URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=118
Printed Date: 05 Dec 2023 at 8:30am

Topic: Lee Carsley
Subject: Lee Carsley
Date Posted: 10 Apr 2007 at 4:48am
Anyone who has been watching Everton recently will see Lee Carsley is there or thereboauts for man of the match every match. For the last 2 seasons he has been exceptional for the toffees and has been great since been called back up by Stan (by public outcry). I really cant see why the gaffer left him out of the squad a few months back!  Theres no-one else in the Irish setup who can play that position at the moment and the only one who comes close is Stephen reid who is out for another while yet

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2007 at 5:25am
Gives more credence to the belief that Stan could be a lucky Manager as we prepare for Sept with renewed hope.  It was only a combination of public outcry and a long injury list that Carso got back in (cos Stan was getting all humpy about it) for the Czech game and he did a great job that night and has done quite well for us since, but he's certainly a major part of Everton's surge up the table.

He's limited enough on the ball, but he does the ball winning and ugly stuff well and for that reason should always be in the Irish team for the forseeable future.

Date Posted: 10 Apr 2007 at 8:13am
hes a favourite of the fans at Everton as hes a heart player and always gives it all, sticking the head into everything.  Few stiches the other night and 2 minutes later hes winning headers that he shouldnt be winning. I dont think hes ever really had a much respect on the international team from the fans as he gets at Everton. Like you say freewheeler, limited ability but doesnt waste it. 

Posted By: L.Y.A.
Date Posted: 17 Apr 2007 at 3:20pm
I awlays admired that he's been a tee totaller....he's an absolute ringer of the pyromanic, turetts suffering character in the tv show Shameless

Date Posted: 18 Apr 2007 at 5:10am

yeah good call LYA. Hes  like the grim reaper from bill and teds bogus journey aswell, quality film and quality player

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2013 at 3:52am
The Irish Times - Friday, February 15, 2013

EMMET MALONE, Soccer Correspondent

Coventry look to Carsley as manager Robbins leaves for Huddersfield Town

EMMET MALONE, Soccer Correspondent

Former Republic of Ireland midfielder Lee Carsley will be in charge of Coventry City’s first team for tomorrow’s game away to Bury after manager Mark Robins departed suddenly to take over at Huddersfield.

The 38-year-old becomes the fourth person this season to pick the team at the financially troubled League One outfit where he has progressed quite swiftly on the coaching front since being put in charge of the under-18s after retiring a couple of years ago.

“There’s a sense of continuity,” said Coventry chief executive Tim Fisher of the decision to put Carsley in charge. “Lee’s been around the club a while. He knows the players, having worked alongside Mark.”

The former Derby, Everton and Birmingham City star, who also had two stints as a player with Coventry, is likely to need to hit the ground running if he hopes to land the position on a longer term basis as Fisher says the process of finding Robins’ replacement has already been started.

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2013 at 3:58am
Top top fella. Hope it all works out for him.

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2013 at 7:54am
Good luck to Lee, certainly going about it the right way by coming up the ranks.  Reckon he will make a good manager Clap

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2013 at 4:02pm
Assisting Boothroyd at Sheffield Utd since july,Would like to see him come in to the Irish set up in some capacity,Top bloke, well respected,Great knowledge of the game.
It might not suit him to leave but you'll never know till you ask.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2013 at 4:06pm
Originally posted by fochie fochie wrote:

Assisting Boothroyd at Sheffield Utd since july,Would like to see him come in to the Irish set up in some capacity,Top bloke, well respected,Great knowledge of the game.
It might not suit him to leave but you'll never know till you ask.

I thought David weir was Sheffield utd bos ?

Posted By: fochie
Date Posted: 13 Sep 2013 at 4:07pm
Embarrassed Whoops, Weir sorry.

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2015 at 9:31am
Appointed Brentford caretaker gaffer

Posted By: gwhite
Date Posted: 28 Sep 2015 at 9:39am
Didn't he just get a job in the England under age set up?

Posted By: trapscat
Date Posted: 28 Sep 2015 at 12:09pm
Best of luck to him, g8t to have another Irish lad getting management experience..

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 5:34pm
According to The Mail, the English FA are planning to offer Carsley a new deal after his exploits at 21s Euros. He’s currently on a rolling 12 month contract. Southgate’s current deal expires after the Euros next year I think. Not difficult to see a succession plan being put in place.

Either way, there’s a very good chance we’ve already missed the boat. His stock has soared. He’s gonna be linked with loads of PL jobs now. I think he’s less likely to go with us even if the senior job is available imminently 

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 5:50pm
A succession plan like that would be best practice. Especially if GS is coming to the end of his tenure. Unfortunately, it would reflect the fact that our ‘plan’ by putting MM in charge, with Kenny taking over after 18 months with the U21 was not really a great idea.

Posted By: TheNumber6
Date Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 7:09pm
TalkSport strongly suggesting now that he’ll be our next manager.

Posted By: J89
Date Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 7:46pm
Originally posted by TheNumber6 TheNumber6 wrote:

TalkSport strongly suggesting now that he’ll be our next manager.

Are they? Thought they only mentioned there's interest from within the FAI to hire him rather than he's interested in taking the job.

Still think a lot of this Carsley for Ireland talk within the media started with his agent trying to drum up interest amongst clubs. But if the FA have changed their minds and now see Carsley as a possible future senior manager he'll stay with the FA.

He'll always have Ireland to fall back on in a few years if he doesn't succeed Southgate or go into club management.

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 8:54pm
Talksport ffs LOL

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 9:52pm
I still haven't forgiven the dopey coont for the Turkey handball. Disapprove

Date Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 11:31pm

See how people react when they conceed a 93 minute equaliser 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 12:23am

I dont want Carsley.  Never liked him.  I'd rather Kenny.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 9:26am
Have seen a few clips on twitter of the style of football England u21s have been playing under Carsley and its very easy on the eye.

Not sure if it would work with our crop of players though.

Posted By: TooOldForThis
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 10:14am
Lee Carsley seems to be quite triggering for some posters, without providing a single valid reason. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 11:34am
Originally posted by TooOldForThis TooOldForThis wrote:

Lee Carsley seems to be quite triggering for some posters, without providing a single valid reason. 

1. He cost us euro2000 qualification
2. He has never managed at senior level and has less experience than Kenny!
3. Good coaches dont make good managers most of the time.  Its a different skillset.

Posted By: PaddyMaddenIsCounty!
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 11:50am
He actually has a decent record managing on caretaker basis at championship level on caretaker basis at Coventry, Birmingham and particularly Brentford. He was offered Brentford job but preferred working with and developing young players rather than managing at senior level 

Posted By: Banana_RepublicFC
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 12:08pm

3. Good coaches dont make good managers most of the time.  Its a different skillset.

You're talking bollocks.

Mikel Arteta was hired as a 37 year old rookie manager after just 3.5 years working as a coach under Pep at City. Kieran McKenna was hired as a 35 year old rookie coach by Ipswich after 3.5 years as an assistant manager at United. Steve Cooper excelled at youth coaching with Liverpool and England, then moved into senior management 4 years ago. He's done well at Swansea and Forest.

That is how football is now. 

Kenny has been managing for 20+ years, but Carsley has worked across various clubs and experienced how modern football clubs operate. His time at Brentford, City and England are plus points, not negatives.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 12:10pm
Originally posted by Banana_RepublicFC Banana_RepublicFC wrote:

You're talking bollocks.

Mikel Arteta was hired as a 37 year old rookie manager after just 3.5 years working as a coach under Pep at City. Kieran McKenna was hired as a 35 year old rookie coach by Ipswich after 3.5 years as an assistant manager at United. Steve Cooper excelled at youth coaching with Liverpool and England, then moved into senior management 4 years ago. He's done well at Swansea and Forest.

Kenny has been managing for 20+ years, but Carsley has worked across various clubs and experienced how modern football clubs operate. His time at Brentford, City and England are plus points, not negatives.

Are you blind?  There's exceptions to every rule. I dont want him anywhere near the job.  I'd sooner take Stan back.

Posted By: Banana_RepublicFC
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 12:26pm

Originally posted by Banana_RepublicFC Banana_RepublicFC wrote:

You're talking bollocks.

Are you blind?  There's exceptions to every rule. I dont want him anywhere near the job.  I'd sooner take Stan back.

Are you thick? Trap junior is an apt name. You're a relic.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 1:04pm

You said you "never liked him"...and you would prefer "Stan"...a proven failure as a manager. Stan also cost us a win against England at Wembley with his deflection into our goal. Whatever your stated reasons for your dislike of Carsley, they don't follow from the 3 reasons you gave above. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 1:10pm

You said you "never liked him"...and you would prefer "Stan"...a proven failure as a manager. Stan also cost us a win against England at Wembley with his deflection into our goal. Whatever your stated reasons for your dislike of Carsley, they don't follow from the 3 reasons you gave above. 

How did Stan cost us a win?  We went 1-0 down ffs and his goal was hardly an unforced errorConfused  unlike that clown Carsley who did a Harlem Globetrotters dribble with the ball in our own box.

He's a kiddies coach.  in no way experienced or earned a chance to manage us. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 1:37pm

How did Stan cost us a win?  We went 1-0 down ffs and his goal was hardly an unforced errorConfused  unlike that clown Carsley who did a Harlem Globetrotters dribble with the ball in our own box.

We drew 1-1...without Stan's mindless leg flip...could of been a 1-0 to us. But unlike you I don't hold a grudge about a lad in an Irish shirt doing his best for his country about 20 years ago! Is the current Spain manager who won the Nations League, not their former U21 manager? You know, just a kiddies coach. Carsley is a deep thinker of the game, and a proven success as a coach. But you think he is a "clown"...and again with no reason to back it up

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:16pm
Blaming Carsley for our elimination from the Euros in 2000 is proper brain dead stuff. Absolute idiots on here sometimes 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:32pm

Blaming Carsley for our elimination from the Euros in 2000 is proper brain dead stuff. Absolute idiots on here sometimes 

Sure he was to blame!  Keep Kenny over Carsley every day of the week.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:35pm

We drew 1-1...without Stan's mindless leg flip...could of been a 1-0 to us. But unlike you I don't hold a grudge about a lad in an Irish shirt doing his best for his country about 20 years ago! Is the current Spain manager who won the Nations League, not their former U21 manager? You know, just a kiddies coach. Carsley is a deep thinker of the game, and a proven success as a coach. But you think he is a "clown"...and again with no reason to back it up

Carsleybis a proven success my hole.  Being in charge of kiddies football is not a proving ground.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:39pm

Sure he was to blame!  

I've always blamed the team in Macedonia for failing to do what was needed to close out the game.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:43pm

Carsleybis a proven success my hole.  Being in charge of kiddies football is not a proving ground.
Clearly...being in charge at LOI level is not a proving ground...but yeah...keep Kenny.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:47pm

Clearly....being in charge at level LOI is not a proving ground...but yeah...keep Kenny.

I agree but would prefer him to Carsley. Sure lets get Vera Pauw while we're at it.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:57pm
You cannot look at Carsley's career, and based on his CV, come to the conclusion that this guy is evidently not suitable for international management. Judging by the vehemence of some people's opposition to him, there are clearly some other unstated reasons for the intense reaction. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:59pm

You cannot look at Carsley's career, and based on his CV, come to the conclusion that this guy is evidently not suitable for international management. Judging by the vehemence of some people's opposition to him, there are clearly some other unstated reasons for the intense reaction. 

This guys CV is littered with failure. And worse than failure! He jumped the fence baby.

Posted By: kevin100
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:02pm

I wouldn’t read too much into that. I think a lot of it is people see him and are drawing comparisons to Kenny in terms of lack of experience at EFL level and not much beyond being a success with an international U21 team (like Kenny was). Once bitten twice shy. 

Lads are bang on when they point to his success as an interim at both Coventry and Brentford. He got Manager Of The Month in his stint at Brentford. 

Obviously it was only as an interim so some context needed. It’s definitely not a negative and is a promising sign that he might be up to the Ireland job. 

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:08pm

Give it a rest TJ with the kiddies football, practically every single one of them are PL players. I wouldn't fancy our senior team against them.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:13pm
He had 5 games in charge as an interim. So what?  Hardly a proven track record. Sure give Darren Moore the job then!  How many times have we seen it. A manager gets sacked and thr interim wins a few games and is then surprisingly given the job full time and then makes a sh*te of it.  Its what happens when a manager leaves freqiently. The mood lifts for a while and performances get better for a while.

You are correct. We have had one manager in Kenny who is unproven and now we want to repeat the same trick with Carsley??

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:15pm
His accidental handball 23 years ago should have no bearing on his credentials as a manager for Ireland.  Anyone who suggest it is living in cloud cuckoo land. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:21pm

His accidental handball 23 years ago should have no bearing on his credentials as a manager for Ireland.

It’s kinda mad that this sentence had to be typed 

Posted By: PaddyMaddenIsCounty!
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:21pm
24 games as interim and won 10. 24 more than Stan had who you say you would prefer back. Talking sh!t and contradicting yourself 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 4:41pm

I dont want Carsley.  Never liked him.  I'd rather Kenny.

Feck me TJ , i told you before never come on here after your 2nd bottle of Buckfast Dead

Posted By: Heimatklange
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:13pm

100%

carsley is the flavour of the day, a flash in the pan. kenny is doing a great job and has the long term strategic vision t improve our team

Posted By: SeaSharp
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:28pm

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:29pm
Trapjunior I've sent you a pm about getting your crack dealers number, please reply man. I needs

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:30pm
Originally posted by Heimatklange Heimatklange wrote:

100%

carsley is the flavour of the day, a flash in the pan. kenny is doing a great job and has the long term strategic vision t improve our team
To be an effective WUMer you need to appear to be at least vaguely plausible. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:43pm

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:57pm
Lees Ingerlund one up at half time.....bit of a scrap after the goal.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 6:49pm
Originally posted by Heimatklange Heimatklange wrote:

100%

ah here

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:07pm
Congrats Lee...European Champions! 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:07pm
Lucky manager. Always comes in handy. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:09pm
Lucked their way to the final with 5 clean sheets! We could do with that kind of luck.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:21pm

Lucked their way to the final with 5 clean sheets! We could do with that kind of luck.

Peewee soccer tournament

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:22pm
What will he get for this OBE or MBE ?

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:23pm
88% win ratio for Carsley over the last 2 years. No too bad for a "clown". Don't think he will slum it with us, unfortunately. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:25pm
Save your breath, lads. He'll be the new manager post September. 

It's going to happen. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:27pm

88% win ratio for Carsley over the last 2 years. No too bad for a "clown". Don't think he will slum it with us, unfortunately. 

Welcome Sir Lee Carsley

Posted By: Green Cockade
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:29pm
Sir Lee not ?

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:31pm
He named his son Connor, if that helps the barely contained anti-English sentiment simmering just below the surface by a few of the posters LOL

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:35pm
if the wealthiest FA on the planet can’t finance a coaching system to produce efficient underage teams it’d be odd.
Probably four or five will progress to full England caps.
Seem to have really learned their lesson over the years though, and gaining at that level but they still haven’t won a full international trophy to add to a World Cup where they won by cheating.
Carsley? He’s English anyway , but I’d doubt the main job will ever be his, no real top club achievement.
Would I have him here? As a coach yes, as a manager, don’t know, but I’d say he’s been mentioned in FAI circles, doubt we’d be his next move though he’ll want bigger moolah than we pay.

No Pasaran!

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:42pm

if the wealthiest FA on the planet can’t finance a coaching system to produce efficient underage teams it’d be odd.
Seem to have really learned their lesson over the years though, and gaining at that level but they still haven’t won a full international trophy to add to a World Cup where they won by cheating.
Carsley? He’s English anyway , but I’d doubt the main job will ever be his, no real top club achievement.
Would I have him here? As a coach yes, as a manager, don’t know, but I’d say he’s been mentioned in FAI circles, doubt we’d be his next move though he’ll want bigger moolah than we pay.
I had mentioned "barely contained anti-English sentiment"...no pretense at containment in this post...just standard Irish begrudgery! But, I don't think Carsley will be with us, unless he prefers the part time nature of the post given his family situation.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:49pm
What sort of money wud he be on with the English u21's? Presumably if he stays on they will bump it up considerably now.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 7:57pm
It would make no sense for him to stay on in that job after winning the Euros, the only way is down from there. Could definitely see him being added to a few manager shortlists in Championship boardrooms though.

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 8:03pm

Sometimes”? 🤔

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 8:06pm

His accidental handball 23 years ago should have no bearing on his credentials as a manager for Ireland.

It’s kinda mad that this sentence had to be typed 

Agreed. Holding the above opinion lets us know the kind of absolute bluffers we’re dealing with in here. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 8:07pm

He is an Irish citizen and has 40 caps for us, so factually that's dubious to say the least.

I think they'll want to groom him to take over from Southgate, if a PL team doesn't tempt him first. 

Posted By: 1874eire
Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 8:09pm
Originally posted by Fitz Fitz wrote:

Sometimes”? 🤔

I often think we threw away that tournament in the away game against Croatia where McCarthy made some odd selections and we tried to defend for 90 minutes. 

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 8:20pm
Originally posted by 1874eire 1874eire wrote:

Sometimes”? 🤔

I often think we threw away that tournament in the away game against Croatia where McCarthy made some odd selections and we tried to defend for 90 minutes. 
Weren't we still seconds away from automatically qualifying when we gave away that stupid goal v North Macedonia? Cry

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 8:42pm

Originally posted by 1874eire 1874eire wrote:

Sometimes”? 🤔

Weren't we still seconds away from automatically qualifying when we gave away that stupid goal v North Macedonia? Cry

6 seconds from topping the group. Defo within the top 5 worst moments of my life

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 8:56pm
We probably wouldn't have made the 2002 World Cup if we had qualified for Euro 2000. Getting the two away draws on the board early against Netherlands and Portugal was an intentional strategy based on them having a post Euros hangover and us coming into those games fresh. So Carsley was (unintentionally) doing us a favour, if anything.

Date Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 9:06pm

We probably wouldn't have made the 2002 World Cup if we had qualified for Euro 2000. Getting the two away draws on the board early against Netherlands and Portugal was an intentional strategy based on them having a post Euros hangover and us coming into those games fresh. So Carsley was (unintentionally) doing us a favour, if anything.

I'm not entirely convinced we wouldn't have made it, had all remained the same, apart from us going to the Euros that summer. The dutch were depleted when we played them in September 2000. Bergkamp had retired, Overmars, Stam and Davids were out. We met them at a very good time, and it was as much to do with their own depletion as it was a 'hangover.', whereas Portugal never really suffered one at all.

Posted By: John Nice
Date Posted: 09 Jul 2023 at 11:47am
Think he's on roughly the same money Kenny is on currently, so you'd imagine he'd be looking for a fair bounce after the he moves on from the U21 gig. I'd imagine the FAI would have to at least double the salary on offer to even have a chance with Carsley. That may be possible and despite what some may think, it is not an unattractive job for the next man in. Love him or hate him, but Kenny has done a lot of the heavy lifting as regards squad building over the last couple of years. The next man in will benefit from that work and the ever improving squad profile as a lot of the younger lads begin to take steps up the footballing ladder. It's definitely a squad that looks like it has plenty of improvement to come, unlike the squad Kenny inherited which looked dead on its feet.

Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 09 Jul 2023 at 4:59pm

Think he's on roughly the same money Kenny is on currently, so you'd imagine he'd be looking for a fair bounce after the he moves on from the U21 gig. I'd imagine the FAI would have to at least double the salary on offer to even have a chance with Carsley. That may be possible and despite what some may think, it is not an unattractive job for the next man in. Love him or hate him, but Kenny has done a lot of the heavy lifting as regards squad building over the last couple of years. The next man in will benefit from that work and the ever improving squad profile as a lot of the younger lads begin to take steps up the footballing ladder. It's definitely a squad that looks like it has plenty of improvement to come, unlike the squad Kenny inherited which looked dead on its feet.

John, your heart may be in the right place but your brain is awol. The Kenny experiment, by any credible assessment, has been a disaster across three years. A feelgood appointment that has backfired spectacularly. Trying to create a benevolent legacy from wholesale failure by claiming he introduced youngsters who otherwise would have been ignored is nonsense. Statistics prove him the worst manager in our football history. Seven consecutive games without a goal, one competitive win of note, almost instant WC/Euros elimination, FIFA rankings dive - failure right across his watch. He also exposed a moronic generation of supporters, 88% compliant at one point, which practically morphed into a cult to justify awful results. "A manager for the generations". Ironically, his legacy will boost the confidence of his replacement who'll take comfort from the fact that nobody could possibly do worse.

Posted By: TheNumber6
Date Posted: 09 Jul 2023 at 8:03pm
Originally posted by Mr Brick Mr Brick wrote:

John, your heart may be in the right place but your brain is awol. The Kenny experiment, by any credible assessment, has been a disaster across three years. A feelgood appointment that has backfired spectacularly. Trying to create a benevolent legacy from wholesale failure by claiming he introduced youngsters who otherwise would have been ignored is nonsense. Statistics prove him the worst manager in our football history. Seven consecutive games without a goal, one competitive win of note, almost instant WC/Euros elimination, FIFA rankings dive - failure right across his watch. He also exposed a moronic generation of supporters, 88% compliant at one point, which practically morphed into a cult to justify awful results. "A manager for the generations". Ironically, his legacy will boost the confidence of his replacement who'll take comfort from the fact that nobody could possibly do worse.

Well expressed

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 9:09am
Originally posted by Mr Brick Mr Brick wrote:

No the money again Brick Thumbs Up

Posted By: Terzino
Date Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 10:28pm
To right off the whole Kenny era as a disaster would be ridiculous. The next manager will inherit a team with potential.

The fans are not cultists, but have stuck with Kenny because they recognise that potential. And they also remember a time, not so long ago, when the team was almost moribund.

Kenny can't get results when the chips are down, and that is his undoing, but the next man in won't be starting from scratch with this team. A marginally improved defence would improve matters greatly, for instance.

O'Neill's last 20 games

.........P....W....D....L....F....A

McCarthy's Record

Kenny's last 20 games

.........P....W....D....L.....F.....A

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 10:31pm
Originally posted by Terzino Terzino wrote:

To right off the whole Kenny era as a disaster would be ridiculous. The next manager will inherit a team with potential.

The fans are not cultists, but have stuck with Kenny because they recognise that potential. And they also remember a time, not so long ago, when the team was almost moribund.

Kenny can't get results when the chips are down, and that is his undoing, but the next man in won't be starting from scratch with this team. A marginally improved defence would improve matters greatly, for instance.

O'Neill's last 20 games

McCarthy's Record

Kenny's last 20 games

.........P....W....D....L.....F.....A

The only thing is we have a played a fair amount of cannon fodder under Kenny in order to rack up some wins.  Cant remember who we beat under MON/Mick. Be interesting to see who the wins were under the 3 different managers.

Posted By: Terzino
Date Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 11:06pm
In that specific period, O'Neill beat Wales in Cardiff in a "rearguard action", but it couldn't mask the fact that Ireland was going into a serious decline. Overall, we couldn't create chances, never mind score a goal, and we suffered big defeats to Denmark and Wales - who got their revenge in a 4-1 hammering.
McCarthy steadied the ship, and his only defeat was 2-0 away to Switzerland.

Every defeat for Kenny, in his last 20 games, has been by a 1 goal margin. And that has been his big problem. He can't grind out a result when he needs one.

Therefore, the next manager needs only to improve some things and not everything.

There is no major surgery required, and that is why I think it's wrong to write-off the whole of the Kenny era.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 11:14pm
McCarthy's record stands up pretty well looking at those stats. Kind of puts paid to the notion that Kenny inherited a team at their lowest ebb and rebuilt it somehow. Actually the stats seem to show that it was Kenny that took us to our lowest standing in 35 years - and he hasn't improved us much if at all since.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 11:18pm

In that specific period, O'Neill beat Wales in Cardiff in a "rearguard action", but it couldn't mask the fact that Ireland was going into a serious decline. Overall, we couldn't create chances, never mind score a goal, and we suffered big defeats to Denmark and Wales - who got their revenge in a 4-1 hammering.

Every defeat for Kenny, in his last 20 games, has been by a 1 goal margin. And that has been his big problem. He can't grind out a result when he needs one.

Therefore, the next manager needs only to improve some things and not everything.

There is no major surgery required, and that is why I think it's wrong to write-off the whole of the Kenny era.

The last 18 months of MON was a disgrace.  Who else did he beat?  Austria was a great win and yes Wales was a total smash and grab as the performance was poor.  On to Kenny now.

I've said it many times he has the right ideas but is probably the wrong man to implement it.   He hasnt the tactical nous for international level. We were 4-3-3 at the start of his tenure and it was a unmitigated disaster and results only picked up a little when Barry came in and we switched to 5-3-2 or 5-3-1-1.
In dont see Kenny being able to adjust mid game well enough  His subs are baffling at times.  I actually think we have the makings of a solid team who can compete for 2nd in most groups we were getting.  Now after our rankings have fallen the teams above us tend to be of a higher calibre than we normally would have gotten under Trap/Mon/Mick.  Even so I still think we have the ability to compete and I dont believe Kenny has the ability to pick up the points we deserve.
For all the good play Dundalk played in 2016 in Europe he left points behind that he should have gotten. 

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 11:45pm

Pretty much it - to continue the medical analogy, the life saving surgery has been performed, we're just struggling with the rehabilitation at the moment. We've never taken a hammering under Kenny (even the 3-0 to England was hardly mortifying given their current position and the fact it was a friendly), but we have shown inexperience and let games slip past us narrowly.

We're obviously not where we wish we were, but we're still in an infinitely better position than we have been at any stage since 2016. For the first time in an eternity, we have an overall young squad with good potential to improve. Of course that necessitates that harsh lessons will be learned along the way, but it also means that we actually have something to build towards, rather than constantly being in a position of trying to stem an inexorable decline.

Date Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 11:57pm

McCarthy's record stands up pretty well looking at those stats. Kind of puts paid to the notion that Kenny inherited a team at their lowest ebb and rebuilt it somehow. Actually the stats seem to show that it was Kenny that took us to our lowest standing in 35 years - and he hasn't improved us much if at all since.

McCarthy steadied the ship after MON's horrendous last 18 months, but the squad was clearly not in a good position (let alone a position to improve long-term). The only really good performance under McCarthy was Georgia at home where we played very well. We laboured (and I mean really laboured) past Gibraltar twice. We put in a horrendous performance in Tbilisi. We battled to two draws with the Danes. We huffed and puffed our way to a home draw with the Swiss and they then beat us well away.

In the end it was par for course and we finished in line with our seeding - but clearly it was not a team with the age profile to improve on that, it had to be reset.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 9:23am
Kenny did a lot of ground work bringing through younger players and I believe the squad is in good shape to compete, the next manager will reap the benefit of all the leg work Kenny did. It's very unfortunate that Kenny has not been able to get  the results we expected.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 10:03am

Just to note, every defeat in his entire tenure from the very outset has only been by a one goal margin bar the 3-0 away to England in a friendly. People writing off his tenure or describing people who have been broadly supportive of Kenny as cultists reflects more on them imo. Ultimately he hasnt got the results and that will be his undoing, but to suggest now that he hasnt improved the age profile and make up of the squad during his time at the helm, well that really does smack of a cultist agenda.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 10:08am

McCarthy steadied the ship after MON's horrendous last 18 months, but the squad was clearly not in a good position (let alone a position to improve long-term). The only really good performance under McCarthy was Georgia at home where we played very well. We laboured (and I mean really laboured) past Gibraltar twice. We put in a horrendous performance in Tbilisi. We battled to two draws with the Danes. We huffed and puffed our way to a home draw with the Swiss and they then beat us well away.

In the end it was par for course and we finished in line with our seeding - but clearly it was not a team with the age profile to improve on that, it had to be reset.

I like Mick but he very much played for a draw in Tbilisi and that was a disgrace.  He had a big smile on his face at the final whistle FFS.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 10:26am
Of all the various defences of Kenny that have been put out there, praising him for the high number of narrow defeats during his term has to be up there with the most ridiculous. A loss is a loss, and there have been far too many of them.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 10:28am

I like Mick but he very much played for a draw in Tbilisi and that was a disgrace.  He had a big smile on his face at the final whistle FFS.

A draw was sufficient.

The result and performance didn't meet the expectations of the fans.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 10:28am

Of all the various defences of Kenny that have been put out there, praising him for the high number of narrow defeats during his term has to be up there with the most ridiculous. A loss is a loss, and there have been far too many of them.

It's not praise, it's pointing out the ridiculously over-the-top criticism from hoofball cultists such as yourself eho cannot acknowledge the complete overhaul that has had to occur.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 10:31am

It's not praise, it's pointing out the ridiculously over-the-top criticism from hoofball cultists such as yourself eho cannot acknowledge the complete overhaul that has had to occur.

Why is YTM a hoofball cultist?

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 10:33am

Seriously YTM, we get you dont like Kenny, but let's not start to try and rewrite history here, Mick had a 3-4-1 record vs the Swiss, Danes, Georgia and Gibraltar, the team played putrid football and there was only one player under the age of 27 who featured in his final game in charge at home to the Danes (Alan Browne). The next youngest were Egan, Doherty and Duffy, 2 of whom turned 28 two months later. The bench wasnt much better with only Parrott, Travers, Jack Byrne, Josh Cullen and Callum Robinson under 27. Of those 5, only Robinson was used from the bench. His 2 home friendly wins were vs Bulgaria and New Zealand, so his 5 wins featured those 2, the 2 wretched wins over Gibralter (2-0 and 1-0) and a half decent 1-0 win at home to Georgia.

It's fine to want rid of Kenny, but let's not try and pretend he took on anything other than a poisoned chalice.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 10:36am

Hoofball cultist LOLLOL I like that!

Incidentally I don't want us to play hoofball and would have no interest in seeing McCarthy coming back if that was even an option.

That doesn't mean that Kenny's time in charge has been anything other than a disaster though.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 11:02am

Hoofball cultist LOLLOL I like that!

Incidentally I don't want us to play hoofball and would have no interest in seeing McCarthy coming back if that was even an option.

That doesn't mean that Kenny's time in charge has been anything other than a disaster though.

I would put it more in the "has not been good enough" category versus "disaster". 
There have been some disaster results but also a few good results on reflection. 
We haven't out performed our seeding. But we also haven't fallen below it either (yet).
And if we look past the results, which you can't forever but you also cant ignore, he has us playing football that his not so dire and boring and there are also a lot of young players who have got a chance. Might not have happened with someone else in charge. Foundation is good for someone else to come in an takeover if results don't go our away for the rest of the campaign.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 11:02am

Seriously YTM, we get you dont like Kenny, but let's not start to try and rewrite history here, Mick had a 3-4-1 record vs the Swiss, Danes, Georgia and Gibraltar, the team played putrid football and there was only player under the age of 27 who featured in his final game in charge at home to the Danes (Alan Browne). The next youngest were Egan, Doherty and Duffy, 2 of whom turned 28 two months later. The bench wasnt much better with only Parrott, Travers, Jack Byrne, Josh Cullen and Callum Robinson under 27. Of those 5, only Robinson was used from the bench. His 2 home friendly wins were vs Bulgaria and New Zealand, so his 5 wins featured those 2, the 2 wretched wins over Gibralter (2-0 and 1-0) and a half decent 1-0 win at home to Georgia.

It's fine to want rid of Kenny, but let's not try and pretend he took on anything other than a poisoned chalice.

This is the point, not a single player who started Mick's final game (bar 24 YO Alan Browne) could reasonably have been expected to significantly improve (and in any case that hasn't happened, Browne's career plateaued thereafter). Every single starter was either past their peak or at their absolute peak at the time, and that was still only good enough for them to finish 3rd. I mean look at the bench for christ sake, it included players like Judge and O'Hara who were released by L2 Colchester this year.

Anyone who can not acknowledge the dire state of affairs we were in, and that a complete overhaul was required, is living in la la land.

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 11:03am
Indeed

Date Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 11:28am
For sure, but who should Mick have been picking that he wasn't? My recollection was that the talk at that point was around Connolly, but he hasn't done anything since to suggest that he should have been picked more than he was. None of the other younger lads - Bazunu, Collins, O'Shea, Knight etc were ready for senior international football at that point.

I don't think anyone disputes that Kenny has brought loads of these lads in, but the suggestion seems to be that, if anyone else was in charge, it wouldn't have happened. Whereas the reality is that McCarthy or anyone else would almost certainly have brought these players in also, as there was little alternative available. But I don't think it's unrealistic to suggest that a better manager could have kept us more competitive while doing so - this is the area where SK failed massively.