![]() ![]() |
Martin O'Neill... |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 419> |
Author | |||
Roberto Baggio ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() UNBELIEVABLE JEFF Joined: 28 Jan 2010 Status: Offline Points: 36630 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Thats why i said a lot. Leicester and Celtic he was 3-5-2 Villa i think he changed to 4-3-3 if i remember correctly, with Agbonlahor and Young on the wings and Carew through the middle
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Sponsored Links | |||
![]() |
|||
savo01 ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Feb 2013 Location: South Armagh Status: Offline Points: 1869 |
||
Sono,
Chris Hughton a better candidate for me, a young manager who plays attractive ball, MON plays similar style to Trap.
I'm a fan of Hughton but I know last seasopn when they were having their slump a lot of fans were critical of the ultra cautious defensive style of football. Remind you of anybody??? A worry also is that it took Norwich a long time to turn it around. When you only get 5 days to work with and develop a system and tactics would Hughton suit?
|
|||
Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton Cascarino Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn Packie doesn't let em in North of Ireland South of Ireland Only one can go |
|||
![]() |
|||
Itsthere ![]() Ronnie Whelan ![]() Joined: 03 Sep 2013 Status: Offline Points: 93 |
||
This
![]() Its looking like MON is target no. 1 for the FAI. Whatever about the style of football - it couldnt be as bad to watch or as one dimensional as Traps. Aswell, he is known for his man mangagement skills (non existent with trap) and getting the best out of average squads (Celtic, Leicster, Villa) thats exactly what we need.
Cmon MON
|
|||
![]() |
|||
savo01 ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Feb 2013 Location: South Armagh Status: Offline Points: 1869 |
||
M'ON would be a great chice. He plays decent football and as has been said likes his wingers. With Brady, McClean, McGeady, "Pilks" it's our one area of strength right now
![]() He gave Wycombe, Leicester, Celtic and Villa fans the best days they have ever had or had for a long time. He needs a good right hand man with him though. It is worth noting Robertson was not with him at Sunderland, the one club he failed at (he quit Norwich after a row). Communication and man-management were major issues under Trap and I don't see that being a problem under M'ON.
|
|||
Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton Cascarino Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn Packie doesn't let em in North of Ireland South of Ireland Only one can go |
|||
![]() |
|||
GREENISLE ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 May 2012 Status: Offline Points: 380 |
||
how about liam brady as his number 2, would that work?
|
|||
![]() |
|||
erimus ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 2007 Location: North Kildare Status: Offline Points: 11399 |
||
After he said all our young lads are poor, id doubt it |
|||
ROLL ON 2016 |
|||
![]() |
|||
GREENISLE ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 May 2012 Status: Offline Points: 380 |
||
when he say that, the other night after the match? i just feel he would be good in some role maybe give him the role of youth developement then. |
|||
![]() |
|||
horsebox ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Born n bred in darndale. Joined: 03 Feb 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 34100 |
||
O'Neill is not the man for the job and I will give the reasons why.
Similar style of play to Trap - we may end up again hoofing the ball to 2 big lads upfront. The absence of John Robertson - Robertson is the brains behind the success of O'Neill. Not developing youth players - he was never a fan of using young players, always brought in and used older experienced players. Only using a small selection of players - whilst at Celtic he only ever used a group of about 12/13 players. There will be uproar on this forum when he excludes a long list of names. Not giving players a chance - he never gave fringe players a chance. (Westwood being the most notable one from an Irish perspective). Tactically naive - never won away in Europe and threw away 2 league titles on the last day of the season. He is a very good motivator and will inspire the players, but I think Ireland needs more than inspired players. We need a manager that can out-think the opposition due to the average selection of players available A tactically astute manager with an attacking system is what we need. |
|||
When the devil got a hold of me, He wouldn't set me free, So he kept me soul for ransom. na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na. I'm a sailor man from Glasgow to |
|||
![]() |
|||
erimus ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 2007 Location: North Kildare Status: Offline Points: 11399 |
||
Pretty much said it after the match
For me Id have him nowhere near the rte studio never mind the team. If ye were to bring an ex player in as a coach/assistant, look no further than Kevin Kilbane
|
|||
ROLL ON 2016 |
|||
![]() |
|||
seanyshuffler ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() PM snitch Joined: 09 Jun 2011 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 9497 |
||
Personally Martin O'Neill would be a very uninspiring choice for me. Would like a manager who actually has international experience. Feel if Denis O'Brien is putting the cash forward again, than we should cast the net out a lot further and not rush into any knee-jerk decisions.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Ibaraki ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() Joined: 19 Jun 2012 Status: Offline Points: 565 |
||
He most certainly does not.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
||
names then hb,who you reckon? at least a shortlist of 3. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Bibi Baskin ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 19 May 2010 Location: Belgium Status: Offline Points: 260 |
||
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/martin-oneill-can-be-steady-pair-of-hands-for-republic-of-ireland-29572915.html
Think there is a mistake in the first line though ![]() http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-09-12/o-neill-is-targeted-to-coach-ireland-mail-says-soccer-roundup.html Approach will be made in the next 48 hours! http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/fai-set-approach-martin-oneill-2268143 |
|||
![]() |
|||
horsebox ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Born n bred in darndale. Joined: 03 Feb 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 34100 |
||
Rene Meulensteen, Bob Bradley and Bruce Arena are 3 candidates worth talking too. All the candidates listed are definitely not worth considering. I also believe that the FAI should look abroad again for a coach. |
|||
When the devil got a hold of me, He wouldn't set me free, So he kept me soul for ransom. na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na. I'm a sailor man from Glasgow to |
|||
![]() |
|||
||
i reckon that JD is in the jacks at abbots town choking his chicken at the thoughts of oneill being under him. |
|||
![]() |
|||
jinky ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Ireland's number one fan, ole ole ole Joined: 27 Jun 2012 Status: Offline Points: 3014 |
||
People should be delighted if o'neill gets the job,its not exactly a highly sought after job in football
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Cabra Hoop ![]() Roy Keane ![]() Joined: 06 Feb 2012 Location: Royal County Status: Offline Points: 10501 |
||
The merits of O'Neill style are open to discussion but what he does achieve is understanding his players and playing to their strengths. He will bring enthusiasm, passion and experience to the job as well as a comprehension of irishness and the irish psyche. And fundamenatally he wont alck in confidence and will offer players positivity instead of negativity.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Ibaraki ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() Joined: 19 Jun 2012 Status: Offline Points: 565 |
||
We've never had a problem getting someone to do the job before ![]() |
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 419> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |