North Korean Holiday

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 7>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Big Club Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 6:17pm
Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

Who in there right mind would want to see this sh*thole?
Some of you lot baffle me at times

Says the man who gos on holiday to Dundalk annuallyLOL

BrilliantLOL
Rostrevor Fan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rostrevor Fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:18pm
dundalk is harder to get out off than north korea
IrishPride View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IrishPride Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:29pm
Dont know why anyone would spend money in this hellhole of a place just because they are curious about it. Couldn't live with myself swanning around the country stimulating their "economy" while thousands starve to death in the rural N.Korea, and all just because I was curious about the country. 

Jason Kelly View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jason Kelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:46pm
Originally posted by IrishPride IrishPride wrote:

Dont know why anyone would spend money in this hellhole of a place just because they are curious about it. Couldn't live with myself swanning around the country stimulating their "economy" while thousands starve to death in the rural N.Korea, and all just because I was curious about the country. 

The famine in the 90's is accepted by the red cross to be down to a crop failure.

What about the perpatrators of the famine in Ireland? Would you have any problem supporting their economy?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IrishPride Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:59pm
The country is still starving. 

Agricultural production increased from about 2.7 million metric tons in 1997 to 4.2 million metric tons in 2004.[39] As of 2011, famine continues to be a problem for North Korea, although less so than in the mid to late 1990s. Flooding in 2007 and reductions in food aid exacerbated the problem, however. Moreover, according to Korea Forest Service, the devastation is still affecting North Korea's forests up to now.[47][48]

In 2011, during a visit to North Korea, US ex-President Jimmy Carter reported that one third of children in North Korea were malnourished and stunted in their growth because of a lack of food. He also said that the North Korean state had reduced daily food intake from 1,400 calories to 700 calories in 2011[49] (by comparison, a normal food intake for a healthy European is 2,000-2,500 calories per day[50]). Some scholars believe that North Korea is purposefully exaggerating the food shortage, aiming to receive additional food supplies for its planned 2012 mass celebrations by means of foreign aid.[51]

Escaped North Koreans have reported that starvation has returned to the nation.[52] A study by South Korean anthropologists of North Korean children who had defected to China found that 18-year-old males were 5 inches shorter than South Koreans their age. Roughly 45% of North Korean children under the age of five are stunted from malnutrition. Most people eat meat only on public holidays, namely Kim Il-sung's and Kim Jong-il’s birthdays.[53] It is reported that since the death of Kim Jong-il in December 2011, around 20,000 people have starved to death in South Hwanghae Province alone.[54][55]

Why would anyone support this just because they wanted to see a interesting country, bearing in mind you wont be shown the real country only selective highlight off it. Your comparison to the UK is not valid because famine isn't still going on here and the don't run the country anymore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 8:03pm
I want to see it because nobody knows what it's like inside, like you can just stroll into the other loony places like Turkmenistan and walk around and do what ya want. DPRK has another way of life that is many years behind the rest of the world. 

Half of this forum has been to countries that murder and torture people. It's not the DPRK's fault that they don't have something like the BBC or FOX to say otherwise to the world.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 8:03pm
Originally posted by Jason Kelly Jason Kelly wrote:

The famine in the 90's is accepted by the red cross to be down to a crop failure.

What about the perpatrators of the famine in Ireland? Would you have any problem supporting their economy?

there was absolutely no reason so many had to and still do die froma lack of food anymore, especially from a country that has so much to psend on military, have ye read any the books on NK I mentioned out of interest?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 8:15pm

there was absolutely no reason so many had to and still do die froma lack of food anymore, especially from a country that has so much to psend on military, have ye read any the books on NK I mentioned out of interest?

Didn't they build a dam and it stopped water doing to the paddy fields? The policy of the military first is a policy that controls the state. 8million in the military out of 20million means that this policy is never going to go away.
ODCO View Drop Down

Justice for the 96

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ODCO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 9:10pm

Been looking this up for the last few months and seems like it would be well worth doing. It's the last of the loony places left to see.

Any of ye that traveled around Asia been there? There's a few of us on this forum planning to go there soon enough.
Ya have to go through China. I lived in south korea for a year and wanted to go but it was too much hassle. I would absolutely love to go with a load of people off their tits mind you ! When are you going ? Tell them that the grass grows green in Ireland because Kim Jong Il once said that when there seagulls follow the traweller the sheep sleep with the fishesThumbs Up
Apparently your every move, conversation,etc is watched God help them if a load of paddys turned upLOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jason Kelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:12pm

Agricultural production increased from about 2.7 million metric tons in 1997 to 4.2 million metric tons in 2004.[39] As of 2011, famine continues to be a problem for North Korea, although less so than in the mid to late 1990s. Flooding in 2007 and reductions in food aid exacerbated the problem, however. Moreover, according to Korea Forest Service, the devastation is still affecting North Korea's forests up to now.[47][48]

In 2011, during a visit to North Korea, US ex-President Jimmy Carter reported that one third of children in North Korea were malnourished and stunted in their growth because of a lack of food. He also said that the North Korean state had reduced daily food intake from 1,400 calories to 700 calories in 2011[49] (by comparison, a normal food intake for a healthy European is 2,000-2,500 calories per day[50]). Some scholars believe that North Korea is purposefully exaggerating the food shortage, aiming to receive additional food supplies for its planned 2012 mass celebrations by means of foreign aid.[51]

Escaped North Koreans have reported that starvation has returned to the nation.[52] A study by South Korean anthropologists of North Korean children who had defected to China found that 18-year-old males were 5 inches shorter than South Koreans their age. Roughly 45% of North Korean children under the age of five are stunted from malnutrition. Most people eat meat only on public holidays, namely Kim Il-sung's and Kim Jong-il’s birthdays.[53] It is reported that since the death of Kim Jong-il in December 2011, around 20,000 people have starved to death in South Hwanghae Province alone.[54][55]

Why would anyone support this just because they wanted to see a interesting country, bearing in mind you wont be shown the real country only selective highlight off it. Your comparison to the UK is not valid because famine isn't still going on here and the don't run the country anymore

I'd take those reports with a pinch of salt. I certainly didn't see anything to back up these reports. I visited because i have a keen interest in socialist ideology, and was so impressed i've every intention of returning, and would recommend the trip to anyone, for the sights and the warm welcome alone.

Off topic, but my point about the UK is valid, for starters they still control over a quarter of the country, and you can't wipe out 2 million people and not expect it to have ramifications for the future of a country. What happened in Korea was a tragedy, what happened here was murder.

Also, im sure you could conjure up a percentage of malnourished children in modern day Ireland also. Every system has its flaws.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jason Kelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:19pm

Your right, theres not. Which is why they sought international aid. The military spending is to protect itself from invasion from the US. Anyone who thinks this isn't a possibility is living in Cuckoo Land. What books have you mentioned nvidic? I have read up on Kim Sungs Juche ideology, but not much else.
ODCO View Drop Down

Justice for the 96

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ODCO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:28pm

No Irish tabloid Jounos welcomeTongue

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IrishPride Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:35pm

I'd take those reports with a pinch of salt. I certainly didn't see anything to back up these reports. I visited because i have a keen interest in socialist ideology, and was so impressed i've every intention of returning, and would recommend the trip to anyone, for the sights and the warm welcome alone.

Off topic, but my point about the UK is valid, for starters they still control over a quarter of the country, and you can't wipe out 2 million people and not expect it to have ramifications for the future of a country. What happened in Korea was a tragedy, what happened here was murder.

Also, im sure you could conjure up a percentage of malnourished children in modern day Ireland also. Every system has its flaws.
In fairness you were never going to be shown anything but the best the country has too offer.

I agree with you that the famine hear was Murder. However Britain is a major trade partner so we both rely on each other when it comes to the economy and whats happening in Korea is ongoing while Britain isn't having a hunger crisis at the moment while spending/wasting daft money on such prestige projects like the Hotel Of Doom, A fake city with no inhabbitants or windows in the buildings and the world's largest flagpole near the border with S.Korea just to show offConfused 
ODCO View Drop Down

Justice for the 96

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ODCO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:57pm
Originally posted by The Big Club The Big Club wrote:

Originally posted by jackshat jackshat wrote:

Says the man who gos on holiday to Dundalk annuallyLOL

BrilliantLOL
Only seeing this nowLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClapClap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jason Kelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:17pm

In fairness you were never going to be shown anything but the best the country has too offer.

I agree with you that the famine hear was Murder. However Britain is a major trade partner so we both rely on each other when it comes to the economy and whats happening in Korea is ongoing while Britain isn't having a hunger crisis at the moment while spending/wasting daft money on such prestige projects like the Hotel Of Doom, A fake city with no inhabbitants or windows in the buildings and the world's largest flagpole near the border with S.Korea just to show offConfused 

Construction and the building of fine monuments are what Communist Party's the world over pride themselves on. The word "Workers Party" is a clue. I wouldn't mind seeing such projects put in place here, they might appear to be a waste of money to some, but essentially it creates employment and a sense of pride.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:31pm
You'd never get statues like that hear, it might offend someone. The City council in Cork put a sign two floors up to say where the Lord Mayor was shot. In Dublin it's the same, but some foreigner said lets put a million pound spike in the air they went for it.

To be fair to the Koreans, I would love work camps in Ireland, we could stick all 20,000 knackers into camps and get them doing something productive to make up for all the hassle they cause the country. We could also stick scum from all the rowdy estates around Ireland.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jason Kelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:46pm

You'd never get statues like that hear, it might offend someone. The City council in Cork put a sign two floors up to say where the Lord Mayor was shot. In Dublin it's the same, but some foreigner said lets put a million pound spike in the air they went for it.

To be fair to the Koreans, I would love work camps in Ireland, we could stick all 20,000 knackers into camps and get them doing something productive to make up for all the hassle they cause the country. We could also stick scum from all the rowdy estates around Ireland.

You would if the right boyos were in charge Wink

Wasn't there a some imperialist icon on O Connell Street years back, whatever happened to that LOL

As for the workcamps, there is a lot of pro's. The Russian justice system still uses USSR style "Gulags", i haven't got a figure, but  reoffending from released convicts is extremly low as opposed to a "normal" prison. The work instills pride and offers discipline. The daily routine of getting up and doing a days work rehabilitates offenders. Feck drug dealers into em.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2012 at 12:15am
There's a statue of Prince Albert outside the Dáil, have no idea why they won't get rid of it. They only got rid of Victoria because Melbourne city council gave them money. There's a storage facility around Ireland that has a few of them and they sell them now and then. Since the country is out of money, storage wars could be filming down there soon. You'd have Dave Hester spotting the voting machines in the back of the locker.

Edited by corkery - 25 Nov 2012 at 12:15am
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 7>