Players eligible for Ireland

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 168169170171172 450>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2018 at 7:37pm
Originally posted by John Wick John Wick wrote:

Thought we had robbed some new up n comer with all the new  posts in this section....only to find we are talking about f**kin jack Grealish.Dead

For once, I agree with everything you have just said.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DeclanDaly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2018 at 7:55pm
Originally posted by savo01 savo01 wrote:

FFS not this again! 

HE DID NOT WANT TO PLAY FOR IRELAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SAID SO HIMSELF!!!!!!!!!!

PLAYED UNDERAGE FOR US BECAUSE HIS CLUBMATES DID!!!!!!!!

WANTS TO PLAY FOR ENGLAND!!!!!!!!?

Jesus, calm down. You seem to be living in an alternate universe in which everybody spends all their time talking about Reise Allassani 
NewtNewbie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NewtNewbie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2018 at 8:11pm

FFS not this again! 

HE DID NOT WANT TO PLAY FOR IRELAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SAID SO HIMSELF!!!!!!!!!!

PLAYED UNDERAGE FOR US BECAUSE HIS CLUBMATES DID!!!!!!!!

WANTS TO PLAY FOR ENGLAND!!!!!!!!?

Jesus, calm down. You seem to be living in an alternate universe in which everybody spends all their time talking about Reise Allassani 

And you, sir, strike me as someone who is overly relaxed about the whole Reise Allassani situation. Complacent. Nonchalent, even. That is the kind of laissez-faire attitude that led to the National Socialist Government in Germany in the 1930s.

Edited by NewtNewbie - 31 May 2018 at 8:13pm
savo01 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote savo01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 2018 at 8:53pm
We put plenty of time in with Grealish and his family​and he turned his back on us. We put plenty of time in with Declan Rice and Josh Cullen and it's worked well. We cannot cap every young prospect and ultimately if a lad wants to play for us he will regardless of whether he plays for NI or England underage a la Ciaran Clark and Jimmy Mc. 
Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2018 at 8:43am

We put plenty of time in with Grealish and his family​and he turned his back on us. We put plenty of time in with Declan Rice and Josh Cullen and it's worked well. We cannot cap every young prospect and ultimately if a lad wants to play for us he will regardless of whether he plays for NI or England underage a la Ciaran Clark and Jimmy Mc. 

Exactly -

Capping every player just to ‘nab’ them before anyone else is not the way to go. You need to protect the integrity of the cap/shirt/team etc. I don’t care if other countries are doing so.

I don’t know everything that happens behind the scenes but we seem to be looking and scouting potential talent at some level.

I’d rather we spend the time looking at genuine prospects than just mass searching for anybody that may qualify and trying to get them to commit to us, give them one cap and then we leave it to the manager to sort out.

We need to find the right balance. 

Put it this way, we won’t lose anybody who really wants to play for the Republic.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2018 at 10:17am

Exactly -

Capping every player just to ‘nab’ them before anyone else is not the way to go. You need to protect the integrity of the cap/shirt/team etc. I don’t care if other countries are doing so.

I don’t know everything that happens behind the scenes but we seem to be looking and scouting potential talent at some level.

I’d rather we spend the time looking at genuine prospects than just mass searching for anybody that may qualify and trying to get them to commit to us, give them one cap and then we leave it to the manager to sort out.

We need to find the right balance. 

Put it this way, we won’t lose anybody who really wants to play for the Republic.
The sentiments are spot on, but the bit in bold is sickening. You've been in Ingerland too long.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2018 at 2:18pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NewtNewbie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2018 at 4:38pm
Spurs and Chelsea in for Grealish it seems now - that's the level of ability we're talking about with this lad. And we let him slip through our fingers through our mismanagement of the situation. Looks to have the potential to become the sort of player with the quality to make the difference between countries like ours making it to World Cups and European Championships (and perhaps doing something when we get there) and falling short.

Good news for Villa if a bidding war takes place given their parlous financial situation, however.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2018 at 4:45pm
Jack Grealish made up his own mind and is gone can we just forget about him.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NewtNewbie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2018 at 5:13pm

Sure, but the point is that there are lessons to be learnt to try and prevent similar in the future.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NewtNewbie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2018 at 5:19pm
I see Bailey Peacock-Farrell is being linked with a move to Wolves.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2018 at 5:29pm
If his heart wasn't in it he probably would have retired from international football early. There really is no point in crying about spilt milk and there are absolutely no lessons to be learned either.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Double Maxim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2018 at 6:24pm

Excatly it was his decision his loss.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jun 2018 at 6:40am
Originally posted by NewtNewbie NewtNewbie wrote:

Sure, but the point is that there are lessons to be learnt to try and prevent similar in the future.
Jaysus, he didnt want to play for us in the end. Simple as. You can learn as many lessons as you want but it will do no good if someone doesnt want to play. Let it go, or if you must comment about him, use the thread about him in the ROW section.

Edited by Sham157 - 14 Jun 2018 at 6:41am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jun 2018 at 10:25pm
Moved all the Jack Grealish stuff to the thread in the ROW where it belongs. Hes made his decision, get over it. Save this thread for lads that want to wear the green.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Double Maxim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jun 2018 at 10:27pm

Moved all the Jack Grealish stuff to the thread in the ROW where it belongs. Hes made his decision, get over it. Save this thread for lads that want to wear the green.

NIGreenWall View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NIGreenWall Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2018 at 3:53am
You guys are normally quite sharp on here about finding eligible players, but i haven't seen this one mentioned; US born Brendan Hines-Ike, he is currently playing in Sweden for Orebro apparently he is going through the process of getting his Irish passport and the FAI has been in contact with him.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 2018 at 11:52am
Former Derry and Cork City winger, Stephen Dooley, signed for Rochdale a few weeks back. Perhaps a late bloomer to keep an eye on.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 168169170171172 450>