![]() ![]() |
Michael Obafemi |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 5859606162 64> |
Author | ||
Denis Irwin ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Stay Home & watch Lethal Weapon Joined: 03 Feb 2008 Location: Ath Cliath Status: Offline Points: 35897 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Obafemi fanboys are awfully quiet
|
||
Bill O'Herlihy: Ah ye can't be saying that now Eamonn |
||
![]() |
||
Sponsored Links | ||
![]() |
||
cildaratown ![]() Liam Brady ![]() killdare town Joined: 11 Mar 2016 Status: Offline Points: 1177 |
|
With Walcott on loan at the Saints now, Michael's playing time went down even more. Maybe he'll get a Championship loan.
|
||
![]() |
||
NewtNewbie ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 05 Feb 2013 Status: Offline Points: 2263 |
|
But not Long and Smallbone? Why have you singled out Obafemi as the guy to have a pop at? Walcott's knocking on 32 and has been playing senior football since aged 16. Like other players who broke through early, ie Owen and Rooney, his decline started in his late twenties. He's a busted flush. I wouldn't be too worried about my long-term prospects if I was Obafemi.
|
||
![]() |
||
Fozz ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Oct 2019 Location: Dublin Status: Online Points: 667 |
|
Adams and Ings look good together so will be tough to break that up until one picks up a knock or gets a bit leggy.
Off topic but disappointed Smallbone has lost his place and really hope to see him in Italy next week. A centre three of himself right, Knight left and Coventry in behind is enticing (I know dropping Ronan who I'm a big fan of). Obafemi to play centrally with Afolabi left and Elbouzedi right is the front 6 for me. |
||
![]() |
||
aviva8 ![]() Davey Langan ![]() Joined: 08 Nov 2011 Status: Online Points: 770 |
|
Adam's is poor In my opinion, had few games where he scored 3 or 4 goals at end of last season but dont see the fuss about him.
Edited by aviva8 - 05 Oct 2020 at 8:29pm |
||
![]() |
||
cildaratown ![]() Liam Brady ![]() killdare town Joined: 11 Mar 2016 Status: Offline Points: 1177 |
|
Seems like Long is ahead of Michael in the pecking order. But I doubt many of them get time. For Michael I think he needs to develop himself and should be playing. Long is probably content to finish his career on the bench / as a sub.
|
||
![]() |
||
DalyerRegular ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() Joined: 15 Mar 2015 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 628 |
|
Good to see he has joined up with the 21s squad, first day of training today
|
||
![]() |
||
Andrew00 ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 2019 Location: Galway Status: Offline Points: 349 |
|
Gets a red card in u23 game vs Blackburn B team
|
||
![]() |
||
seanyshuffler ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() PM snitch Joined: 09 Jun 2011 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 8988 |
|
What's after happening here? Played over 20 PL games last season and isn't getting much of a look in now?
|
||
![]() |
||
Dots1982 ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 09 Sep 2018 Status: Offline Points: 468 |
|
He’s a very weird build. He’ll have to be incredibly good to make it at PL level. A lot of football just comes down to your physicality.
|
||
![]() |
||
seanyshuffler ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() PM snitch Joined: 09 Jun 2011 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 8988 |
|
Still don't understand how he was considered good enough to play last season but has dropped down this one.
|
||
![]() |
||
You Tell Me ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() Joined: 05 Sep 2010 Status: Offline Points: 640 |
|
Basically Long is a bench option at best for Southampton and last season Che Adams couldn't hit a barn door. So Obafemi got some game time by default really.
This season Adams is looking better and they've signed Walcott so Obafemi has fallen down the pecking order. Hopefully this is the wake up call he needs to change his attitude, get off the burgers and get back into the first team. He really could go either way, he can make it in the Premier League or he could end up being a league 1 standard player or worse. It's up to him.
|
||
![]() |
||
thebronze14 ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() Derry City Til I Die Joined: 22 Feb 2011 Location: Dublin/Donegal Status: Offline Points: 6053 |
|
Not that trickey. Che Adams wasn't great for large periods of last season and he's started this season very well. Some on here I'd imagine would be giving out that Ings is starting ahead of him
![]() |
||
![]() |
||
aviva8 ![]() Davey Langan ![]() Joined: 08 Nov 2011 Status: Online Points: 770 |
|
At this moment it not looking great for an Irish players point of view.
3 keepers Randolph, Kelleher and Travers all 2nd choice. Doherty on bench, Coleman injured a lot lately. Brady, Mcclean, Arter, mollumby, Smallbone and Hourihane all not getting much starts. Connolly under bit more pressure now with the signing of welbeck and long obafemi not starting. Hopefully things will turn around as it is a long season.
|
||
![]() |
||
horsebox ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Born n bred in darndale. Joined: 03 Feb 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 30280 |
|
Most of those players are not starters for Ireland anyway.
|
||
|
||
![]() |
||
|
Is he gone from the Southampton panel altogether or is it just due to the sending off from under23? Smallbone still injured anyway
|
||
![]() |
||
Andrew00 ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 2019 Location: Galway Status: Offline Points: 349 |
|
I'd say he's gone from the panel altogether
|
||
![]() |
||
Left foot ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 16 Aug 2019 Location: London Status: Online Points: 2079 |
|
I think he will/should be one of a good few Irish players to look for a loan move in January.
Obafemi Molumby Smallbone Coventry Hourihane |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 5859606162 64> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |