URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=15210
Printed Date: 19 Mar 2024 at 9:03am

Topic: Winter Olympics
Subject: Winter Olympics
Date Posted: 12 Feb 2010 at 2:22pm
Jus heard on SSN some 21 year old Georgian chap died while trainin for the Luge, flew off the track and into a steel pole, tragic stuff!!

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2010 at 2:29pm
yeah just seen that now, and it hasnt even started yet

Posted By: Gouldinho09
Date Posted: 12 Feb 2010 at 8:30pm
Poor Georgia they got invaded before the Summer Olympics and now this. The team should get an amazing reception at the ceremony, which is on now. Im on the look out for potential babes of the day

Some serious vadge in the Norwegian team

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2010 at 11:05pm
For the olympic flame 4 massive pillars were suppose to come out of the ground to build some sort of fire but one of them didnt raise and it looks ridiculous

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2010 at 1:42pm
That's absolutely tragic.

RIP

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2010 at 1:46pm
Sad News RIP

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2010 at 5:05pm
I thought i was gonna have to rely on BBCs coverage. There is a proper website streaming everything

http://www.eurovisionsports.tv/olympics/ - http://www.eurovisionsports.tv/olympics/

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2010 at 5:13pm
Can't wait for them skating sprints

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2010 at 5:18pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfQMJtilOGg - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfQMJtilOGzing

They were amazing last time around.Clap

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2010 at 5:20pm
Quality! What a crash!

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2010 at 5:26pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfQMJtilOGg - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfQMJtilOGzing They were amazing last time around.Clap

One of the greatest Olympic moments ever. The lads scrambling for 2nd and 3rd was great. They wanted to re-race but the Aussies told them to rack off

Apollo Ohno = Knob Jockey

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2010 at 5:31pm
Originally posted by Gouldinho09 Gouldinho09 wrote:

Apollo Ohno = Knob Jockey

Ahn Hyun-Soo = Skating legendThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2010 at 6:01am
Was watching a bit of this last night lads, and remembered something from the last Winter Olympics. Didn't we have a fella , a 2G or 3G irishman in one of those single downhill Luge- type things? (don't know the technical term) He had some connection to the UK royals or something, was it Lord Clifton something or other? If I remember right, he came 4th, narrowly missed out on a medal. What ever happened him, or did I dream all this??

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2010 at 6:05am
just remembered him yesterday and checked t'internet there now.

Clifton Hugh Lancelot de Verdon, http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/general/olympics-good-knight-goes-gently-into-folklore-661841.html - 6th Baron of Wrottesley , finished 4th overall

Read more at Suite101: http://winterolympicgames.suite101.com/article.cfm/history_of_ireland_in_the_winter_olympics#ixzz0fVkvgsRn - History of Ireland in the Winter Olympics: The Irish Looking for Personal Bests at Whistler 2010 Games http://winterolympicgames.suite101.com/article.cfm/history_of_ireland_in_the_winter_olympics#ixzz0fVkvgsRn - http://winterolympicgames.suite101.com/article.cfm/history_of_ireland_in_the_winter_olympics#ixzz0fVkvgsRn

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2010 at 9:14am
Quality skating final last night. Korea were in for the 1,2,3 until the last corner and then 2nd took out 3rd and that gimp Ohno came from 4th to get 2nd

Also in the http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mogul_skiing - Moguls Canada were about to win their 1st ever gold medal on home soil until the last runner who happened to be a Yank won. The crowd were f**kING SICK

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2010 at 2:39pm
The highlights of the Moguls are on BBC2 right now. The crowd reaction is must see tv

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2010 at 2:54pm
Armin Zoegglar..............what an attitude!Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2010 at 2:56pm

Armin Zoegglar..............what an attitude!Thumbs%20Up

He reminds me of a modern day Chris Jericho

Posted By: Its_a_Tryyyyy
Date Posted: 14 Feb 2010 at 3:09pm
Whats with all the retards taking pictures of luge-ists whizzing past them at 110km/hr??

Sure just get it over with and take a picture of the ice.

Together standing TALL

Posted By: Dodge
Date Posted: 14 Feb 2010 at 6:01pm

Greenstreet

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 15 Feb 2010 at 4:48pm
Watching the snowboard cross....10/10 for entertainment!!

Great stuff

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2010 at 5:13pm
Been watching it all day between the luge, downhill skiing and the snowboarding.........Cracking TV!Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2010 at 11:25am
The figure skating was amazing last night

Posted By: peterIreland
Date Posted: 16 Feb 2010 at 7:34pm
The speed skating is deadly Clap

Posted By: The Scientist
Date Posted: 16 Feb 2010 at 7:36pm
any videos of ur man coming off the track before he got killed.

supposed to be awful stuff. lads saw it on telly over here but would like to see it

Mother Theresa in skins!!

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2010 at 7:41pm
Watching the curling now exciting stuff going into the last few minutes.Clap
Ishizaki is having a stormer for the Japenese, not sure if she'll be able to keep it up going into end 9 & 10 against Nicholson.

Date Posted: 16 Feb 2010 at 7:49pm
What a fookin endClap McCormick bottled it with her final stone to have a tie game. Both teams wound up with one rock on the edge of the button. They were so close that an official measurement was done, and Japan's rock was a hair closer in the innermost scoring circle giving them a 9-7 victory. Tense stuff hoping for more of the same tomorrow. The standard in the curling is amazing this yearClap

Posted By: garytwigg21
Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:07am
Was watching the Women's Luge last night. Fookin amazing it was! Push themselves down the start and then eyes closed and hope for the best!! Those women defo have BALLS Wink

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:09am

What a fookin endClap McCormick bottled it with her final stone to have a tie game. Both teams wound up with one rock on the edge of the button. They were so close that an official measurement was done, and Japan's rock was a hair closer in the innermost scoring circle giving them a 9-7 victory. Tense stuff hoping for more of the same tomorrow. The standard in the curling is amazing this yearClap

i saw the germans being beat by the canadians , the canadian final stone was unreal skill

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 8:27am
Must say that i'm lovin the Winter Olympics. The luge and the Snowboard cross are outstanding. Bring on the skiing.

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 9:42am
bring on the bobsleigh and the irish girls to beat those aussie kants

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 2:11pm
jaysus that was some crash in the womens sking, poor girl took of and landed 60m down the track

eddie the eagle only jumped 57m in the skijump!!

Date Posted: 17 Feb 2010 at 2:25pm
Lindsey f**king Vonn

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2010 at 2:40pm
anyone watchin the skiing heats last night on the snowboard track....quality stuff!!Clap

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2010 at 2:47pm

anyone watchin the skiing heats last night on the snowboard track....quality stuff!!Clap

the ski cross? was quality alright

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2010 at 5:36pm

Britain vs Denmark in the curling. Some nice women on display.

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2010 at 5:45pm

The British skip is a beautHeart

Date Posted: 22 Feb 2010 at 6:59pm

The British skip is a beautHeart
Not looking good for them now. On the verge of going out.

Ski jumping starting now!Clap

Date Posted: 23 Feb 2010 at 4:15pm
If I had my time again I'd be a boardercross/skicross rider. Is it too late?

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 6:01pm
BBC must be really stuck for commentators for the curling.

Steve Cram and Rhona Martin have being doing it since the start and basically Martin has carried Cram for the whole competition as he really doesn't know very much.
Well tonight they are both joined by the world renouned curling expert that is Marathon runner.........Paula Radcliffe!

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 6:03pm
They had Carl Lewis in yesterday for a few minutes

Did anyone see the womens figure skating last night. One of the Canadian girls mother died the day before and she pulled out the greatest performance of her life to go into 3rd. Unbelievable scenes. Gouldinho gave a standing ovation from my sitting room and a tear was shed

The 2nd part is tomorrow

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 6:09pm

Did anyone see the womens figure skating last night.

No........I have a penis!

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 6:18pm

Im comfortable with my sexuality

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 6:23pm

Out and proud?

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 6:36pm

Out and proud?

Im as straight as this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G36VaaEJi6I&feature=related - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G36VaaEJi6I&feature=related

Posted By: Davros
Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 6:45pm

BBC must be really stuck for commentators for the curling.

Steve Cram and Rhona Martin have being doing it since the start and basically Martin has carried Cram for the whole competition as he really doesn't know very much.
Well tonight they are both joined by the world renouned curling expert that is Marathon runner.........Paula Radcliffe!

Maybe the weather we've had this winter, we should start a team.
And use geriatric hurlers....Confused

Though sometimes it's like watching paint, well being mixed.

Integrate, Integrate!

Posted By: eh_check
Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 7:16pm
some serious curling just finished

G'WAN YBIG

Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 7:45pm
Canada 7-2 up against the Ruski's in the Hockey

Posted By: eh_check
Date Posted: 24 Feb 2010 at 7:48pm

Shocked

Team GB just flipped the bobsled

G'WAN YBIG

Posted By: petej1963
Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 3:35am
Well done to the Irish Womens Bobsled team, came 17th, beat Russia, Germany, Not so great britain, and the coots that tried to take their place "Austraila", plus they are two fine things.Big%20smile

Sleep gentle our Rose of Mooncoin.......

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 3:38am
Originally posted by petej1963 petej1963 wrote:

Well done to the Irish Womens Bobsled team, came 17th, beat Russia, Germany, Not so great britain, and the coots that tried to take their place "Austraila", plus they are two fine things.Big%20smile

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 3:43am
Originally posted by jamo1 jamo1 wrote:

fair play to them!! up yours aussies!!

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 3:50am

Cant believe i missed the Hockey again, the coverage of the Ice Hockey is a joke!! I hear when the Canadians lost to the USA they closed the bars in Vancouver coz they thought there would be a huge riot, serious stuff!!

Posted By: totti
Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 3:56am
For all you fans of Curling

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/349951-rock-the-house-the-hotties-of-olympic-curling?show_full=true - http://bleacherreport.com/articles/349951-rock-the-house-the-hotties-of-olympic-curling?show_full=true

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 4:30am

Heard that this morning. Great news, well done girls ClapClapClapClap

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 12:37pm
Originally posted by eh_check eh_check wrote:

some serious curling just finished

watched that last night,what a sport..Britain shouldve beaten Sweden but ended up losing in a the tie break end..

Posted By: garytwigg21
Date Posted: 25 Feb 2010 at 1:20pm
Tried to watch the Curling but couldn't get into it!! Everything else is top class at the Winter Olympics!

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2010 at 9:42am

They had Carl Lewis in yesterday for a few minutes

Did anyone see the womens figure skating last night. One of the Canadian girls mother died the day before and she pulled out the greatest performance of her life to go into 3rd. Unbelievable scenes. Gouldinho gave a standing ovation from my sitting room and a tear was shed

The 2nd part is tomorrow

Won the bronze last night

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 2:01pm
The Ice Hockey Final is on now

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 2:05pm
Where's the babe of the day??

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 4:28pm
gooooooaallllllllll

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 4:28pm
Equaliser for the USA with 24 seconds left 2-2

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 4:30pm
sickener for canada

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 4:30pm
im for the yanks..

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 4:53pm
balls

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 4:55pm
and thats that

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 4:59pm
playing 'tonights gona be a good night' now AngryAngryAngry

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 5:51pm
No more Winter Olympics

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2010 at 9:48pm
Serious lack of Celine Dion at the closing ceremony

William Shatner was fantastic

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2010 at 1:54am
hey don gouldinho can you do a batle of the babecast babes{some right skanks on there} now the winter babes is finished

Date Posted: 01 Mar 2010 at 3:49am

playing 'tonights gona be a good night' now AngryAngryAngry

hate that song since paris AngryAngry

Posted By: Dukla
Date Posted: 19 Jan 2014 at 3:16pm
Feel the rhythm! Feel the rhyme! Get on up, its Bobsled time!

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2014/jan/19/jamaica-bobsleigh-team-qualifies-winter-olympics" rel="nofollow - http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2014/jan/19/jamaica-bobsleigh-team-qualifies-winter-olympics

Posted By: UCDFAN
Date Posted: 20 Jan 2014 at 9:22pm
Originally posted by Dukla Dukla wrote:

Feel the rhythm! Feel the rhyme! Get on up, its Bobsled time!

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2014/jan/19/jamaica-bobsleigh-team-qualifies-winter-olympics" rel="nofollow - http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2014/jan/19/jamaica-bobsleigh-team-qualifies-winter-olympics

vg.  BBC website claiming this year is Cool Runnings II, everybody knows it's Cool Runnings III (1988 and 2002).

Looking forward to this Sochi 2014, Hockey, Skeleton, Ice Dancing (just for the music)
Feb 07th - 23rd

Schedule & Results
http://www.sochi2014.com/en/schedule-and-results" rel="nofollow - http://www.sochi2014.com/en/schedule-and-results

Team Ireland facebook page
http://www.facebook.com/TeamIrelandOlympics" rel="nofollow - http://www.facebook.com/TeamIrelandOlympics

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2014 at 5:33pm
USA athlete smashes up apartment in Village.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/winter-olympics/26096612" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/winter-olympics/26096612

.... then tweets about it on US Social Media sites. I hope he realises himself and his teammates have to stay a few more days there.

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2014 at 5:46pm
Originally posted by UCDFAN UCDFAN wrote:

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/winter-olympics/26096612" rel="nofollow - http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/winter-olympics/26096612

.... then tweets about it on US Social Media sites. I hope he realises himself and his teammates have to stay a few more days there.

what you say hardly matches up with what the article says, let yet more evidence of shoddy building in sochi

Date Posted: 08 Feb 2014 at 6:02pm

Cowboys Ted, they're a bunch of Cowboys

Posted By: Whelo79
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2014 at 10:30am

Originally posted by UCDFAN UCDFAN wrote:

what you say hardly matches up with what the article says, let yet more evidence of shoddy building in sochi

UCDFAN must be looking for a job with one of the tabloids!! Sensationalism at its best LOL

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2014 at 1:02pm

shoddy shoddy shoddy!

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2014 at 1:06pm

shoddy shoddy shoddy!

Oi  oi  oi 

Posted By: Doyler1993
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2014 at 8:03pm
Does anyone know when the irish lads are competing and will they be on tv

IT’S NO USE BOILING YOUR CABBAGE TWICE

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2014 at 8:18am
One thing I have discovered from watching Winter olympics is that there are some amazingly beautiful Lady snowboaders

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2014 at 10:26am
Kamil Stoch (POL) won gold in the Ski Jumping, Normal Hill last night

NED are dominating the Speed-Skating

RUS won the Team Figure Skating, they were a delight

Posted By: greenarmy
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2014 at 11:50am

One thing I have discovered from watching Winter olympics is that there are some amazingly beautiful Lady snowboaders

Silje Norendal from Norway my favourite so far Thumbs Up

http://coedbc.files.wordpress.com/2013/12/28-silje-norendal-snowboard.jpg" rel="nofollow - http://coedbc.files.wordpress.com/2013/12/28-silje-norendal-snowboard.jpg

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2014 at 5:22pm
I'm an Amy Williams fan...I know she's not competing but she's out there working for the BBC so she counts!

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2014 at 7:23pm
Anybody want to set up an Olympic Babe of the day thread

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 2:37pm
Seamus O'Connor has qualified for in the semi-finals of Halfpipe Snowboarding event Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 3:29pm
4th in the standings after the first run in semi-final

BBC showing highlights of that first run now

Top 6 advance to the final

http://gofirstrow.eu/watch/239129/1/watch-sochi-2014---bbc-full-day-coverage.html%20" rel="nofollow - http://gofirstrow.eu/watch/239129/1/watch-sochi-2014---bbc-full-day-coverage.html

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 3:38pm
sh*te, he went all out on one trick and fell, still in 4th but its expected he won't make final Cry

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 3:40pm
That snowboarding half pipe thing.  Has someone disinfected the pipe with Toilet Duck?

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 4:30pm
curling is some pile of sh*te. So much coverage of it.Dead I will watch any of the winter sports but f**kin curlingThumbs Down

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 5:30pm
Originally posted by GreenTribe GreenTribe wrote:

curling is some pile of sh*te. So much coverage of it.Dead I will watch any of the winter sports but f**kin curlingThumbs Down
Ah yeah its all right for those of you who have them naturally, but the people who spend half their life on saturdays in the hairdresser's getting them put in would be very angry with your opinion WinkLOL

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 11:57pm
Originally posted by Del-Piero Del-Piero wrote:

sh*te, he went all out on one trick and fell, still in 4th but its expected he won't make final Cry
Finished 9th Overall. Probably going to be a genuine medal contender in South Korea in 4 years time. Nike signed him up when he was 13 and I would think they don't just sign up any 13 year old snowboarder

Date Posted: 11 Feb 2014 at 11:59pm
Cant watch any of this as it is not on Eurosport and I cant get BBC 2 for some reason Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2014 at 9:18am
serious lack of ice skating coverage. have the brits been booted out of the curling yet so the bbc can fook off with their ott coverage of it. 

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2014 at 3:38pm

Some lovely ladies ( http://https://www.google.com/search?q=Tina%20Maze&rls=com.microsoft:en-gb:IE-ContextMenu&oe=&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=NZX7UvSsGcmv7Qb0sIG4DQ" rel="nofollow - Tina Maze and http://https://www.google.com/search?q=dominique+gisin&rls=com.microsoft:en-gb:IE-ContextMenu&stick=H4sIAAAAAAAAAGOovnz8BQMDgw0HyyNGc26Blz_uCUvpTVpz8hqjBhdXcEZ-uWteSWZJpZAUFxuUJcDFJ8Wln6tvYFRQYpKeq8HA4219l3vZEvVpF5KuZLCnO9TrdTsfBAD1aElyWQAAAA&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=ZJX7UtijMcry7Ab13YGoDA&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAQ&biw=1033&bih=419" rel="nofollow - Dominique Gisin ) shared a gold today. I'm at work so can't post pictures, well worth look tho!

https://www.rte.ie/sport/other-sport/2014/0212/503837-olympic-history-as-maza-gisin-share-gold/" rel="nofollow - https://www.rte.ie/sport/other-sport/2014/0212/503837-olympic-history-as-maza-gisin-share-gold/

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2014 at 5:18pm

Cant watch any of this as it is not on Eurosport and I cant get BBC 2 for some reason Thumbs Down

Not missing much, those f**king curlers are still faffin aboutAngry

Date Posted: 12 Feb 2014 at 7:45pm
Mens double luge.

I sh*t you not this is a real sport.

Gayest sport I have ever seen!

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2014 at 12:16am
I hear Vladimir Putin likes a bit of the old double lugeing.

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2014 at 12:20am
Whatever about wan lad doing that, whoever came up with sticking another lad on top had definitely bum fiddling tendencies

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2014 at 5:11pm
king plushenko is not skating tonightCryCry