New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Portugal Away, 1st September 2021- Travel & Accom

Portugal Away, 1st September 2021- Travel & Accom

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 34567 35>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2021 at 9:28am

The Irish government look to be following the English Govt regarding mandatory hotel quarantine centres if you arrive from a 'red flag' country - A £1750/2000 euro fee is required to stay in the hotel for 14 days otherwise you can get a £5000 fine and/or a 10 year jail sentence.

Portugal is a country listed on the red flag list and I can't see the stance changing anytime soon.

I think it's safe to say any trip to Portugal to a complete write-off unless you're willing to comply with the soon-to-be law. If there's any hope I can give it's that Azerbaijan is not on red flag list.

Jaysus, it's 7 months away!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2021 at 9:44am

The Irish government look to be following the English Govt regarding mandatory hotel quarantine centres if you arrive from a 'red flag' country - A £1750/2000 euro fee is required to stay in the hotel for 14 days otherwise you can get a £5000 fine and/or a 10 year jail sentence.

Portugal is a country listed on the red flag list and I can't see the stance changing anytime soon.

I think it's safe to say any trip to Portugal to a complete write-off unless you're willing to comply with the soon-to-be law. If there's any hope I can give it's that Azerbaijan is not on red flag list.

And we didn't even have 1 vaccine even approved 3 months ago. A lot can still change in the next few months. Don't be panicking just yet. Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2021 at 9:59am

away with the negativity lads 
Ive travelled with worse ****s 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coyne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2021 at 10:14am

And we didn't even have 1 vaccine even approved 3 months ago. A lot can still change in the next few months. Don't be panicking just yet. Thumbs Up

Ah thought I was being realistic rather than negative.

I'd be the first person on the plane if it was in Faro after all the craic last time! I still laugh occasionally how much of a tit I made of myself LOLEmbarrassed

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2021 at 2:24pm

Ah thought I was being realistic rather than negative.

I'd be the first person on the plane if it was in Faro after all the craic last time! I still laugh occasionally how much of a tit I made of myself LOLEmbarrassed
Redeemed yourself shouting me the pint in the airportThumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2021 at 2:28pm
we really need some blind optimism based on nothing in particular  - we are Ireland fans after all it comes with the territory

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2021 at 6:27pm
optimism is a hard ask at the moment . The pressure from the media especially to open up early for Christmas and people letting their guard down was a disaster and unfortunately we will be very lucky to have a home holiday never mind foreign travel.
VanBosch View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VanBosch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2021 at 11:20pm
if we can’t go to these batch of games I might even consider Qatar 2022!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colemanY2K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2021 at 10:50pm

we really need some blind optimism based on nothing in particular  - we are Ireland fans after all it comes with the territory

Ah the whole thing will fizzle out in the summer. Get booking them flights lads Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevincronin2000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Feb 2021 at 12:03am
Originally posted by VanBosch VanBosch wrote:

if we can’t go to these batch of games I might even consider Qatar 2022!
Yeah I'm going to look at going to the final if there's no games this Autumn.
brissy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brissy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2021 at 4:29am
Do you think you will get a ticket in lisbon for this, if it goes ahead

Edited by brissy - 23 Feb 2021 at 4:30am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eireland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2021 at 6:57am
Hard to know. I wonder will it be a case of only fans who are vaccinated can go in which case I'd imagine a lot of us would be. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Feb 2021 at 7:14pm
Took the plunge well kind of as i booked time off work for all of the the away apart from Serbia , now not booking flights but at least i have the time off sorted if we do . 
williemc83 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote williemc83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 10:54am
I assume Lisbon would have better facilities than other cities for managing bubbles and distancing so on that basis it's likely that games will be scheduled to take place there.

In the event fans can attend games you'd assume it'll be put in the biggest possible stadium to i). to cater for as many people attending as possible; ii). cater for social distancing within the stadium if only a partial attendance is allowed.

Your really hoping for a perfect storm of both countries (and likely the rest of Europe) meeting their vaccine targets in time and restrictions lifting. Bizzare that the FAI CEO thinks fans will be able to attend Euro 2020 games in Dublin in June when attending games in September look far from certain. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 11:32am
Lisbon had huge case numbers haven’t checked in the last fortnight. If people use cop on there’s a chance we could actually get to go in September.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 1:37pm

Lisbon had huge case numbers haven’t checked in the last fortnight. If people use cop on there’s a chance we could actually get to go in September.
They did but that peak has already passed and numbers are now down to around 1k cases per day.

If these vaccine passports do become a thing as well, we could indeed get to go. Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 6:46pm
https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0227/1199793-life-after-vaccines/ ;

Don't think there's any hope of large scale international travel for a long time
VanBosch View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VanBosch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2021 at 7:19pm

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0227/1199793-life-after-vaccines/ ;

Don't think there's any hope of large scale international travel for a long time

That’s a ridiculous article
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 34567 35>