New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Northern Ireland vs Finland - Player Comparisons

Northern Ireland vs Finland - Player Comparisons

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:17am

Originally posted by Tweetering Tweetering wrote:

All players born in the North of Ireland, qualify for the Republic also.

Therefore, we should be keeping tabs on their team. 

Really? That's good to know. LOLWink

Your thread title is misleading so you'll need to word it better seeing as Finland have nothing to do with it. 

An unspoken benefit of the GFA.

Surely not 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 12:48pm
Originally posted by Green Cockade Green Cockade wrote:

None of them would make the team. McNair would make the squad. Ballard also possibly. Marshall is one I would have liked to get on board for the long term.

Maybe Lewis. Hume/Bradley would be useful players to have in the squad and would potentially take over from Doherty/Coleman in the next 12-18 months.
Jimmy Raggatip View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jimmy Raggatip Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 3:19pm
The kid at Rangers might turn out decent, I think McNair would probably start for us somewhere too, as would the current iteration of Jonny Evans. Ballard might make the bench

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Nice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 8:43pm
Conor Bradley, Callum Marshall, that's it.
Luis Amor Rodriguez View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luis Amor Rodriguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:26pm
I believe that Conor Bradley will prove to be a real missed option in time. 

From what I've seen of him, he's possibly already better than any of our (now-aging) RB options. 

He has the potential to soon be a PL regular for many years, if not a Champions League regular.  

NI made sure to give him his 3 competitive caps while he was still playing academy football.  

I don't know what effort if any was made with him by the FAI scouts, but it didn't seem to be a huge amount. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:33pm
Originally posted by Luis Amor Rodriguez Luis Amor Rodriguez wrote:

I believe that Conor Bradley will prove to be a real missed option in time. 

From what I've seen of him, he's possibly already better than any of our (now-aging) RB options. 

He has the potential to soon be a PL regular for many years, if not a Champions League regular.  

NI made sure to give him his 3 competitive caps while he was still playing academy football.  

I don't know what effort if any was made with him by the FAI scouts, but it didn't seem to be a huge amount. 

Any little **** that is happy to sing god save the king for that shower of ****s is not a missed opportunity.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luis Amor Rodriguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:38pm
Calm down.  

I don't think he (or Neil Lennon or Michael O'Neill or Martin O'Neill etc. etc) are singing anything.  

It's a mixed community up there - becoming more mixed by the year.

GSTQ is just one of a long list of anachronisms that will change over time.  

It's well-established that the current generation really isn't as put out by that historical angle as the ones before.  

Indeed, I think if we had a United Ireland tomorrow, there would be more Eastern Europeans in it than Unionists... so that's where it's at now. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote King_Kenny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:41pm

Calm down.  

I don't think he (or Neil Lennon or Michael O'Neill or Martin O'Neill etc. etc) are singing anything.  

It's well-established that the current generation really isn't as put out by that historical angle as the ones before.  

Indeed, I think if we had a United Ireland tomorrow, there would be more Eastern Europeans in it than Unionists... so that's where it's at now. 
He has a fair point. His ma and da were  lapping it up at Windsor. 
He’s from Tyrone. Enough said.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:41pm

Calm down.  

Martin O’Neill f**king loves it. 

He’ll get an MBE one of these days.

Michael o Neill barely worth commenting on big red alcoholic head on him.

Edited by Maccatacca - 18 Nov 2023 at 10:43pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:45pm

Calm down.  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luis Amor Rodriguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:48pm
I imagine you don't spend much time in the North lads.  

Thankfully, for the most part, you're living in the past.  

But don't let me keep you from your bar-stools!
TooOldForThis View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooOldForThis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 10:52pm

Calm down.  

The O'Neills the epitome of Uncle Tomery!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2023 at 11:30pm

Martin O’Neill refers to us as ‘They’, ‘Them’ or even worse, ‘The Republic’…

Michael O’Neill would sing whatever song he needs to in order to secure his pay cheque to pay for his next drink. The big red whiskey nose on him is getting bigger with every game them ****s lose. 

Edited by Maccatacca - 18 Nov 2023 at 11:31pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luis Amor Rodriguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2023 at 1:21am

Martin O’Neill refers to us as ‘They’, ‘Them’ or even worse, ‘The Republic’…

Michael O’Neill would sing whatever song he needs to in order to secure his pay cheque to pay for his next drink. The big red whiskey nose on him is getting bigger with every game them ****s lose. 

Ah here, leave it out. 

Edited by Luis Amor Rodriguez - 19 Nov 2023 at 1:39am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luis Amor Rodriguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2023 at 1:35am
Anyway, back to topic.

Bradley definitely a good player, and a loss to us as I said above. 

Jamal Lewis would have a lot of caps for us by now, given his PL seasons and our difficulties at LB. 

Other than that, Hume and Ballard, especially, could end up with good careers, as with Shea Charles (another one capped three times competitively at senior level while still playing academy football). 

Isaac Price is young and doing well.  So they've a fair few who could turn a corner for them. 

I'd like to see more effort going into getting young six-county eligible players involved, a la Sean Moore. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote You Tell Me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2023 at 8:27am
Other than in defence and defensive midfield they have nothing at all coming through. We have about a dozen forwards playing in the top two divisions in England (as well as the Eredivisie), they don't seem to have any. Either of our under 21 strikers would likely start for their senior team. Their only Premier League players are a 35 year old and a lad that retired from international duty about four years ago. They look to have some very bleak times ahead of them, even by their own standards. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Nice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2023 at 10:43am

Other than in defence and defensive midfield they have nothing at all coming through. We have about a dozen forwards playing in the top two divisions in England (as well as the Eredivisie), they don't seem to have any. Either of our under 21 strikers would likely start for their senior team. Their only Premier League players are a 35 year old and a lad that retired from international duty about four years ago. They look to have some very bleak times ahead of them, even by their own standards. 

Callum Marshall looks very good for West Ham's PL2 team - 13 goals in 8 starts, lads are raving (rightly) about O'Mahony's 8 in 8 for Brighton.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote You Tell Me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2023 at 2:35pm
Well done to O'Mahony scoring a few in PL2 recently, and Marshall too. But if the last five years tells us anything about underage football it's that banging them in in PL2 is largely meaningless. Until they're doing it in senior football it doesn't mean a lot at all.