North Korean Holiday

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: North Korean Holiday
    Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 1:56am
Been looking this up for the last few months and seems like it would be well worth doing. It's the last of the loony places left to see.

Any of ye that traveled around Asia been there? There's a few of us on this forum planning to go there soon enough.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 7:33am
Nahhhhh closed when I was backpacking but i did meet one dude who had been there , It was the world student games something like that anyway had a good chat about the place he was only in the capital and said he had police to " lookafter him and follow him around when he was outside the student village " he said people were scared to look at him and more to do with the fear of the secret police .
It all reminded a bit like China was 20 years ago a lot of places were closed and if you did go off the beaten track you were fined and sent back to an open area . 
Was in South Korea but that hardly counts .
There was 5 countries I missed out while backpacking in east asia and Burma was the one i wanted to see but couldn't forgive myself if I had gone at the time knowing what the then Army were doing to their people .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:40am
Looked into it when I was in China a few years ago - too expensive for me at the time (bout 1500 for a 3/4 day trip at that stage iirc). Would love to see it if time/moeny allowed. Think you can train from Beijin and fly back or vice versa, but you're pretty much under house arrest for the duration of your saty apart from very organised tours
kimbap View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kimbap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 10:49am

Been looking this up for the last few months and seems like it would be well worth doing. It's the last of the loony places left to see.

Any of ye that traveled around Asia been there? There's a few of us on this forum planning to go there soon enough.

I lived in S Korea for years and over that time a few friends went at different times.I think the all had to go through China.General consensus was the same.You don't really get to see anything as you're guided and guarded around together all the time.No interaction with locals.Hotels (although sh*te,intermittent electricity etc) are a complete rip off.All in all i don't think any of them were too sad to be leaving.Visa also costs a fortune.Last time i was talking to a lad not so long ago he said he paid something like $2000 if memory serves me correctly.No doubt it would be interesting though, as you say there would be nowhere else like it left on earth at this stage.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:39am
Would like to go alright, who has a fairly good description of what it is like is the comedian Dom Joly in his book The Dark Tourist, he basically goes to a load of places people don't generally go to, like N. Korea, Chernobyl, Iran etc, a good read. 

Fella I worked with was there for the world student games in 1974 (I think), never really got to ask him what it was like, and the same lad is a brilliant liar, so I doubt I would have got the truth anyway. If you have the opportunity, why not. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 11:46am

Would like to go alright, who has a fairly good description of what it is like is the comedian Dom Joly in his book The Dark Tourist, he basically goes to a load of places people don't generally go to, like N. Korea, Chernobyl, Iran etc, a good read. 

Fella I worked with was there for the world student games in 1974 (I think), never really got to ask him what it was like, and the same lad is a brilliant liar, so I doubt I would have got the truth anyway. If you have the opportunity, why not. 

Did you ever watch any of his documentaries on Sky 1 Deise? Basically himself and his buddy used to go to random places, sample the local beers and get wrote off drunk! Pretty funny i must say Thumbs Up

I've travelled to a shed load of countries around the world, but i can't say North Korea would ever appeal to me! The likes of Vietnam, Burma, Malaysia, Thailand would be more along the lines of what places i'd like to see in Asia (i've never been).

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rolo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 12:35pm

Did you ever watch any of his documentaries on Sky 1 Deise? Basically himself and his buddy used to go to random places, sample the local beers and get wrote off drunk! Pretty funny i must say Thumbs Up

I've travelled to a shed load of countries around the world, but i can't say North Korea would ever appeal to me! The likes of Vietnam, Burma, Malaysia, Thailand would be more along the lines of what places i'd like to see in Asia (i've never been).

His book the dark tourist is unrelated to his tv series of a jaunt around the world on the piss with his friend.
Ive been meaning to read it for a long time. He does a load of weird stuff apparently like going skiing in Iran Shocked

North Korea would be great to see, but not at the prices mentioned above.

You'll have a cracking time in Vietnam living off buttons. Cheap as chips over there and a fabulous country with lovely people. Could not recommend it highly enough.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 12:41pm

Ive always wanted to go, country fascinates me a lot, only books I read really on are on NK (This is paradise, the aquariums of pyongyang and welcome to paradise are all must reads). I was very very close to going when I lived in China. Was going to fly into shenyang/dandong and get the visa there and head across on a package there, package was cheap enough in comparison to what you get here, couple of hundred euro and dedicated english guide just for you as its a group of chinese you go with, was also a train journey in which is much better as get to see more of the country, its still the country id visit over any other and I will get there soon.

edit - this was the company I was going to use Link just seen the price is €630 for four days plus €80 for a mass games ticket, youd be nuts to go at any time other than during the mass games.

Edited by nvidic - 24 Nov 2012 at 12:42pm
Jason Kelly View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jason Kelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 1:07pm

Wouldn't regard myself as a seasoned tourist so couldn't give advice on travelling around Asia in general, but i visited Korea in 2009 and plan on doing so again in the near future(hopefully early 2014).

If your political knowledge comes from the Sunday World or the BBC, then, personally, i would advise against a trip to the DPRK. For your guides sake if anything else, showing signs of distain to the Workers Party or  left wing politics in general, is a bad move.

My advice would be to make your own transport to Beijing via the Netherlands(avoid UK airports if you can, i have had difficulty in the past, particularly returning from Slovakia away, passing through their airports for what they deem "dubious" passport stamps. Turkish Republic of Cyprus and Korea.) A return flight should work out at circa 800-900 euro.

Koryo is the official tour agency of the Korean Workers Party. The have an office in Beijing. Make contact via email, with dates etc of your intended travel dates and they will do the rest. My trip cost 600 euro ( from Beijing) and was a four day trip.  I went in febuary( the weather is v cold!!!) at the time of Kim Sungs birthday. Arrange your travel during times of a National holiday for the best experiance, again Koryo will forward you all this info and will arrange with you the best dates in which too travel.

Its quite simple to obtain a visa, just fill out a simple form that Koryo will provide. Once your not a journalist you will have no problems what so ever. Getting a Chinese visa is actually more difficult. A fantastic holiday and definately (outside of football) my best ever trip. Well worth the trip. Was taken to the border with south korea, and their military power was just incredible, especially when you take into account the country is debt free. Really can't speak highly enough of how amazing the place is.

Pyongyang, again incredible. Nightlife is great craic iswell. Differant, very differant, but great craic all the same. No bulmers but free bottles of heineken made up for it Clap. So many things to put into one post tbh

Any more questions pm me, or ring me even. I can pm you my number if you dont have it  or one of the rkba lads will have it. Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 1:19pm
Originally posted by Jason Kelly Jason Kelly wrote:

Wouldn't regard myself as a seasoned tourist so couldn't give advice on travelling around Asia in general, but i visited Korea in 2009 and plan on doing so again in the near future(hopefully early 2014).

If your political knowledge comes from the Sunday World or the BBC, then, personally, i would advise against a trip to the DPRK. For your guides sake if anything else, showing signs of distain to the Workers Party or  left wing politics in general, is a bad move.

My advice would be to make your own transport to Beijing via the Netherlands(avoid UK airports if you can, i have had difficulty in the past, particularly returning from Slovakia away, passing through their airports for what they deem "dubious" passport stamps. Turkish Republic of Cyprus and Korea.) A return flight should work out at circa 800-900 euro.

Koryo is the official tour agency of the Korean Workers Party. The have an office in Beijing. Make contact via email, with dates etc of your intended travel dates and they will do the rest. My trip cost 600 euro ( from Beijing) and was a four day trip.  I went in febuary( the weather is v cold!!!) at the time of Kim Sungs birthday. Arrange your travel during times of a National holiday for the best experiance, again Koryo will forward you all this info and will arrange with you the best dates in which too travel.

Its quite simple to obtain a visa, just fill out a simple form that Koryo will provide. Once your not a journalist you will have no problems what so ever. Getting a Chinese visa is actually more difficult. A fantastic holiday and definately (outside of football) my best ever trip. Well worth the trip. Was taken to the border with south korea, and their military power was just incredible, especially when you take into account the country is debt free. Really can't speak highly enough of how amazing the place is.

Pyongyang, again incredible. Nightlife is great craic iswell. Differant, very differant, but great craic all the same. No bulmers but free bottles of heineken made up for it Clap. So many things to put into one post tbh

Any more questions pm me, or ring me even. I can pm you my number if you dont have it  or one of the rkba lads will have it. Thumbs Up

Did you take the train or fly with Koryo?? Also, flights via Istanbul to Beijing can be got as cheap as €490 these days! They dont check your passport there either, nor in London actually if its a connecting flight to China or back, travelled that way a few times.

Sounds unreal though, can't wait to get over, still gutted never made it the last time.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 1:38pm
From watching a few shows in youtube, it seems that tourists have no hassle, especially neutral countries.

Jason, how was your hotel, like I seen one show that they stick ya on an island and have dog for grub. They also said the hotel rooms were bugged. Is this one of these places that give ya like 2 sheets of toilet roll a day?

Did you go with a group?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 2:30pm
Who in there right mind would want to see this sh*thole?
Some of you lot baffle me at times

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jason Kelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 2:53pm
@Nvidic . We flew with Air Koryo from Beijing. The train takes almost a day so we decided against that option as youd miss out on a full day in Korea. Its so simple , honestly. Within an hour of arriving at our hotel in Beijing, Koryo staff came to meet us and sort out our visas. Its a very simple process. Then 2 days later they returned and took us to the airport to begin our trip. They couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. A trip that comes highly recommended, even if socialism isnt your thing.

@Corkery. Yes i went with a group, 4 of us in total( you should know one fella, Macker) and a group of Austrians were also in our group.The hotel was on an island yes, yangakdo. The most luxuries place ive ever had the privilage to stay. It had casinos, bars, restaurants etc. The grub was top notch, you could have five 7 course dinners a day, on the house of course. Im a lover of Asian cuisine anyway so didnt have a problem atall with the food. I'd seriously doubt if the rooms were bugged , journalists are monitored but thats it. On the 3rd night our guide took us into a nightclub in Pyongyang about a mile away, very diferant from anything thing id experianced, but amazing none the less.

Anymore questions feel free to ask, nothing stupid about bogroll tho ffs.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote drog addict Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 2:55pm
Read Blaine hardens book called escape from camp 41. Shower of coonts them North Koreans.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 4:59pm
Originally posted by Jason Kelly Jason Kelly wrote:

@Nvidic . We flew with Air Koryo from Beijing. The train takes almost a day so we decided against that option as youd miss out on a full day in Korea. Its so simple , honestly. Within an hour of arriving at our hotel in Beijing, Koryo staff came to meet us and sort out our visas. Its a very simple process. Then 2 days later they returned and took us to the airport to begin our trip. They couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. A trip that comes highly recommended, even if socialism isnt your thing.

@Corkery. Yes i went with a group, 4 of us in total( you should know one fella, Macker) and a group of Austrians were also in our group.The hotel was on an island yes, yangakdo. The most luxuries place ive ever had the privilage to stay. It had casinos, bars, restaurants etc. The grub was top notch, you could have five 7 course dinners a day, on the house of course. Im a lover of Asian cuisine anyway so didnt have a problem atall with the food. I'd seriously doubt if the rooms were bugged , journalists are monitored but thats it. On the 3rd night our guide took us into a nightclub in Pyongyang about a mile away, very diferant from anything thing id experianced, but amazing none the less.

Anymore questions feel free to ask, nothing stupid about bogroll tho ffs.

Good stuff, will make the trip next time I'm in Beijing, hadnt realised it was so easy with Koryo, hence my looking into getting in via shenyang/dandong, although is a shorter train journey from there

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 5:12pm
What's the story with taking photos, I want to get one with that big statue of Kim Il Sung. Also was there a waiting list to get into the country. Did ye book a while in advance.

BSM, you go to Dublin for Ireland games don't ya, they are practically the same, just Pyongyang has less junkies.
jackshat View Drop Down
Jack shat in case you're wondering

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jackshat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 5:20pm

Who in there right mind would want to see this sh*thole?
Some of you lot baffle me at times

Says the man who gos on holiday to Dundalk annuallyLOL

Edited by jackshat - 24 Nov 2012 at 5:20pm
It's Jack Shat

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jason Kelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Nov 2012 at 5:42pm

What's the story with taking photos, I want to get one with that big statue of Kim Il Sung. Also was there a waiting list to get into the country. Did ye book a while in advance.

BSM, you go to Dublin for Ireland games don't ya, they are practically the same, just Pyongyang has less junkies.

Taking photo's isnt a problem, infact the tour guide insist you take photo's to show off the archetectural feats and the amazing scenery of Korea. Just no photo's that show Korea in a bad light, altho in my experiance, you'd find it hard to capture any negative images anyway. Photo's of areas of military importance are a no no however, which is understandable. They are still technically at war. I didnt have a camera anyway myself(i spend enough time avoiding the feckin things) , but one of our group did and had no problem taking snaps, altho they were inspected upon leaving for things like military stuff etc. Every tour is taken to the statue and you are expected to bow  and show respect.

No, there was no waiting list or anything like that. We booked it in May, and went the following Febuary so about 8/9 months in advance.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>