URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=14387
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 6:16pm

Topic: Favourite hangover food?
Subject: Favourite hangover food?
Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:11pm
Dominos for me every time, tasty as f**k that stuff is, then second would be an owl chinese!

Anyone else love the hangover grub?

Posted By: Gavintheslob
Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:11pm
Leo Burdocks

Its very frustrating being a Slob

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:12pm
Jaysus thats a tough eat Gav after a night on the sauce.

Posted By: peterIreland
Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:13pm
Anything that is greasy and bad for you. Love a can of coke with a hangover too. A fry up always does the trick...... I love food!!!

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:13pm
Chocolate and coke!!

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:14pm
Originally posted by sasa123 sasa123 wrote:

Anything that is greasy and bad for you. Love a can of coke with a hangover too. A fry up always does the trick...... I love food!!!

Can of Coke is a must alright.

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:14pm

Totally contradicted youselfEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:15pm

Chocolate and coke!!

Just had a twirl and a can of coke... dying here Cry

Domino's as well. Don't have to leave the house just pick up the phone. Pity they don't come in to the house and bring it straight to your bed.Thumbs%20Down

Originally posted by Gavintheslob Gavintheslob wrote:

Totally contradicted youselfEmbarrassed

How?

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:17pm
Anything Greasy is bad for you whats a fry upConfused

Chocolate and coke!!
Just had a twirl and a can of coke... dying here Cry

Didn't leave the house all day, asked me Mam to get me a bottle of coke, she forgot, i cried!!

Last night was the first time in at least a year i puked from drinkin!!

Read it again!!!

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:18pm

Read it again!!!

Sorry my mistakeEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:19pm
Sasa 1 Gav 0 LOL

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:19pm
Podge my mam keeps bringing food and drinks up to me all day because I cant move out of bed she is the best. Earlier she just appered at my door with a full sunday roast and I didnt even ask ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:20pm
Gav are u still on the piss???

Posted By: Chopper 76
I like a litre of lucozade in ice and a few sausage rolls from the deli in spar. sorted!

cake 

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:22pm
Originally posted by hopper hopper wrote:

I like a litre of lucozade in ice and a few sausage rolls from the deli in spar. sorted!

I cant drink lucozade the next day as I drink vodka and lucozade when im out so I cant stomach it but id say it would sort ya out big time if your dying

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:23pm

No supposed to be studying but i am so nosey i cant get off the site in case i miss something

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:25pm

No supposed to be studying but i am so nosey i cant get off the site in case i miss something

Sure it's all peace and harmony on here now, no durty threads anymore

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:31pm

Do you do the who get sick trick to keep your figure Sasa :)

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:31pm
A big dirty fry up and a glass of milk is great for a hangover!

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:32pm

Podge my mam keeps bringing food and drinks up to me all day because I cant move out of bed she is the best. Earlier she just appered at my door with a full sunday roast and I didnt even ask ClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Who were the two lads.  :)

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:33pm
No Neil I just eat and eat and I dont know how I am not fat tbh as I am in love with food ClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:36pm

No Neil I just eat and eat and I dont know how I am not fat tbh as I am in love with food ClapClapClapClapClap

Gav Dump her soon as its going to catch up with her soon :)     Who am I to be talkilng ha ha

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:38pm
Dont care if it does I love food to much to stop Big%20smile

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:39pm

Dont care if it does I love food to much to stop Big%20smile

She does she is always eatingPig

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:40pm
"It"   Classic.

Posted By: Eric Cartman
Date Posted: 17 Jan 2010 at 5:43pm
Cheesy Poofs

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 3:51am
Kebab+batter burger with a few chips

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 3:56am
If I'm just hungover then I make a fry up but if I'm too hungover to move then I'd ring a dominos meal for 2

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 4:04am
can hardly eat anything when hungover - yogurts and fruit for some reason appeal to me when i'm dying..if im really hungover i can go the entire day without eating anythingConfused

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 4:09am
Smoothies are great when hungover

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 4:36am

fantastic shout pal

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 4:57am

fantastic shout pal

Agree there alright, a strawberry zumo smoothie with that extra hangover shot does a marvellous job Clap

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 7:20am

Love a can of coke with a hangover 

The red ambulance!

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 7:27am
Curry after beers is always my favourite. Hangover food though is a bacon and egg sambo for me

Posted By: Gouldinho09
Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 8:29am
I like a pasta salad and some orange juice

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 8:37am
I love a glass of orange juice when im hungover ClapClapClap

Cant beat it!!!

Date Posted: 18 Jan 2010 at 10:04am
Crisps, a banana and loads and loads of coffee!!

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:32am
I need something to eat to sort out this terrible hangover but i cant get out of bed Cry

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:33am

I need something to eat to sort out this terrible hangover but i cant get out of bed Cry

Monster Munch are lovely when hungover

Do you want me to bring up some Leo  burdocks

do you drink every night of the week??

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:34am

Do you want me to bring up some Leo  burdocks

Gav dont do that to me if your not serious???

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:35am
No Z just once or twice a week really... i get terrible hangovers tho and ive an exam in the morning Cry

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:35am

do you drink every night of the week??

Seems like it Z,absolute dipso!

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:37am
I dont Sono and you can talk jasus by the looks of your facebook photos your a fan of the gargle yourself Big%20smile

Posted By: Babysis

Gotta agree. They were suggested to me before and they are brilliant when your dying. ClapClap

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Tayto Mighty Munch and a can of 7up. And if that doesn't sort you out just go for a cure.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:38am

I dont Sono and you can talk jasus by the looks of your facebook photos your a fan of the gargle yourself Big%20smile

I'm sober in most of them and before u even think about it no posting any pics please   

Diced breast of chicken curry, egg fried rice, chips extra curry sauce and a can of coke, now that is hangover food!!

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:40am

Most Monday nights after a weekend of drinking I hit long tray of Chicken, chips, fried rice, onion, curry sauce and half portion of chicken balls. delivered to your door and only costs 10.30. Can't beat it. Much better than a domino's meal deal

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:40am
Doner's are half pirce in Abra at the moment Thumbs%20Up Although thats more for the night you are out on more so than the morning after. Actually if I seen a Doner kebab with a hangover I would projectile vomit all over the place so I take my idea back!

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:41am

Most Monday nights after a weekend of drinking I hit long tray of Chicken, chips, fried rice, onion, curry sauce and half portion of chicken balls. delivered to your door and only costs 10.30. Can beat it. Much better than a meal deal

Id love to get this but ive no money and i cant move out of bed Cry

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:44am
Gavo were you serious about burdocks btw?

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:46am

No Z just once or twice a week really... i get terrible hangovers tho and ive an exam in the morning Cry

Did you ever think of changing what you drink Sasa? I used to get really bad hangovers years ago from Budweiser and gave it up. I only get hangovers now from Jack Daniels. And I love the stuff!!

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:48am

Gavo were you serious about burdocks btw?

No you have to study dont wanna be interupting you

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:48am
Yeah paul changed it recently from vodka and 7 up to vodka and lucozade and I have been great on it so until today im dying but it prob has something to do with the fact that I didnt get asleep till 7 this morning Dead

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:57am

Yeah paul changed it recently from vodka and 7 up to vodka and lucozade and I have been great on it so until today im dying but it prob has something to do with the fact that I didnt get asleep till 7 this morning Dead

Vodka and white is my drink of choice on a night out usually and most of the time Im grand on itClap. I used to drink southern Comfort and Lemonade, but just the smell of it now has me in bitsDead  

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:58am
Have you tried Captain Morgans and coke Sasa? An acquired taste but it mightn't kill you as bad!

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 10:58am

Ha ha, you gott love us Irish, dont blame the vodka for the hangover, it was the bloody 7 up!!!!! 

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 12:19pm
My mam just delivered a savage meal to me in bed woohoo best mam ever Clap

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 12:20pm
Cancel the Burdocks so, I'll just get them for myself so

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 12:22pm

Cancel the Burdocks so, I'll just get them for myself so

Gav you were never getting off your fat hole to bring that up to me so shut up Angry

Posted By: FiremanDan
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 12:24pm

Dominos for me every time, tasty as f**k that stuff is, then second would be an owl chinese!

Anyone else love the hangover grub?

Jaysus Sono, where are they doing them ? I have heard rumour of dog meat and horse meat in some less salubrious establishments but owl???

Tricky bastards to catch too I'd imagine.......... 

Posted By: garytwigg21
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2010 at 12:25pm
Many of time after a night out on the drink, i have brought home a chinese which never seems to get eaten the same night. Wake up the next morning and see the cold curry on the table. Heaven, without a doubt the nicest hangover food, a cold curry! Tongue

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 11:11am
Bump

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 11:20am
A fry/breakfast roll, bottle of coke and some sort of ice cream
Be right then in 2 days LOL

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 11:46am

Bump
You hungover?

Usually crave a Maccers or Supermacs when hungover but more often than not I feel worse after eating it.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 11:49am
cant eat with a hangover nymore, cant taste anything, no appetite at all. 

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 12:45pm
I'm sure the very concept alone of eating raw fish whilst being hungover will cause a few people to throw up in their mouths a little bit, but over the last few years I've found sushi to be a great hangover food. The fatty acids and salt replenishes the aul sodium levels which generally get decimated after a night on the drink - so unlike most food you eat when hungover you don't feel even more like death after it.

Again if you don't like sushi in general this probably sounds like the worst idea ever, but if you are partial to it I'd recommend giving it a bash the next time you're hungover.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 1:34pm
Whatever sushi is, it’s not hangover food! I could eat a tonne of sushi and still need a kebab on the way home. It just isn’t filling!

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 1:53pm

Whatever sushi is, it’s not hangover food! I could eat a tonne of sushi and still need a kebab on the way home. It just isn’t filling!

Kebabs are 'I'm drunk' food though, which is surely an entirely different kettle of fish, if you'll excuse the pun. I'm referring to what works well on a reasonably vicious hangover. My stomach tends to shrivel up when dying of a hangover these days, so whilst I might be hungry I tend to fill up quickly enough (or at least feel I am) which is probably another reason why sushi works well as it's not massively filling.

A big fry or whatever tastes great when hungover, it's just that you tend to feel seriously rough afterwards. This is probably all age related as well - the bigger and greasier the stuff always used to be the only way to go until the mid-thirties took hold!

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 1:59pm
I meant in general! I tend to it kebabs, or shawarma at least when I’m sober. It’s too good to waste on drunkenness!

When I’m hungover I want something that will take five years off my life and lots of it! My appetite trebles with a hangover. I feel much better after a fry or a feed of chips.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 1:59pm
tango ice blast followed by chicken wings/nachos.. instant cure. 

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:01pm
Coffee, with nothing else.

A couple of pints of water after an evening out helps, and avoiding the high sodium post booze food is key.

But I never actually want food when hungover.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:01pm
I normally go for a roll with mayo, rashers, cheese and lettuce. Then a jambon or 2 and a few bags of Meanies, all washed down with a bottle of Tanora. I love sushi but couldn't imagine having it as a hangover cure.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:04pm

A couple of pints of water after an evening out helps, and avoiding the high sodium post booze food is key.

I avoid coffee, you’re dehydrated enough already! Although I do tend to go for salty foods in such a situation! I do drink a lot of water though, tap and sparkling.

Tanora is great, had forgotten all about that stuff!

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:06pm

I avoid coffee, you’re dehydrated enough already! Although I do tend to go for salty foods in such a situation! I do drink a lot of water though, tap and sparkling.

Same here. Nothing better than a chip butty to round an evening off. But I always feel I pay for it!

The coffee wakes me up, and with the water taken it can be a good help.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:11pm
I don’t really eat when I am drinking, which is why my appetite increases the next day. I’m on the beer tomorrow day(morning, football, don’t judge!) for example, so I will have a big breakfast and that will probably be it until Sunday, when I will eat anything that isn’t tied down.

Posted By: dundon13
Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:15pm

Never really drank it before I moved to cork and I only really drink it hungover but it does the job.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:17pm
Pairs perfectly with the cheese and onion pie supper from Lennox’s!

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:20pm
What the f**ks Tanora

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:20pm
I find it awful hard to not have a takeaway after a night drinking. Wouldn't be able to eat much before boozing especially if you're drinking Guinness. 

For hangover food, you can't beat sausage rolls laced with salt. Light enough to stomach and I always miss them when I'm abroad (apart from being in the UK)

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:26pm
I usually eat my out of a hangover.

I'd eat the back wheel off a menstrual cycle.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 2:39pm

I'm sure the very concept alone of eating raw fish whilst being hungover will cause a few people to throw up in their mouths a little bit, but over the last few years I've found sushi to be a great hangover food. The fatty acids and salt replenishes the aul sodium levels which generally get decimated after a night on the drink - so unlike most food you eat when hungover you don't feel even more like death after it.

Again if you don't like sushi in general this probably sounds like the worst idea ever, but if you are partial to it I'd recommend giving it a bash the next time you're hungover.

Tempura rolls get ya a bit of batter in there too for extra hangover-beating

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 3:02pm
I can't eat at all when I'm badly hungover but the problem is that after a while the "I can't eat in case I throw it up" stomach just becomes "you know what, I'm starving" stomach, but the symptoms are hard to differentiate when I'm hanging.

A can of coke followed by four or five hours vegetating on the sofa with three or four cups of tea and then a curry about seven or eight in the evening tends to work.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 3:17pm
A cold orange lucozade and a bacon/sausage and egg sandwich.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 3:57pm
Spicy southern fried chicken wrap with loads of mayo

Then supermacs for lunch and a curry for dinner 

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 4:59pm

Lucozade f*cked things up when they changed the ingredients and reduced the sugar. Tastes horrible now. Let me just pay the extra 10c tax for it to taste better. 

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 5:24pm

Lucozade f*cked things up when they changed the ingredients and reduced the sugar. Tastes horrible now. Let me just pay the extra 10c tax for it to taste better. 
Irn-Bru, the best hangover cure of them all, has been completely ruined. I know it’s unhealthy, that’s why I’m drinking it!

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 5:34pm
Whenever I have anything salty such as chips or salt and vinegar crisps with or after beer I get a terrible hangover the next day.

For me there is no cure.  It's an affliction. I reckon I should be entitled to disability pay outs the following day.

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 5:36pm

Darmack guarding the sugar
Image result for sugar man simpsons

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 5:48pm

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 6:03pm

Darmack guarding the sugar
Image result for sugar man simpsons

One of my favourite episodes

Date Posted: 25 Oct 2019 at 6:55pm

Whenever I have anything salty such as chips or salt and vinegar crisps with or after beer I get a terrible hangover the next day.

For me there is no cure.  It's an affliction. I reckon I should be entitled to disability pay outs the following day.

I find if I eat something too salty after beer then the next day, doesn’t matter how many litres of water I drink I can get me taste buds back to normal. Takes most of the next day

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2019 at 10:47am
Just about alive here so I did the obvious thing and sent herself to the shop for the king of hangover crisps, the beefy Hula-Hoop, and I just got told they don’t have any. It’s like Nazi Germany.

Date Posted: 27 Oct 2019 at 11:12am
big mac meal with full fat coke and a chocolate sundae followed by a ride or a tug