Lee Carsley

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Propagandhi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Lee Carsley
    Posted: 23 Jul 2010 at 7:24am
Has joined the Irish contingent at Coventry City. 

Edited by Propagandhi - 23 Jul 2010 at 7:25am

Weser777 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Weser777 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2010 at 12:39pm
ah feck..was hoping Grayson would go for him at Leeds Utd..
"I'm not the best manager in the world, but I'm definitely in the top one!" - Brian Clough

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Citizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2010 at 12:40pm
a few irish knocking about at coventry next year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Donal Cullen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2010 at 7:45pm
Good luck to him! Coventry might be worth a look at this season!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Double Maxim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2010 at 6:33am

a few irish knocking about at coventry next year

Must have the most Irish players of any English footy club.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2010 at 7:20am
Westwood
Richard Keogh
Stephen O'Halloran
David Bell
Gary Deegan
Carsley
Roy O'Donovan
Mickey Doyle

Gwan Sky Blues Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Barry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2010 at 7:56am
who manages coventry now?chris coleman get gate?
Propagandhi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Propagandhi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2010 at 8:01am
Aidy Boothroyd manages Coventry.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Propagandhi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2010 at 9:35am

Lukas Jutkiewicz is Coventry City's latest signing. All of Coventry's signings as of yet are eligible to play for Ireland including aforementioned Jutkiewicz and Gary McSheffrey.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2010 at 9:42am
Originally posted by Propagandhi Propagandhi wrote:

Lukas Jutkiewicz

An Irish auld one! That would be some name on the jersey. First of a possibly many similar sounding names in the future.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sligo Hornet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2010 at 9:57am
I'll get to see Lee first hand on August 14th, as Coventry are at Vicarage Road..........he'll barely have to break into sweat Wink

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Propagandhi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jul 2010 at 9:20pm

Coventry City have appointed midfielder Lee Carsley captain for the forthcoming Championship season after his return to the club.

The 36-year-old, who played for Coventry between 2000 and 2002, rejoined the Sky Blues earlier this month after leaving Birmingham City.

Manager Aidy Boothroyd said: "As soon as I knew we could get him in I decided he would skipper the team.

"He a natural captain and won't take anybody not giving their all."

Boothroyd added: "Any captain has to lead by example and if you look at Lee's track record it shows he is used to playing in winning teams.

"Not only will he be our captain but he'll help me, the players and the staff build a character here that doesn't accept mediocrity and push people to be all they can be."

The former Republic of Ireland player said: "I left Coventry shortly after they were relegated from the top flight, so I've some unfinished business here. Hopefully I can leave the club in a better position than I did before."

Propagandhi® View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Propagandhi® Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2010 at 8:00am
Attaboy skip! Clap

Coventry boss Aidy Boothroyd has praised veteran midfielder Lee Carsley's role in the promising start to the Championship season.

The 36-year-old former Republic of Ireland international has captained City to a win and a draw in their opening two league games following his summer move from Everton.

"Lee has always been a leader - he's not only a brilliant footballer, he's a brilliant captain who can influence others on the pitch," said Boothroyd in the Coventry Telegraph.

"He's been such a consistent player over the years and he's got better as he's got older. You always know what you're going to get from him over the course of a season and he has the knack of passing that on to other players.

"You need that sort of presence, you need a guy like that on the pitch to be able to dictate and organise."

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2010 at 8:13am
was he not at Brum last season?
NexusDavid View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NexusDavid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2010 at 8:41am
fair play 2 carsley hope he plays well 4 city this year, and yes he was playing for brum last year, but mcleish released him in may
Propagandhi® View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Propagandhi® Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2010 at 12:15pm

COVENTRY CITY'S players can't wait to play alongside Marlon King, according to club skipper Lee Carsley.

The former Everton holding midfielder has been impressed after training alongside the striker for the past month.

And the veteran star says the Sky Blues squad are "desperate" to see King - who has just been released from prison after attacking a woman in a nightclub - pull on a City shirt.

He said: “We’re all desperate to get Marlon in. We see him in training and how sharp he is. He’s banging goals in and it would help us a lot.

“That’s no disrespect to the lads we have got because we have got some good forwards, but his quality is there for everyone to see.

“He has got that experience as well because he has been there and done it, and you can tell that he has got a point to prove.

"Obviously the spotlight is going to be on him when he comes back to see how he’s going to do but that’s the kind of player we need, someone who is hungry to prove a point.”

Carsley revealed that the on-going saga has been a source of frustration for the players.

He added: “It has been frustrating that he’s not been in the side yet but it is one of those where you tend to concentrate on the lads who are playing rather than the ones who aren’t available because it can take the focus away.

“But when you see a player like him walk into the building you automatically think, ‘yes, we’ve got a really good chance.’

“He’s been with us for a month or so and he’s fitted in with the squad. He’s a nice lad and hopefully the deal will get done.”

Edited by Propagandhi® - 17 Sep 2010 at 12:16pm
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 6:25pm
JamesyIrishGuy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JamesyIrishGuy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2013 at 6:37pm

Richard Keys and Andy Gray chat to former Republic of Ireland international and current Coventry City caretaker manager Lee Carsley.

http://www.talksport.co.uk/radio/richard-keys-and-andy-gray/130417/lee-carsley-everton-republic-ireland-and-coventry-195787

Edited by JamesyIrishGuy - 26 Apr 2013 at 6:38pm
I'm Mick McCarthy's baby!
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>