URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=10694
Printed Date: 15 May 2024 at 8:29pm

Topic: Bernard Dunne Title Defense
Subject: Bernard Dunne Title Defense
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:36pm
So lads, what ya's think? Lads in the studio saying Dunne looks f**ked.

By the way Andy Lee is a propper PikieDead

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:36pm
I can't get over how small Dunne is... It's unreal!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:43pm
The high kings are qualityClap

Posted By: Gizzmo
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:44pm

best wishes to Bernard ... a gentleman ,, and a great embassador .. hope he wins ... Wink nervous wreck here already ..

Richard Dunne For Captain
Shay Given is GOD !!

Posted By: Gouldinho09
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:46pm
ole ole during a minutes applause wtf

Posted By: billybob
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:47pm
Originally posted by Gouldinho09 Gouldinho09 wrote:

Fookin knobends!!!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:47pm

Unreal...

RIP Darren

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:48pm
The bleedin size of Tyson...18st 9lbsTongue

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:48pm
jesus da size of them boxers ... my god

Shay Given is GOD !!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:49pm
The Best in the West, g'wan Tyson! Thumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:49pm
and 6ft 9 and 21yrs old...he looks 30

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:52pm
Furey and Andy Lee only found out they were cousins a few weeks agoLOL

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:53pm

Furey and Andy Lee only found out they were cousins a few weeks agoLOL

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 3:55pm
my god .. what must they feed him over there ...Smile

Shay Given is GOD !!

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:06pm

Jesus, he is a beastShocked 

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:14pm
Originally posted by Babysis Babysis wrote:

Jesus, he is a beastShocked 

What do you expect from a man whose staple diet is turf!!! Great stuff Clap Well done Tyson!!

Another lad from the west winning on a big night, fair play lads Smile

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:20pm
is andy lee really a traveller ... my god luke tyson fury ... my god the size of him

Shay Given is GOD !!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:22pm
Sticking my neck out on this one but was a minutes applause really appropriate? ( and don't start me on Ole Ole)

This wasn't the likes of George Best or Bobby Robson, a true great who passed away late in life ( not so much in Georges case but anyway) , this was a very young man with the world at his feet who had serious problems and ended his own life.

Why are we celebrating this? Its a F***ing tragedy. A minutes silence would have been far more appropriate in my opinion.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:23pm
On a more upbeat mood, Tyson Fury is the single best name in the history of sports - WWE couldn't have come up with that! And what a monster - future hero!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:23pm

Only in the door now, did that seriously happen? FFS, some serious muppets out Angry

Zizu, the pundits reckon Dunne is f**ked yeah?

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:24pm
Originally posted by Gizzmo Gizzmo wrote:

is andy lee really a traveller ... my god luke tyson fury ... my god the size of him
I googled him and got this story from The Irish Examiner regarding the issues over his parentage they mentioned

Controversy as Furey on card

TYSON FUREY is again at the centre of a storm which was brewing on the eve of tonight’s box-offs for the final Olympic qualifier.

The 19-year-old super-heavyweight, ranked No 2 among the English amateurs and a silver medallist at last year’s European junior championships when representing England, was barred from this year’s national senior championships when he failed to produce satisfactory proof of his Irish parentage or that he had been resident in the country for the required period.

He is son of the former professional “Gypsy” Johnny Fury who is said to have been born in Galway but when he failed to establish his father’s place of birth or evidence that he, himself, had been residing in the country for a year he was refused entry to the senior championships.

When his name was included in a list of boxers eligible for the box-offs which was sent out by the IABA, Michael Hawkins, coach to reigning champion Cathal McMonagle, protested and his name was missing from the most recent press release.

But IABA President, Dominic O’Rourke, said yesterday that he is still included until this morning’s weigh-in at least. 

Regardless of any past issues, fair play to him , he really seemed to enjoy boxing in the O2.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:26pm
jaysus he was born 7 weeks premature and only weighed 1lb!!!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:27pm
Some head on Marty

Posted By: billybunter
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:28pm
loving this rte.ie live sport here in the states. good luck to bernard!!

(hopefully we will be able to watch the boys in green on rte.ie live sport in the future !!)

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:29pm

Some head on Marty

I don't know how he keeps getting work!!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:34pm
HM i wudn say there saying he is fooked, but he is deffo up against it.

By the way Tyson Furey is only 21Shocked

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:34pm
Looking forward to Matthew Macklin's next fight Heart

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:35pm

Some head on Marty

One of my mates used to work in RTE and he said Marty fancies himself as quite the ladies man. He said he's an absolute legend in RTE for the way he's goes on with the women LOL

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:37pm

Hurled for Tipp as far as u-21
Jesus lads we are the sh*t in the boxing world at the momentCool

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:37pm

Some head on Marty

One of my mates used to work in RTE and he said Marty fancies himself as quite the ladies man. He said he's an absolute legend in RTE for the way he's goes on with the women LOL

Holy God!!! That fella would make anything boring. Wouldn't have marked him down as a ladies man LOL

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:39pm

Some head on Marty

Holy God!!! That fella would make anything boring. Wouldn't have marked him down as a ladies man LOL

Good man Marty!Clap Theres hope for us all in that caseLOL

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:40pm

Hurled for Tipp as far as u-21
Jesus lads we are the sh*t in the boxing world at the momentCool
Great to see the itish doing so well, and for me personally I love the fact there are a good few 2G's in there too Clap

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:46pm
Gwan Bernard

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:47pm

me too ... me and ollie here starting a fan club .. my god easy on the eye Embarrassed

Shay Given is GOD !!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:49pm
This Thai fella's gonna be a toughie... LOOK AT HIM!!!

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:50pm
G'wan Bernard is right but i'm a tad worried about this fella!

Praying before the fight, he's defo gonna win lads

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:50pm
I fear for Dunne though...these kickboxers (or ex kickboxers) are bad ass mo fo's

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:51pm
"The smile of an alter boy".....quality stuff Jimmy LOL

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:52pm

Bloody hell Jimmy!! LOL

"He'll win no beauty contest in the morning, well in fairness to him, he wouldn't have won one before he stepped into the ring!"

"Optimism begins with the letter 'O'!!"

"HE'S GOT THE SMILE OF AN ALTAR BOY!!"

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:53pm
Beat me to it HM

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:54pm
Originally posted by Gizzmo Gizzmo wrote:

me too ... me and ollie here starting a fan club .. my god easy on the eye Embarrassed

Oh yes, easy on the eye alright  EmbarrassedClap

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:54pm
Take down your hood for the anthem Bernard Thumbs%20Down

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:56pm

Confused A hood isnt a hat

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:56pm
Originally posted by billybob billybob wrote:

Ahhh ok...its that Dub thing again eh

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 4:57pm

Ahhh ok...its that Dub thing again eh

What? Confused

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:00pm
Doesn't matter, G'Wan Bernard ya good tingThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:03pm
Super start Clap

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:05pm

"Textbook" Cool

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:09pm
just watched keano's 4 goals on the break, quality Clap

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:10pm
Looking bad...

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:11pm
Dunne is gone

Jesus he looks bad...

jaysus, ballox anyway

Jazus

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:12pm
sh*te...

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:13pm

I can't remember which punch did him... Just seen it there, but it seemed to come from nowhere!

sh*te.

Murdered

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:16pm
No argueing with that - caught him a beauty. Brutal shot.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:16pm

that round was like the fight against the spanish lad, absolutely battered. that could be him finished now unfortunately....

Posted By: SuperDub
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:17pm

What a pity.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:18pm
Feel sorry for the lad

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:18pm
You know what regardless of contractual obligations, fair play to him for doing the interview, and mentioning Darren. 

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:19pm
Well done Bernard Clap

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:21pm
He's got a lot of stick in the past but i think the lad comes across as a top fella. gutted for him.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:24pm
he started so well in the first. i thought he was going to win comfortably...yer man landed some good punches in the 3rd round. i know very little about boxing but dunne always keeps his guard low and has a weak jaw.

Agree with all the comments...a true gent is Bernard and has never forgot where he came from. The auld fella knew his auld fella and feel sorry for them tonight.

He's got a lot of stick in the past but i think the lad comes across as a top fella. gutted for him.

Agree completely. Well done Bernard

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:32pm
I said to my aul lad Poonsawat in the 3rd

side notes:
The ring announcer is pants. You never see Michael or Bruce Buffer scrawling through his cards while announcing
Marty Morrisey: you were suppose to get yer man to translate your questions not to ask him questions you fooking moron
Jimmy Magee: Retire please

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:33pm

I said to my aul lad Poonsawat in the 3rd

side notes:
The ring announcer is pants. You never see Michael or Bruce Buffer scrawling through his cards while announcing
Marty Morrisey: you were suppose to get yer man to translate your questions not to ask him questions you fooking moron
Jimmy Magee: Retire please

He really is a tit LOL

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:42pm
ah devastated for Bernard ... have meet him a few times and he's always been so nice and he'll be gutted, but he is a legend and a world champion .. should be so proud of himself ..   

Shay Given is GOD !!

Posted By: paulc
Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:43pm
Just in from the bar, feel sorry for bernard, dont know if he will be back.

But what the fook is the score with yer man andy lee???? Confused

The big man from donegal has set it up...
The nation holds its breath...............yes were there

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:44pm
Aw, gutted for Dunne hi.

That really was like the Martinez fight dragged over 3 rounds, as good technically as Dunne is, he can't hack the big hitters. Would he think of dropping a weight?

By the way, what about the race issue raised during the Fury fight? Is that really such an issue in the states still?

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:52pm

Jimmy magees comentary, during the fury fight, he came out with a good 1, cant remember what round....went something like this........."go down below and get the lodger out" i could do nothing but laugh, but andy lee???

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:56pm

I see where this thread is going..lets all have a go at Andy Lee now!!

Pathetic

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:57pm
Gouldinho gives his full endorsement to Andy Lee

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 5:58pm
Fooking guttedCry

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 6:00pm

I thought he looked very smart and spoke like a scholarClap

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 6:03pm

I thought he looked very smary and spoke like a scholarClap

Gouldinho likes sharp dressers and not afraid to be out there with their clobber. He is also is good looking chap. Gouldinho can really relate to that   

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 6:06pm

Pathetic

I wasnt trying to have a go at andy lee, last time i seen him on tv, was completely different, but my main comment was about 1 of jimmy magees comments, "just go below and get the lodger out" cant remember what round, like i said i done nothing but laugh when he said it.

i dont know why, but found wha he said funny as fook...

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 6:11pm
Originally posted by paulc paulc wrote:

Pathetic

I wasnt trying to have a go at andy lee, last time i seen him on tv, was completely different, but my main comment was about 1 of jimmy magees comments, "just go below and get the lodger out" cant remember what round, like i said i done nothing but laugh when he said it.

Wasnt having a go at you paul....the usual lets sl*g anyone from ireland people

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 6:13pm

Pathetic

Not having a go billy, but who else made a comment on this fella?

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 6:15pm

Pathetic

If it came across as me sl*gging him i do apologise, i for one would never sl*g anyone irish or from ireland or of irish decent, what i was trying to say, he has changed from the last time i seen him on tv

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 7:04pm
It didn't at all Paul. I'm more interested in in why I asked some genuine questions about boxing and no one answered! The usual sh*te from a few on here.

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 7:05pm

It didn't at all Paul. I'm more interested in in why I asked some genuine questions about boxing and no one answered! The usual sh*te from a few on here.
I hope you don't mean me, since I know shag all aboot boxing Embarrassed

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 7:16pm

I hope you don't mean me, since I know shag all aboot boxing Embarrassed

Nah, certainly not Mark. Id just be a bit annoyed that a Dunne fight thread was started about a very high profile match that gets turned into the same old balls about ' oh he's Irish, so i'll sl*g him', 'oh, he's irish, you can't sl*g him' and so on and so on sh*te.

God help us if we could actually talk about the subject in hand eh?

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 7:38pm
To sum up lads, Bernard Dunne is not World Class, never was, never will be. The fac that he is a one time european and world champ is a massive massive acheavment and he/we rightly should be proud. But lets not forget that he didnt succefuly defend either of these belts once, both times in his own city, tells its own story. 

Date Posted: 26 Sep 2009 at 7:46pm
I think Dunne and his people knew deep down what was gonna happen. They really didnt want this fight but it was mandatory. The objective for them was to get an easy 1st defence, get a sell out crowd and do it again against the lad tonight. Im no major fan of Dunne, he just doesnt do it for me. Im not the type of person just to cheer for somebody because he holds the same passport as me but i hope he gets a couple more big fights how he can get paid and retire handsomely, without having to slug around for a few years putting his health in danger like so many have done. But he has achieved what 99.9% of boxers will never do by being a world champion

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2009 at 3:21am

I think Dunne and his people knew deep down what was gonna happen. They really didnt want this fight but it was mandatory. The objective for them was to get an easy 1st defence, get a sell out crowd and do it again against the lad tonight. Im no major fan of Dunne, he just doesnt do it for me. Im not the type of person just to cheer for somebody because he holds the same passport as me but i hope he gets a couple more big fights how he can get paid and retire handsomely, without having to slug around for a few years putting his health in danger like so many have done. But he has achieved what 99.9% of boxers will never do by being a world champion
Straight into Fire Brigade for him when he packs in da boxing,hes already passed his test/exams for it,says he couldnt just retire n do fuk all,hes a good lad is BernardClap

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2009 at 5:19am
lucky I backed the thai to win in the 3rd round

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2009 at 5:20am

To sum up lads, Bernard Dunne is not World Class, never was, never will be. The fac that he is a one time european and world champ is a massive massive acheavment and he/we rightly should be proud. But lets not forget that he didnt succefuly defend either of these belts once, both times in his own city, tells its own story. 

he defended the European but against no hopers

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2009 at 5:32am

lucky I backed the thai to win in the 3rd round

Thumbs%20Down

Posted By: Mafi Mushkila
Date Posted: 27 Sep 2009 at 6:39am

Hard luck to Dunne! Was beaten by the better fighter on the night! Tough tough sport and fair play to him for speaking afterwards not an easy task I'm sure.

Quick question for those of you up on your boxing, he won that title just six months ago how come he was defending it so soon? Is it just when an opponent becomes available to fight or is there a time frame?

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2009 at 7:53am
Originally posted by Mafi Mushkila Mafi Mushkila wrote:

Hard luck to Dunne! Was beaten by the better fighter on the night! Tough tough sport and fair play to him for speaking afterwards not an easy task I'm sure.

Quick question for those of you up on your boxing, he won that title just six months ago how come he was defending it so soon? Is it just when an opponent becomes available to fight or is there a time frame?
The Thai lad was the mandatory challenger+he had earned that right,so Dunne had no choice or they would have stripped him of belt,so yeah theres a certain time frame that he had to fight him,6-9months or there abouts

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2009 at 10:01am

Did nobody hear jimmy magee's comments during the furey fight.Racist

Dunne has a glass jaw.never really had a hope against that alter boy

Date Posted: 28 Sep 2009 at 10:03am