Topic ClosedLogo on Shirts, Final Answer

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Logo on Shirts, Final Answer
    Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:28am
Well I finally got the FAI reply lads, herewith for your info........

To answer your question, the replica Ireland football jersey cannot be bought without the sponsor's logo, eircom, on it.

The Ireland football jersey has been sold with a sponsor's logo on it for quite a number of years, back as far as the 1980's when Opel were title sponsors of the national team. As you will probably appreciate, sponsorship at that time was difficult to come by, and so Opel were granted the entitlement to have their logo on replica jerseys, in order to get money into the game, before the rise in fortunes of our international team.

eircom took over that sponsorship in the late 1990's, and paid the Association a considerably higher fee than any previous agreements, but that was on the basis that they received the same rights as Opel had received. We were therefore not in a position to take a higher sponsorship fee but reduce the rights that were granted, and so, the sponsor logo remained on the team kit. In the years that have followed, eircom have proven to be excellent supporters of all aspects of football in this country, and have continued to make a real and valuable investment in the game.

Worldwide, while it has not been the norm for national jerseys to carry sponsor logos, this is certainly changing, with the German FA now carrying a sponsor logo on their replica kit.

While I appreciate that this may not be the response you were looking for, I trust it answers your question, and gives you some historical context to why the sponsors logo first appeared on the kit, and why it continues to be there.

ENDS.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:32am
More or less what I posted previously.

That reply is almost word for word the standard  I drafted in 2004

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:32am
here is the latest german jersey just released for the Euro championships next June , not a sign of a T-Mobile logo anywhere.

stiofain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:35am
Fair play FW.

Worldwide, while it has not been the norm for national jerseys to carry sponsor logos, this is certainly changing, with the German FA now carrying a sponsor logo on their replica kit.

Im taking from that, that they have no intent on changing things in the near future Unhappy

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:35am

f**kin arseholes they are.

Anywhos  I havent bought one in 6 years so f**k them anyway!Smile

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:37am
i'd day that was re-read and re-written about 50 times before being sent out!

I still think we should have the option of buying jersey without logo as its not a replica of the teams jersey. And so why the high prices! If the sponsor is on the jersey how come its the same price in the shops as every other sponsorless jersey, surely this free advertising we give should be acknowledged in the price?

Just did a search for pic of latest german jersey and cant find one that has a sponsor over the front like the eircom logo? (or anywhere on the jersey)

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:38am

here is the latest german jersey just released for the Euro championships next June , not a sign of a T-Mobile logo anywhere.

AFAIK you can have the shirt with T Mobile on it for about 10 yoyos less than the retail of the unsponsored one

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:39am
there isnt one count , lots of them on the trainign kit but not on the jersey
stiofain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:41am

i'd day that was re-read and re-written about 50 times before being sent out!

I still think we should have the option of buying jersey without logo as its not a replica of the teams jersey. And so why the high prices! If the sponsor is on the jersey how come its the same price in the shops as every other sponsorless jersey, surely this free advertising we give should be acknowledged in the price?

Just did a search for pic of latest german jersey and cant find one that has a sponsor over the front like the eircom logo? (or anywhere on the jersey)

Excellent point count. Anyone know anything about law? Surely we'd have a case to take the FAI to court for false advertising as they are claiming these shirts are replicas when they clearly are not.

Edited by stiofain - 19 Nov 2007 at 9:43am

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:43am
from what i know they can do whatever they like.

If ye dont like it dont buy it.simple as that

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:43am

I havent bought one in 6 years so f**k them anyway!Smile

Nor have I, mine, without sponsor logo (match worn/issue) come courtesy of playersBig%20smile

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:44am
mine without logo courtesy of many washes by the mammySmile

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:48am
i wont be buying again unless they take them off

Edited by RogerMilla - 19 Nov 2007 at 9:48am
ryaner13 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:54am
Why are people always so miffed about sponsors to be honest its not a big deal although we would all like one sponsorless its not really a big issue...to me anyway..
Liverpool F.C go deo..

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 9:56am
ryaner its not a replica 
ryaner13 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 10:01am
I know but that happens at loads of clubs whether it be specific training gear for the players that fans cant buy, unless you can get the gear off players this is always goona be the way...a Few years back Liverpool released training tops that players wore as a limited edition range thats the only way this might happen!!!
Liverpool F.C go deo..

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 10:06am
Liverpool are a club ryaner, ireland is a country, big difference!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2007 at 10:11am
We should have the choice pure and simple.  Training tops are a different ball game, but as Count says, a replica shirt should be just that, a replica.  As Roger says, the Germans still haven't gone down our sorry route (or any other country).  Only the fckn Irish as usual.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>