Lee Carsley

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 20>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooOldForThis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:43pm

Originally posted by TooOldForThis TooOldForThis wrote:

Lee Carsley seems to be quite triggering for some posters, without providing a single valid reason. 

1. He cost us euro2000 qualification
2. He has never managed at senior level and has less experience than Kenny!
3. Good coaches dont make good managers most of the time.  Its a different skillset.

You said you "never liked him"...and you would prefer "Stan"...a proven failure as a manager. Stan also cost us a win against England at Wembley with his deflection into our goal. Whatever your stated reasons for your dislike of Carsley, they don't follow from the 3 reasons you gave above. 

How did Stan cost us a win?  We went 1-0 down ffs and his goal was hardly an unforced errorConfused  unlike that clown Carsley who did a Harlem Globetrotters dribble with the ball in our own box.

He's a kiddies coach.  in no way experienced or earned a chance to manage us. 
We drew 1-1...without Stan's mindless leg flip...could of been a 1-0 to us. But unlike you I don't hold a grudge about a lad in an Irish shirt doing his best for his country about 20 years ago! Is the current Spain manager who won the Nations League, not their former U21 manager? You know, just a kiddies coach. Carsley is a deep thinker of the game, and a proven success as a coach. But you think he is a "clown"...and again with no reason to back it up

Carsleybis a proven success my hole.  Being in charge of kiddies football is not a proving ground.
Clearly...being in charge at LOI level is not a proving ground...but yeah...keep Kenny.

Edited by TooOldForThis - 08 Jul 2023 at 2:45pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:47pm

Lee Carsley seems to be quite triggering for some posters, without providing a single valid reason. 

3. Good coaches dont make good managers most of the time.  Its a different skillset.

You said you "never liked him"...and you would prefer "Stan"...a proven failure as a manager. Stan also cost us a win against England at Wembley with his deflection into our goal. Whatever your stated reasons for your dislike of Carsley, they don't follow from the 3 reasons you gave above. 

How did Stan cost us a win?  We went 1-0 down ffs and his goal was hardly an unforced errorConfused  unlike that clown Carsley who did a Harlem Globetrotters dribble with the ball in our own box.

He's a kiddies coach.  in no way experienced or earned a chance to manage us. 
We drew 1-1...without Stan's mindless leg flip...could of been a 1-0 to us. But unlike you I don't hold a grudge about a lad in an Irish shirt doing his best for his country about 20 years ago! Is the current Spain manager who won the Nations League, not their former U21 manager? You know, just a kiddies coach. Carsley is a deep thinker of the game, and a proven success as a coach. But you think he is a "clown"...and again with no reason to back it up

Carsleybis a proven success my hole.  Being in charge of kiddies football is not a proving ground.
Clearly....being in charge at level LOI is not a proving ground...but yeah...keep Kenny.

I agree but would prefer him to Carsley. Sure lets get Vera Pauw while we're at it.
TooOldForThis View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooOldForThis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:57pm
You cannot look at Carsley's career, and based on his CV, come to the conclusion that this guy is evidently not suitable for international management. Judging by the vehemence of some people's opposition to him, there are clearly some other unstated reasons for the intense reaction. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 2:59pm

You cannot look at Carsley's career, and based on his CV, come to the conclusion that this guy is evidently not suitable for international management. Judging by the vehemence of some people's opposition to him, there are clearly some other unstated reasons for the intense reaction. 

This guys CV is littered with failure. And worse than failure! He jumped the fence baby.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevin100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:02pm

I wouldn’t read too much into that. I think a lot of it is people see him and are drawing comparisons to Kenny in terms of lack of experience at EFL level and not much beyond being a success with an international U21 team (like Kenny was). Once bitten twice shy. 

Lads are bang on when they point to his success as an interim at both Coventry and Brentford. He got Manager Of The Month in his stint at Brentford. 

Obviously it was only as an interim so some context needed. It’s definitely not a negative and is a promising sign that he might be up to the Ireland job. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Badgersboys9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:08pm

Give it a rest TJ with the kiddies football, practically every single one of them are PL players. I wouldn't fancy our senior team against them.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:13pm
He had 5 games in charge as an interim. So what?  Hardly a proven track record. Sure give Darren Moore the job then!  How many times have we seen it. A manager gets sacked and thr interim wins a few games and is then surprisingly given the job full time and then makes a sh*te of it.  Its what happens when a manager leaves freqiently. The mood lifts for a while and performances get better for a while.

You are correct. We have had one manager in Kenny who is unproven and now we want to repeat the same trick with Carsley??

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:15pm
His accidental handball 23 years ago should have no bearing on his credentials as a manager for Ireland.  Anyone who suggest it is living in cloud cuckoo land. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:21pm

His accidental handball 23 years ago should have no bearing on his credentials as a manager for Ireland.

It’s kinda mad that this sentence had to be typed 
PaddyMaddenIsCounty! View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PaddyMaddenIsCounty! Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 3:21pm
24 games as interim and won 10. 24 more than Stan had who you say you would prefer back. Talking sh!t and contradicting yourself 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 4:41pm

I still haven't forgiven the dopey coont for the Turkey handball. Disapprove

See how people react when they conceed a 93 minute equaliser 

I dont want Carsley.  Never liked him.  I'd rather Kenny.

Feck me TJ , i told you before never come on here after your 2nd bottle of Buckfast Dead
Heimatklange View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heimatklange Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:13pm

100%

carsley is the flavour of the day, a flash in the pan. kenny is doing a great job and has the long term strategic vision t improve our team
SeaSharp View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SeaSharp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:28pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Artie Ziff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:29pm
Trapjunior I've sent you a pm about getting your crack dealers number, please reply man. I needs
TooOldForThis View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooOldForThis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:30pm
Originally posted by Heimatklange Heimatklange wrote:

100%

carsley is the flavour of the day, a flash in the pan. kenny is doing a great job and has the long term strategic vision t improve our team
To be an effective WUMer you need to appear to be at least vaguely plausible. 
tetsujin1979 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tetsujin1979 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:43pm

Edited by tetsujin1979 - 08 Jul 2023 at 5:43pm
All goals, red & yellow cards posted on mastodon and facebook

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 5:57pm
Lees Ingerlund one up at half time.....bit of a scrap after the goal.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2023 at 6:49pm
Originally posted by Heimatklange Heimatklange wrote:

100%

ah here

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 20>