you just said

"You stay and you watch!!"

Posted By: Rostrevor Fan
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:51am
Murder in the First - 1994 - based on a true story in Alcatraz - better than Shawshank redemption - get it on DVD and let me know what you think

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 10:55am

It's so funny. Some really funny moments incluuding what you just said

"You stay and you watch!!"

its best watched as a comedy

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 11:25am

Think this is a remake. Check out the original, Harvey Keitel is amazing!!

Posted By: magnumpi
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 11:29am
Last 5 Films I've seen

Looking For Eric - top notch, a must see.

Brothers - missable.

21 - watchable enough film based on the book "Bringing Down the House"

Rambu The Intruder - one of my favourite films of all time. see the opening scenes here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NBlM6CSZDIc - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NBlM6CSZDIc

Posted By: PRNelson
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 11:33am
Originally posted by Rostrevor Fan Rostrevor Fan wrote:

Murder in the First - 1994 - based on a true story in Alcatraz - better than Shawshank redemption - get it on DVD and let me know what you think

Yeah good film, really enjoyed it.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 11:34am
Originally posted by PRNelson PRNelson wrote:

Yeah good film, really enjoyed it.

Thanks PR a man with taste

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 11:35am
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

one of the worst films ever made

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 11:38am

one of the worst films ever made

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 12:04pm

Better than Shawshank? Thats some outrageous statement to make.... i'll give it a watch in the next few days to see if you're talkin out your arse or not

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 12:28pm
Bhob - Watch it first and then I'll willingly take the Flak

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 12:36pm
I know it's a remake Paul, but I heard the original is absolute muck

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 12:44pm

the orginal is the balls heitels a sick f**k in it ,he makes these 2ladies who he catches with drugs les it out and make tongue moves at him while he rubs one out watching em

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 1:08pm

the orginal is the balls heitels a sick f**k in it ,he makes these 2ladies who he catches with drugs les it out and make tongue moves at him while he rubs one out watching em

Nice one Q!

Check it out Mark, it's very raw and a wee bit offensive!!

Posted By: trapsflipflop
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 2:03pm
dead mans shoes- what a movie, with the brilliant paddy considine
wouldnt look at that remake of bad lieutenant as it cant be topped, keitel is great in it and to replace him with cage is a fooking insult

The game is about
Being effective
Being aggressive
Winning the ball
Getting it on with the play
We'll Put 'em Under Pressure

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 2:09pm
Defo will

Movies worth watching so far:

Bad Lieutenant
Bad Lieutenant (Original)
Role Models
Lord of War
Dead Man's Shoes

Make this a sticky Roger

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 2:11pm
Originally posted by trapsflipflop trapsflipflop wrote:

wouldnt look at that remake of bad lieutenant as it cant be topped, keitel is great in it and to replace him with cage is a fooking insult

Don't be daft Trap and watch it! It's brilliant, very funny and obviously made with a different angle to the first one Some great laughs and Cage is brilliant in it. And I'm by no means his biggest fan. Watch it, but don't watch it with the thought that you're going to hate it just because it's a remake! Well worth it.

Paul will check out the original

Death to Smoochy. Robin Williams and Ed Norton. Bizarre film, but again some good laughs. A bit dark in places. Worth a watch in my opinion. I wasn't expecting much from it at all but was very impressed in the end.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 2:17pm

will give it a go mark!!!

i think this looks the balls and its out there to download i am doing it as i type!!
http://video.zing.vn/video/clip/The-Legion-Trailer-2010.163027.html - http://video.zing.vn/video/clip/The-Legion-Trailer-2010.163027.html  

The game is about
Being effective
Being aggressive
Winning the ball

Posted By: Discopants
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 2:53pm
I thought the special effects in Avatar were class although the storyline was a bit sh*te. Would recommend seeing it for the effects though.

In summary special effectsThumbs%20Up, storylineThumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 3:08pm

Movies worth watching so far:

Bad Lieutenant

Role Models

Lord of War

Dead Man's Shoes

Two excellent movies there!

Posted By: GARY_BREEN
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 3:22pm
In reference to earlier posts Nicholas Cage is a woeful actor. A bit like Keanu Reeves the characters they play are very one dimensional and cannot change the way they act.

An oldie for yas if yas havent seen it, Carlito's Way with Al Pacino at his very best, must see!!! 9/10

A new film Up in the Air is very well made worth a watch. 7/10

If you dont mind a bit of gore ALL the Saw movies are brilliant. Every single film is related to the next and its a very well thought out storyline. Saw 1 is EPIC! Saw 1-9/10, Saw 2 - 9/10, Saw 3 - 7/10, Saw 4 -8/10, Saw 5 - 8/10, Saw 6 - 8/10

#FinnanWithTheAssist

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 3:24pm
Originally posted by GARY_BREEN GARY_BREEN wrote:

In reference to earlier posts Nicholas Cage is a woeful actor. A bit like Keanu Reeves the characters they play are very one dimensional and cannot change the way they act.

Cage did it brilliantly in Bad Lieutenant!!

Posted By: GARY_BREEN
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 3:34pm
Havent seen that film yet but all the ones i've seen Con Air, Matchstick Men, Face Off, The Wicker man...to name a few he was bad!

#FinnanWithTheAssist

Posted By: Discopants
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 3:39pm
"Put the bunny back in the box"

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 3:44pm
in cages defence he is very good in raising arizona ( but you cant be bad in a coen bros movie ) and wild at heart, two cracking movies

The game is about
Being effective
Being aggressive
Winning the ball

Posted By: barcabhoy
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 3:55pm
Cage was very good in Leaving Las Vegas.

For these games, you must keep a cold heart no, a warm heart and a cold mind no, head! So you must have a warm heart and (pause)a cold head.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 4:15pm
Originally posted by barcabhoy barcabhoy wrote:

Cage was very good in Leaving Las Vegas.

good call barcabhoy forgot that one

The game is about
Being effective
Being aggressive
Winning the ball

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 4:19pm

An oldie for yas if yas havent seen it, Carlito's Way with Al Pacino at his very best, must see!!! 9/10

If you dont mind a bit of gore ALL the Saw movies are brilliant. Every single film is related to the next and its a very well thought out storyline. Saw 1 is EPIC! Saw 1-9/10, Saw 2 - 9/10, Saw 3 - 7/10, Saw 4 -8/10, Saw 5 - 8/10, Saw 6 - 8/10

''Hey Carlito, remember me? Benny Blanco from the Bronx''

Posted By: eh_check
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 5:04pm

''Hey Carlito, remember me? Benny Blanco from the Bronx''

f**king C U N T

G'WAN YBIG

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 4:19am

Downloaded and watched it there the other night Rostrevor..... imo it's defo not better than Shawshank

Also any time i see Alcatraz it just reminds me of the time i was there and a bird sh*t on my head CryLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 4:26am
ok will sticky this for a while as long as qman or mayo mark put a recap list of recommendations up every so often taken from all the posts on the thread ..

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 5:55am
Originally posted by trapsflipflop trapsflipflop wrote:

in cages defence he is very good in raising arizona ( but you cant be bad in a coen bros movie ) and wild at heart, two cracking movies

I've been told that he was in Gone in 60 Seconds. But I must have been distracted by Angelian Jolie and dozens of savage cars, because I don't remember him in it Wink.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 6:58am
Seen Up in the Air the other night. Quality flick, Clooney is fantastic in it.

Looking to go to The Lovely Bones tomorrow night...anyone seen it?

Also really looking forward to Shutter Island but they put the date back to March 12 Angry

Posted By: SYLT Number 2
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 7:20am
Saw The Lovely Bones the other day, great film. Saoirse Ronan is good but her voice can be a bit annoying sometimes. The special effects in some scenes are beyond amazing, go see it

Posted By: SYLT Number 2
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 7:23am
Saw Precious last week, very good film but is certainly not for the faint hearted. Was a major eye opener. Mariah Carey and Lenny Kravitz both feature and put in good performances.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 7:41am
So far:

Where the Wild Things Are
A Prophet
Belucci's Husband
Zack and Miri Make a Porno
The Road
The Prestige
Bad Lieutenant
Lord of War
Murder in the FirstLooking For Eric
Rambu the Intruder
Dead Man's Shoes
Role Models
Death to Smoochy
Carlito's Way
Up in the Air
Saw 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 etc.
The Lovely Bones
Precious
Up
The Devil's Backbone
Pan's Labyrinth

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 7:58am
Another one I seen lately and thought it was quite a good action flick with Denzel Washington and John Travolta...The Taking of Pelham 123. 7.5 / 10

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 8:15am
Happy People - 7/10

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 8:44am
great stuff lads , loads of recommendations there

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 8:51am
How about something along the lines of the new comers thread for the film reviews?

Film:
Genre:
Cast:
Length:
Rating:
Comment:

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 9:14am
star trek

4/5

never a fan of this and IMo all trekkies should be branded and shipped off to siberian labour camps but i really enjoyed this,kirks the balls,spocks a fag and the black wan is fine,eric banas a good baddie

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 9:20am

How about something along the lines of the new comers thread for the film reviews?

Film:
Genre:
Cast:
Length:
Rating:
Comment:

Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 9:23am
Thought it was the balls too Quey Really enjoyed it and I'm not a Trekkie

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 9:28am

Thought it was the balls too Quey Really enjoyed it and I'm not a Trekkie
i knew your not a trekkie thats why i asked your facebook friend request

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 10:29am
a prophet
the hurt locker

deadly stuff.Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 11:15am

Also really looking forward to Shutter Island but they put the date back to March 12 Angry

Watched it a couple of weeks back, thought it was really good.

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 3:15pm
king of the kick boxers

5/5

billy blanks is the finest black actor since sidney poiter

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 1:34am

Not sure why this was listed as a comedy Confused It was as funny as the Scientist. Watched it downloaded, not worth paying to see it at cinema. Ok though.

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 3:25am
yeah thought up in the air was fairly averge

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 2:28pm
GT has great taste in movies.  You would not think it to chat to her though.  

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 3:55pm
Originally posted by NeilMcD NeilMcD wrote:

GT has great taste in movies.  You would not think it to chat to her though.  

Angry

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 7:34pm

these hooligan flicks are normally dog spunk but i thought this was class great soundtrack,good acting and some quailty clothes

4/5

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 2:57am
seriously qman ? you recommend it ?

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 7:47am
Watched Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist last night.
Very watchable!
If you can stomach Michael Cera that is!!

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 8:42am

seriously qman ? you recommend it ?

yeah id highly recommend it ,other hooligan flicks are normally wank but the firms more about the culture surrounding the football lads great film

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 10:06am
Originally posted by Quey Quey wrote:

yeah id highly recommend it ,other hooligan flicks are normally wank but the firms more about the culture surrounding the football lads great film

Surely you don't count I.D. Q??

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 2:56pm

Surely you don't count I.D. Q??

heres my reviews of the hooligan flicks released so far

the firm[orginal] bit dated now but was good when it came out first 4/5

ID - warren clarke is the balls in it as is sean pertwee {f**kin love you gumbo :D} 3/5

the football factory {snide version} - didnt liek the version that was released the so called "snide version"was better 3/5 {completely different from the book also}

green street- pure dog spunk 1/5

green street 2- possibly the worst film ever made

the rise of the foot soldier - awful terrible acting and sh*t storyline if it wasnt for the comic genius of craig fairbrass and the alan curbishley lookalike i wouldnt have bothered with it,its comedy gold   1/5

cass - decent 3/5

the firm - 4/5 brilliant

Posted By: garytwigg21
Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 3:00pm

the firm[orginal] bit dated now but was good when it came out first 4/5

ID - warren clarke is the balls in it as is sean pertwee {f**kin love you gumbo :D} 3/5

the football factory {snide version} - didnt liek the version that was released the so called "snide version"was better 3/5 {completely different from the book also}

green street- pure dog spunk 1/5

green street 2- possibly the worst film ever made

the rise of the foot soldier - awful terrible acting and sh*t storyline if it wasnt for the comic genius of craig fairbrass and the alan curbishley lookalike i wouldnt have bothered with it,its comedy gold   1/5

cass - decent 3/5

the firm - 4/5 brilliant

Jaysus the first film was so bad i didn't realise there was a 2nd filmLOL

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 3:07pm
Originally posted by garytwigg21 garytwigg21 wrote:

yeah id highly recommend it ,other hooligan flicks are normally wank but the firms more about the culture surrounding the football lads great filmheres my reviews of the hooligan flicks released so far the firm[orginal] bit dated now but was good when it came out first 4/5 ID - warren clarke is the balls in it as is sean pertwee {f**kin love you gumbo :D} 3/5 the football factory {snide version} - didnt liek the version that was released the so called "snide version"was better 3/5 {completely different from the book also} green street- pure dog spunk 1/5 green street 2- possibly the worst film ever made the rise of the foot soldier - awful terrible acting and sh*t storyline if it wasnt for the comic genius of craig fairbrass and the alan curbishley lookalike i wouldnt have bothered with it,its comedy gold   1/5 cass - decent 3/5 the firm - 4/5 brilliant

Jaysus the first film was so bad i didn't realise there was a 2nd filmLOL

you have to see it to believe how sh*t it is gary

its suppose to be set in a prison in england and yet its clearly in the desert in the states all inmates are hooligans the governor is bennet from commando he decides hat since the prisons over crowded whoever wins a football match between millwall and west ham the winners shall be let out early
it makes the first one look like citizen kane

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 3:21pm

the firm[orginal] bit dated now but was good when it came out first 4/5   OK

ID - warren clarke is the balls in it as is sean pertwee {f**kin love you gumbo :D} 3/5   Classic!!

the football factory {snide version} - didnt liek the version that was released the so called "snide version"was better 3/5 {completely different from the book also}   I Liked it!

green street- pure dog spunk 1/5   Liked this too!!

green street 2- possibly the worst film ever made    Absolute horse sh*te

the rise of the foot soldier - awful terrible acting and sh*t storyline if it wasnt for the comic genius of craig fairbrass and the alan curbishley lookalike i wouldnt have bothered with it,its comedy gold   1/5    Haven't seen it!

cass - decent 3/5    Brilliant

the firm - 4/5 brilliant     Still to watch this!

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 5:00pm

Very watchable!

didnt like that film paul and as for that band fluffy pure fags

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 5:49pm

Very watchable!

didnt like that film paul and as for that band fluffy pure fags

Totally agree there dude!

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 5:55pm

ID - warren clarke is the balls in it as is sean pertwee {f**kin love you gumbo :D} 3/5   Classic!!

the football factory {snide version} - didnt liek the version that was released the so called "snide version"was better 3/5 {completely different from the book also}   I Liked it!

the rise of the foot soldier - awful terrible acting and sh*t storyline if it wasnt for the comic genius of craig fairbrass and the alan curbishley lookalike i wouldnt have bothered with it,its comedy gold   1/5    Haven't seen it!

UPDATE: Just watched The Firm. Not bad at all!

Quey, you omitted Away Days dude! It wasn't bad, I'd say you'll like it cos you liked The Firm.

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 6:01pm

UPDATE: Just watched The Firm. Not bad at all!

Quey, you omitted Away Days dude! It wasn't bad, I'd say you'll like it cos you liked The Firm.

didnt like awaydays paul the book was excellent but the only good thing about the filmw as the soundtrack and stephen graham,did you not think it was a gay love story that elvis fella really wanted to bang carty and was jealous everytime he was with a women he really wanted to f**k him bad :D

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 6:07pm
It was a bit of a gay love story alright Q, that's why I thought you'd like it!!

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 6:16pm

It was a bit of a gay love story alright Q, that's why I thought you'd like it!!
was very disapointed in it as i really liked the book

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 4:29am
Went to see The Lovely Bones last night

The film is constantly slowed down by swithcing from a murder investigation story to the CGI pergutory (which is pretty impressive) Peter Jackson created for the girl who was murdered (Saoirse Ronan). As soon as your getting sucked into the crime story, theres about 5 minutes of the girl in this fantasy world which slows the whole film down quite a bit.

Stanley Tucci is class as the murderer and is rightly nominated for best supporting actor at the Oscars. Saoirse Ronan has a big future in Hollywood and is good in this but her voice annoys the sh!t outta me!

6/10

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 7:47am
just ordered

Adventureland (DVD-R)
Boondock Saints II - All Saints Day (DVD-R)
Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant
Cold Souls (DVD-R)
Couples Retreat (DVD-R)
Daybreakers (2010)(QuickPlay)(DVD-R)
Edge of Darkness (2010)(QuickPlay)(DVD-R)
Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, The (QuickPlay)(Deluxe)(DVD-R)
Informant, The (2009)(DVD-R)
Serious Man, A (DVD-R)
Triangle (DVD-R)(2009)

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 7:54am

just ordered

Adventureland (DVD-R)
Cold Souls (DVD-R)
Couples Retreat (DVD-R)
Serious Man, A (DVD-R)
Triangle (DVD-R)(2009)

awful film.one of the worst Ive ever seen in the cinema.

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 8:40am

just ordered Adventureland (DVD-R) Boondock Saints II - All Saints Day (DVD-R) Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire's Assistant Cold Souls (DVD-R) Couples Retreat (DVD-R) Daybreakers (2010)(QuickPlay)(DVD-R) Edge of Darkness (2010)(QuickPlay)(DVD-R) Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, The (QuickPlay)(Deluxe)(DVD-R) Informant, The (2009)(DVD-R) Serious Man, A (DVD-R) Triangle (DVD-R)(2009)

yeah i heard it sh*t but i model my life on sam neill and william dafoe so i wanna see it

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 8:44am

Willem Dafoe is the balls!

Ever see Sirens with Sam Neill and that gimp Hugh Grant? Elle McPherson naked for most of it Heart

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 8:46am
I'm looking forward to Burtons Alice in Wonderland. That story is still one of the best stories ever told. Defintly written about an acid trip!

http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE61P2XF20100226 - http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE61P2XF20100226

Burton's movie "Alice in Wonderland" opens on March 5 as the next film in a line of highly anticipated 3-D movies that has Hollywood watching closely. The most recent 3-D film, sci-fi adventure "Avatar," has shattered box office records on its way to nearly $2.5 billion in global ticket sales.

In recent years, Hollywood has seen a boom in 3-D movies as the major studios create new entertainment for a new generation of audiences, and "Avatar" has shown that fans will pay more for 3-D movies when the special effects are eye-popping.

Burton's "Alice" is the latest industry test. It takes viewers into a world of lush mushroom forests and ravaged wastelands -- a landscape that in 3-D seems to extend beyond the movie screen. At other times, a spear or a talking animal may seem to jab out from the screen.

Alice, played by Australian Mia Wasikowska, 20, goes from giant to thimble-sized depending on what she eats, and actor Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter gazes wildly at everyone through eyes enlarged ever so slightly with special effects.

Burton, 51, said his early exposure to Carroll's work came less from the book and more from pop culture, including drug-themed 1967 song "White Rabbit" from Jefferson Airplane.

Yet, he was quick to add that he found Carroll's story "mind blowing," which seems fitting given the somewhat psychedelic adventure Burton has put on film.

"It just seemed the world that Lewis Carroll created, just the kind of trippyness and the size and spatial elements ... the combination of the medium and the material just seemed really right," Burton told reporters recently.

OLD STORY, NEW VERSION

Burton's "Alice" is based on Carroll's book, but as in most movie adaptations details changed. Burton added elements of Carroll's sequel "Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There" into his movie. And Alice is 19 years-old, not a young girl, when she falls into the topsy-turvy wonderland.

Once there, a motley crew of characters expects her to end the tyranny of the Red Queen, who has a huge head and tiny body. While Alice feels ill-equipped for the job.

If the story has changed somewhat, movie fans can only imagine what Burton has in store with his use of special effects, animation, and three-dimensional storytelling.

The director's "Corpse Bride" (2005) was nominated for an Oscar in animation, and in work as diverse as comic book flick "Batman," musical "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street," and fantasy "Edward Scissorhands," the director has shown a flair for creating never-before-seen worlds on film.

In fact, Burton said he was not overly awed by any earlier screen adaptation of "Alice," including the very one his studio, Disney, released in 1951.

"I didn't feel like there was a definitive version to me that we were fighting against," he said.

Hollywood is waiting to see if audiences think like Burton and if his 3-D movie delights fans as much as "Avatar." It has seen more than 80 percent of its $691 million U.S. and Canadian box office from 3-D screens, according to Boxofficemojo.com.

After "Alice" come 3-D versions of Dreamworks Animations' "How To Train Your Dragon" and Warner Bros' "Clash of the Titans," and this week the major studios and theaters neared a $650 million financing package to upgrade thousands of U.S. movie screens to digital projection, which is necessary for screening modern 3-D films.

"'Alice In Wonderland' is the next big 3-D release...so there will be a lot of attention on how (it) performs," said Brandon Gray, president of BoxOfficeMojo.

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 8:56am
yeah cant wait for alice in wonderland the trailor in 3d before avatar was class

Posted By: Donal Cullen
Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 9:09am

Apart from his nude scene....Jaysus, even I look better!

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 11:13am

just ordered

Adventureland (DVD-R)
Cold Souls (DVD-R)
Couples Retreat (DVD-R)
Serious Man, A (DVD-R)
Triangle (DVD-R)(2009)

Biggest pile of sh*te i've seen in a long time, only good thing is some of the gory deaths!!

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 12:01pm
I bought Taken,Pineapple Express and The Wrestler today..any reviews??

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 12:09pm

Taken is really good - Liam Neeson is brilliant.
Pineapple Express is an average comedy - nothing special considering who directed it and the stars!
I didn't like The Wrestler, but that's my opinion! Cue people calling me a dumbass!!

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 1:18pm

Taken is brilliantClap Non-stop action and killingBig%20smile

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 1:19pm

taken - liam neesons one bad mofo in it kills every bad guy in parisd ,youd bang his wife and daughter and get a tug out of holly valence   3/5

pineapple express - loved this film the red character in it cracked me up   4/5

the wrestler - mickey rourke is the balls and marisa tomei gets her baps out non stop   5/5

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 1:19pm

Taken is really good - Liam Neeson is brilliant.
Pineapple Express is an average comedy - nothing special considering who directed it and the stars!
I didn't like The Wrestler, but that's my opinion! Cue people calling me a dumbass!!

thanks Pauly LOL

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 1:24pm

thanks Pauly LOL

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 2:54pm
3 great movies there Z, not sure wot you'll think of Pineapple Express, it's the marmite of Hollywood!!

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 4:13pm

3 great movies there Z, not sure wot you'll think of Pineapple Express, it's the marmite of Hollywood!!

this guy defines the balls in it

i model my life on him

You just got killed by a Daewoo Lanos, motherf**ker!

Man, listen, I would just appreciate it if both of y'all would take your shoes off. This is brand-new carpet. You're tracking mud in here. Matheson, you got British Knights on. I ain't seen anybody wear them since 1987-...

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 4:26pm
download these - you won't be disappointed

- District 13 (Banlieue 13)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0414852/

- Unlucky 13 (Tzameti 13)Thumbs%20Up one of my fav,
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0475169/

- Eklavya (Royal Guard) - some decent bollywood movies out there, really liked this one. Seen it in cinema a few years back
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0459605/